Royal Canin® Breed Health Nutrition® Shih Tzu Adult dry dog food

Tailor-made Nutrition for Pure Breed Dogs. An exclusive kibble for each breed: a concentration of scientific and nutritional expertise born from the unique knowledge of Royal Canin combined with the practical experience of Breeders.

  • Supports healthy skin
  • Exclusive kibble shape easy to grasp and chew
  • Helps maintain coat beauty
  • Reduces stool and odor
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Shih Tzu is designed exclusively for pure breed Shih Tzus over 10 months.

Kibble
The Shih Tzu is a brachycephalic breed, a dog with a typical round head that is broader than it is long. The Shih Tzu formula's kibbles are designed to be easier for this breed to pick up and encourage chewing.

Where to Buy
Size: 10 lb
Size: 2.5 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Exclusive Kibble: Special Brachycephalic Jaw
The Shih Tzu is a good example of the "brachycephalic" jaw type with a very short muzzle. Shih Tzu kibbles are exclusively designed to make it easier for the Shih Tzu to pick up and encourages him to chew.

Healthy Skin
The skin reflects the dog's state of health. An appropriate food is important in maintaining healthy skin. Shih Tzu Adult helps support the skin's role as a barrier with an exclusive complex of nutrients and helps maintain skin health (EPA, DHA and Vitamin A).

Coat Health
The Shih Tzu's hair is known for its continuous growth and natural softness. This exclusive formula contributes to maintaining the health of the Shih Tzu's long coat. Enriched with Omega-3 fatty acids (EPA & DHA), Omega-6 fatty acids and biotin.

Stool & Odor Reduction
This formula helps reduce fecal smell and volume, and helps support good digestion with highly digestible proteins (LIP), an appropriate fiber content and high quality carbohydrate sources.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Medium Activity High Activity
8.8 lb (4 kg) 7/8 cup (76 g) 1 cup (87 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (90 g) 1 1/8 cups (102 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 1 1/8 cups (103 g) 1 1/4 cups (117 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 1 1/4 cups (116 g) 1 1/2 cups (132 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 91 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
Shih Tzu Adult is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, brown rice, chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, oat groats, wheat gluten, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, powdered cellulose, fish oil, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, DL-methionine, L-tyrosine, fructooligosaccharides, sodium tripolyphosphate, salt, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], choline chloride, L-lysine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), monocalcium phosphate, glucosamine hydrochloride, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], tea, L-carnitine, chondroitin sulfate, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)22%
Crude Fat (min)18%
Crude Fiber (max)4.3%
Moisture (max)10%
Vitamin A (min)13000 IU/kg
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (min)3.43%
Omega-3 Fatty Acids* (min)0.57%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
Biotin* (min)1.55 mg/kg
Glucosamine* (min)350 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate* (min)25 mg/kg
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3905 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 355 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Breed Health Nutrition ® Shih Tzu Adult dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 119.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only dry food my dog will eat! Midnight is very picky (diva doggie) and over the years have tried several brands nothing has kept his interest in dry food other than Royal Canin Shih Tzu.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seriously Expensive Product I am satisfied with the product and have fed it to my dog for the past 5 years, but there needs to be a better price break or coupons.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's the only brand of dry food I buy I have 2 shih tzus that are 7 and 8 years old. I had tried other brands when they were puppies and this is the only brand that they would eat. It is an it pricey compared to some other brands but I would rather pay more than buy something they won't eat and I end up tossing it. The older dog is super picky and she will eat this mixed with some wet food.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She likes it she really really likes it Sasha has a tender tummy, she has been on it for about a week now I see an improvement already.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product I have been vying this for 5 years now. A few months ago I decided to buy something else and both my dogs were miserable. They hated the other brand and they icthed and scratchEd the whole time they had it. I switched back and now they are doing great again. I will never switch again. This is definitely the best food for my babies.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Champ Has Always Eaten Royal Canin! About 7 years ago while working for a animal supply store, the Royal Canin rep, Dean, convinced me to change what I was feeding my Shih Tzu to this Royal Canin product. It resolved skin issues that Champ was having and helped with his breath. I've fed it to Champ ever since then. Funny thing, Daisy, our Jack Russell loves it too!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great nutrition and she loves it! Have been feeding my ship tzu Royal Canin since we got her as a young puppy! She is almost 8 now! Her skin his healthy which can be sensitive. She is full of energy and healthy just like a puppy! She loves the food too! Great nutrition for your pet and made to meet the needs of your breed of dog.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Food I purchased this after a friend referral, and I was super happy. The kibble is a perfect size for my Shih Tzu and most small dogs. I started feeding this product to my pet in 2006, he lived in my life for 16 years, 7 months and 13 days. Thanks Royal Canin, you have outstanding products.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog health I have been using this product for almost two years for my dog. She really loves it. I will be honest I wish she would eat a cheaper brand for my pocket but she does not like any other and since it came vet recommended and dog approved I keep buying it. I am always in search of coupons.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Tzu actually likes it!!! I got Scooter at 7 1/2 weeks. He started on the Royal Canine mousse then moved on to Shih Tzu puppy and now he is on adult. He loves it and that is saying something for a picky Shih Tzu. Everyone complements his skin and coat, also. I've never had a more perfect dog food.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Nutrition My cats have been on the Urinary formula for about a month and a half. They like it! Both the dry and the wet food. They are beautiful and healthy! You can really see that they are getting the nutrition they need because they have shiny coats and are happy. So nice.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fur baby loves it!!! Kenji had the puppy version and now she's having the adult version. She doesn't even mind it by itself...which says a lot! She normally won't even eat the same foods more than twice! It's also a peace of mind to know she enjoys something that's nutritious for her!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Enhancements I bought this food about six months ago for my dog and it has already made his hair significantly softer. His hair was a little rough and since then I've noticed it getting softer. I've even had people compliment on how soft his hair is and asked what food I buy.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best food for shih tzus My tzus love this food, i have tried other food, but they will not touch other brands! They are healthy and happy and that is what every owner wants. I am a dog sitter and visiting pups are always trying to steal my pups food... because it tastes good!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have fed this to my dog for over a year now. I noticed when he was a puppy that he had a sensitive stomach, but I have never had a problem with this food! He loves it and it came highly recommended by his vet. I wouldn't switch to any other brand.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I have used the puppy and adult food for my Shih-Tzu. She loves it! And it keeps her coat shiny and no allergies whatsoever! I have just recently adopted an English Bulldog and am in the process of transitioning her onto your brand of food!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a difference My ShihTzu has been on this since last September after being very sick with gastro isssues. The vet recommended this along with the Beauty wet food and she has had no more problems. She doesn't scratch anymore either like she did before.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food! My Shih Tzu has been on the Royal Canin Shih Tzu dog food for over a year.He loves it! It's easy for him to eat because the shape of the food is made for Shih Tzus.It smells really good,and he loves the taste,he gobbles it up!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results Within a week I saw dramatic differences in their coats -shiney and healthy, and they were more active and just bouncy! " They" are a 7 year old female and 6 year old male Shih Tzu's. I was shocked at the difference!!!!
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My baby shih tzu (almost 2 years) has loved this food since day 1! It's the first food she started with and is definitely the last! I feel positive that with Royal Canin she receives the best nutrition.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food for my Shihton (Shih Tzu/Coton mix) The breeder sent Royal Canin home with us and after conferring with my vet, I decided to stay with it. My little darling and i are both very happy with this food. Her coat is shiny and silkie.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customized yummies I have two Shih Tzu dogs who love this food. It is shaped in a way that makes it easy for them to chew. I have absolutely no waste when they eat this food. They like it and it's a clean food. .
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my dog from skin issues We have been using this food for 8+ years. If there is ever a time where he eats anything else, he ends up scratch more, and his skin is very dry and itchy. We live in a very dry climate.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My pets love it I have 6 shi tzus and they all love Royal Canin, the only thing is that they only make small bags, I wish they made 20 pound bags for people like us who have a lot of small dogs
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky dog's love the food Have used Royal Canin since puppies and they (3) all love the food. Have tried other food when ran out and pet store closed so had to go with market food. Refused other food.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky pup loves it! Plus doesnt upset stomach This food is Amazing! Normally i have to add wet food so he will eat the dry,not with this one! He loves it! He has stomach issues and it even seems to help with those as well.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect size bites After switching my Shih Tzu to the Royal Cabin brand she was no longer spitting up as much and she didn't have Brown stuff leaking out of her eyes. It is quite pricy though.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love that it is breed specific... This was what my one year old Shih Tzu, Aria, was eating when I first got her... decided to stay with it after I researched several different brands. Absolutely the BEST!!!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's all about Bear!! I've been buying this Royal Canin for Shih Tzus since he was a puppy . I love the way his coat feels soft and shiny and I never changed it and I never will!!!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only dog food my dog will eat. We bought this brand and breed type for my dog ever since he was a puppy. He has never ate anything but this and it is a good and healthy choice for him
Date published: 2017-05-05
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_2200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT