Royal Canin® Breed Health Nutrition® Shih Tzu Adult dry dog food

Tailor-made Nutrition for Pure Breed Dogs. An exclusive kibble for each breed: a concentration of scientific and nutritional expertise born from the unique knowledge of Royal Canin combined with the practical experience of Breeders.

  • Supports healthy skin
  • Exclusive kibble shape easy to grasp and chew
  • Helps maintain coat beauty
  • Reduces stool and odor
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Shih Tzu is designed exclusively for pure breed Shih Tzus over 10 months.

Kibble
The Shih Tzu is a brachycephalic breed, a dog with a typical round head that is broader than it is long. The Shih Tzu formula's kibbles are designed to be easier for this breed to pick up and encourage chewing.

Where to Buy
Size: 10 lb
Size: 2.5 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Exclusive Kibble: Special Brachycephalic Jaw
The Shih Tzu is a good example of the "brachycephalic" jaw type with a very short muzzle. Shih Tzu kibbles are exclusively designed to make it easier for the Shih Tzu to pick up and encourages him to chew.

Healthy Skin
The skin reflects the dog's state of health. An appropriate food is important in maintaining healthy skin. Shih Tzu Adult helps support the skin's role as a barrier with an exclusive complex of nutrients and helps maintain skin health (EPA, DHA and Vitamin A).

Coat Health
The Shih Tzu's hair is known for its continuous growth and natural softness. This exclusive formula contributes to maintaining the health of the Shih Tzu's long coat. Enriched with Omega-3 fatty acids (EPA & DHA), Omega-6 fatty acids and biotin.

Stool & Odor Reduction
This formula helps reduce fecal smell and volume, and helps support good digestion with highly digestible proteins (LIP), an appropriate fiber content and high quality carbohydrate sources.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight of Dog Low Activity Medium Activity High Activity
8.8 lb (4 kg) 3/4 Cup (66 g) 7/8 Cup (77 g) 1 Cup (87 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 7/8 Cup (78 g) 1 Cup (91 g) 1 1/8 Cups (103 g)
13 lb (6 kg) 1 Cup (90 g) 1 1/8 Cups (104 g) 1 1/4 Cups (118 g)
15 lb (7 kg) 1 1/8 Cups (101 g) 1 1/4 Cups (117 g) 1 1/2 Cups (133 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 91 g
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
BREED HEALTH NUTRITION® SHIH TZU ADULT is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, brown rice, chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, oat groats, wheat gluten, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, powdered cellulose, fish oil, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, DL-methionine, fructooligosaccharides, sodium tripolyphosphate, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], L-tyrosine, choline chloride, salt, L-lysine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], glucosamine hydrochloride, GLA safflower oil, taurine, magnesium oxide, green tea extract, L-carnitine, chondroitin sulfate, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)22.0%
Crude Fat (min)18.0%
Crude Fiber (max)4.7%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min)0.13%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min)0.05%
Vitamin A (min)18,900 IU/kg
Omega-6 fatty acids* (min)2.57%
Omega-3 fatty acids* (min)0.43%
Biotin* (min)1.6 mg/kg
Glucosamine* (min)371 mg/kg
Chondroitin sulfate* (min)4 mg/kg.
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3898 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 355 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Breed Health Nutrition ® Shih Tzu Adult dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 173.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! After going through about 5 different foods, I finally bought this one and my dog LOVES the food!!!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love this food I have 6 Shih Tzu's and this is the only food that they really like and eat well.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We don't buy anything else! This is the ONLY food our Shih Tzu will eat and his skin is perfect...no itching!
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love this food! This is the perfect size kibble for my shih tzu's. They really enjoy this food.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Nutrition! I bought this for my dog since he was a puppy, have him a great shiny coat
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mai Li My Shih Tzu loves this food....the brand recommended by our vet
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My shihtzu baby loves it! It is easy on her tummy and keeps her bathroom regular.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this food is great for me dog when my dog started eating this food he was happier
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name says it all We started 12 years ago with puppy Shih Tzu and now are on adult. She has thrived on both. If we travel one of the first things is to make sure we have extra food for her. She knows when it is her time to eat and she devoures the food. Royal Canin has helped us maintain her weight, and her overall health. Her coat is beautiful and she is a joy. I attribute this to her diet, Royal Canin, her excellent Vet, and the enviroment that she lives in.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My little guy can be a finicky eater at times, like many dogs. The first time I bought Royal Canin made for Shih Tzus, he ate what was in his bowl immediately. That was the first time he hadn't looked at me like "What is this?". The was over 4 years ago. He acts like his food is a treat every time I put it in his dish. Besides the fact he loves it so much, the health benefits are great. He's active, happy, with a beautiful coat at the age of 9.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My sweet Baci boy's favorite :) We love our Baci...and have always made sure he ate healthy. Baci (ba-jee) (which means "kisses" in Italian) has been on Royal Canin since we adopted him ten years ago as a puppy - the breeders suggested Royal Canin and we have chosen to stick with it ever since. Although he is ten years old now, Baci still acts and plays like a puppy. We are thankful for the blessing of his good health and happy spirit. We appreciate your products.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We switched our 8 year old shih tzu to this brand after she kept getting sick from her blue buffalo brand food. We found out from her vet that there had been several recent recalls on that particular brand and that we should switch her. We started by giving her the one for digestive issues then once she was all better we transitioned her to the one for adult Shih Tzu, and she has been doing great!!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to eat I have a Mal-Shi. He has the typical Shih Tzu bite. His chewing is kind of all over the place. The Royal Cabin Shih Tzu is perfect for him. He scoops and swallows his food. He is very healthy and his coat is soft and fluffy. It is well worth the little added expense for him to be doing so well. He just turned 4 and he has been on Royal Cabin since he was weaned. We couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seriously Expensive Product I am satisfied with the product and have fed it to my dog for the past 5 years, but there needs to be a better price break or coupons.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great formation for Shih Tzus I have recently moved back on to royal cannin after trying other brands. Best move! It has been difficult to clean my dogs teeth and this kibble helps to do that. My Shih tzus are lazy when it comes to chewing and this kibble really encourages them to chew which is great! Their coats are so shiny and the heat spots they are prone to have reduced dramatically
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's the only brand of dry food I buy I have 2 shih tzus that are 7 and 8 years old. I had tried other brands when they were puppies and this is the only brand that they would eat. It is an it pricey compared to some other brands but I would rather pay more than buy something they won't eat and I end up tossing it. The older dog is super picky and she will eat this mixed with some wet food.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Great food for my picky eating Shih Tzu! I cannot believe it’s taken me years to find a brand of food that my dog likes. I feel slightly guilty that I didn’t introduce her to Royal Canin sooner. She is eating a healthy dose twice a day and I don’t have to worry about her not eating. I am spending more on food because she is eating “more” but this is a good problem to have in my opinion. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She likes it she really really likes it Sasha has a tender tummy, she has been on it for about a week now I see an improvement already.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy for my dog to eat! I switched my dog to this food when he was a year old. His old food was too crunchy and he had a hard time chewing it. Once I switched him to the Royal Canin Shih Tzu adult food he absolutely loved the food. He used to be a picky eater but he's not like that anymore with the Royal Canin Shih Tzu adult food! He licks his bowl clean now!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product I have been vying this for 5 years now. A few months ago I decided to buy something else and both my dogs were miserable. They hated the other brand and they icthed and scratchEd the whole time they had it. I switched back and now they are doing great again. I will never switch again. This is definitely the best food for my babies.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Champ Has Always Eaten Royal Canin! About 7 years ago while working for a animal supply store, the Royal Canin rep, Dean, convinced me to change what I was feeding my Shih Tzu to this Royal Canin product. It resolved skin issues that Champ was having and helped with his breath. I've fed it to Champ ever since then. Funny thing, Daisy, our Jack Russell loves it too!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only dry food my dog will eat! Midnight is very picky (diva doggie) and over the years have tried several brands nothing has kept his interest in dry food other than Royal Canin Shih Tzu.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even my pickiest eater enjoys! I have 4 Shih Tzu's. I have tried Iams, Science Diet, & NutriSource. It always seems that 3 of the 4 would be on board with the food. This is the first time that all 4 are eating & loving Royal Canin Adult Shih Tzu! I have been using this product for about 2 months & glad that I decided to give it a try.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great nutrition and she loves it! Have been feeding my ship tzu Royal Canin since we got her as a young puppy! She is almost 8 now! Her skin his healthy which can be sensitive. She is full of energy and healthy just like a puppy! She loves the food too! Great nutrition for your pet and made to meet the needs of your breed of dog.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Food I purchased this after a friend referral, and I was super happy. The kibble is a perfect size for my Shih Tzu and most small dogs. I started feeding this product to my pet in 2006, he lived in my life for 16 years, 7 months and 13 days. Thanks Royal Canin, you have outstanding products.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog health I have been using this product for almost two years for my dog. She really loves it. I will be honest I wish she would eat a cheaper brand for my pocket but she does not like any other and since it came vet recommended and dog approved I keep buying it. I am always in search of coupons.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! This is the only food I’ve ever fed my dog. It has never been recalled in the seven years that I’ve been purchasing it, unlike most other brands. My dog is super healthy and I like this food so much that I suggested it to my mom when she got a new puppy and she now also purchased it!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Tzu actually likes it!!! I got Scooter at 7 1/2 weeks. He started on the Royal Canine mousse then moved on to Shih Tzu puppy and now he is on adult. He loves it and that is saying something for a picky Shih Tzu. Everyone complements his skin and coat, also. I've never had a more perfect dog food.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Nutrition My cats have been on the Urinary formula for about a month and a half. They like it! Both the dry and the wet food. They are beautiful and healthy! You can really see that they are getting the nutrition they need because they have shiny coats and are happy. So nice.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fur baby loves it!!! Kenji had the puppy version and now she's having the adult version. She doesn't even mind it by itself...which says a lot! She normally won't even eat the same foods more than twice! It's also a peace of mind to know she enjoys something that's nutritious for her!
Date published: 2016-05-09
  • y_2018, m_12, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_163
  • loc_en_US, sid_2200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT