Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Helps regulate intestinal transit
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced dog food.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 8.8 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

High Fiber
An optimal blend of insoluble and soluble fiber helps maintain intestinal health.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (50 g) 5/8 cup (58 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1 1/8 cups (99 g) 1 3/8 cups (114 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 2 cups (166 g) 2 1/4 cups (193 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 5/8 cups (225 g) 3 cups (261 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 3 1/4 cups (280 g) 3 3/4 cups (324 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 3 7/8 cups (331 g) 4 1/2 cups (383 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 4 1/2 cups (379 g) 5 1/8 cups (439 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 5 cups (426 g) 5 3/4 cups (493 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 5 1/2 cups (470 g) 6 3/8 cups (545 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 6 cups (514 g) 7 cups (595 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 6 1/2 cups (556 g) 7 1/2 cups (644 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 7 1/2 cups (638 g) 8 5/8 cups (738 g)
Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Chicken by-product meal, brewers rice, chicken fat, powdered cellulose, rice hulls, corn, wheat, corn gluten meal, natural flavors, wheat gluten, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, monocalcium phosphate, grain distillers dried yeast, psyllium seed husk, sodium silico aluminate, potassium chloride, salt, calcium carbonate, fructooligosaccharides, L-lysine, vegetable oil, DL-methionine, hydrolyzed yeast, taurine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)21.0%
Crude Fat (min)14.0%
Crude Fiber (max)12.5%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3334 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 287 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 239.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best diet ever This is the only food I feed my dog. It helped save his life! If you have a German shepherd. You know they can have some serious conditions. Sonny came down with sudden edema. Lucky for us. Sonny was already on RC low fat diet. Had he not been. He may have not recovered. Sonny has serious gastrointestinal disease and other related digestive disease disorder. RC makes the best quality food for my dogs condition. Wet and dry. He loves the taste and looks forward to his meals. He enjoys treats as well. Sonny never goes with out anything becasue hes on a special diet no sir! RC makes everything my dog needs and wants.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Food is Amazing! My 5 year old Rottweiler, Elsa, has been on this food for over a year and a half and she is doing so well. She was having horrible bouts of colitis and we tried many prescription diets but none helped. A representative of Royal Canin suggested this diet and explained the benefits of this particular diet vs. other GI and fiber based therapeutic diets. This food has eliminated Elsa's frequent trips to the veterinary clinic with diarrhea, ...and she loves it!
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps My Best Friend Alive & Healthy! My dog, Sam, was diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis about two years ago after surviving 5-8 weeks of declining health. I thought I was going to lose him. It was a painful time for the both of us. Royal Canaan saved his life and healed his body. It might not be the best tasting thing but your food nourishes his body and helps him continue to Thank you so very much. my life the much needed joy and companionship. I cherish our relationship.****Chronic Depression is hard. Sam has literally kept me alive too. I’m glad I was able to do the same for him by giving him your food. Thank you so very much.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for short term use This food works great for stopping diarrhea and gas! My vet prescribed it for two of my dogs when they were sick and it worked very quickly to soothe their stomachs. However, when I kept feeding it for about a month or so for one of my dogs, his coat got very dull and he was shedding more than usual. When I switched him back to his regular food his coat improved. So I highly recommend this food for short term use, I don't recommend it for long term use.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saving Dog Food! My 8-year-old dog Izzie was diagnosed with diabetes over Thanksgiving 2014. Then she was diagnosed with pancreatic disease shortly after. She was a very sick dog and I thought we were going to loose her. After putting her on Royal Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry dog food she is doing very well. She is back to her normal playful self and it looks like she will be living a long and happy life with us. Thank you for helping us save her life.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle product! Both of my dogs have severe stomach problems. They kept throwing up, having irritable bowel symptoms stomach cramping and lethargy. I spent months and months going to the vet at least once a week to try to figure out what was going on. Finally, the vet said to try royal canin fiber response food. It was an overnight miracle. Their stomachs stopped cramping. They stopped throwing up and their bowel movements became normal. It has been almost 5 years and the symptoms have not returned. I am so thankful for this product. It gave my babies the chance they needed to survive and thrive.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for AG problems! My dog was on the Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat for over two years for his sensitive tummy, but began having issues with his AG. The doctor said it was most likely due to the fact that his diet did not have enough fiber in it. So I decided to switch him to the Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Fiber Response and he is no longer scooting or trying to bite his bottom! The transition was super easy with no GI upset :) and he loves the food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made all the difference in our baby Yorkie! When we rescued our little Yorkie, she had malignant mammary tumors and underwent surgery and chemotherapy. Immediately after her treatment, she began having mucous filled, bloody stools and "accidents" inside almost daily. After multiple specialty vet visits, different medication regimens, and endoscopy, a specialist recommended RC GI Fiber Response Diet. Total miracle. Stools became normal and regular......4 years later our baby still has no GI issues and is on NO medication! There are no words to describe how wonderful this food is for our little Mimi!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food saved my dog's life Four years ago we rescued a dog who had major stomach problems. At first, one vet thought she had been eating squirrel feces..but her problems continued. Then another vet diagnosed her with bacteria that flourishes in her intestines once a month. She prescribed Royal Canin Fiber Response. Since starting this food she has never had the problems again. Thank you vet and thank you Royal Canin for saving this wonderful dog's life.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fiber My breeder first recommended this food and I was hesitant bc I had heard that “grains were bad” for Bulldogs. And then my vet ( the Bulldog Guru) recommend the same food for digestion. I finially gave it a try and ... SOLD. I give all 3 of my Bulldogs this food and the wet, twice a day. Their eyes, ears, skin, digestive tracts have completely healed. I think you have to go with what works for your pup. I have tried many different foods/brands and this is where I always came back to and now stay. My Bulldog lived to be 13 years old and cancer free!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What my furbaby needs, but oof that price... My senior boston terrier came down with pancreatitis, which is expected to be chronic due to Cushing's disease. I want her to be comfortable & avoid further flare ups so this is the choice for us. She likes it, it seems to like her back (a couple months in and still doing well) but yikes it is so expensive. And we were feeding our dogs pricey non-Rx stuff previously, so it's not like I was going from grocery store food to this or something. It's hard for me to understand exactly why it needs to be this expensive, but alas I will keep using it...
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I mix this with the GI low fat food. He gets 1 cup of each every time he eats (typically 6 total cups a day!) My sweet boy had chronic GI issues starting after getting parvovirus as a pup. I feel with this mixture he always has normal bowel movements unless he was overly stressed (from boarding for example). Thank you for providing such high quality products! We couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved our boxer Our boxer had chronic loose stools from a bowel resection when he was a puppy. We were giving him metronidazole daily to help aleviate the inflammation. Our new veterinarian recommend GI Fiber Response from Royal Canin and my boxer boy has normal bowel movements without prescription medication now! We are so thankful for this food and happy to see our boy enjoying life! Thanks!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall good products, not good prices though Overall Royal Canin had good food choices. My cat was on a prescription diet, and at first enjoyed it but after time did not want to eat it. I did not find the prices to be good, though. In comparison with other food brands and other prescription diets, the prices of Royal Canin are too expensive. They don't offer many promotions or coupons either. Other brands often have specials and offer coupons all the time. I have worked in a veterinary office and know it's a good brand, but I no longer feed any Royal Canin products to my pets.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing! My girl suffers from crippling separation anxiety as well as a super sensitive stomach. Anytime there was a trigger, she would up with colitis, not to mention the general unsettled stomach she had on a daily basis. Within 48 hours of starting on this food, the ever present rumbly tummy was gone, her poops were firm, and her general anxiety level was much improved. Of course food alone isn't going to solve her anxiety issues, but it's been a huge factor in improving her life. I'd be stressed too if I had tummy issues my whole life! I honestly can't say enough good things about this food. I have recommended it to dog park friends as well. At least one of them has switched her pup and has seen similar positive results. Yay Royal Canin! You have a customer for life.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed our lives! Quite awhile ago our Senior dog was diagnosed with panceatitis. he was experiencing many episodes of severe pain that no medication helped. We would be up all night with him many nights just trying to comfort him. After our vet recommended Royal Cabin gastrointestinal low fat food and we stayed him on it, we noticed the attacks seen to diminish and eventually disappeared. I'm happy to report that he had been pain free for a couple years now and is a very healthy 14 year old dog! Thank you for an amazing product!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixes chronic soft stool issues From puppyhood my Australian Shepherd had soft stool. She didn't seem to care, but cleaning up after it was an issue... and I didn't like the idea of what could happen if she had soft stool (not diarrhea) her entire life (i.e., could it eventually affect her health?). After trying several different store bought foods and several varieties of what I feed my other dog (Taste of the Wild, which actually has high fiber levels for dog food), I started mixing in pumpkin. That worked, but was costly and messy (as a puppy she also ate very quickly, so required a slow feeder bowl... putting pumpkin in one gets gross pretty fast). Then I tried metamucil and other fiber powders. They worked OK, but not as well as pumpkin. That's when a vet suggested this food. It works perfectly; completely solved the problem and she even likes eating it. On top of that, feeding her this allows me to still use high value treats (i.e., fatty) when training her for agility without any side effects. So glad to have found it and I'm always telling people about it!
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind I bought this brand of food for my dog a few months ago when one we found out he had prostate cancer and he wasnt eating his regular diet anymore. After trying to feed him anything he wanted and it becoming worse for his tummy I started to feed him the dry food with the wet version of the Gastrointestinal and he soon started to eat this food regularly. Its gives me peace of mind knowing that he is getting his nutrional needs met while at the same time enjoys this brand that isn't hard on his tummy.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oliver likes this food! Oliver was not eating. We were not sure if the pancreatitis was acting up or he did not like the food. The test results were negative for pancreatitis and the vet gave us this Royal Canin. He has been happy and eating his meals.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Life saver My dog became quite ill, and we had been struggling to stabilize him. After a couple of months on this fiber response kibble suggested by the vet, we were able to take him off drugs and he's been in good shape ever since just on the food. It's definitely formulated for specific GI conditions, so I wouldn't feed it to the other dogs, but I'm very happy a kibble has worked for him. I wish I could buy it in a larger bag. This food is great-- I can even use it as a treat for training with him!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gives our dog back her zip This was recommended by our vet after our dog started having problems with her gall bladder and liver. Blood chemistry was out of whack . We switched her to this food and her levels fell back much closer to normal.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works miracles I recommend this food to many dogs with chronic diarrhea. I used it on my own geriatric dog when she suffered bouts of diarrhea. The dogs all seem to love it and it has really helped those chronic cases.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders for my Pup! After years of trying to incorporate additional fiber into my dogs diet for his problems (adding pumpkin, giving him fiber pills...), this is the first product that has made a significant difference. I used to have to take him every 3 weeks to have his glands expressed, and so far, he's been on the food for 3 months and has not had to go to the vet! What i spend additional on the cost of the food, I definitely save on vet bills! I wish they would also make a canned food with more fiber.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my Dog's Sensitive Tummy One of my dogs eats this regularly for his diet and his tummy. Now I am also babysitting two other dogs and I have them now eating it as well. It is expensive but worth it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good performance Carlos has been on the Royal Canin, Gastrointestinal dry food. He is regular on his #2, and no longer has diarrhea. He's a happy senior citizen, black Labrador.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I have been feeding this for about a year to my dog. She has chronic constipation, low GI motility, and other GI issues secondary to several surgeries she had when she was young. (Parts of her intestine had to be removed due to her eating foreign material) Before now she had to have a high dose of laxative twice a day and a low dose of steroid just to maintain normal GI function. Since starting this food, we have been able to wean her off of most of her medications. She no longer needs the laxative or steroid! And her gut health is the best it has been in years. Her issues are very infrequent and she recovers much more quickly now. It has changed her from a high maintenance dog that requires constant monitoring to a normal dog that we can enjoy and not have to constantly be worried about. And she loves it!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love the taste I love the ingredients, my dogs love the taste. Their fur is shiny, their eyes are clear, and they have more energy.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food ever for GI problems My greyhound was vomiting almost everyday for at least 4 months. We were making weekly expensive trips to the vet. Finally it was discovered that she had a chicken allergy and also the food I was using was just not the right mix for her. I switched to Royal Canin and she has not been sick in almost a year! She loves it! No vomiting and no trouble getting her to eat. It keeps her regular and her coat is soft and shiny. Royal Canin is wonderful and worth every penny!!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just put my dog onto this. She loves it and eats it right up when I fill up her bowl.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best Our vet recommended this and we shared it with may dog park friends all loved it
Date published: 2015-09-03
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_220
  • loc_en_US, sid_3959, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT