Royal Canin® Size Health Nutrition Medium Adult dry dog food

Medium-sized dogs are famous for their energy, and were historically working dogs. Whether your medium dog is an indoor companion or spends time hunting outdoors, Royal Canin MEDIUM formulas help these dogs maintain natural defences throughout their life, while providing the balanced energy the medium dog needs to maintain a healthy weight.

  • Supports immune system health
  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Supports skin health
  • Promotes appetite satisfaction
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

MEDIUM Adult is for medium breed dogs over 12 months old.

Where to Buy
Size: 6 lb
Size: 17 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

NATURAL DEFENSES
Helps support the dog’s natural defenses with an antioxidant complex and mannanoligosaccharides.

HIGH DIGESTIBILITY
Helps promote good digestibility with an exclusive formula including very high quality protein and a balanced supply of dietary fiber.

OMEGA 3: EPA-DHA
Enriched formula with Omega 3 fatty acids (EPA-DHA) to help maintain healthy skin.

HIGH PALATABILITY
Satisfies the appetite of medium breed dogs with carefully selected aromas.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
With nearly 50 years of obsessive scientific research, Royal Canin continues to deliver precise nutrition for pets. Not happy with it? Then neither are we. Our formulas are 100% satisfaction guaranteed. (Contact us for more details.)

Compatible Breeds
  • SIBERIAN HUSKY
  • PEMBROKE WELSH CORGI
  • SHETLAND SHEEPDOG
  • BRITTANY
  • ENGLISH SPRINGER SPANIEL
  • VIZSLA
  • BORDER COLLIE
  • BASSET HOUND
  • SOFT COATED WHEATEN TERRIER
  • CARDIGAN WELSH CORGI
  • ENGLISH SETTER
  • BOYKIN SPANIELS
  • AUSTRALIAN SHEPHERD
  • PARSON RUSSELL TERRIERS
  • SPINONI ITALIANI
  • TREEING WALKER COONHOUNDS
  • AMERICAN ESKIMO DOGS
  • BEARDED COLLIES
  • BELGIAN SHEEPDOGS
  • SMOOTH FOX TERRIERS
  • KERRY BLUE TERRIERS
  • WELSH SPRINGER SPANIELS
  • BRIARDS
  • SALUKIS
  • XOLOITZCUINTLI
  • HARRIERS
  • GERMAN PINSCHERS
  • ICELANDIC SHEEPDOGS
  • PETITS BASSETS GRIFFONS VENDEENS
  • IRISH WATER SPANIELS
  • FIELD SPANIELS
  • BEDLINGTON TERRIERS
  • PLOTTS
  • PORTUGUESE PODENGO PEQUENOS
  • PULI
  • SWEDISH VALLHUNDS
  • WIREHAIRED VIZSLAS
  • AMERICAN WATER SPANIELS
  • FINNISH SPITZ
  • ENTLEBUCHER MOUNTAIN DOGS
  • IBIZAN HOUNDS
  • CIRNECO DELL'ETNA
  • POLISH LOWLAND SHEEPDOGS
  • NORWEGIAN BUHUNDS
  • SPANISH WATER DOGS
  • GLEN OF IMAAL TERRIERS
  • FINNISH LAPPHUNDS
  • CANAAN DOGS
  • PHARAOH HOUNDS
  • SUSSEX SPANIELS
  • SKYE TERRIERS
  • PYRENEAN SHEPHERDS

Don't see your breed?

Don't worry! We are working diligently to add more breeds to the page. In the meantime, if you need a recommendation, click here.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Low Activity Medium Activity High Activity
24 lb (11 kg) 1 5/8 cups (149 g) 1 7/8 cups (172 g) 2 1/8 cups (196 g)
26 lb (12 kg) 1 3/4 cups (159 g) 2 cups (184 g) 2 1/4 cups (209 g)
31 lb (14 kg) 1 7/8 cups (178 g) 2 1/4 cups (207 g) 2 1/2 cups (235 g)
35 lb (16 kg) 2 1/8 cups (197 g) 2 3/8 cups (228 g) 2 3/4 cups (259 g)
40 lb (18 kg) 2 1/4 cups (215 g) 2 5/8 cups (249 g) 3 cups (283 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 1/2 cups (233 g) 2 7/8 cups (270 g) 3 1/4 cups (307 g)
49 lb (22 kg) 2 5/8 cups (250 g) 3 1/8 cups (290 g) 3 1/2 cups (329 g)
53 lb (24 kg) 2 7/8 cups (267 g) 3 1/4 cups (309 g) 3 3/4 cups (352 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 cups (276 g) 3 3/8 cups (319 g) 3 7/8 cups (363 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 94 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
SIZE HEALTH NUTRITION™ MEDIUM ADULT is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, oat groats, wheat, corn gluten meal, chicken fat, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, calcium carbonate, vegetable oil, potassium chloride, salt, monocalcium phosphate, choline chloride, hydrolyzed yeast, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid], L-lysine, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], magnesium oxide, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 23.0%
Crude Fat (min) 12.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 3.2%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min) 0.13%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min) 0.05%
Omega-3 fatty acids* (min) 0.39%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content

This diet contains 3616 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 340 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).

Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Size Health Nutrition™ MEDIUM Adult dry dog food is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing my dog will eat! I tried so many other dry foods and either he wouldn't eat it or he got diarrhea from it. My vet recommended this and I balked at the price. BUT...it's actually quite reasonable, particularly considering all the food I had to throw out. He loves this food and sits with his head over the bag when I open it up. I won't feed him anything else, and it makes me feel good since I know he's getting the proper nutrition!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from READ THE INGREDIENTS Second on ingredient is "chicken by product". Completely horrible they are promoting well rounded nutrition for your pup but the first ingredient is Brewers rice and second is a meat by product. Similar to any big box dog food like purina don't spend extra money on something like this. Look at what exactly is actually in this food because not much is natural or what they claim to be producing.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Food! I have been purchasing Royal Canin dog food for 7 years for both of my Labradoodles since they were puppies. They are both in extremely good health and have always loved the food! i will continue to purchase Royal Canin for as long as they live. Thank you for a quality product!
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Coat We have been feeding our Queensland Healer / Boarder Collie this food since she was 11/2 year old. She is now six years old and her coat is as soft as ever. We get people asking how we get her coat so soft and I have to give the credit to Royal Canin.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dog food I bought this to try with my breeding program and all my dogs love it easy change over from old food to this my dogs love it it don't mess with their belly like other foods and it last longer and love the puppy packs to send with new owners!
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I won't feed him anything else! This has been the best food for my pup charlie, his coat is always shinny and looks health. He has energy and it doesn't upset his stomach like other brands do. I been feeding him Royal Canin since he was 6 weeks old. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used since he was a puppy I have always used this brand. No problems. The vets always say he is a good weight and healthy. Will continue to purchase this for our dog who is now 5.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started using it about 6 months ago. Riley loves it and even lost 6 pds! I fe like she is getting what she needs in nutrition
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thankful for Royal Canin Saved our dog Blue. No more allergies now! Amazing. Horrible gastritis with BBuffalo before. So grateful.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fiod Our Husky has been on Royal Canin from day one, and was suggested by our breeder and our dog love it.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Food, Quality Ingredients! I love Royal Canin products!! My dog is a shepherd mix and I've always debated on if I should feed him the medium dog food or the german shepherd food. He has been on the medium food now for a little over 2 years (after feeding RC puppy until he was about 8 months) and it has been an excellent food. My pup sometimes has tummy trouble if he eats too many rich dog treats and this food (or occasionally RC prescription bland food) has done great to get him back on track! He also absolutely loves this food and is super excited for meal time! I have been feeding my pets Royal Canin for about 6 years now! I can't tell people enough how much I love it! My pets have always loved the food, even my picky eaters. Royal Canin does extremely extensive research about ingredients and nutrition to best fit the needs of each and every pet. They are always focused on keeping up to date on new recommendations and standards within the veterinary industry and not focusing on the fads/trends in the market that don't do your pet any good. Royal Canin is also very open and honest about their products and always welcomes questions or concerns to better serve their customers and their pets!
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food I feed this to both my dogs and they love it. It keeps them healthy and active.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever !!!! Your food is all this guy has had since he was 7 weeks old !!!!! he is so conditioned to the Big Red Bag its a real event when he gets a new one he has a fit till we open the new bag even if there is food left in old bag
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Will never feed them anything else! I look at buying dog food as like buying food from me. If I can get a 50lb bag for $25 from a grocery store, I feel like I'm buying them what Fast food does to me. I switched to Royal Canin 2 years ago and I will never change it. My 2 dogs love it! It makes there coat super soft and shiney too. They are crazy energetic girls. We even use pieces of food as training treats!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only the best ! My cats and dogs will only eat Royal Canine..they are all raised on it and senior cats and dogs come into my rescue and LOVE IT !! I have many varieties of cats and dogs coming into rescue so many different tastes and they all prefer ROYAL CANINE food !! Trust me I have tried different varieties of food ..but the #1 choice is ROYAL CANINE !
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! I have been feeding my 6 year old dog this food for about four motnths now and he absolutely loves it. His coat is shiny and the dry skin he had before I got him has totally resolved. His weight is perfect for his age and build thanks to this food, and he has had no GI issues with it whatsoever! I couldn’t ask for a better dog food!
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog Food My be-loved Max has Royal Canin since he was 2 month. He eats this dog food for 12 years, he never got sick, his skin is smooth, and he's still running like puppy! I think Royal Canin help me having a health pet and save my money of vet visit, and keep him younger. I am so glad that I listened to a vet when I adapted Max.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little waste! My breeder fed the Royal Canin medium puppy food and we continued that regimen. We then switched to the Adult dry food. Our dog is a 35 lb Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier and she looks great. She has little waste in our yard so I know she is metabolizing the food well. She is 2 1/2 now. Our vet said she is in great shape!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage fillers read the ingredients...yikes. Compared to orijen and acana it's not even close If you care about your dog
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs eat it Never had any digestive problems with this food. The dogs have always eaten it. It isn't a high end dog food that costs lots of money but it is pretty good. I did research foods before feeding them to our dogs because I didn't want all the chemicals that can be added to cheaper foods.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthly dog = happy owner My vet recommended that we switch to Royal Canin after I pointed out that our new dog did exactly like our old dog - threw up after eating. Tate does not throw up, loves her food and we have noticed an additional benefit - a non-gassy dog! Her improved health is obvious!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good until... My dog has been eating this for the last three years and was fine. Recently, however, she developed a food sensitivity to it and we’ve had to switch to something else. Otherwise, she seems to enjoy it and it seemed to meet all her nutrition needs.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food! Our dog has loved your kibble for more than six years, and I believe strongly in your brand and the nutritional content that your products deliver. Zoe is extremely healthy, and it's in large part due to your food!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The quality is obvious! I have had my 3yo, 50 lb staff mix on this food for about a year now and she's always been excited to eat her food since I started her on this. Her skin and coat has improved and her poops are always healthy!
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet Recommended Our vet recommended this food and this is the only food my dog has been able to digest properly. She is a much happier dog after eating this food! And when she's happy, so am I!!!
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly pleased My schnauzers love it, they are healthy and their coats look lovely and shiny and when we went travelling around Europe for a year we managed to buy it in every country we visited.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dog loves it! We used this product for 2 years and our dog loved it! Kibble is a good size so Charlie had to chew rather than inhale. No digestive/gastrointestinal issues, highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love it and so do we! Breeder started us on Royal Canin and when I visited our vet this week they have also started carrying it. Our 2 German Shorthair pointers look like show girls on it!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I thought I was feeding a good food. Attracted only by the label, never knowing what type of protein I was feeding my dog, etc. Until I learned about Royal Canin.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dogs have white teeth from food i have been feeding my german shepherds this since they where 12 months old also fed them the puppy and there teeth and health are just beautiful.
Date published: 2017-05-03
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_3004, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
My Pet is Anxious, What Can I Do?
Why is My Cat Begging and How Do I Make it Stop?
European Cat

Begging cats are just as bad as begging dogs. Here's how to mute that chorus of meows.

Learn More
Encouraging Cat Activity
Understanding your cat's need for daily activity.
Bengal Cat

As much as your cat needs food and water, she also needs a daily routine of sleep, exercise, and mental stimulation. 

Learn More
Does Your Cat Beg?
Can it be Stopped?
Maine Coon

Here are a few tips that might help make your mealtime a bit more enjoyable and stop your cat’s begging behavior altogether.

Learn More