Royal Canin® Breed Health Nutrition® German Shepherd Adult dry dog food

Royal Canin: High-performance nutrition at the service of professionals; for over 40 years, thanks to research concentrated exclusively on dogs and cats, the nutritional precision with which Royal Canin responds to the needs of each individual dog and cat has been expressed via visible and lasting benefits for their well-being.

  • Exclusive kibble shape easy to grasp and chew
  • Digestive performance
  • Supports skin and coat health
  • Supports bone and joint health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Kibble
The German Shepherd has a long, strong muzzle with strong teeth. The size, shape and texture of the kibbles in German Shepherd Adult formula are designed to be easy for this breed to pick up and encourage him to chew.

German Shepherd Adult is designed exclusively for pure breed German Shepherds over 15 months.

Where to Buy
Size: 6 lb
Size: 17 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Exclusive Kibble
The kibble's shape, size, texture and formula are adapted to the German Shepherd.

Digestive Performance
A longer colonic transit time, plus a higher colonic permeability in large breed dogs, can lead to more fermentation and poor stool quality. German Shepherd Adult contributes to supporting this breed's sensitive digestive system with highly digestible LIP proteins and a selection of specific fibers to limit intestinal fermentation and to help maintain a balanced intestinal flora.

Healthy Skin & Coat
The skin and coat reflect the dog's state of health. Appropriate food plays an important part in maintaining the quality of the skin and coat. The German Shepherd Adult formula helps support the skin's role as a barrier with an exclusive complex of nutrients and helps maintain skin and coat health (EPA & DHA).

Bone & Joint Health
The lively temperament of the German Shepherd dogs leads to hard working joints. The German Shepherd Adult formula helps support healthy bones and joints and helps maintain ideal weight. Enriched with EPA & DHA.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight of Dog Low Activity Medium Activity High Activity
57 lb (26 kg) 3 1/4 Cups (281 g) 4 3/8 Cups (369 g) 5 Cups (428 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 3 5/8 Cups (312 g) 4 7/8 Cups (411 g) 5 5/8 Cups (477 g)
75 lb (34 kg) 4 Cups (343 g) 5 1/4 Cups (451 g) 6 1/8 Cups (524 g)
84 lb (38 kg) 4 3/8 Cups (373 g) 5 3/4 Cups (491 g) 6 5/8 Cups (569 g)
97 lb (44 kg) 4 7/8 Cups (416 g) 6 3/8 Cups (548 g) 7 1/2 Cups (635 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 85 g
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
BREED HEALTH NUTRITION® GERMAN SHEPHERD ADULT is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, brown rice, oat groats, chicken fat, pork meal, natural flavors, powdered cellulose, dried plain beet pulp, wheat gluten, fish oil, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, L-tyrosine, sodium tripolyphosphate, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], salt, monocalcium phosphate, hydrolyzed yeast, choline chloride, DL-methionine, taurine, glucosamine hydrochloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], magnesium oxide, green tea extract, chondroitin sulfate, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)22.0%
Crude Fat (min)17.0%
Crude Fiber (max)5.5%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min)0.17%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min)0.07%
Glucosamine* (min)743 mg/kg
Chondroitin sulfate* (min)8 mg/kg.
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3771 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 321 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Breed Health Nutrition ® German Shepherd Adult dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 251.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dog wont touch it My 4 year old german shephard, refuses to eat this and would rather starve than eat this, after buying bag and going through transition, I notice my dog having diarrhea, and vomiting food, dog just stop eating it and had to go back to CHEAP dog food
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazed!!! My German Shepherd has only started this food about 3 weeks ago (loves it!) and I have already seen a huge improvement! Her fur is softer, eyes are brighter and itching has dwindled quite a bit. We have tried several dog foods for over a year now, as the vet said it's allergies...Grain-free, more expensive brands, adding oil to her food (which was even more expensive), allergy pills...her continual scratching, fur like straw, sores from the scratching..ugh, it was horrible. We decided to give it one more shot with a different food before moving on to more expensive vet testing and meds and I'm so glad we decided to give Royal Canin German Shepherd dry dog food a try. Happy with the results so far and hoping to see more improvement with her dry skin, scratching and overall well being.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Product! My German Shepherd Luka use to have super itchy/dry skin and really bad diarrhea, it was a weekly issue. Ever since I switched her food she has been the picture of health. Her coat is so silky and the itching has almost stopped completely, she has normal bowel movements, and she absolutely loves the food! She is a super picky eater and sometimes wouldn't even finish her bowl of food but now she finishes her food once it hits the bowl. I will recommend this food to anyone who has a German Shepherd
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from German Shepard stoped chewing her tail I have had 7 German Shepards my last on was eating her tail almost off. I started feeding her this Royal Cain food 5 yrs ago after 3 months of the food she quit chewing her tail and is now 14 yrs young.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but packaging problem It's very good product..no words to describe how awesome and healthy it is for my dogs.. They just go crazy for royal canine and there is no need for any supplement after royal canin It's just that I buy a 12kg pack and it does not have a ziplock system and once the 8kgs left got all ruined by moisture despite my trying to seal the pack by knotting the pack..now I have to put the 12 kgs in different ziplock packs. ..it's waste of time..also there is no cup included to measure the feed..
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dog food for German Shepherds I am a German Shepherd breeder and have tried several different dog food brands. This is the best dog food for your German Shepherd it agrees with your dogs health and their stomachs.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Started this about a year ago after my vet advised me to. My dogs coat has never been healthier. She loves the food and hasn't gotten sick in quite some time. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Dogs life For the last year I have struggled to keep weight on my German Shepherd. He had runny stool bad breath and was losing weight. I took him to the vet and no results. I switched his food from blue buffalo, to science diet, and then to royal Canin. Within two days his stool was solid, he was putting on weight and has been doing amazing ever since! I have switched both of my German Shepherds to this food and they both have an increase in drive, better coats, and all around better health!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great digestion and a healthly shinny coat Been feeding RC German Shepherd to my Beligian Malinois for 10 years. He's healthy, shinny coat and he loves the taste.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works miracles!! I've been buying this food for years but I recently switched to a grain free Sam's Club brand bc we rescued another dog. My dog lost over 10lbs in 6 weeks and was very sick. I spent hundreds of dollars at Auburn University's vet school to figure out what was wrong. Switching foods caused severe GI upset. We are back on the Royal Canin and I'm happy to report Callie is back to her old self and her coat has never looked better. We love this food!!! Never switching again.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky husky eater I bought this a month ago because a sales rep let me try a bag for my picky eater husky. I have tried so many brands abdy dog wouldn't eat I always had to chcken broth eggs or chrese. When he started this food his bowel movements are better he is no longer a picky eater he loves this food . I am.very happy with because like I said for two years Itried many brands and my husky would turn his nose up now he eats everyday and likes the food I don't have to add anything
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Total package! Over the years my big guy had been on a few different foods, but they all either made him gain weight too fast, gave him GI issues, or just made his fur look dull. I changed him over to Royal Canin hoping for the best. Let me tell you, I am a believer! His hair has such a gorgeous sheen to it and his coloring doesn't look so dull! Best of all? No tummy troubles and he maintains a great body weight! I'll never feed anything else to him or any future GSDs I may have!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great change of food I bought this food a month ago since my GSD got tired of her previous food "Merrick"
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The one and only I recently bought a German Shepard for my mom. She was feeding him dog food from the grocery store and every time I came to visit I noticed rhat his coat was not shiny and he really. Didn't act like a happy puppy should. I bought him a bag of Royal Canine German Shepard food and after a month we saw a dramatic change. He was full of life and looked amazing even his eyes seemed to glow. This is the only brand for my furbabies! Thanks for such a great product
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sara LOVES her Royal Canin!!!!! Sara is a German Shepherd and I love knowing this food is made for her! She loves it and seems to really feel better. Her coat is lovely and while she sits by the pool she loves knowing she looks her best! :)
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has done wonders We recently adopted a female German Shepherd who’s ribs were showing, experienced skin issues and was having difficulty gaining and maintaining weight. We had originally placed her on Nutro however her condition was not improving and oftentimes she would refuse to eat and skip meals. We switched to Royal Canin approximately 5 months ago and since the switch she has not refused to eat, skin and coat are healthier, and she is finally at a healthy weight.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from German Sheperd Adult Dry Been feeding Royal Canin now for 8 years. I wouldn't dream of changing. The care, training and commitment that this company has for their products is unbelievable. I have a border collie and I feed him the German Shepherd Dry, Royal Canin doesn't give him gas like other brands do. He has a beautiful coat and still at 8 years old has plenty of energy and in great health. I give the credit for his health and condition to feeding him this quality food.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SIMPLY THE BEST DOG FOOD Hopefully a lot of people can see this massage! 1.- Pizza and cheeseburgers are cheap alright? 2.-Pastas, barbecue and some dishes of beef a little more expensive alright? 3.-Shrimp, sirloins, lobster etc.. very more expensive alright? Well on my own experience I have two German Shepherds, since the first days I have been using Royal Canin, and I have learned that is not the expensive food, is QUALITY AND SIMPLY THE BEST FOR MY DOGS
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deuce Loves It We buy this product for our German Shepherd "Sir Deuce". He absolutely loves it. We adopted him from the city pound and he was skinny and scrawney. After a few weeks of this diet he has gained the weight he needed and filled out beautifully. We did a ton of research on the best brands of food and Royal canin came up in every one of them with great reviews. This is why we initially chose it. After the results, we will not give him anything else!
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dog food!!! My german shepherd, Josephine, had the worst itching, diarrhea and stomach problems ever since she was a puppy. I tried at least 10 different foods for her and none worked. Some even made her problems worse. I decided to give Royal Canin German Shepherd formula a try. I could not believe it!!!! Her diarrhea stoped. She stopped throwing up and I could actually pet her without her going nuts trying to itch!!! I cried!!!! My girl was doing great!!!! I will never use any other brand of dog food. I now have another german shepherd, Isabell, and she has been on the german sheperd puppy formula and now the german shepherd adult. I have never had any problems with her and it is all because of Royal Canin German Shepherd formula food. I love it!!! I will never use anything else!!! And I recommend it to everyone with a dog!!! Thank you Royal Canin!!! Matthew B Martin
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog German Shepherd is eight years old. It took some time to realize that he could not eat the same as my other shepherds. We tried a few brands before finding Royal Canin. We are so glad to have a food that keeps him healthy! I have recommended the product to many friends.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! I started Stark on the German Shepherd Puppy shortly after bringing him home - for many reasons. We carry RC diets at the vet clinic I work at, so I know and stand behind the quality. Moreso, though, we went through bouts of puppy diarrhea and picky eating....he loved the GSD Puppy formula and it worked great for him! Just recently I have switched him over to the adult formula and he still is doing very well on it.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best food for German Shepards When I picked my German shepherd up as a puppy, my breeder turned to me and said you will feed him Royal Canine for the rest of his life period. He has a long coat and wherever I go people ask what I feed him. Just like people, what we eat is the most important thing we do for our body's and health. It's so important for your dogs overall health, skin and coat. Don't go with the cheapest. You wouldn't eat that way.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best thing I did My GSD Tank, is 2 and I just switched him and his mom, Lelo, to it about two months ago. He is eating like never before, his food used to sit all day before he would go near it. He has a better appetite and is even more full of energy. Lelo is getting her color back and has gained a tremendous amount of energy. This food is the best thing I could have done for them. So glad I chose to invest in their well being.
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food yet! Been feeding our GSD, Krieger Royal Canin since he was a pup. Now two years old and we get numerous on 'great coat', 'handsome dog', great build' and various other comments. Our vet says Krieger is an excellent example of a well built health German Shepherd. Our breeder recommended RC, our vet recommended RC and we would highly recommend RC to any one. Read the labels and do your research it's well worth it.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't sure this would work... Thought , might as well try it! Two female German Shepherds that could care less about eating. We started Royal Canin. Talked to our Vet and she commented how your Company has researched and spent time studying Breeds. Bought a bag and opened it up. Oh, thank you for the resealable bag. The kibble is amazing. After a week of feeding this the 7 year old's back teeth look better. They enjoy this food.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more dry skin! Our German Shepherd had very dry itchy skin. She would scratch all the time. A co worker told me about the special blend just for our breed of dog. It cost more but our baby needed something to make her feel better. No exaggeration, by day six her skin was so much better. After about three weeks her coat was beautiful, shinny and easy to brush. Sadie has been a Royal princess ever since.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the shape! And the nutritional benefits! We've purchased this food for our GS dog about a year ago, after reading about the benefits specifically for GS dogs. He was always having problems digesting other foods, was always vomiting and consistently had diarrhea. We switched him to Royal Canin and have been very happy with the results. We had rescued him when he was about 9 months old, and he is now 3. He looks forward to eating!!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought this month but we are not happy ... We baught this month but we are not happy because our gsd dog don't like these product taste and very hard too,we bought a 12kg bag,it is possible to give any ideas to make these product taste to our gsd favorite
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highest quality dog food on the market Royal Canin is by far the highest quality dog food available. No detail goes overlooked, even down to the size and shape of the kibble that's designed to be safely eaten and digested. My two German Shepherd Dogs have eaten nothing but Royal Canin and they are healthy and fit...all the proof I need that I made the right choice to meet their nutritional needs.
Date published: 2018-10-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_241
  • loc_en_US, sid_2518, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT