Royal Canin® Breed Health Nutrition® German Shepherd Adult dry dog food

Royal Canin: High-performance nutrition at the service of professionals; for over 40 years, thanks to research concentrated exclusively on dogs and cats, the nutritional precision with which Royal Canin responds to the needs of each individual dog and cat has been expressed via visible and lasting benefits for their well-being.

  • Exclusive kibble shape easy to grasp and chew
  • Digestive performance
  • Supports skin and coat health
  • Supports bone and joint health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Kibble
The German Shepherd has a long, strong muzzle with strong teeth. The size, shape and texture of the kibbles in German Shepherd Adult formula are designed to be easy for this breed to pick up and encourage him to chew.

German Shepherd Adult is designed exclusively for pure breed German Shepherds over 15 months.

Where to Buy
Size: 6 lb
Size: 17 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Exclusive Kibble
The kibble's shape, size, texture and formula are adapted to the German Shepherd.

Digestive Performance
A longer colonic transit time, plus a higher colonic permeability in large breed dogs, can lead to more fermentation and poor stool quality. German Shepherd Adult contributes to supporting this breed's sensitive digestive system with highly digestible LIP proteins and a selection of specific fibers to limit intestinal fermentation and to help maintain a balanced intestinal flora.

Healthy Skin & Coat
The skin and coat reflect the dog's state of health. Appropriate food plays an important part in maintaining the quality of the skin and coat. The German Shepherd Adult formula helps support the skin's role as a barrier with an exclusive complex of nutrients and helps maintain skin and coat health (EPA & DHA).

Bone & Joint Health
The lively temperament of the German Shepherd dogs leads to hard working joints. The German Shepherd Adult formula helps support healthy bones and joints and helps maintain ideal weight. Enriched with EPA & DHA.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Medium Activity High Activity
57.3 lb (26 kg) 4 1/4 cup (366 g) 5 cup (424 g)
61.7 lb (28 kg) 4 1/2 cup (387 g) 5 1/4 cup (449 g)
70.5 lb (32 kg) 5 cup (428 g) 5 7/8 cup (496 g)
83.8 lb (38 kg) 5 3/4 cup (486 g) 6 5/8 cup (564 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 6 cup (506 g) 6 7/8 cup (586 g)
97 lb (44 kg) 6 3/8 cup (543 g) 7 3/8 cup (630 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 85 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
German Shepherd Adult is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, brown rice, oat groats, chicken fat, pork meal, natural flavors, powdered cellulose, wheat gluten, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, coconut oil, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, L-tyrosine, salt, sodium tripolyphosphate, taurine, hydrolyzed yeast, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], choline chloride, DL-methionine, glucosamine hydrochloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), monocalcium phosphate, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], tea, chondroitin sulfate, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)22%
Crude Fat (min)17%
Crude Fiber (max)5%
Moisture (max)10%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.24%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.1%
Glucosamine* (min)750 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate* (min)25 mg/kg
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3785 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 322 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Breed Health Nutrition ® German Shepherd Adult dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 159.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Started this about a year ago after my vet advised me to. My dogs coat has never been healthier. She loves the food and hasn't gotten sick in quite some time. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Dogs life For the last year I have struggled to keep weight on my German Shepherd. He had runny stool bad breath and was losing weight. I took him to the vet and no results. I switched his food from blue buffalo, to science diet, and then to royal Canin. Within two days his stool was solid, he was putting on weight and has been doing amazing ever since! I have switched both of my German Shepherds to this food and they both have an increase in drive, better coats, and all around better health!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great digestion and a healthly shinny coat Been feeding RC German Shepherd to my Beligian Malinois for 10 years. He's healthy, shinny coat and he loves the taste.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works miracles!! I've been buying this food for years but I recently switched to a grain free Sam's Club brand bc we rescued another dog. My dog lost over 10lbs in 6 weeks and was very sick. I spent hundreds of dollars at Auburn University's vet school to figure out what was wrong. Switching foods caused severe GI upset. We are back on the Royal Canin and I'm happy to report Callie is back to her old self and her coat has never looked better. We love this food!!! Never switching again.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky husky eater I bought this a month ago because a sales rep let me try a bag for my picky eater husky. I have tried so many brands abdy dog wouldn't eat I always had to chcken broth eggs or chrese. When he started this food his bowel movements are better he is no longer a picky eater he loves this food . I am.very happy with because like I said for two years Itried many brands and my husky would turn his nose up now he eats everyday and likes the food I don't have to add anything
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great change of food I bought this food a month ago since my GSD got tired of her previous food "Merrick"
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The one and only I recently bought a German Shepard for my mom. She was feeding him dog food from the grocery store and every time I came to visit I noticed rhat his coat was not shiny and he really. Didn't act like a happy puppy should. I bought him a bag of Royal Canine German Shepard food and after a month we saw a dramatic change. He was full of life and looked amazing even his eyes seemed to glow. This is the only brand for my furbabies! Thanks for such a great product
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from German Sheperd Adult Dry Been feeding Royal Canin now for 8 years. I wouldn't dream of changing. The care, training and commitment that this company has for their products is unbelievable. I have a border collie and I feed him the German Shepherd Dry, Royal Canin doesn't give him gas like other brands do. He has a beautiful coat and still at 8 years old has plenty of energy and in great health. I give the credit for his health and condition to feeding him this quality food.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deuce Loves It We buy this product for our German Shepherd "Sir Deuce". He absolutely loves it. We adopted him from the city pound and he was skinny and scrawney. After a few weeks of this diet he has gained the weight he needed and filled out beautifully. We did a ton of research on the best brands of food and Royal canin came up in every one of them with great reviews. This is why we initially chose it. After the results, we will not give him anything else!
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dog food!!! My german shepherd, Josephine, had the worst itching, diarrhea and stomach problems ever since she was a puppy. I tried at least 10 different foods for her and none worked. Some even made her problems worse. I decided to give Royal Canin German Shepherd formula a try. I could not believe it!!!! Her diarrhea stoped. She stopped throwing up and I could actually pet her without her going nuts trying to itch!!! I cried!!!! My girl was doing great!!!! I will never use any other brand of dog food. I now have another german shepherd, Isabell, and she has been on the german sheperd puppy formula and now the german shepherd adult. I have never had any problems with her and it is all because of Royal Canin German Shepherd formula food. I love it!!! I will never use anything else!!! And I recommend it to everyone with a dog!!! Thank you Royal Canin!!! Matthew B Martin
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! I started Stark on the German Shepherd Puppy shortly after bringing him home - for many reasons. We carry RC diets at the vet clinic I work at, so I know and stand behind the quality. Moreso, though, we went through bouts of puppy diarrhea and picky eating....he loved the GSD Puppy formula and it worked great for him! Just recently I have switched him over to the adult formula and he still is doing very well on it.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sara LOVES her Royal Canin!!!!! Sara is a German Shepherd and I love knowing this food is made for her! She loves it and seems to really feel better. Her coat is lovely and while she sits by the pool she loves knowing she looks her best! :)
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best food for German Shepards When I picked my German shepherd up as a puppy, my breeder turned to me and said you will feed him Royal Canine for the rest of his life period. He has a long coat and wherever I go people ask what I feed him. Just like people, what we eat is the most important thing we do for our body's and health. It's so important for your dogs overall health, skin and coat. Don't go with the cheapest. You wouldn't eat that way.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food yet! Been feeding our GSD, Krieger Royal Canin since he was a pup. Now two years old and we get numerous on 'great coat', 'handsome dog', great build' and various other comments. Our vet says Krieger is an excellent example of a well built health German Shepherd. Our breeder recommended RC, our vet recommended RC and we would highly recommend RC to any one. Read the labels and do your research it's well worth it.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more dry skin! Our German Shepherd had very dry itchy skin. She would scratch all the time. A co worker told me about the special blend just for our breed of dog. It cost more but our baby needed something to make her feel better. No exaggeration, by day six her skin was so much better. After about three weeks her coat was beautiful, shinny and easy to brush. Sadie has been a Royal princess ever since.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I have a German Shepherd who, as a younger dog, seemed to have trouble putting weight on to the point that she appeared too thin. She wasn't on a 'bad' dog food - we were using Purina Large Breed, and she was moderately active. My veterinarian told me to do some research and see if I could find a higher quality food. Royal Canin was one that came most highly recommended on the sites I found. My Shepherd's coat is shiny, she has lots of energy, and her instance of GI upset is rare. She was on Dasuquin (Glucosamine) prior to starting this diet, but I noticed that she didn't seem to need it after several weeks on the new food. I have since switched her to two different diets (for cost reasons; Taste of the Wild, ProPlan Sensitive Skin & Stomach), but it didn't take long to switch back! At 8 years of age, she's still going strong and looks great. Now we're just waiting to see if Royal Canin comes out with a senior line for the GSDs!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought this month but we are not happy ... We baught this month but we are not happy because our gsd dog don't like these product taste and very hard too,we bought a 12kg bag,it is possible to give any ideas to make these product taste to our gsd favorite
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! We started feeding our dog the Royal Canin maxi puppy when we brought her home, as her breeder was feeding her it. And she loved it. As she's gotten bigger, we decided to giver the Adult German Shepherd food. Easy changeover - she loves it too! It's making her coat nice and soft, and keeping her strong and healthy. Thanks Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! My German Shepherd Dogs have been on Royal Canin German Shepherd Adult dry for at least 5 years now. One of my dogs had constant intestinal problems until we switched to Royal Canin and now we rarely see any problem with his stools. GSDs are prone to intestinal problems and we are happy to say that we have had a lot fewer problems!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for my atopic dog! My German shepherd has environmental allergies to mites, including dust and storage mites. He's been on other foods that apparently have a large amount of storage mites from the bag. He LOVES this food and he is doing great on it! His coat is shiny, his joints are healthy, his glands aren't full, and he's not digging into himself!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect bite size portion. We started our dog on this when he was just a little over 2 years old and now he is 6. Sure it may be costly for the average wage earner but it is well worth every penny because the dog likes it and nothing ever goes to waste. It's a plus knowing that he is receiving the proper minerals and vitamins for a German Shepherd.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product on the market for GSD! I recently switched my adult and puppies over to Royal Canin. I have never been so impressed with a company in my life! First of all I am impressed with the quality of the kibble, I couldn't ask for a better product. Second of all the customer service is outstanding! I am a proud lifetime customer of Royal Canin!
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is great food, I wouldnt feed anything else I started on this food when my young dog had diarrhea and nothing could top it, after a couple of days on this food the stool hardened up, when I purchased my 2 shepherd puppy, and he had the loose stools I started him on Royal Canin right away and have kept both of my dogs on it ever since, it is great food,
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loki's food When Loki was a puppy,he had gastrointestinal problems with the food he was eating..our vet recommended this specific breed dog food.We started him on the puppy food and now he is on the adult food and his problems are long gone!!! He really loves this food and we recommend it to any German Shepherd owner.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Catered Perfectly for German Shepherds! I have 3 German Shepherds 1,3 & 9 yrs of age...I have been using Royal Canin for over 15 yrs. All of my GSD past and present have been fed this product. It is the only food that has agreed with each and every one of them. Their skin, coats and stomachs are proof of the specific needs that the GSD requires.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy about this food!!! So happy we decided to go with royal canine! It's pricey but I would rather pay for good food for my pup than vet bills!! What we put in our bodies matter so why would it be any different than our fur babies ?! It's so good for our Zeus and he loves it! He's been on it for about 2-1/2 years now!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing food Ever since we brought our puppy home she has been given this food and now that she is an adult dog we have been giving her this food and she loves it ever since she is such a healthy dog and I couldn't be more happy to know that we are feeding her such an amazing product thankyou royal canine ❤️
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sami has always been on RC German Shepherd food Our GSD had been on Royal Canin since we got her as a puppy. With their sensitive skin I felt this was our best choice. I appreciate the effort Royal Canin has made to make breed specific food. Sami's coat is very shiny and we've never had any skin issues. Thank you Royal Canin !
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One food for my multiple dogs! I tried this food with my three adult dogs.... I have a Beagle, and two Australian Shepherd mixes. They Loved this food! It resolved their skin issues, and they are much happier for it. Now they don't bite and itch... and their coats shine. My eight year old beagle has more energy!
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good product! I couldn't be happier with this dog food. Our big boy's stomach used to growl so loudly it would wake us up at night. In steps Royal canin adult German Shepherd dry food. It's obvious that Royal canin gave this food much thought and study and the end result proved very successful
Date published: 2017-05-02
  • y_2018, m_6, d_23, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_153
  • loc_en_US, sid_2518, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT