Royal Canin® Size Health Nutrition Large Adult dry dog food

Large dogs are treasured for their incredible working abilities, and prove to be wonderful herding, tracking, rescue, guard and assistance dogs. These powerful and devoted dogs can often suffer from digestive sensitivities, joint pain and even cardiac issues. Royal Canin Maxi dry dog food formulas address the needs of the large dog throughout its lifetime-from the large dog's longer growth period, to nutrients to help limit inflammation of the joints and highly digestible proteins to ease digestion.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Supports bone & joint health
  • Promotes appetite satisfaction
  • Supports skin health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Large Adult is for large breed dogs from 15 months to 5 years old.

Where to Buy
Size: 6 lb
Size: 35 lb
Product Information
Benefits

HIGH DIGESTIBILITY
Helps promote good digestibility with an exclusive formula including very high quality protein and a balanced supply of dietary fiber.

BONE & JOINT HEALTH
Helps support large breed dogs’ healthy bones and joints which can be placed under stress by body weight.

HIGH PALATABILITY
Satisfies the appetite of large breed dogs with carefully selected aromas.

OMEGA 3: EPA-DHA
Enriched formula with Omega 3 fatty acids (EPA-DHA) to help maintain healthy skin.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
With nearly 50 years of obsessive scientific research, Royal Canin continues to deliver precise nutrition for pets. Not happy with it? Then neither are we. Our formulas are 100% satisfaction guaranteed. (Contact us for more details.)

Compatible Breeds
  • COLLIE
  • NEWFOUNDLAND
  • CHESAPEAKE BAY RETRIEVER
  • AKITA
  • OTTERHOUNDS
  • WEIMARANER
  • BERNESE MOUNTAIN DOG
  • BLUETICK COONHOUNDS
  • GREAT PYRENEES
  • OLD ENGLISH SHEEPDOG
  • GORDON SETTER
  • BLACK RUSSIAN TERRIERS
  • AMERICAN FOXHOUNDS
  • POINTERS
  • BLACK AND TAN COONHOUNDS
  • CURLY-COATED RETRIEVERS
  • BOERBOELS
  • GREYHOUNDS
  • KUVASZOK
  • SCOTTISH DEERHOUNDS
  • CANE CORSO
  • GERMAN SHORTHAIRED POINTER
  • REDBONE COONHOUNDS
  • KOMONDOROK
  • AMERICAN ENGLISH COONHOUNDS
  • BERGAMASCO
  • CHINOOKS
  • AMERICAN PIT BULL TERRIER
  • DOBERMAN PINSCHER
  • IRISH RED AND WHITE SETTERS

Don't see your breed?

Don't worry! We are working diligently to add more breeds to the page. In the meantime, if you need a recommendation, click here.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Low Activity Medium Activity High Activity
57.3 lb (26 kg) 2 7/8 cups (274 g) 3 3/8 cups (318 g) 3 3/4 cups (361 g)
61.7 lb (28 kg) 3 cups (290 g) 3 1/2 cups (336 g) 4 cups (382 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 3 1/4 cups (306 g) 3 3/4 cups (354 g) 4 1/4 cups (402 g)
70.5 lb (32 kg) 3 3/8 cups (321 g) 3 7/8 cups (371 g) 4 3/8 cups (422 g)
75 lb (34 kg) 3 1/2 cups (336 g) 4 cups (389 g) 4 5/8 cups (442 g)
79.4 lb (36 kg) 3 5/8 cups (350 g) 4 1/4 cups (406 g) 4 3/4 cups (461 g)
83.8 lb (38 kg) 3 3/4 cups (365 g) 4 3/8 cups (422 g) 5 cups (480 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 4 cups (379 g) 4 5/8 cups (439 g) 5 1/4 cups (499 g)
92.6 lb (42 kg) 4 1/8 cups (393 g) 4 3/4 cups (455 g) 5 3/8 cups (517 g)
97 lb (44 kg) 4 1/4 cups (407 g) 4 7/8 cups (471 g) 5 5/8 cups (536 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 96 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
SIZE HEALTH NUTRITION™ LARGE ADULT is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Chicken by-product meal, brewers rice, wheat, brown rice, chicken fat, corn gluten meal, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, calcium carbonate, monocalcium phosphate, salt, potassium chloride, sodium silico aluminate, choline chloride, L-lysine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], glucosamine hydrochloride, DL-methionine, chondroitin sulfate, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Calorie Content

This diet contains 3755 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 360 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).

Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Size Health Nutrition ™ Large Adult dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 92.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large Kibble I have been feeding all my working German Shepherds the GS Royal Canin for 18 years now. They metabolize this food well resulting in less stool output. Also, they had diarrhea frequently on the other foods B-4 I started the Royal Canin. In the 2 yrs that I have had my current GS he has had diarrhea only once which was caused by soothing else. I also like the large kibble. They cannot “inhale” the food but will chew it.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dogs.... We buy this product for our two large breed dogs. Never any problems with it! They love it when it's time to open a new fresh bag! However with the new close able bags, ever time is like opening a fresh bag!!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for sensitive tummies! My BMD has a sensitive tummy and this food is great! He was on the gastro formula from the vet for a bit as a puppy and we switched him to the Maxi Adult and he loves it and no tummy issues!
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right ingredients for my GSD I used to have to feed my GSD a prescription diet food to control his allergies. So I thought. After several years spending $95 a bag I decided to do more research. I discovered Royal Canin Adult Maxi was perfect for him. The only criticism I have is the version for older dogs, has oats added compared to the original version and he can't have oats. Tomato Paste is in some and again he can't have that. Tomato paste shouldn't be in dog food anyway because dogs don't need tomatoes.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a shep/hound mix that is 85 pounds. she love royal canin, she has been using it since she was a pup. she is very picky with her food, but the size and chicken flavor she loves
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only food my dog can eat I tried different foods but this is the best. Other foods gave my dog upset stomachs. He loves this food. I don't care how far I have to drive to get it as long as he is happy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great nutrition I have 2 active border collies that expend a great amount of energy all day and this food keeps them in top shape. They have healthy coats and love this food! I'd never change
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog Food for sensitive stomachs! I had tried several dog foods for my labradoodles sensitive stomach! None worked until I tried royal canin! It's by far the best balanced dog food we have found on the market.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Been using Royal Canin for 6+ years both our dogs love it, are very healthy and happy with beautiful coats! Would not consider changing to another product!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love it! I have very picky eaters and they love this product! Clean bowls and happy dogs here!!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dog have never looked better! Love this dog food
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Motherly feed I am so happy my mother was releaved. It's fabulous
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only the best My bear has had royal canin dry food from the moment he went onto solids. I have to say I am a first time royal canin user (always used other brands) but it is great. My boy loves it, he has great skin and his fur is soft and shiney (atleast when he hasn't been running through muddy puddles!) His growth has been steady and he has a good amount of energy without being hyper on additives. His doggy family also all love it. Definitely would recommend it.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Halo the doberman Halo has been eating Royal canin since he was about 4 months old. I started him on origin, tried Frommers, Arcana, all the high end grain free dog foods. He had diarrhea pretty regularly until we switched to Royal canin at the vet's recommendation. It helped right away and we have stuck with it since. Switched to the adult formula when he was around 15 months. He is over 2 now and still loves it, has a shiny coat and is very healthy.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! We have a 4.5 year old Weimaraner who was impossible to deal with for the first 3 years of his life. Being a veterinary technician, I did all of the necessary testing and monitoring to see what was wrong with the high-energy, high metabolism dog who refused to eat/gain weight and everything always came back normal. We tried 16 different types of food (no joke) to try to get weight on him and get him to eat. Finally, after beginning in a new clinic that was planning on carrying Royal Canin in-house, I got to talk to a rep and she recommended we try the Maxi formula. Usually, he would get halfway through a bag and quit eating (for two or three days he would REFUSE to eat anything since I tried hard not to cater to him), but we've been on Maxi for over a year now with no issues. Our other Weim is certainly not picky, but he loves the food and has had much better stool since switching. He also used to have a butt that could clear the entire level of th ehouse he was on and he has since not had it at all unless he eats something he's not supposed to. The 4.5yo is about 69lbs and the other is 77lbs; both eat 4 cups a day (they also either work or go to daycare all day), but I'm always surprised by the small amount of waste they produce. We're really happy with the food and I consistently recommend the entire product line. Having used it in clinic, I think the palatability of the RC foods are much better than 95% of the other Rx diets; specifically: we've had a few clients swap from Hills renal diet foods to RC with awesome results (especially in cats).
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent food for my 77 pound goldendoodle My 9-year-old goldendoodle has grown up on different formulations of Royal Canin kibble--from baby to big-breed puppy to maxi adult. She loves the food (always gobbles it up), tolerates it very well, is in excellent health (according to our vet as well as anecdotal observations show), has lots of energy, shiny coat, clear eyes, etc. Her stools are small and well-formed, showing the digestibility of the product.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good ingredients, good product My vet recommend I buy this for my Doberman. He's been on it for a few months now. He seems to like it and it's got some good ingredients for him. So far I like this food for my dog.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! We bought this for our large breed dog. She loves it! Her coat is beautiful and shiny, and she doesn't have any digestion problems.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love it I foster and buy nothing but the best! My dogs look healthy and feel good!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs are super healthy A few yeas ago, a buddy of mine told me that one of his friends that was a vet said that there's no point in buying the more expensive stuff and that it was all the same. I asked my vet about this and here's what he said. "Your dogs are always very healthy so whatever you are doing, keep it up." What else did I need to know?
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All in One Product I have 2 big dogs, a Golden Retriever mix and German Shepherd. I feed them both Royal Canin Maxi because of the added benefits of joint health, better digestion, less stools, and super shiny coats. This food is so filling for them. They love it, it is more expensive than the grocery store brands but well worth it.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She loves it !!! I like RC Maxi Adult dry food for my Labrador because she just love the smell every time I open the sealed bag and she gets so excited about meal time!!!. Also I know that is a premium product that maintain my lab healthy and vigorous... and her hair shines so bright that makes me happy as well =)
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overweight Dog We have been feeding our 72lb dog Royal Canin for about 6 months now. He is very active and we give him the recommended amount of 4 cups a day. We just discovered he has gained 10lbs! Great food and we have no intentions of switching, the recommended amount just did not work out well.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste We have been feeding our dog this for 6 months and can't believe that he still loves the taste of it. Every feeding he sits in anticipation and when we finally pour it into his bowl he goes after it as though it's his first time tasting it. We even use it as treats in his training!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality! Working in animal health, I know there are a lot of food options and diet fads out there for my pups. With Royal Canin, I know that my dogs' nutrition is backed by decades of research and science. There's no guesswork, I know I'm always getting the best quality nutrition.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic for all ages! Our breeder raved about this product, and made it a requirement part of our guarantee. Our dog has grown and developed at a healthy rate, and devours each meal (Labrador Retriever). Will continue beyond our breeding contract requirement.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I have been feeding royal canin maxi for my dog since he was a puppy my vet informed me of this amazing brand so I switched to it my dog bohdi is always chowing down when It’s feeding time don’t have one complaint with this food :)
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although expensive, the dogs seem to be enjoying​ it! It smells better than other dog food brands and I like the resealable bag. All 5 of my dogs coats are looking beautiful. Its always wise to feed your animals quality food!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value 35lb bag We’ve got this set up on Amazon Subscribe and Save delivering to the house. The 35 LB bag is an excellent value for high quality dog food. Our GSD Elsa and Great Dane Sheppard mix Gibbs are always satisfied with their meals.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! I've had my dog on this almost a year, I've seen a big improvement with his skin and mobility with in this year. He didn't always have a shinny coat but he does now. He also is now at a great weight since being on this food.
Date published: 2018-10-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_3007, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Crude Protein (min) 24.0%
Crude Fat (min) 15.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 3.3%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min) 0.17%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min) 0.07%
Omega-3 fatty acids* (min) 0.46%
Glucosamine* (min) 371 mg/kg