Royal Canin® Feline Care Nutrition Hairball Care dry cat food

Cats spend a large portion of their day grooming, and therefore can swallow large quantities of hair. This ingested hair can become compacted in the digestive tract, forming hairballs, which are either regurgitated or eliminated through the stool. HAIRBALL CARE is a precisely balanced nutritional formula that naturally helps reduce hairball formation. Royal Canin supports the health of your cat by providing tailor-made nutrition based on a true understanding of the cat’s specific needs and over 45 years of science and observation.

  • Reduces hairball formation
  • Helps to naturally stimulate intestinal transit
  • Suitable for neutered cats
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

HAIRBALL CARE is formulated exclusively for adult cats prone to hairballs.

Where to Buy
Size: 3 lb
Size: 6 lb
Size: 14 lb
Product Information
Benefits

REDUCES HAIRBALL FORMATION
The exclusive use of HAIRBALL CARE reduces hairball formation. SUPERIOR RESULTS*
*Compared to the same formulation not containing the exclusive HAIRBALL CARE complex.

EXCLUSIVE HAIRBALL CARE COMPLEX
The exclusive HAIRBALL CARE complex is composed of a specific blend of dietary fibers, including psyllium seed husk (rich in mucilage) and insoluble fibers to help naturally stimulate intestinal transit. As a consequence, hair swallowed daily can be eliminated in the stools rather than building up in the stomach and being regurgitated.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
If you are not completely satisfied with any Royal Canin diet, Royal Canin will replace the product or refund your purchase price. Please contact our Technical Services team at 800-592-6687. Please keep the unused product in its original packaging for timely completion of your product replacement or refund.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Low Energy Needs Normal Energy Needs High Energy Needs
4.4 lb (2 kg) ¼ cup (27 g) ⅜ cup (34 g) ⅜ cup (41 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) ⅜ cup (37 g) ½ cup (46 g) ⅝ cup (55 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) ½ cup (45 g) ⅝ cup (56 g) ¾ cup (67 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) ½ cup (52 g) ¾ cup (66 g) ⅞ cup (79 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) ⅝ cup (60 g) ¾ cup (75 g) 1 cup (90 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) ¾ cup (67 g) ⅞ cup (83 g) 1 cup (100 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) ¾ cup (73 g) 1 cup (92 g) 1 ⅛ cup (110 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) ⅞ cup (80 g) 1 cup (100 g) 1 ¼ cup (120 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) ⅞ cup (86 g) 1 ⅛ cup (107 g) 1 ⅜ cup (129 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 96 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
ROYAL CANIN® FELINE CARE NUTRITION HAIRBALL CARE is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Chicken meal, corn, brewers rice, rice hulls, corn gluten meal, chicken fat, natural flavors, wheat, wheat gluten, pea fiber, dried plain beet pulp, grain distillers dried yeast, vegetable oil, calcium sulfate, fish oil, psyllium seed husk, potassium chloride, sodium pyrophosphate, fructooligosaccharides, salt, DL-methionine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, riboflavin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], monocalcium phosphate, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], taurine, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 32.0%
Crude Fat (min) 13.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 8.4%
Moisture (max) 8.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3526 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 338 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated)
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Feline Care Nutrition ™ Hairball Care dry cat food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 120.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highest Quality Cat Food Both our cats have had difficulties with hairballs; one of them requiring expensive veterinary care as a result of impacted hair. Since switching to Royal Canin Indoor Hairball 34, our cats no longer throw up messy clumps of hair.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Icky green hairball gifts from cat way down! I have been feeding our cats ROYAL CANIN FELINE CARE NUTRITION HAIRBALL CARE dry cat food for about 2 years now; Princess Leia, a medium haired gray diva of 7 1/2 pounds who likes growling at and swatting boy cats in the butt, when she is not grooming or demanding to be petted, has had a significant decrease in vomiting. We only once in awhile hear that sound, you know, the one like a Japanese ghost in a horror film with Sarah Michelle Gellar, that, in an antipodean way, makes everyone in the house run toward it screaming, "Noooo!!!! Not on the couch!" Great food. we all love it.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from $50 turned $661 after cat got sick My cat has hairballs frequently due to her long hair and I was really impressed with all the positive reviews of this food so I was excited to get it for her. The day it arrived, I added a small portion to her original food and she seemed to eat it with no problem. It was a tiny amount the first 2 days. The third and fourth day she didn't touch her food and was vomiting. I had to take her to the emergency vet and we found she had no obstructions or issues that would cause this sort of reaction. The only difference was the food. There is no other explanation. I will no longer attempt to feed Royal Canin to my cat as it is just not worth it. A $50 bag turned into a $661 vet visit and quite the scare for her and us.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my hairball-prone cat! We have been using this product since 2014 after my (then 3 year old) cat underwent a sudden, life-threatening health issue and would subsequently not eat after 7 days in the animal ICU. After trying several foods, we found this product and he loved it, quickly getting back on track and starting to eat again. He is a longer-haired cat and has suffered a previous bowel obstruction from his humungous hairballs. This food keeps his digestive tract working right, and 3 years later he is healthy and happy. It's totally worth the price if it helps my baby! We love Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She won't eat anything else ... My wife and I are owned by a beautiful 6 year old Birman cat. Her name is Azul, and we call her Zulie. She's been eating Royal Canin all her life, and as an adult, she's been enjoying the Indoor Intense Hairball "34". About 2 years ago she came down with periodontal disease and we had to have all of her teeth taken out. We of course thought that we would have to switch her to soft foods only and tried many different ones, but she refuses anything but her "34". She just swallows it whole. Never seen anything like it. When you know what you like, yo know what yo like!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more hairballs! My cat used to be prone to hairballs, especially in the spring when he lost his winter coat. After I switched to Indoor Intense Hairball 34, he is hairball free.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it We have 3 cats and all of them love this food. We switched to this from the indoor beauty because 1 of our cats has digestive/hairball issues because he's an obsessive groomer. The indoor beauty cat food was great! All 3 cats coats were shiny & soft after feeding that for a couple weeks. The intense hairball does not have the same effects on their coats but they seem to like it just the same and the obsessed licker does not hack up hairballs as much; Probably because he digests the hair more easily. Royal Canin foods are definetely top of the line!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief for my little boy. We adopted Ray (a 7 year old male) from our local humane society. We were having a lot of trouble with him throwing up hairballs. He was sick at least once a day. We tried treats, paste, and sensitive stomach formula food- but nothing worked. I read the review of Royal Canin hairball dry cat food and thought- we have nothing to loose in trying it. We are so glad we did it has helped Ray tremendously. I am now giving him the dry and wet version on Royal Canin hairball food and he loves it. Don’t ever stop making this food it has been a life saver!
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product!! I had a ragdoll cat that was having constant hairballs and it was getting to the point where I was ready to throw in the towel after trying SO many different types of hairball remedies and foods, when I contacted my breeder who I purchased the cat from and she recommended Royal Canin. She said they are a little more high priced, but after you use it-you will understand why and just how worth it it really is. After 2weeks on the Royal Canin Intense Hairball dry food my cat has only had 3 hairballs in 2years! (Compared to at least 1-3 a week that was the norm for him) I was amazed and have been hooked on the brand ever since! I know also use the Royal Canin Ragdoll dry food as well! And recommended it to my friend who had a similar issue with her kitty! She is now also a believer! I wouldn't waste my time with any other brand ever again! Royal Canin truly is the best and has exceeded my expectations! Thank you from me and my handsome kitty!!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, silky coats My daughter's long haired cats came to live with me and I had always used Royal Canin for my cats, but her cats puked up hairballs on a regular basis, so I decided to try the "intense hairball blend". Not only has it ended the hair balls almost completely, but their coats are silkier and softer than ever! Absolutely LOVE Royal Canin!!!!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more hair balls!!!! We've been feeding our Maine Coon this for over a year and he very rarely has a hairball. Before this we tried the tubes of stuff to prevent but he didn't like it and it wasn't effective. Also, his coat is beautiful! He feels silky and his long hair is shiny and healthy. We love feeding him something that is good for him and he likes it!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat prefers this over "grain free" gourmet! I adopted a feral cat who is now a happy indoor cat. I tried many "gourmet" premium grain-free foods first and the hairball problems were intense. She constantly vomited white foam and lost her appetite. Royal Canin Intense Hairball 34 was recommemded by the vet, and all the problems were solved. Plus she prefers the taste and texture!
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results My oldest girl cat has hairballs all the time. She also has a grain intolerance. We tried this formula and were shocked by the results. Not only did little miss picky enjoy the food, her hairballs disappeared almost immediately. All of our other cats like it to so we don't have to separate the bowls either! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cannot praise this food enough! I am a Veterinary Technician who has a medium hair and a long hair cat. I have only ever fed RC brand. I was cleaning up hairball vomit 2-3 times/week! I gradually switched my girls to this food and now they rarely have a hairball. I am so thankful (and so is my SpotBot ;)
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat doesn't puke! My Newman is all fur. And he's a constant licking machine, self cleaner. This is the only food I buy for him and it's well worth it. It keeps him from having hairballs which means I can walk around my home anywhere, anytime and not have to worry about stepping in yuck.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Taste! My name is Draper and I'm, 15 years old. My mom bought a three sample box several years ago and Indoor Intense Hairball was the best one. She's kept it in stock ever since. I just wish it weren't so expensive for her. Sometimes I donate my allowance to purchase it.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works! Our boys have been eating this formula for years. Two of our three American Shorthair cats love this dry food, and will get a hairball maybe once a year. The one who will not eat dry food has a couple of hairballs every week. All of our cats have moist food several times a day, but even with being "spoiled" with the moist food all day long, they still manage to go through a big soup bowl of Hairball Care dry food every couple of days. I would say, this product is a great success and they love it.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps hairball We bought this product on advice from our vet. Before we started using the hairball control, we would find them through out our home. Since we started it 2 1/2 months ago the hairballs have practically gone away.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hairball less :) I have been feeding my two cats this dry food for about one year and their production of hairballs has decreased dramatically. They are finicky eaters but enjoy the taste of this food. Great product!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky cat loves it! I bought this about a month ago as I have an extremely finicky long haired cat who has a hairball problem and a penchant for hunger strikes. His other food worked well but he just got sick of it. I tried this Hairball food and he LOVES it! He dove right in! The kibbles are a bit large and thought that would be a turn off but he doesn't seem to mind at all! Seems to be working well for the hairballs as well. Still have a few but they are much smaller and less frequent than before.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my cat throw up a lot less I got a small size of this food & some others at a chain pet store & brought them home, expecting my problem cat to not eat them and the other to eat it all. To my surprise, this one he gobbled down. So I got a larger bag & read the reviews on Amazon. This cat throws his food up often, the vet said sensitive stomach. This food he can eat & keep it down most of the time. It is expensive compared to some other foods, but their fur is so soft & they seem so healthy so it's worth it.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! I have a Maine Coon cat and this food was recommended by the breeder. My cat loves it and it really works.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful I have been using this for a few years now. I have a Ragdoll so hair balls are an issue.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats Love this food I have very picky cats with some teeth missing and they all enjoy this food very much.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product I would like to say thank you to Royal Canin for developing this product. We bought this around 2 months ago just to 'give a try' since our Himalayan cat was throwing up every day and we have tried different products and solutions to solve that situation. About two or three days after starting to eat the 'Hairball Care dry cat food' he stopped to throw up and it happened again just about 2-3 times in the last 3 months. The product definitely works!!
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from new changes inconvenience pet owners! This product is wonderful. However, I find it completely unfair that I can now only buy a 6lb bag. The benefit of switching from Hill's (whom gives me my bags of food for free) to you guys was because I could get the hairball food in mass quantity. I have 7 cats inside and about 20 outside. Buying 6 lb bags would last me one day, maybe two. This is a major inconvenience and way more expensive for me.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look Mom, No Hairballs!! As soon as I put this food in the bowl my cats were eating it!! They let me know when the bowl is empty. All five of them love this food, plus I haven't seen any hairballs in a while. I've done my fair share of comparison shopping in the cat food department to finally find one that they all enjoy and actually works! It makes me happy knowing they're getting good quality nutrition, with no hairballs to clean up!! Thank you!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute "Magic" At one point, we had 3 cats, two of which who struggled with hairballs (litter mates, apparently genetic). Immediate reduction of issues found with this product. All three found it inviting and the overall well being noticeable in all 3 cats - by far, magic! One of the littermates is still with us, continues to struggle if presented with alternative formulas, we ALWAYS return back to RC Nutrition HC! Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works! My cat is a long haired cat and therefore, she has had a history of coughing up a lot of fur balls. I tried switching her food many times in the past hoping that it would help, but nothing ever did... until I switched her to RC’s hairball care diet. I’ve had her on this diet several months now and she’s maybe coughed up one hairball in that time when it used to be a weekly thing. I won’t feed her anything else now.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good food that helps with hairballs. I buy this food with Royal Canin Adult to mix together. With a short hair and long hair cats, it eliminates the hair balls that we use to battle. Been doing this for 5 years.
Date published: 2015-09-03
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_2534, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT