Royal Canin® Breed Health Nutrition® German Shepherd Adult dry dog food

Royal Canin: High-performance nutrition at the service of professionals; for over 40 years, thanks to research concentrated exclusively on dogs and cats, the nutritional precision with which Royal Canin responds to the needs of each individual dog and cat has been expressed via visible and lasting benefits for their well-being.

  • Exclusive kibble shape easy to grasp and chew
  • Digestive performance
  • Supports skin and coat health
  • Supports bone and joint health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Kibble
The German Shepherd has a long, strong muzzle with strong teeth. The size, shape and texture of the kibbles in German Shepherd Adult formula are designed to be easy for this breed to pick up and encourage him to chew.

German Shepherd Adult is designed exclusively for pure breed German Shepherds over 15 months.

Where to Buy
Size: 6 lb
Size: 17 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Exclusive Kibble
The kibble's shape, size, texture and formula are adapted to the German Shepherd.

Digestive Performance
A longer colonic transit time, plus a higher colonic permeability in large breed dogs, can lead to more fermentation and poor stool quality. German Shepherd Adult contributes to supporting this breed's sensitive digestive system with highly digestible LIP proteins and a selection of specific fibers to limit intestinal fermentation and to help maintain a balanced intestinal flora.

Healthy Skin & Coat
The skin and coat reflect the dog's state of health. Appropriate food plays an important part in maintaining the quality of the skin and coat. The German Shepherd Adult formula helps support the skin's role as a barrier with an exclusive complex of nutrients and helps maintain skin and coat health (EPA & DHA).

Bone & Joint Health
The lively temperament of the German Shepherd dogs leads to hard working joints. The German Shepherd Adult formula helps support healthy bones and joints and helps maintain ideal weight. Enriched with EPA & DHA.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Medium Activity High Activity
57.3 lb (26 kg) 4 1/4 cup (366 g) 5 cup (424 g)
61.7 lb (28 kg) 4 1/2 cup (387 g) 5 1/4 cup (449 g)
70.5 lb (32 kg) 5 cup (428 g) 5 7/8 cup (496 g)
83.8 lb (38 kg) 5 3/4 cup (486 g) 6 5/8 cup (564 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 6 cup (506 g) 6 7/8 cup (586 g)
97 lb (44 kg) 6 3/8 cup (543 g) 7 3/8 cup (630 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 85 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
German Shepherd Adult is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, brown rice, oat groats, chicken fat, pork meal, natural flavors, powdered cellulose, wheat gluten, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, coconut oil, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, L-tyrosine, salt, sodium tripolyphosphate, taurine, hydrolyzed yeast, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], choline chloride, DL-methionine, glucosamine hydrochloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), monocalcium phosphate, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], tea, chondroitin sulfate, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)22%
Crude Fat (min)17%
Crude Fiber (max)5%
Moisture (max)10%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.24%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.1%
Glucosamine* (min)750 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate* (min)25 mg/kg
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3785 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 322 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Breed Health Nutrition ® German Shepherd Adult dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 159.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been great for my working dogs! I run a dog training kennels and we use the german shepherd formula and the lab formula quite often. This food provides amazing results for their coat and stomach issues. I hope they get a rewards program soon!!
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My long coat GSD Sam, has been eating this breed specific food since he turned 2 years old, he'll be 8 sept 9. I bought is because I liked the breed specific aspect of it, and have been very pleased ever since. Sam is quite sensitive to any change in diet, and asking as he is eating this food, His stool is solid, his coat is awesome and he likes it! The bags are well labeled with nutrients and caloric count.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Stuff! My 6 1/2 year old rescued GSD female was literally on her death bed from a unknown & untraceable illness. After 10 months of no issues (eating that is), all of the sudden she stops eating completely! She lost 25% of her body weight in 10 days. Nothing in the blood, nothing in scans, ultrasounds etc. and after trying everything known to man, I tried Royal Canin GSD dry & the canned GSD Loaf. Not only did this dog start eating, she thrives on it! She looks forward to eating again and her coat is unbelievable! I have my new rescued GSD pup on the puppy blend and he loves it too! It is expensive but so worth it for my kids health.Thank you for this great product!
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Specially Designed with Breed in Mind Have bought this bag of food for years now. The kibble pieces are kind of tailored to the German Shepherd breed. The kibble shape allows for healthy consumption, rather than the dog "scarfing" down the food. The formula of the food is great for German Shepherds because of their sensitive stomachs/digestion. Our dog's stool is healthy looking and goes regularly. I gave this food 4 stars out of 5 because of lack in variety of "flavors", compared to other dog food brands.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ingredients!!! After adopting our white german shepherd, we found she had food allergies. My husband and I were at our wits end trying to find a dog food that was not only nutritious, but didn't contain the grains that our baby was allergic to. We found that in Royal Canin. When Lacy goes for her yearly vet visit, our vet is pleasantly surprised that she is 13 years old. Other than the usual aging in her eyes and hearing, she doesn't act like a 13 year old dog. We contribute this to the great product you have. We will always be loyal customers to Royal Canin.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Our 4 shepherds love this food! We have 2 GSD's, a Dutch Dhepherd and an Alaskan Shepherd do we go through about a 30lb bag of food a week. we like to mix up quality brands and flavors to keep the dogs interested. A few months ago we tried Royal Canin's GSD specific dry dog food and it was a success. We noticed that the food said it has designed to help support healthy joints, coat and digestive track. Since we feed a veriety of foods I can't comment on the joint or coat aspect of the food, but their stomachs agreed with the packaging and we had nothing but solid results come yard duty time. Although the food is a bit pricey and according to dogfoodadvisor.com it's not considered to be a highly rated food, our dogs love and they'd recommend it (if the could) to any Shepherd owner.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who Knew? A week ago I adopted a four year old German Shepherd who'd been returned to the breeder. I tried two different dog foods without much success. I recalled a very low key comment made at the time of pickup that he's been fed Royal Canin, a product I'd never heard of. He didn't have much of an appetite during the past week. After a visit to my vet earlier today and her commenting he was a little too thin I looked up the site on the web and picked up a bag at Petsmart and opened it immediately upon getting home. Very different from the other two brands. My dog indicated he recognized the bag (they are extremely intelligent) and even better, ate all I gave him. Obviously this is the brand I'll continue to use. It is telling that this brand has a food specifically for German Shepherds.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great kibble! It's nice to have a 30lb ziplock bag! Kibble stays fresher. All 3 of my girls enjoy dinner and the larger kibble keeps them eating slower.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 13 Years and Still Healthy and Beautiful. I have fed my German Shepherd rescue dog, Rusty, this food for all 13 years of his life. He is a picky eater with the typical GSD sensitive stomach but eats this enthusiastically and no stomach upset. His fur and skin are healthy and his vitality is comparable to a much younger dog. Thank you Royal Canin for letting me take good care of my "best friend".
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best food ever My GSD has no stomach problems, itch or lack of appetite. He is always active, very nice coat, very good digestion and he loves it. All the others foods, (Orijen, Buffalo and Merrick) don't get no even close to this product. They bragged so much about the natural and organic but that's not what the dog needs and there is no scientific research in their food. It's scientifically proven that all the ingredients in Royal canin are better, example; Chicken by product meal it's higher in protein and contains less ash than regular Chicken used by other brands. The rice is absolutely better than the other ingredients used in those brands, rice will get unique benefits to your GSD due to its specific needs. People get the misconception that human food and natural-organic it's better for your dog but it's pure social stigma. I would not recommend any other brand for your GSD. I love my dog too much and I would not sacrifice his health for Cheaper or anything else.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was Skeptical My four year old female GSD came to me about a year ago very skinny and with a dry and itchy coat. I've never used a breed specific food before but decided to give this a try despite my usual preference for dog food with less grain in it. She's been on this for about 9 months now and is doing very well. She has filled out some and her coat always looks top notch. She's had absolutely no health issues because of what she's fed. I continue to get this food on autoship.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved stomach condition I have been feeding my almost 3 yr old female German Shepherd this dog food ever since we experienced stomach issues w/ Blue dog food. She is happy and healthy! Hope to have this girl around 10+ years. My other two also love it! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good to Great! Owning German Shepherds all my life I have experienced many different varieties of dog food. My research led me to Royal Canin German Shepherd in which I can't begin to tell you about the results it has. My now 3 yrs old female is proof. Everyone including my vet comments on how shiny and soft her coat is. He teeth as white as snow and her weight perfect for her standard. Take it from a Royal Loyal Customer of this brand! You won't regret it!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The best but so expensive I have used royal canine ever since my puppies were little. My German shepherds are eight years old and that's all they've ever eaten. I really enjoy that it forces them to chew their food very well. It's a peace of mind to know that there digesting it properly. The personalized nutrition plans are just vital for a dog's long-term health. It's just so expensive that sometimes it's difficult to keep up with.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dog food. Period. We adopted a German Shepherd at 1 1/2 years old. He was a little on the thin side, with a flaky coat, and very picky eating habits. We tried several other brands of food with no improvements on his coat or weight. Once we switched to Royal Canin the changes were nearly instant! For the first time he ate his entire serving all at once. His coat became shiny and his skin cleared up. The food is phenomenal!!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Food ever for a GSD! Our boy Riley started having issues with "pudding poop" at about 18 months. After a year of eliminations and lots of trial and error, he is now on the RC GSD kibble. The large kibble is great because it forces him to chew. Because he's a big baby we also add a a couple spoonfuls of the RC wet intestinal food as an incentive. He's holding steady at about 85 lbs. and the pudding poop is no longer an issue.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've had my GSD on this for years. As a vet technician, I know great nutrition is sooo important. Not only does my dog love it(she's been on it 5 years and before was on hills). She looks awesome. She hasn't had skin issues or digestive issues (which this breed is known for) since being on this diet. I tell pretty much any client with a shepherd that it's great, and those that have switched agree!
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought my baby back from the brink! Our German Shepherd, for the first time in his life, got a bottle of ibuprofen that was on the counter. Even after having his stomach pumped and a charcoal treatment, his tummy was never the same. He started losing hair and his legs were clearly in pain. I decided to give Royal Canin German Shepherd food a shot, and he absolutely turned around! His tummy was back to normal, all of his hair came back, and he was more agile than he had been in years. I am thankful to Royal Canin that I was able to get several more years with him.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky dog LOVES IT!!! We had to put our German shepherd on your adult dog food at the age of 6 months because of all her birth defects, she loves her food. She is now 12 yrs old we just switched her off of the adult to the senior German shepherd food she loves that too. I have a very picky dog that only eats what she likes and this food won out over others that we have tried. Just wish it was a little cheaper because she can eat. We just feed her the dry the only wet food that we feed her is for medication that she will not take by herself.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lit This is so cool I love it ggggggggggggggggggggggggg
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog Food Ever!! My pet Angel has been on this food since we welcomed him into this world 16 months ago. We love the great nutritional value the food has and it is wonderful fur the development of his coat. It helps to keep his coat soft and shiny. There are always people stopping and admiring his appearance. We love Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog German Shepherd is eight years old. It took some time to realize that he could not eat the same as my other shepherds. We tried a few brands before finding Royal Canin. We are so glad to have a food that keeps him healthy! I have recommended the product to many friends.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin German Sheperd Adult dry dog food My veterinarian recommended Royal Canin for my German Shepard. My Sheperd hates all dry dog food. I can slip maybe 5 pieces of this dry food with chicken meat, & depending on how he is determines whether he eats it or not. Otherwise, he will not eat any other dry food.
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dog loves it! She is a very active and healthy dog. She runs, plays and swims all day long and has free reign on over 2 1/2 acres of property. The nutrition is excellent and she thrived outdoors in the rough Ohio winters we have experienced. She rarely wanted to come indoors!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product When my family purchased our GSD she was under weight, we first put her on Natural Balance which after a couple of months was not gaining any weight. After talking with our Vet we decided and switch her Royal Canin and she has maintain a healthy weight.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazed!!! My German Shepherd has only started this food about 3 weeks ago (loves it!) and I have already seen a huge improvement! Her fur is softer, eyes are brighter and itching has dwindled quite a bit. We have tried several dog foods for over a year now, as the vet said it's allergies...Grain-free, more expensive brands, adding oil to her food (which was even more expensive), allergy pills...her continual scratching, fur like straw, sores from the scratching..ugh, it was horrible. We decided to give it one more shot with a different food before moving on to more expensive vet testing and meds and I'm so glad we decided to give Royal Canin German Shepherd dry dog food a try. Happy with the results so far and hoping to see more improvement with her dry skin, scratching and overall well being.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Product! My German Shepherd Luka use to have super itchy/dry skin and really bad diarrhea, it was a weekly issue. Ever since I switched her food she has been the picture of health. Her coat is so silky and the itching has almost stopped completely, she has normal bowel movements, and she absolutely loves the food! She is a super picky eater and sometimes wouldn't even finish her bowl of food but now she finishes her food once it hits the bowl. I will recommend this food to anyone who has a German Shepherd
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from German Shepard stoped chewing her tail I have had 7 German Shepards my last on was eating her tail almost off. I started feeding her this Royal Cain food 5 yrs ago after 3 months of the food she quit chewing her tail and is now 14 yrs young.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but packaging problem It's very good product..no words to describe how awesome and healthy it is for my dogs.. They just go crazy for royal canine and there is no need for any supplement after royal canin It's just that I buy a 12kg pack and it does not have a ziplock system and once the 8kgs left got all ruined by moisture despite my trying to seal the pack by knotting the pack..now I have to put the 12 kgs in different ziplock packs. ..it's waste of time..also there is no cup included to measure the feed..
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dog food for German Shepherds I am a German Shepherd breeder and have tried several different dog food brands. This is the best dog food for your German Shepherd it agrees with your dogs health and their stomachs.
Date published: 2015-08-10
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_153
  • loc_en_US, sid_2518, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT