Royal Canin® Canine Care Nutrition Small Weight Care dry dog food

Size Health Nutrition Small dog food formulas are so much more than just a small kibble. Small dogs need more energy than big dogs, and they have a shorter and more intense growth period. Plus, they typically live longer than large dogs, and have a more finicky appetite. Royal Canin Small formulas are designed to meet the specific needs of small dogs throughout every stage of their life.

  • Maintains ideal weight
  • Promotes appetite satisfaction
  • Kibble helps reduce tartar formation
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

For adult and mature small breed dogs over 10 months old with a tendency to gain weight

Kibble
Proven kibble technology helps reduce the formation of tartar.

Where to Buy
Size: 13 lb
Size: 2.5 lb
Product Information
Benefits

MAINTAINS IDEAL WEIGHT
Contains 12% less kilocalories than SMALL ADULT. Helps maintain a healthy weight in small dogs by meeting their high energy needs while using L-carnitine to promote fat metabolism.

CONTROLS APPETITE
Features a nutritious, satisfying formula to keep a small dog feeling fuller, longer.

DENTAL HEALTH
Proven kibble technology helps reduce the formation of tartar.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
With nearly 50 years of scientific research and observation, Royal Canin continues to deliver targeted nutrition to feed every pet’s magnificence. Not satisfied? Then neither are we. Our formulas are 100% satisfaction guaranteed. (Just contact us for more details.)

Compatible Breeds
  • BOSTON TERRIER
  • MINIATURE PINSCHER
  • CAIRN TERRIER
  • ITALIAN GREYHOUND
  • WELSH TERRIERS
  • SCHIPPERKES
  • IRISH TERRIERS
  • MINIATURE BULL TERRIERS
  • MANCHESTER TERRIERS
  • LAKELAND TERRIERS
  • SEALYHAM TERRIERS
  • LOWCHEN
  • DANDIE DINMONT TERRIERS
  • CESKY TERRIERS
  • NORWEGIAN LUNDEHUNDS
  • ENGLISH FOXHOUNDS

Don't see your breed?

Don't worry! We are working diligently to add more breeds to the page. In the meantime, if you need a recommendation, click here.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Adult Dog Weight Low Activity Medium Activity High Activity
4.4 lb (2 kg) 3/8 Cup (40 g) 1/2 Cup (48 g) 5/8 Cup (55 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 5/8 Cup (54 g) 3/4 Cup (64 g) 3/4 Cup (75 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 3/4 Cup (67 g) 7/8 Cup (80 g) 1 Cup (93 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 7/8 Cup (80 g) 1 Cup (94 g) 1 1/8 Cups (109 g)
14 lb (6 kg) 1 Cup (91 g) 1 1/8 Cups (108 g) 1 3/8 Cups (125 g)
16 lb (7 kg) 1 1/8 Cups (102 g) 1 3/8 Cups (122 g) 1 1/2 Cups (141 g)
18 lb (8 kg) 1 1/4 Cups (113 g) 1 1/2 Cups (134 g) 1 3/4 Cups (156 g)
20 lb (9 kg) 1 3/8 Cups (124 g) 1 5/8 Cups (147 g) 1 7/8 Cups (170 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 1/2 Cups (134 g) 1 3/4 Cups (159 g) 2 Cups (184 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 92 g
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
CANINE CARE NUTRITION SMALL WEIGHT CARE is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Chicken meal, corn gluten meal, corn, pearl barley, wheat, brown rice, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, wheat gluten, chicken fat, rice hulls, dried plain beet pulp, brewers dried yeast, fish oil, vegetable oil, potassium chloride, psyllium seed husk, calcium carbonate, L-lysine, fructooligosaccharides, sodium tripolyphosphate, salt, choline chloride, DL-methionine, magnesium oxide, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], L-carnitine, trace minerals (zinc oxide, zinc proteinate, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper sulfate, copper proteinate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), green tea extract, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)28.0%
Crude Fat (min)9.0%
Crude Fiber (max)8.8%
Moisture (max)10.0%
L-Carnitine* (min)120 mg/kg.
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3298 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 311 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin ® Size Health Nutrition ™ Mini Weight Care dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! I was worried about my fussy chihuahuas liking the taste of a "diet" food. But they all love it!
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maintains healthy weight My min-pin has been loves eating this and has maintained a healthy weight and beautiful coat.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Bought this last week my dogs love it!! I will recommend this dog food to my friends.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this This food is great I love it and so does my dog she enjoys it
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST dog food ever I bought this dog food 6 weeks ago for my small 7 year old min pin/jrt mix. She has been suffering from pancreatitis for over 6 months. Home cooked chicken and rice was the only food that helped ease her inflamed pancreas. My daughter who works for a veterinarian suggested Royal Canin after prescription Science Diet I/D did not work. I was very cautious due to the severity of the pancreatitis flareups in my 8 lb dog. I'm happy to say that she has been symptom free since we started her on Royal Canin. We feed her 4 small meals a day to help regulate her blood sugar and ease her pancreas. We chose this particular food because of the low fat content and non-prescription statis. So far so good. She is back to her energetic self again and we are thrilled.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this food! I bought this because my bet recommended it. My dog loves this food.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does What it is Supposed to and My Dog Loves It Bought this based on a recommendation from both my dog's vet and the store. I was hesitant because of past experience with 'weight loss/control' food and how the food would be great tasting and my dog would love it as he had always turned his nose up at the good stuff. This was so very different and he absolutely enjoys meal time, does not mind the reduced portions and it appears that there is no diet food taste. Now if we can just get the cat to stop trying to eat his food everyone would be good !
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for picky eaters! I have been using this particular mini weight care for my 2 Yorkies, who are picky and tend to get bored with their food. Since switching to this one, they have maintained ideal weight and they don't seem to get bored.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great weight management! I've been using Royal Canin for years for my dachshund and love it! I use the mini weight control right now but have used others and always have had great results!!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog loves it now all she eats is royal canin! It has made her energy and over all health improve tremendously!
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very easy chewing and quick mealtime for dogs My chihuahuas used to circle the bowl now they dive right in.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog Xena loves this food n will NOT eat anything else!!!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it!!!! This is the only food I'll ever feed my dog. She loves it
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 4small dog's and two large dog's they all love it.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for my small yorkie easy for him to chew
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Results are promising so far. My chiweenie has had weight issues for the past few years and it has been a struggle to get her to lose weight. I originally had her on the Nature's Recipe dry food and then switched her later to Biljac. I am now in the process of switching her to the Weight Control dry food. So far, the results are promising. She is also not snubbing the new dry food. I did try the Weight Control canned food as well, but she didn't like it.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I feed all 3 of my Yorkipoos Royal Canin and nothing else! My oldest is 13 and is now using the Royal Cani mini Aging dry dog food. The middle one is 5 yrs old and eats the mini weight care Royal Canin dog food. The youngest is 2 and eats the Royal Canin Mini Special. All 3 have Exfellent vet care visits and when ever anyone tells me how great yhey look for their ages. O say that it's the Royal Canin dog food!
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great food It took us 2 years to find the proper food for our Toy Poodle. We rescued him when he was 4 years old. He was very fussy, and didn't like anything we gave him. When we found Royal Canin Weight care it was perfect. He has a bad left leg and we need to keep his weight in tact. This is the perfect food for him plus he loves it. We wouldn't think of changing the brand
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my Pom I have been feeding my Pomeranian this for over a year. She loves it. No issues ever with digestion or loose bowels. A lighter version I chose because we only get about a mile walk in daily. She has a luxating Patela so we try to be careful. My vet is pleased we chose this brand. Her coat is healthy and she is a very healthy pooch
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT’S THE ONLY FOOD SHE’LL EAT! I have been feeding my 12 year old,10 pound Maltese RC weight care mini variety for years and she absolutely loves it. Unlike us humans who shy away from anything that says “weight control,” my little dog runs to her doggy bowl twice a day for her meals. Happy dog, happy life. Thank you, RC!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I have been feeding this to our malti poo for 6 months and he was able to lose a half a pound. He loves it and eats all his food atnd every meal which isn’t something he used to do. His stomach is also able to handle this food and he doesn’t get an upset stomach at all.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps our pup healthy At our vet's recommendation, we switched from Royal Canin adult dry food to the weight control formula. Our dog seems to like it just as much in the mini size and hasn't gained any weight. It's hard to find in stores though so I have to order it through Amazon.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! I switched my chubby pup to this food and during the transition from his old food to Royal Canin, I noticed he was only picking out the Royal Canin food to eat and leaving his old food in the dish. That to me says a lot about the taste and quality of this food.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Check the ingredients Read the ingredients-- mostly chicken by-products, corn and gluten. I can't believe vets recommend and sell this!
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weight No More! I've been buying Royal Canin's Weight Care dry dog food for years. Vet recommended. My small Maltese dog LOVES it. I feel good about giving a healthier variety to my beloved dog. This is an A+ brand.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dogs love it Been feeding your Royal Canin to our two maltese dogs for 10 years started with regular been on weight care for many years good teeth and check ups come back good Thanks............. Royal Canin
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Yorkies Love This! I've been using RC for years for my Yorkies, they love the flavor and don't seem to get bored with the food. I also buy RC canned and mix on occasion, just as a little mixer for my kiddies.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Furbaby Loves We’ve been feeding our longhair dauchound this formula for 6 months. She loves it and has lost some much needed weight. We love our pets and both of ours are Royal Canine fans!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helping to keep our dog trim We feed our dog a mix of dry foods that includes Royal Canin weight care to help him maintain a healthy weight. It seems to work and he likes it.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toby loves this food. He loves the food, must taste great to him. I love the support it gives him to keep him healthy and full of energy. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-10-03
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_3018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT