Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat canned dog food 13.6 oz (24 cans/case)

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin® has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Helps maintain a healthy weight
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed
Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat canned is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced dog food. The diet is restricted in fat.
Where to Buy
Product Information

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

Low Fat
A low fat concentration, while providing a maintenance energy level, helps dogs with difficulties in digesting fat.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 can (170 g) 1/2 can (197 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 7/8 can (338 g) 1 can (391 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 1 1/2 cans (569 g) 1 3/4 cans (658 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 cans (771 g) 2 3/8 cans (892 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 2 1/2 cans (956 g) 2 7/8 cans (1107 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 2 7/8 cans (1130 g) 3 3/8 cans (1309 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 3 3/8 cans (1296 g) 3 7/8 cans (1501 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 3 3/4 cans (1455 g) 4 3/8 cans (1685 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 4 1/8 cans (1608 g) 4 7/8 cans (1862 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 4 5/8 cans (1757 g) 5 1/4 cans (2034 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 5 cans (1901 g) 5 3/4 cans (2201 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 5 5/8 cans (2180 g) 6 1/2 cans (2524 g)

Water sufficient for processing, pork by-products, rice flour, corn grits, corn meal, powdered cellulose, dried plain beet pulp, calcium carbonate, guar gum, natural flavors, gelatin by-products, carrageenan, potassium citrate, sodium tripolyphosphate, sodium silico aluminate, taurine, hydrolyzed yeast, fish oil, vegetable oil, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), niacin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, zinc proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, sodium selenite, calcium iodate], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.).

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 6.0%
Crude Fat (min) 1.0%
Crude Fat (max) 2.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 2.5%
Moisture (max) 76.0%
Calorie Content This diet contains 895 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 345 kilocalories ME per 13.6 oz can on an as fed basis (calculated).
Calorie Content
This diet contains 895 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 345 kilocalories ME per 13.6 oz can on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat canned dog food 13.6 oz (24 cans/case) is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 300.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Other Dogs Want it Too! I've fed my Border Collie canned RC GI Low Fat as recommended by his vet for Inflammatory Bowel Disease for three years now. His coat is very shiny and he seems to like the taste, which is good because his disease makes him a picky eater sometimes. Our vet recommended Royal Canin for its palatability, and he does like it, and our other three dogs seem to really wish they could have it. The cat will also eat it if given a chance. I think it's important to note that RC GI LF Canned has different ingredients than the RC GI LF Dry. My dog did better on canned than dry, and I compared ingredients and noticed that dry contains chicken but canned doesn't. I'd have given five stars but it's really expensive, but it's keeping my canine boy alive, so I can't really complain.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE PRODUCT THE LID REMOVAL SNAP CAME CLEAR OFF IMMEDIATELY AND I AM VERY CAREFUL WITH SNAP LID CANS! This was the cheapest product I have ever seen, it was ridiculous! The lid snap came off in my hand immediately it was so cheap when I tried to open it. Then the can opener was totally ineffective at removing the lid because of the cheap quality of the lid also. So, that took me 10 minutes to remove. It then took another 10 minutes to actually clean the can for recycle as it was so cheaply made! Just horrible. The debris had no ability to slide or be cleaned from can so it stuck like crazy instead. Poor, horribly poor product, never again!
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes Good and Good for Us After our Yorkie Jazzy had an episode of pancreatitis, our vet put her on the low fat GI can and dry food. Her sister Snazzy was so jealous of the great smelling food, we had to put her on it too!! Pill time is easy when we hide the pills inside a little "meatball" of this food. And we know that Jazzy is getting fed something that should reduce the chance of another bout of pancreatitis.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stomach trouble My boxer, Tyko, has had stomach problems since I got him 3 1/2 years ago. When I took him to a different vet ( mine was unavailable) she gave me a bag of gastrointestinal low fat dry dog food to try. It has been the best thing for him. He has not had a problem since. Since he is my baby (at 8 years old) I don't care about the price. It's worth every penny I spend. I have temporarily gone to the canned since he had major dental surgery and that's also great. Thank you for having this food available.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My buddies no longer have upset tummies I've been using Royal Caine Low Fat Gastrointestinal for years with Pogi because of a sensitive stomach. And when we've adopted Turk we weren't sure what kind of diet he had but because his stomach constantly was upset, we sought the advice from our Banfield Vet where she prescribed Urisodol for his gallbladder (sorry to say it will be for the rest of his life) and prescribed the low fat diet Rayal Canine Low Fat Gastrointestinal. As you can see my buddies Turks is 9 and Pogi is 10 are healthy and get twice yearly checkups where they monitors to make sure they remain healthy!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves It - Back From the Brink! We had been feeding our dog (Corky) the dry venison and potato limited ingredient food for many years and then Corky had an acute episode in which we thought we were going to lose him. He wouldn't eat anything. Finally, he started to eat little bits of this canned food. Gradually he's back to eating normal amounts and he just loves this stuff. His digestive system seems to be functioning quite well which has been an off/on problem for him. Overall, I believe this food to be a "life saver". Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boxers love it. I have been feeding my two boxers this since Riley got sick a couple years ago. Riley loved it and Jacob loves it too. I had to start buying it from my vet because it is the only food that Riley doesn't throw up now that they are ten years old. It helps keep their weight down also. My daughter has a Boston Terrier and when he comes over that is what he wants too. They all three sit in the kitchen and impatiently wait to eat.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tummy troubles? This is the stuff for your pup! I can't say enough good about this product. Our bully girl was diagnosed with something quite rare--lymphangentasia of her intestines which caused her to go septic on three occasions. She had three surgeries (the first one was a misdiagnosed tumor and the first surgery failed inside 72 hours because the vet was unable to recognize diseased intestinal tissue). For a girl with with rice paper for intestines, she lived very happily with no change in her sweet and joyful personality and for much longer in large part due to this food. It was easy to digest, she devoured it with abandon and it supported her system with this serious disease. It took a village to keep our girl alive, and Royal Canin was a leading villager in the effort.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helping our Toy Poodle avoid bouts of pancreatitis We travel in an RV fulltime - while in Florida our toy poodle had a bout of pancreatitis. The vet encouraged us to "only" feed her on RC Gastro Intestinal canned and dry dog food. She's been on it ever since and so far the pancreatitis is history. We attribute it to the wonderful food and she will NEVER be on any other kind.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saved dogs life My dog almost died from pancreatitis and this was the food he was given for recovery and for the rest of his life. I would have never picked this food myself because I don't like by-products. I have never read anything good about them. My dog is having a tough time gaining weight back on this, but he loves it, so will continue and gradually increase the amount. Also, no more gassy stomach.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prospering on his diet for 8 months and loving it After 9 days in intensive care at the University of Florida Veterinary Hospital, my dog was discharged on this diet exclusively. He had suffered from pancreatitus and become diabetic. He is only allowed to eat this diet., which has remained tasty to him, and his weight has remained within our goal. He has energy, is active and appears to be a normal healthy pet. You bet I love it!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you, Royal Canin My schnauzer, Brooklyn has been on the kibble and canned low fat canine gastro for two years and this product has saved her life. Brooklyn was near death twice with pancreatic problems. She has been lovin life and is healthy !
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Changing! Prior to our vet prescribing Royal Canin's Gastrointestinal Low Fat canned dog food, our standard poodle's problematic stomache issues were constant cause for concern. Watson has been on this diet for a few years now and what a difference. You'd never know he's 10 years old; he runs around like a pup. Thank you, Royal Canin, for bringing our beloved dog back to health.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My dog did not care for it We got this food from the emergency vet after our cocker spaniel visited there with severe auto-immune anemia and then pancreatitus. Our boy didn't care for it and he had terrible gas. I don't know for sure if it was from this food as he was on a lot of medications at the time, but I know of the 4 cans we purchased, I donated the last one to our local vet for hospital use as I had no intention of feeding it to our dog. He normally eats dry dog food so a canned food is usually a particularly tasty treat. The food was recommended highly by the veterinary staffs, so I still give it credit and respect it's potential. I can't say anything as to it's nutritional/medical value, but I do know it wasn't for my boy.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dogs Love It My dogs get more excited when I open the can than they do when I give them a treat! Whatever is in this makes them happy, and has certainly contributed to their better health. I'm very tempted to try it myself!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs LOVE this!! My terrier needs a low fat food because of her DRTA. Our Vet sent us home with Royal Canin Gastrointestinal low fat veterinary diet dog food, Bailey, a once finicky eater now will eat all in her dish!! She absolutely loves it. My lab Buddy, recently had pancreatitis and was also put on this food. I loved the idea because Buddy always tried to eat Bailey's food, so I knew he'd like it! They love both the canned and dry. They both were a little on the heavy side but since being on this diet, they are a healthy weight and their fur even looks better, and their eyes so bright! They just look healthier! Buddy was vomiting a lot with other foods but that has all stopped, his sensitive stomach is doing much better now!! This is far better food than I had been feeding them and will continue for the rest of their lives!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Nate enjoys every meal My dog never has any stomach issues since switching to Royal Canine low fat ...receiving healthy grades from vet.....
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive tummies! I have a miniature poodle named Serena who is the love of my life. A few years ago she was having terrible tummy issues and after my vet was unable to come up with a solution, he recommended I take her to the local animal emergency clinic when her vomiting wouldn't stop. After many tests and finally an endoscopy with biopsies, it turned out she had helicobacter. They recommended this product after the initial treatment period and I kept her on it for quite a while. Then I decided after so long she probably didn't need it any more so weaned her back to her regular food which was Wellness turkey & sweet potato. In just a matter of weeks she started having upset tummies again so I put her back on RC. A couple years later I tried again to put her back on the other food and again, her tummy became upset. After those 2 attempts I will never try to take her off the RC again. Thank you for this wonderful food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Given by vet after intestine surgery Our 10 year old Yorkie Benji, had surgery at Red Bank veternary hospital in NJ this year, 2016. He was diagnosed, after surgery with IBS. His symptoms prior surgery was severe pain in belly, shaking, arched back, diarrhea and would no longer do stairs. Keeping in mind Benji was already on Royal Canin HP soy based dry food for 12 months to help his diarrhea. This canned GI pork based food was highly enjoyed by Benji right after surgery. He gets 25% of a can 3x daily. The diarrhea has stopped, the shaking stopped, and he does stairs again. We need results for 5 biopsies of the stomach, intestines and liver. I truly believe the heavy duty IV antibiotics he was given in the hospital helped him.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dogs love this food. They trip over themselves We have 2 Chihuahua's and a French Bulldog. We started feeding this food when our Vet recommended it. We actually stir some in with their dry kibble. Not only to make sure they eat but also to keep them healthy. We tried kibble made for Bulldogs specifically and nothing doing. She wasn't having any part of it. Thank goodness for the few cans I saved back to make sure the little ones are eating. You put a few spoonfuls in their kibble and everyone eats right up. I know they eventually eat but these little ones can be picky and with this stirred right in they gobble it all down.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy dog My dog's vet put her on the GI low fat diet to control her inflammatory bowel diarrhea, reflux and pain. It worked!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! I rescued my white boxer last January. She came to us with severe gastrointestinal problems. Our a Emergency vet put her on Royal Canin Gastro-intestinal low-fat and she's been perfect. She has a very happy stomach now, as well as a beautiful coat, and none of that red eye discharge that white dogs get. We are keeping her on it for life!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky eater loved this! I have two miniature schnauzers that have been on another dog food since birth. They are a little on the pudgy side, and just recently both got a bad case of gastroenteritis. My wonderful vet recommended Royal Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat since this was common for the breed, and since they needed to lose a few pounds. They love it! Livvy, my picky eater that usually plays with her food and is a pain to feed, goes right to this and eats it up immediately! It is wonderful to see her enjoy her food for the first time. I was expecting them to shy away from this since it's low fat, but they love it! And they have not had any stomach problems since we started this new food. Definitely worth the price for us!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. My Shih Tzu can be a very fussy eater and have digestive problems which are certainly not unique to this breed. His veterinarian recommend and prescribed the Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat canned dog food. One serving of this twice daily seems to put him back on track with his regular food. This is the one thing he gulps down very eagerly and quickly. It usually only take about one half can to get his eating back on track.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY DOGS LOVE IT! One of our dogs always has stomach issues, gas, diarrhea, and vomiting. Our vet put her on this and it was instant relief. She's like a different dog, so comfortable and happy now. I wish we would have put her on this years ago.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Digestion My dog has been on this food and it has been a life saver. She enjoys the food more than any other product out there. It helped to calm her tummy down. Best product out there.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best dog food for digestive issues i have this auto shipped to my home. My Yorkie was very sick with pancreatic and have spending thousands of dollars on vet bills, the vet reviewed all the tests and ultrasound and decided to put him on Royal Canin. He constantly had stomach problems and was throwing up and had constant diarrhea. He s now been on this food a year and has resolved all issues as long as no one gives him any high fat foods or treats.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exellent,i would"nt by anything else! my vet put my little girl "beak" on this food about 2 years ago and it brought her health back! she will be 16 on 10/31/15
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gastro intestinal low fat My dog used to get sick several times a day. Now she never does. She eats this like it's the best thing ever.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love GILF!! This food is wonderful for hiding pills for my dogs or giving them when they have upset stomachs.
Date published: 2015-09-02
  • y_2018, m_3, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_284
  • loc_en_US, sid_47071, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms