Royal Canin® Size Health Nutrition Medium Adult dry dog food

Medium-sized dogs are famous for their energy, and were historically working dogs. Whether your medium dog is an indoor companion or spends time hunting outdoors, Royal Canin MEDIUM formulas help these dogs maintain natural defences throughout their life, while providing the balanced energy the medium dog needs to maintain a healthy weight.

  • Supports immune system health
  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Supports skin health
  • Promotes appetite satisfaction
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

MEDIUM Adult is for medium breed dogs over 12 months old.

Where to Buy
Size: 6 lb
Size: 17 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

NATURAL DEFENSES
Helps support the dog’s natural defenses with an antioxidant complex and mannanoligosaccharides.

HIGH DIGESTIBILITY
Helps promote good digestibility with an exclusive formula including very high quality protein and a balanced supply of dietary fiber.

OMEGA 3: EPA-DHA
Enriched formula with Omega 3 fatty acids (EPA-DHA) to help maintain healthy skin.

HIGH PALATABILITY
Satisfies the appetite of medium breed dogs with carefully selected aromas.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
With nearly 50 years of obsessive scientific research, Royal Canin continues to deliver precise nutrition for pets. Not happy with it? Then neither are we. Our formulas are 100% satisfaction guaranteed. (Contact us for more details.)

Compatible Breeds
  • SIBERIAN HUSKY
  • PEMBROKE WELSH CORGI
  • SHETLAND SHEEPDOG
  • BRITTANY
  • ENGLISH SPRINGER SPANIEL
  • VIZSLA
  • BORDER COLLIE
  • BASSET HOUND
  • SOFT COATED WHEATEN TERRIER
  • CARDIGAN WELSH CORGI
  • ENGLISH SETTER
  • BOYKIN SPANIELS
  • AUSTRALIAN SHEPHERD
  • PARSON RUSSELL TERRIERS
  • SPINONI ITALIANI
  • TREEING WALKER COONHOUNDS
  • AMERICAN ESKIMO DOGS
  • BEARDED COLLIES
  • BELGIAN SHEEPDOGS
  • SMOOTH FOX TERRIERS
  • KERRY BLUE TERRIERS
  • WELSH SPRINGER SPANIELS
  • BRIARDS
  • SALUKIS
  • XOLOITZCUINTLI
  • HARRIERS
  • GERMAN PINSCHERS
  • ICELANDIC SHEEPDOGS
  • PETITS BASSETS GRIFFONS VENDEENS
  • IRISH WATER SPANIELS
  • FIELD SPANIELS
  • BEDLINGTON TERRIERS
  • PLOTTS
  • PORTUGUESE PODENGO PEQUENOS
  • PULI
  • SWEDISH VALLHUNDS
  • WIREHAIRED VIZSLAS
  • AMERICAN WATER SPANIELS
  • FINNISH SPITZ
  • ENTLEBUCHER MOUNTAIN DOGS
  • IBIZAN HOUNDS
  • CIRNECO DELL'ETNA
  • POLISH LOWLAND SHEEPDOGS
  • NORWEGIAN BUHUNDS
  • SPANISH WATER DOGS
  • GLEN OF IMAAL TERRIERS
  • FINNISH LAPPHUNDS
  • CANAAN DOGS
  • PHARAOH HOUNDS
  • SUSSEX SPANIELS
  • SKYE TERRIERS
  • PYRENEAN SHEPHERDS

Don't see your breed?

Don't worry! We are working diligently to add more breeds to the page. In the meantime, if you need a recommendation, click here.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Low Activity Medium Activity High Activity
24 lb (11 kg) 1 5/8 cups (149 g) 1 7/8 cups (172 g) 2 1/8 cups (196 g)
26 lb (12 kg) 1 3/4 cups (159 g) 2 cups (184 g) 2 1/4 cups (209 g)
31 lb (14 kg) 1 7/8 cups (178 g) 2 1/4 cups (207 g) 2 1/2 cups (235 g)
35 lb (16 kg) 2 1/8 cups (197 g) 2 3/8 cups (228 g) 2 3/4 cups (259 g)
40 lb (18 kg) 2 1/4 cups (215 g) 2 5/8 cups (249 g) 3 cups (283 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 1/2 cups (233 g) 2 7/8 cups (270 g) 3 1/4 cups (307 g)
49 lb (22 kg) 2 5/8 cups (250 g) 3 1/8 cups (290 g) 3 1/2 cups (329 g)
53 lb (24 kg) 2 7/8 cups (267 g) 3 1/4 cups (309 g) 3 3/4 cups (352 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 cups (276 g) 3 3/8 cups (319 g) 3 7/8 cups (363 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 94 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
SIZE HEALTH NUTRITION™ MEDIUM ADULT is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, oat groats, wheat, corn gluten meal, chicken fat, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, calcium carbonate, vegetable oil, potassium chloride, salt, monocalcium phosphate, choline chloride, hydrolyzed yeast, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid], L-lysine, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], magnesium oxide, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 23.0%
Crude Fat (min) 12.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 3.2%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) (min) 0.13%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (min) 0.05%
Omega-3 fatty acids* (min) 0.39%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content

This diet contains 3616 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 340 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).

Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Size Health Nutrition ™ Medium Adult dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food. I was buying this dog food and both my german shorthairs were doing fine on it. Our trainer recommended a brand he sold, so we tried it. To our dismay, our dogs were allergic to its ingredients, their coats looked terrible, and lost weight. We went to the vet for the skin issues & he said go back to what we were using. Half a year later, the dogs have gained back their weight & their coats are beautifulagain. People from all over the country that we see at field trials and hunt tests ask what we feed our dogs because they look so good. We're highly satisfied.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent food, very palatable, dogs look great! I buy RC Medium dog food for my dogs, who exhibit in AKC Conformation shows regularly. They need a food they will reliably eat, and that will keep them in prime condition. This food fits the bill! Even when in the car all day heading to a show, or at a large show with lots going on, I know my pups will readily eat this kibble. No more stress-induced hunger strikes! And of course they all look fantastic, shiny coats and in good condition.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor company always heard royal canin being best but the ingredients gives an in depth view of the products as the ingredients say meal by products animal fats brewers rice and corn all of them being highly cheap and poor ingredients
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent food! My girl, Lacey had been on this food for almost 2 years and she has thrived. Her coat is lovely and shiny, teeth, nice and white. But to be honest, one of my favorite things about the Royal Canin diets is how efficient they are, in that there seems to be very little stool production. She is SO regular, her once-a-day gift that I can easily expect and clean up on our walks! It's a not-so-little thing that makes me very happy!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing my dog will eat! I tried so many other dry foods and either he wouldn't eat it or he got diarrhea from it. My vet recommended this and I balked at the price. BUT...it's actually quite reasonable, particularly considering all the food I had to throw out. He loves this food and sits with his head over the bag when I open it up. I won't feed him anything else, and it makes me feel good since I know he's getting the proper nutrition!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from READ THE INGREDIENTS Second on ingredient is "chicken by product". Completely horrible they are promoting well rounded nutrition for your pup but the first ingredient is Brewers rice and second is a meat by product. Similar to any big box dog food like purina don't spend extra money on something like this. Look at what exactly is actually in this food because not much is natural or what they claim to be producing.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Medium Adult works well We adopted 2 dogs a year ago from a shelter. The food they were on seemed to cause GI issues. We had our last dog on Royal Canin Large breed for 9 years and knew we would switch the 'ladies' to it. I trust Royal Canin to always put the health and nutritional needs of our dogs first!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Food! I have been purchasing Royal Canin dog food for 7 years for both of my Labradoodles since they were puppies. They are both in extremely good health and have always loved the food! i will continue to purchase Royal Canin for as long as they live. Thank you for a quality product!
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Coat We have been feeding our Queensland Healer / Boarder Collie this food since she was 11/2 year old. She is now six years old and her coat is as soft as ever. We get people asking how we get her coat so soft and I have to give the credit to Royal Canin.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dog food I bought this to try with my breeding program and all my dogs love it easy change over from old food to this my dogs love it it don't mess with their belly like other foods and it last longer and love the puppy packs to send with new owners!
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I won't feed him anything else! This has been the best food for my pup charlie, his coat is always shinny and looks health. He has energy and it doesn't upset his stomach like other brands do. I been feeding him Royal Canin since he was 6 weeks old. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever !!!! Your food is all this guy has had since he was 7 weeks old !!!!! he is so conditioned to the Big Red Bag its a real event when he gets a new one he has a fit till we open the new bag even if there is food left in old bag
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used since he was a puppy I have always used this brand. No problems. The vets always say he is a good weight and healthy. Will continue to purchase this for our dog who is now 5.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it MY DOG REALLY LOVE THIS FOOD! Since it was a puppy, we tried one other brand and it stopped eating. We went back to Royal Canin
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started using it about 6 months ago. Riley loves it and even lost 6 pds! I fe like she is getting what she needs in nutrition
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thankful for Royal Canin Saved our dog Blue. No more allergies now! Amazing. Horrible gastritis with BBuffalo before. So grateful.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fiod Our Husky has been on Royal Canin from day one, and was suggested by our breeder and our dog love it.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Food, Quality Ingredients! I love Royal Canin products!! My dog is a shepherd mix and I've always debated on if I should feed him the medium dog food or the german shepherd food. He has been on the medium food now for a little over 2 years (after feeding RC puppy until he was about 8 months) and it has been an excellent food. My pup sometimes has tummy trouble if he eats too many rich dog treats and this food (or occasionally RC prescription bland food) has done great to get him back on track! He also absolutely loves this food and is super excited for meal time! I have been feeding my pets Royal Canin for about 6 years now! I can't tell people enough how much I love it! My pets have always loved the food, even my picky eaters. Royal Canin does extremely extensive research about ingredients and nutrition to best fit the needs of each and every pet. They are always focused on keeping up to date on new recommendations and standards within the veterinary industry and not focusing on the fads/trends in the market that don't do your pet any good. Royal Canin is also very open and honest about their products and always welcomes questions or concerns to better serve their customers and their pets!
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food I feed this to both my dogs and they love it. It keeps them healthy and active.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect food, well worth the price We started our puppy on this and then tried a few cheaper foods, he got sick or had an upset tummy on all of them! We waited out until he finished that bag and went back to Royal canin. truly the best dog food, it is worth the price. he loves it! The only thing that he wishes was better is smaller pebbles for adult dogs! when he was a puppy he loved the size and once we switched him to adult food, he wanted the small sizes. other than that it is a great food
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs can’t get enough! We switched our 2 dogs to this about a year ago due to some lab abnormalities seen at checkup for our dog, Bart. He is doing better than ever and our other dog loves the food as well... she has always been a picky eater but we have no doubt she likes her food now. In addition, this brand is slightly less expensive than the food we were using before. Such great food for a reasonable price! We won’t feed our dogs anything else!
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Will never feed them anything else! I look at buying dog food as like buying food from me. If I can get a 50lb bag for $25 from a grocery store, I feel like I'm buying them what Fast food does to me. I switched to Royal Canin 2 years ago and I will never change it. My 2 dogs love it! It makes there coat super soft and shiney too. They are crazy energetic girls. We even use pieces of food as training treats!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves It! After trying my Dalmatian on the breed specific diet and finding his weight difficult to manage (he was getting too fat!) we switched over to this diet. This diet agrees with his tummy and he has very healthy stools, his coat looks fabulous (we get compliments on how soft he is all the time!) and best of all, he’s at a healthy weight and is very easily kept there!
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage fillers read the ingredients...yikes. Compared to orijen and acana it's not even close If you care about your dog
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only the best ! My cats and dogs will only eat Royal Canine..they are all raised on it and senior cats and dogs come into my rescue and LOVE IT !! I have many varieties of cats and dogs coming into rescue so many different tastes and they all prefer ROYAL CANINE food !! Trust me I have tried different varieties of food ..but the #1 choice is ROYAL CANINE !
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love Royal Canin! I adopted my husky mix, Jude, 4 months ago. Our vet recommended this diet, I already have my cats on Royal Canin, so I trust the brand. Jude has a husky housemate who is on a different diet and the difference in their coat is amazing. Jude is softer, shinier, and sheds less. It's also VERY palatable, we use the kibbles as training treats.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it It’s great that the food is formulated for my pet. More of what she needs and less of what she doesn’t. And I love that this food will age with her. That way she can stay on it long term and I can avoid stomach upset as she gets older. Royal Canin as a company is impressive as well. From the customer service to the product, all wonderful.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! I have been feeding my 6 year old dog this food for about four motnths now and he absolutely loves it. His coat is shiny and the dry skin he had before I got him has totally resolved. His weight is perfect for his age and build thanks to this food, and he has had no GI issues with it whatsoever! I couldn’t ask for a better dog food!
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog Food My be-loved Max has Royal Canin since he was 2 month. He eats this dog food for 12 years, he never got sick, his skin is smooth, and he's still running like puppy! I think Royal Canin help me having a health pet and save my money of vet visit, and keep him younger. I am so glad that I listened to a vet when I adapted Max.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky Aussie Approved!! My 2 year old Aussie is super Picky, but she really liked her RC food!! It all started when she was a puppy & had bladder stones. The vet put her on the special RC veterinary diet for her condition, and she loved it! Once she was able to go back to regular food, we switched to the regular Adult. No Complaints from Mayzee!
Date published: 2018-10-02
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_3004, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
My Pet is Anxious, What Can I Do?
Why is My Cat Begging and How Do I Make it Stop?
European Cat

Begging cats are just as bad as begging dogs. Here's how to mute that chorus of meows.

Learn More
Encouraging Cat Activity
Understanding your cat's need for daily activity.
Bengal Cat

As much as your cat needs food and water, she also needs a daily routine of sleep, exercise, and mental stimulation. 

Learn More
Does Your Cat Beg?
Can it be Stopped?
Maine Coon

Here are a few tips that might help make your mealtime a bit more enjoyable and stop your cat’s begging behavior altogether.

Learn More