Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Helps regulate intestinal transit
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced dog food.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 8.8 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

High Fiber
An optimal blend of insoluble and soluble fiber helps maintain intestinal health.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (50 g) 5/8 cup (58 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1 1/8 cups (99 g) 1 3/8 cups (114 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 2 cups (166 g) 2 1/4 cups (193 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 5/8 cups (225 g) 3 cups (261 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 3 1/4 cups (280 g) 3 3/4 cups (324 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 3 7/8 cups (331 g) 4 1/2 cups (383 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 4 1/2 cups (379 g) 5 1/8 cups (439 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 5 cups (426 g) 5 3/4 cups (493 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 5 1/2 cups (470 g) 6 3/8 cups (545 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 6 cups (514 g) 7 cups (595 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 6 1/2 cups (556 g) 7 1/2 cups (644 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 7 1/2 cups (638 g) 8 5/8 cups (738 g)
Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Chicken by-product meal, brewers rice, chicken fat, powdered cellulose, rice hulls, corn, wheat, corn gluten meal, natural flavors, wheat gluten, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, monocalcium phosphate, grain distillers dried yeast, psyllium seed husk, sodium silico aluminate, potassium chloride, salt, calcium carbonate, fructooligosaccharides, L-lysine, vegetable oil, DL-methionine, hydrolyzed yeast, taurine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)21.0%
Crude Fat (min)14.0%
Crude Fiber (max)12.5%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3334 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 287 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 130.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle product! Both of my dogs have severe stomach problems. They kept throwing up, having irritable bowel symptoms stomach cramping and lethargy. I spent months and months going to the vet at least once a week to try to figure out what was going on. Finally, the vet said to try royal canin fiber response food. It was an overnight miracle. Their stomachs stopped cramping. They stopped throwing up and their bowel movements became normal. It has been almost 5 years and the symptoms have not returned. I am so thankful for this product. It gave my babies the chance they needed to survive and thrive.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for short term use This food works great for stopping diarrhea and gas! My vet prescribed it for two of my dogs when they were sick and it worked very quickly to soothe their stomachs. However, when I kept feeding it for about a month or so for one of my dogs, his coat got very dull and he was shedding more than usual. When I switched him back to his regular food his coat improved. So I highly recommend this food for short term use, I don't recommend it for long term use.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for AG problems! My dog was on the Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat for over two years for his sensitive tummy, but began having issues with his AG. The doctor said it was most likely due to the fact that his diet did not have enough fiber in it. So I decided to switch him to the Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Fiber Response and he is no longer scooting or trying to bite his bottom! The transition was super easy with no GI upset :) and he loves the food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made all the difference in our baby Yorkie! When we rescued our little Yorkie, she had malignant mammary tumors and underwent surgery and chemotherapy. Immediately after her treatment, she began having mucous filled, bloody stools and "accidents" inside almost daily. After multiple specialty vet visits, different medication regimens, and endoscopy, a specialist recommended RC GI Fiber Response Diet. Total miracle. Stools became normal and regular......4 years later our baby still has no GI issues and is on NO medication! There are no words to describe how wonderful this food is for our little Mimi!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food saved my dog's life Four years ago we rescued a dog who had major stomach problems. At first, one vet thought she had been eating squirrel feces..but her problems continued. Then another vet diagnosed her with bacteria that flourishes in her intestines once a month. She prescribed Royal Canin Fiber Response. Since starting this food she has never had the problems again. Thank you vet and thank you Royal Canin for saving this wonderful dog's life.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I mix this with the GI low fat food. He gets 1 cup of each every time he eats (typically 6 total cups a day!) My sweet boy had chronic GI issues starting after getting parvovirus as a pup. I feel with this mixture he always has normal bowel movements unless he was overly stressed (from boarding for example). Thank you for providing such high quality products! We couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved our boxer Our boxer had chronic loose stools from a bowel resection when he was a puppy. We were giving him metronidazole daily to help aleviate the inflammation. Our new veterinarian recommend GI Fiber Response from Royal Canin and my boxer boy has normal bowel movements without prescription medication now! We are so thankful for this food and happy to see our boy enjoying life! Thanks!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall good products, not good prices though Overall Royal Canin had good food choices. My cat was on a prescription diet, and at first enjoyed it but after time did not want to eat it. I did not find the prices to be good, though. In comparison with other food brands and other prescription diets, the prices of Royal Canin are too expensive. They don't offer many promotions or coupons either. Other brands often have specials and offer coupons all the time. I have worked in a veterinary office and know it's a good brand, but I no longer feed any Royal Canin products to my pets.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing! My girl suffers from crippling separation anxiety as well as a super sensitive stomach. Anytime there was a trigger, she would up with colitis, not to mention the general unsettled stomach she had on a daily basis. Within 48 hours of starting on this food, the ever present rumbly tummy was gone, her poops were firm, and her general anxiety level was much improved. Of course food alone isn't going to solve her anxiety issues, but it's been a huge factor in improving her life. I'd be stressed too if I had tummy issues my whole life! I honestly can't say enough good things about this food. I have recommended it to dog park friends as well. At least one of them has switched her pup and has seen similar positive results. Yay Royal Canin! You have a customer for life.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed our lives! Quite awhile ago our Senior dog was diagnosed with panceatitis. he was experiencing many episodes of severe pain that no medication helped. We would be up all night with him many nights just trying to comfort him. After our vet recommended Royal Cabin gastrointestinal low fat food and we stayed him on it, we noticed the attacks seen to diminish and eventually disappeared. I'm happy to report that he had been pain free for a couple years now and is a very healthy 14 year old dog! Thank you for an amazing product!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixes chronic soft stool issues From puppyhood my Australian Shepherd had soft stool. She didn't seem to care, but cleaning up after it was an issue... and I didn't like the idea of what could happen if she had soft stool (not diarrhea) her entire life (i.e., could it eventually affect her health?). After trying several different store bought foods and several varieties of what I feed my other dog (Taste of the Wild, which actually has high fiber levels for dog food), I started mixing in pumpkin. That worked, but was costly and messy (as a puppy she also ate very quickly, so required a slow feeder bowl... putting pumpkin in one gets gross pretty fast). Then I tried metamucil and other fiber powders. They worked OK, but not as well as pumpkin. That's when a vet suggested this food. It works perfectly; completely solved the problem and she even likes eating it. On top of that, feeding her this allows me to still use high value treats (i.e., fatty) when training her for agility without any side effects. So glad to have found it and I'm always telling people about it!
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oliver likes this food! Oliver was not eating. We were not sure if the pancreatitis was acting up or he did not like the food. The test results were negative for pancreatitis and the vet gave us this Royal Canin. He has been happy and eating his meals.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Life saver My dog became quite ill, and we had been struggling to stabilize him. After a couple of months on this fiber response kibble suggested by the vet, we were able to take him off drugs and he's been in good shape ever since just on the food. It's definitely formulated for specific GI conditions, so I wouldn't feed it to the other dogs, but I'm very happy a kibble has worked for him. I wish I could buy it in a larger bag. This food is great-- I can even use it as a treat for training with him!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gives our dog back her zip This was recommended by our vet after our dog started having problems with her gall bladder and liver. Blood chemistry was out of whack . We switched her to this food and her levels fell back much closer to normal.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works miracles I recommend this food to many dogs with chronic diarrhea. I used it on my own geriatric dog when she suffered bouts of diarrhea. The dogs all seem to love it and it has really helped those chronic cases.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders for my Pup! After years of trying to incorporate additional fiber into my dogs diet for his problems (adding pumpkin, giving him fiber pills...), this is the first product that has made a significant difference. I used to have to take him every 3 weeks to have his glands expressed, and so far, he's been on the food for 3 months and has not had to go to the vet! What i spend additional on the cost of the food, I definitely save on vet bills! I wish they would also make a canned food with more fiber.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my Dog's Sensitive Tummy One of my dogs eats this regularly for his diet and his tummy. Now I am also babysitting two other dogs and I have them now eating it as well. It is expensive but worth it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love the taste I love the ingredients, my dogs love the taste. Their fur is shiny, their eyes are clear, and they have more energy.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just put my dog onto this. She loves it and eats it right up when I fill up her bowl.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best Our vet recommended this and we shared it with may dog park friends all loved it
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Scottie My Scottish Terrier had pancreatitis and he loved this food
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Solved!!! This product stopped our dog's pancreatitis attacks.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Food is Amazing! My 5 year old Rottweiler, Elsa, has been on this food for over a year and a half and she is doing so well. She was having horrible bouts of colitis and we tried many prescription diets but none helped. A representative of Royal Canin suggested this diet and explained the benefits of this particular diet vs. other GI and fiber based therapeutic diets. This food has eliminated Elsa's frequent trips to the veterinary clinic with diarrhea, ...and she loves it!
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best option for sensitive tummies! We've been using this food almost as long as we've had our dog. She was in a no-kill shelter and obviously well loved. Her tummy troubles must have been overwhelming to her first pet parents. Our vet put her on Royal Canin Rx foods... 2 1/2 years later the difference is amazing. Admittedly, we've tried other sensitive stomach kibble but she cannot tolerate them. We're Royal Canin customers for life because her life is so much better because of her food.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My Daisy is 25 years old with Pancreatitis. If it wasn't for this Royal Canin Gastrointestinal food, she probably wouldn't still be here. She has been eating it for 2 years at the end of May. Because she only has about 10 teeth, I do add a little warm water & Gastrointestinal canned food. She has always been finicky about her food but she loves this! Thank you for helping me to have more time with my dog Daisy!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dry Dogfood!! I buy this all the time. I ha e 2 yorkies, my female is 14 years old, she is blind, and also a very picky eater. My vet told me she can't digest fats, she once had pancretitis when she was younger, My boy yorkie is 5 yrs old, but both of them eat this and no health problems when they eat ROYAL CANIN. So glad I discovered this dogfood!!!! Monna Sparks
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily digested We adopted Cinderella when she was three years old. The SPCA had taken her from a puppy mill. At Christmas last year she blocked up and ended up at the emergency room. Once she recovered our Vet prescribed Gastrointestinal for her. We have given it to her as prescribed, she seems to love it and we have not had a reoccurrence of the problem.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Products I received a mailer about this superior high quality line of products that's very good way to ensure a healthier alternative for your pet's digestive system. My dog food feeding issues were completely solved, no more uncomfortable digestion gas, throwing up after feedings just an amazing improvements. Highly recommend
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my dog healthy! I've been using this Royal Canin product for about 3 years. My 7 year old Cavalier King Charles has suffered from Pancreatitis. My vet recommended this food for the balance I was unable to achieve while preparing food for her at home. This food saved her life, and keeps her happy and at a healthy weight.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for my yorkie I have a 12 yr old yorkie with some serious gastrointestinal issues. For that reason he is on a very restricted diet. We have been feeding him Royal Canin Gastrointestinal dry food for quite some time and he loves it. He has never tired of tie and cries for more sometimes because he likes it so much.
Date published: 2017-05-02
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_3959, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT