Royal Canin® Size Health Nutrition™ Mini Puppy dry dog food

Small dogs need more than just a small kibble. They need more energy than big dogs, and they have a shorter and more intense growth period. Plus, they typically live longer than large dogs, and have a more finicky appetite. Royal Canin Mini formulas are designed to meet the specific needs of small dogs throughout every stage of their life.

Small dogs have very distinct physiological traits such as jaw size, bone structure, digestive systems, and high energy requirements which can benefit from specialized nutrition.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Supports high energy needs
  • Kibble helps reduce tartar formation
  • Supports healthy immune system
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Mini Puppy is for puppies (adult weight between 9 and 22lb) up to 10 months.

Kibble
Proven kibble technology helps reduce the formation of tartar.

Where to Buy
Size: 13 lb
Size: 2.5 lb
Size: 30 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Digestive Health
Developed with highly digestible proteins for the best possible nutrient absorption and with specific nutrients to support digestive health.

Intensified Energy Content
Developed to support the high energy needs of very small puppies during their short, yet intense, growth period.

Dental Health
Proven kibble technology helps reduce the formation of tartar.

Natural Defenses
Helps support the puppy's natural defenses, thanks particularly to an antioxidant complex.

Compatible Breeds
  • CAVALIER KING CHARLES SPANIEL
  • POMERANIAN
  • HAVANESE
  • BICHON FRISE
  • MINIATURE PINSCHER
  • LHASA APSO
  • CAIRN TERRIER
  • ITALIAN GREYHOUND
  • SCHIPPERKES
  • CHINESE CRESTED
  • PEKINGESE
  • BRUSSELS GRIFFON
  • JAPANESE CHIN
  • SILKY TERRIERS
  • NORWICH TERRIERS
  • RUSSELL TERRIERS
  • TOY FOX TERRIERS
  • IRISH TERRIERS
  • ENGLISH TOY SPANIELS
  • AFFENPINSCHERS
  • DANDIE DINMONT TERRIERS
  • CESKY TERRIERS
  • NORWEGIAN LUNDEHUNDS
  • ENGLISH FOXHOUNDS
  • BOSTON TERRIER
  • WELSH TERRIERS
  • TIBETAN SPANIELS
  • MINIATURE BULL TERRIERS
  • AUSTRALIAN TERRIERS
  • NORFOLK TERRIERS
  • MANCHESTER TERRIERS
  • LAKELAND TERRIERS
  • SEALYHAM TERRIERS
  • LOWCHEN

Don't see your breed?

Don't worry! We are working diligently to add more breeds to the page. In the meantime, if you need a recommendation, click here.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Age of Puppy
Adult Target Weight Under 2 months 2 months 3 months 4 months 5 months 6 months 7 months 8 months 9 months 10 months 11 months
2.2 lb (1 kg) MINI Starter ⅜ cup (30 g) ⅜ cup (30 g) ⅜ cup (30 g) ⅜ cup (30 g) ¼ cup (30 g) ¼ cup (25 g) ¼ cup (25 g) ¼ cup (25 g) ¼ cup (25 g) MINI Adult
4.4 lb (2 kg) ½ cup (50 g) ⅝ cup (55 g) ⅝ cup (55 g) ⅝ cup (55 g) ½ cup (45 g) ½ cup (40 g) ⅜ cup (40 g) ⅜ cup (40 g) ⅜ cup (40 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) ¾ cup (65 g) ¾ cup (70 g) ⅞ cup (75 g) ⅞ cup (75 g) ¾ cup (65 g) ⅝ cup (60 g) ⅝ cup (55 g) ⅝ cup (55 g) ⅝ cup (50 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) ⅞ cup (75 g) 1 cup (85 g) 1 cup (90 g) 1 cup (90 g) ⅞ cup (85 g) ⅞ cup (75 g) ¾ cup (65 g) ¾ cup (65 g) ¾ cup (65 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (90 g) 1⅛ cup (105 g) 1¼ cup (110 g) 1¼ cup (110 g) 1⅛ cup (100 g) 1 cup (90 g) ⅞ cup (80 g) ⅞ cup (80 g) ⅞ cup (75 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 1⅛ cup (100 g) 1¼ cup (115 g) 1⅜ cup (125 g) 1⅜ cup (125 g) 1⅜ cup (125 g) 1¼ cup (110 g) 1⅛ cup (100 g) 1 cup (90 g) 1 cup (90 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 1¼ cup (110 g) 1½ cup (130 g) 1½ cup (140 g) 1½ cup (140 g) 1½ cup (140 g) 1⅜ cup (125 g) 1¼ cup (110 g) 1⅛ cup (100 g) 1⅛ cup (100 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 1⅜ cup (120 g) 1⅝ cup (145 g) 1¾ cup (150 g) 1¾ cup (155 g) 1¾ cup (155 g) 1½ cup (140 g) 1⅜ cup (125 g) 1¼ cup (110 g) 1¼ cup (110 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1⅝ cup (145 g) 1⅞ cup (170 g) 2 cup (180 g) 2 cup (185 g) 2 cup (180 g) 1⅞ cup (165 g) 1⅝ cup (145 g) 1½ cup (130 g) 1½ cup (130 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 90 grams
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
Mini Puppy is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth.
Ingredients

Chicken meal, brewers rice, chicken fat, corn, corn gluten meal, wheat gluten, dried plain beet pulp, natural flavors, sodium silico aluminate, vegetable oil, fish oil, calcium carbonate, fructooligosaccharides, potassium phosphate, salt, potassium chloride, L-lysine, hydrolyzed yeast, sodium tripolyphosphate, choline chloride, DL-methionine, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, manganese proteinate, ferrous sulfate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), L-carnitine, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)29.5%
Crude Fat (min)18.5%
Crude Fiber (max)3.6%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Vitamin E (min)500 IU/kg
Ascorbic Acid* (min)200 mg/kg
Lutein* (min)5 mg/kg
Taurine* (min)0.18%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3912 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 352 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Size Health Nutrition™ Mini Puppy dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 124.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Puppy Jeremy's breeder (Park Rise ) recommended Royal Canin junior they are the experts and we have kept him on it. He never leaves a scrap and we also use part of his allowance for treats and training. Jeremy is lively, has a shiny coat is highly inquisitive, energetic, bright eyed eager to learn and nice firm poop. (important when you have a cream carpet!) I buy 8kg sacks at competitive prices online delivered to my door.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin knows their stuff! I have been feeding this puppy chow to my Miniature Dachshund puppies for the last six months and I can not say enough positive things about this food! The kibble is the perfect size making it easy for them to eat and they LOVE it. Because Royal Canin works so hard at making their foods formulated for specific needs, my dogs are the healthiest, happiest dogs in town. Everyone who meets them comments on how soft and shiny their fur is and my eight year old daughter always responds with, "That's because of the food we feed them - Royal Canin!" (Someone should get this kid a job!)
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size Indi was underweight when we got her and very weak and now after a month she is in great shape. She loves the food!!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! About 9 months ago I was surprised to receive a Schnoodle puppy and was also able to rescue a Chiweenie puppy. I didn't know anything about small dogs and my vet recommended that I feed them Royal Canin. They coats are shinier, they go to the bathroom easier, and have their energy back. So thankful for this product. Thanks!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from started feeding this to my puppy as it was recommended by the breeder. She is thriving, happy, playful and has no problems with digestion that some smaller breeds have. I am completely satisfied that my puppy is being fed the best food.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased This brand was recommended by a rescue shelter. I had a 7 month old toy poodle that was not eating very well. When I adopted a new puppy and was recommended Cabin I decided to give it a try. I AM SOOOOO HAPPY!!! my new puppy loves the food and for the first time my toy poodle is actually eating. He loves the food and I am relieved to know that he is eating good quality food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When you can get this dog food, it's great. I would love to be able to buy Mini puppy dry dog food. When it is in stock I am very pleased with it. I have no complaints about the quality of Mini puppy dry dog food. I have a HUGE problem of just being able to order it. It has been out of stock for at least 3 months now. I call customer service and they are absolutely no help. They don't know when they are going to get it in and wont tell me as to the reason why I cant order it. It has been very frustrating for me to say the least. I order well over $250 monthly on dog food.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My puppies love it! I feed this to all of my Yorkshire Terrier puppies. Yorkies can be finicky eaters and it is most important that the puppies are eating due to their very small size. I have never had a problem with feeding the Yorkie puppies the Royal Canin Mini Puppy. They gobble it up. I send a bag home with each new owner in their Royal Canin Puppy Packs.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yorkie ❤️s It Switched 5yr old yorkie from Mini Starter to Mini Puppy. Only food she will eat. Tried Yorkie bred and Bufflo Blue. She wouldn't eat either. Vet said she's not over weight, she's only 5lbs so he's okay with puppy food even though she's not a puppy. She loves the Mini Starter & Mini Puppy. Only food she's eaten since being weened.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Frenchie Gas!!!!! I love this dog food. I have a 4 month old French Bulldog puppy and have him on the puppy food. The puppy food makes him have a healthy soft coat & less gas. I will always use Royal Canin with Dozer. Follow his exciting life. Instagram - #dozerdean Facebook - Dozer Dean McClure Twitter - Dozerfrenchbull
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food ever!! I breed Bolognese and Maltese and this food keeps them healthy and beautiful. I give my moms the 42 week food when in gestation and they whelp easier and have gorgeous babies. I use all their products for my pregnant moms, nursing moms and puppies, both kibble and canned food
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb We bought home our baby, a Shih Tzu puppy who we named Po, when he was 45 days old. Initially he had problems with his eating although we put him on baby dog milk for a while. He was not particularly fond of it. He would also get constipated which was a matter of great concern..but then we started feeding him Royal Canin Mini Puppy Dry food and there was no looking back.... Po loves his food ..he goes crazy every time I open the food box. He jumps and goes dancing till I place the food before him and then gobbles it up without even looking up.... It's been such a relief to see him enjoy his food and it's been such a transformation from the earlier days when he used to be a fussy eater needing coaxing... His motion is now normal and he is full of energy. Po says "thank you Royal Canin"
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Food! I love this food for my Poms! I sale Pomeranian puppies and always had a problem getting them started on just dry food, so I decided to try Royal Canin and they loved it. Their stool is solid with no problems. Has great ingredients for their health. The smell is very flavorful and small enough for my puppies to eat well. I give a sample to everyone who gets one of my puppies. I am so happy with this product that I now feed my adult dogs Royal Canin. Thank you for being a great, and tasty dog food.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Breeder recommended We are feeding our puppy this food because the breeder recommended it. We are very pleased with the results of using this food and have no intentions of switching brands. Our puppies digestion has been phenomenal and his coat is very soft.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My puppy loves it! My six month old French Bulldog has been eating this food since she was weaned from her mother and loves it! We never have to coax her or stimulate her appetite! Great quality and she's growing perfectly. Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it will do for now He eats it but seems to like the generic food I buy my big dogs better. It makes me wonder if I should be pausing so much for so little. Also I thinks it's drying out his skin he might be allergic to what ever is in there.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Jack Russell loves this His breeder had him on Iams, and he was not overly interested in eating. I keep a bowl in his crate and one by his water bowl, and he eats like it's his job. He's grown like a weed, but not remotely chubby. He has no interest in other dogs' or people food. And his energy knows no bounds. I broke my leg 5 days after getting him, and this breed needs lots of exercise. He wears neighborhood boys who are kind enough to run him all over until I can walk him myself. He's a happy little boy!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pup loves this food Im so happy i got this food for my puppy. she absolutley loves it and i am happy with the ingredients and that is easy on the stomach great food and i am going to keep feeding it to her :)
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My puppy loves it! My puppy loves her Royal Canin therefore her mama loves it too! Her coat looks great and she is healthy, so I'm happy. My other dogs always try to steal her food so it must be good.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great producy! I was encouraged to use this product by my breeder and my puppy loves it! I use them as training treats as well! It gives her a lot of energy and keeps her full between feedings
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs loves it I brought my puppy home at 8 weeks. The breeder had started her on this kind and I continued it with added wet canned appetite exhancer. She is now 10 weeks and growing well.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from royal food for my little pricess The breeder of our Shihton puppy recommended this food and after speaking with my vet we decided to continue feeding her this food. So far all is well after 3.5 months
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppy Loves This food was recommended by my puppy's breeder so i continued feeding it to her. She is thriving on it. Easy to chew with her puppy teeth and she seems to love it.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppy Food - only the best will do I began using this for my new puppy. She is doing fantastic! She is healthy and happy. She has been using the puppy food for four months now. No plan to change.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food I have ever fed my dogs!! I have an 8 month old French Bulldog who loves his Royal Canin puppy food!!! He spins around and jumps into his crate for his delicious bowl of puppy food!!
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky Pom pup loves it! I have tried several different puppy foods and my pup would get an upset stomach. Then I tried Royal Canin, no more belly aches. She Loves it!
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppy love! We started our yorkie puppy on this when got her and she loves it. She won't eat any other kind of dog food. Wonderful product.. keep it up!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Start Your Puppy Off Right As a breeder I start all my babies off on Royal Canin Mini Puppy. Not only is it healthy for them it is the perfect size for little ones.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent. Thus is what the breeder recommended and the only brand the vet carries, so we took that as a sign. The puppy loves it!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my datshunds love it. gives them energy so they can play ball. They like the small bites and won't eat any thing else.
Date published: 2015-08-10
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_118
  • loc_en_US, sid_3000, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT