Royal Canin® Breed Health Nutrition® Shih Tzu Puppy dry dog food 2.5 lb bag

Tailor-made Nutrition for Pure Breed Dogs. An exclusive kibble for each breed: a concentration of scientific and nutritional expertise born from the unique knowledge of Royal Canin combined with the practical experience of Breeders.

  • Supports healthy skin and coat
  • Exclusive kibble shape easy to grasp and chew
  • Supports healthy digestion
  • Supports immune system health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Shih Tzu Puppy is designed exclusively for pure breed Shih Tzus from 8 weeks to 10 months.

Kibble
The Shih Tzu is a brachycephalic breed, a dog with a typical round head that is broader than it is long. The Shih Tzu formula's kibbles are designed to be easier for this breed to pick up and encourage chewing.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Exclusive Kibble: Special Brachycephalic Jaw
The Shih Tzu is a good example of the "brachycephalic" jaw type with a very short muzzle. Shih Tzu Puppy kibbles are exclusively designed to make it easier for the Shih Tzu puppy to pick up and encourages him to chew.

Healthy Skin & Coat
The skin and coat reflect the dog's state of health. An appropriate food is important in maintaining healthy skin and coat. Shih Tzu Puppy helps support the skin's role as a barrier with an exclusive complex of nutrients and helps maintain skin and coat health (EPA & DHA, vitamin A).

Digestive Health
Digestive health is essential during the puppy's growth period: the digestive system is not yet fully developed and cannot absorb nutrients in the same way as adult dogs. The Shih Tzu Puppy formula helps support digestive health and helps to maintain a balanced intestinal flora.

Natural Defenses
During the growth period, the puppy's natural defenses are not yet fully developed. An exclusive complex of antioxidants (vitamins E and C, lutein and taurine) in Shih Tzu Puppy helps support the Shih Tzu puppy's natural defenses.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Adult Target Weight
Puppy Age 8.8 lb (4 kg) 11 lb (5 kg) 15 lb (7 kg)
2 Months 7/8 Cup (80 g) 1 Cup (95 g) 1 1/4 Cups (115 g)
3 Months 1 Cup (90 g) 1 1/8 Cups (107 g) 1 1/2 Cups (136 g)
4 Months 1 Cup (95 g) 1 1/4 Cups (112 g) 1 1/2 Cups (144 g)
5 Months 1 Cup (95 g) 1 1/4 Cups (113 g) 1 1/2 Cups (145 g)
6 Months 7/8 Cup (86 g) 1 1/8 Cups (102 g) 1 1/2 Cups (144 g)
7 Months 7/8 Cup (77 g) 1 Cup (92 g) 1 3/8 Cups (130 g)
8 Months 3/4 Cup (68 g) 7/8 Cup (81 g) 1 1/4 Cups (117 g)
9 Months 3/4 Cup (68 g) 7/8 Cup (81 g) 1 1/8 Cups (104 g)
10 Months SHIH TZU ADULT
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 94 g
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
BREED HEALTH NUTRITION® SHIH TZU Puppy is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult).
Ingredients

Chicken by-product meal, brewers rice, corn, chicken fat, wheat gluten, dried plain beet pulp, natural flavors, fish oil, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, monocalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, fructooligosaccharides, sodium tripolyphosphate, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], salt, hydrolyzed yeast (source of betaglucans), choline chloride, L-lysine, L-tyrosine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), DL-methionine, taurine, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, manganese proteinate, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], Yucca schidigera extract, L-carnitine, carotene, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)26.0%
Crude Fat (min)16.0%
Crude Fiber (max)3.6%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min)0.13%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min)0.05%
Vitamin A (min)18,900 IU/kg
Vitamin E (min)420 IU/kg
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3763 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 354 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Breed Health Nutrition ® Shih Tzu Puppy dry dog food 2.5 lb bag is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from COCO loves the taste We started our little COCO right away on this food, because our big girls eat Royal Canin for years. I love that it is easy for their little teeth to grab and chew and that it is easy for their little tummies to digest. We never had a problem getting the baby to eat her meals, my baby comes running when it is time to eat
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our puppy loves it! Our family dog passed away about a year ago and we felt a huge void in our family. So, after a few months we looked at getting a puppy. We found several breeders and after several more months we found our new little addition. Crosley​ is a Shi-poo. The breeder feed her Royal Canin and recommended for us to keep her on it . We took her to her first vet check up and he also stated it was a really good dog food. So, we used the soft food and mixed it with dry until she could tolerate dry food. She is now a year old and we are moving into the adult dog food. Every now and then we will give her a can of the soft dog food. She loves it. She is extremely healthy and has a shiny coat. We love it and will keep her on it.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blues mom I got blue when he was 6wks old. His parents were on pedigree he was as well. He didn't care much for it. So we switched to authority petsmart brand yet again he really didnt look to thrilled to eat. Then I bought Royal canin HE'S IN LOVE WITH HIS FOOD ! HE GETS SUPER EXCITED when it's time to eat. And his hair is getting gorgeous. HE IS now 4months. He was born with a blue eyes and a black eye.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super food for CoCo My puppy was delivered about 9 weeks old. Started feeding food I had for puppies. Didn't eat then and on to food breeder had fed first and didn't eat. Went to pet store and they suggested Royal Cannine. I though a little expensive but came home with it. CoCo dived in and began eating. I have since then fed to my 2 1/2 year old Shih Tzu. They love it and are doing great with their new food. I will continue to purchase R C. One great food for Shih Tzu's is the size and shape of the food for the puppy with a small mouth. Excellent product.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy and Healthy puppy Shih Tzu Royal Canin Puppy Shih Tzu solved a number of issues. first on the list was vomiting which ended with RC - ease of picking up food was solved with special shape of RC - am able to use food as treats so no chance of overfeeding and getting an overweight pup by measuring daily food ration and putting aside enough for training treats which works great. Since only one store occasionally carries Shih Tzu puppy am on a subscription oline source which is always on time and never run out. Thank you Royal Canin for a flourishing pup.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome for my furry baby My dog does not love dog foods until this was introduce to him! great job royal!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small bites for my dog Wish it was sold in a 10 lb bag Because it would be cheaper
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves it! The breeder I bought my Shih Tzu from recommened Royal Canine to me. She gave me a sample package, When I first gave the food to my dog she loved it. She also reminded me when trhe food was low. She is now 18 months old and still loves the food, and she is as healthy as dogs can be. I do give her Greenies once a day as a snack. No more dog breath.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog & Puppies LOVE this food! I switched Evvie to this puppy food, during the last four weeks of her pregnancy and while she nurses. The food keeps her strong and healthy, during her pregnancy. Her babies have all remained strong and healthy. They steadily gain weight, and her milk production is strong and filling. This food also helps maintain my dogs' allergies.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Size I bought this for my 10 month Shih Tzu about 4 months ago and have continued! She has a very sensitive stomach and most of the other dog foods I’ve tried for her have made her vomit. I made the switch to this food and she hasn’t vomited since! So happy I made the switch for her!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confused about feeding amounts I bought this for my 8 week old ShihTzu per breeder recommendation...It’s puppy food so there should be a dosing recommendation for 2 mo old who weighs 3 pounds... your package gives No dosing amount for puppies under 8 pounds... Since when does a ShihTzu puppy weigh 8+ pounds?
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The dogs love it! I have two Shih Tzu's and a large Shepherd mix who thinks that he is a giant Shih Tzu. We tried this food out with a coupon and a sale at Petco. All three dogs loved it. I continue to buy this brand and there always seems to be a good coupon out there as well.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs #1 pick I first received this good in a puppy pack. I breed Shih tzus. From the beginning, they have all loved it. They eat it even when they are sick and that's saying alot when they could be eating scrambled eggs! It is their #1 pick of food!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppy loved it I rescued a little shih tuz mix. At 2 months he had never had puppy food. He refused everything placed in front of him. I finally tryed Royal Cain for Shih tuz puppies. And he loved it! Now I have a happy health puppy.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog buddy absolutely loves this food I used to give my puppy purina smart puppy. My dog hated it. So I decided to go to petsmart. That’s when I noticed that royal canin makes shih tzu puppy food. So I bought it and he loved it. I’m so happy. THANKS.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy puppyhood leads to joyous adult Shih Tzu ! ! My puppy Shih Tzu, "Pinky Petunia," has grown to be a very precious adult dog. She finished her Royal Canin Puppy Food and has started her first bag of Adult Shih Tzu dry food. She is the best dog in the world.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm a small breeder and have always used royal canin. All my puppies have done well with it and preferred size for their little mouth . But the puppies haven't seem to like it as much sense it has changed.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size and puppy loves the taste I have been purchasing this for almost a year now for my puppy, we will soon move on to the adult. Its hard to afford this food with my student income but it’s the best and my puppy deserves the best!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! I started my puppy on this product since we got him, at 8 weeks. His coat is super soft, he goes poo twice a day, and it's not runny. You can tell this food is great for his health.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This was suggested to us about a month after getting our new fur baby and he wasn't eating the other food we got for him very well. We do not have trouble getting him to eat this.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Diesel & Bandit Royal Canin puppy food for my 2 Shih Tzu puppies was recommended by my breeder since they were born, My boys seem to Love it, always lick their bowls clean and looking for more.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food for our Lukkas! We started to feed Lukkas with Pedigree (puppy) when he was 3 months old and suddenly we noticed that he is not happy when eating it then we decided to ask a Vet for suggestion and he advised us to have a Holistic Lamb puppy food instead. However, still Lukkas doesn't seem to be happy everytime we serve his food. I've went online and go through some sites to know what's the best food for him because everytime he looks sad, it usually breaks our heart to see him like that. I have read some reviews about Royal Canin and it makes me decide to have it just for a try to see if there will be a change. I bought a 1.5kg Royal Canin for shih Tzu puppy in a mall and when I got home, I tried to feed him a little bit to see his reaction about his new food and we were surprised to see how happy he is. That's the time we decided to buy Royal Canin for Lukkas even though we have to spend more this time. Until now, it never fails me to see how happy he is and weight, fur changed as well. I'll suggest everyone who loves their pet and wants to make sure that they go for a quality food - Royal Canin is the best and is a MUST!
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A brand who stand by its word. I started using the Royal Canin brand 10 months ago when I purchased my baby China. I only wanted to use the best and most healthiest food for her particular breed.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I started using it for my litters of puppies about 1 year ago and its very good for the puppies. They had no issues with loose stools like with our old puppy food.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product I've been buying this products for the last two years and my dog just loves it. The bites are small and its shape makes it good for grabbing.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog I have been giving this to my puppy from the beginning and he loves it. No problems at all. Only downside, too expensive for the size of bag.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food Our puppy was having issues with his tummy, we gradually changed to this food and the results are amazing. He is a very happy puppy now
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My lil Pup Loves Royal Canin Shih Tzu Food This is the only dry dog food my Gizmo will eat from start to finish. After trying quite a few. Happy to have found it. Thank You
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppy loves it! Our puppy wouldn’t eat much until we tried the Royal Canin Shih Tzu puppy recommended by our vet. He gobbles it up now!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very breed appropriate and my shih tzu love it Love this food for my shih, she always have an appetite for this food, appropriate for her bite as well
Date published: 2018-10-31
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_452225, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT