Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in Health Nutrition. Our work with veterinarians, pet nutritionists, breeders and dog professionals from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the precise diet for your dog’s special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Low fat concentration
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced dog food. The diet is restricted in fat.

Where to Buy
Size: 1.5 lb
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 28.6 lb
Size: 6.6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

DIGESTIVE HEALTH
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

LOW FAT
A low fat concentration, while providing a maintenance energy level, helps dogs with difficulties in digesting fat.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products are specially formulated for use in a veterinary dietary management program. All ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products guarantee 100% satisfaction with superior quality and consistency. If you have any questions or comments regarding our products, call ROYAL CANIN Technical Services: 1-800-592-6687.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (46 g) 3/4 cup (53 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups (91 g) 1 1/2 cups (106 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 2 1/8 cups (154 g) 2 3/8 cups (178 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 7/8 cups (208 g) 3 1/4 cups (241 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 3 1/2 cups (259 g) 4 1/8 cups (300 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 4 1/8 cups (306 g) 4 7/8 cups (354 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 4 3/4 cups (351 g) 5 1/2 cups (406 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 5 3/8 cups (394 g) 6 1/4 cups (456 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 5 7/8 cups (435 g) 6 7/8 cups (504 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 6 1/2 cups (475 g) 7 1/2 cups (550 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 7 cups (514 g) 8 1/8 cups (596 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 8 cups (590 g) 9 1/4 cups (683 g)
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® Canine GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, wheat, barley, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, grain distillers dried yeast, chicken fat, salt, calcium carbonate, fish oil, sodium silico aluminate, psyllium seed husk, potassium chloride, monocalcium phosphate, fructooligosaccharides, hydrolyzed yeast, choline chloride, taurine, DL-methionine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 20.0%
Crude Fat (min) 4.5%
Crude Fat (max) 8.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 3.6%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min) 0.09%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min) 0.04%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3237 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 240 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 311.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what our dog needed! Our 11 year old Golden, Champ, was prescribed this food after having difficulty digesting his food. He was diagnosed with high liver enzymes and two large growths. We thought he would only be with us for a short time, but that was almost a year ago! He has had no more digestive issues and his mood and behavior are almost puppy-like! It is as if we were able to go back 5 years! A combination of Royal Canin dry and canned Gastrointestinal was just what he needed!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best! We first started giving our dog the Gastrointestinal Low Fat food about 6 years ago after my dogs bloodwork showed highly elevated triglycerides. Over the years he has developed many other health conditions and this food has remained a constant for him and has been great. We also have another dog with a sensitive stomach so we finally started giving it to her as well and viola! No more issues! Thank you for years of quality and care, Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GI low Fat I buy this particular dog food because it is the only brand we have found that does not cause a flare up of my dogs chronic pancratitis. We tried several brands before this one and have been using it ever since. I'm assuming it does not taste the best as I have a hard time getting my dog to eat it sometimes. The only reason I gave it a 4 star instead of a 5 star is due do its expensive price tag at the retailers and the difficulty I have finding places that sell it. My friend works at a vets office and has purchased a few bags for me at cost ($49.00) but I have to pay ~$80 from my vet or any retail place for the 28.6lb bag. I wish Royal Canin would allow customers to buy directly from them.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When we adopted our 10 year old dog, he became ill shortly thereafter. When he recovered, the vet recommended Royal Canin Gastrointestinal for his diet as he had just about stopped eating and it would be easy on his stomach. We are going on 3 years with him and once I did try to switch to a less expensive food, but he refused to eat it! I went right back to the Royal Canin as he likes it, his weight does not vary much, he seems fit and has plenty of energy for a 13 year old dog. He's a pit/hound mix and averages between 78-80 pounds and this food and the canned version is what he will stay on.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for my dog! My dog had pancreatitis three times Once from getting a bite of human food (his previous owners feed him human food so often that it started the stomach issues). The second time when he came home from the hospital and was put back on his regular food. And the third time when he ate a bug. My vet switched him from another veterinary diet food to Royal Canin. He has not had any issues since! He loves the food, especially the wet dog food that he gets with his medication. It's expensive, but I know that my dog will no longer have stomach issues so it is worth it.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real Life Saver Our dog was originally eating a urinary formula from Royal Canin. Then, unexpectedly, she ended up in the hospital with Pancreatitis. She was extremely ill. After her hospital stay, when she was about to start back on dry food again, I was very concerned about her previous urinary issues and what food she could now eat with her Pancreatitis. Lucky for us, Royal Canin had us covered! Our veterinarian started her on the Canine GI Low Fat formula and a year later, I'm happy to report no urinary issues and she has not had any Pancreatitis attacks either! Thank you so much for creating this diet! We love our girl!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Food has extended my Dogs Life My 14 year old American Eskimo girl has been having issues with Pancreatitis on and off for the past 6 years. Our vet recommend we change her diet to the Low Fat Veterinary dry food. We made the change approximately 2 years ago and she is doing awesome on this new diet! Crystal loves eating the food twice a day with a couple of scoops of the wet canned Low Fat as a topper on the dry kibbles. Thank you for making this food product, it has extended her life several years so far!.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive tummy dogs! My dog has always had a sensitive stomach, and when his food was discontinued I had trouble finding an alternative that he liked. I decided to try the Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat as I was familiar with it through the vet clinic that I work at and thought it may work well for him. My dog loved it, and adjusted quickly with no upset tummy issues :) He was on it for several years, until I switched to the Gastrointestinal Fiber Response formula as he was having issues with his AG. The Low Fat just didn't have enough fiber for him. It was an easy transition, he loves the Fiber Response even more than the Low Fat, and he is having regular bowel movements more frequently and no AG problems! I am very impressed with the Royal Canin brand.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from High quality food, but poor palatability My vet recommend this food because it was suspected that my dog has pancreatitis, meaning that high fat food made him ill. Therefore he needed a low fat food like this one. Since my vet recommended this brand I knew I was feeding my dog food that was high quality and safe for my baby. I might be unfairly too harsh with my rating and comments because I have a chihuahua and they are known to be fussy eaters so it might not matter what I feed him, he would of refused it. My dog has been eating this food for years though, just barks at it sometimes because he wants something tasty to eat.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my very sick dog recover. I started using Royal Canin Veterinary diet Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat Dry dog food about a year ago. My dog had developed severe bloody diarrhea rather suddenly. We vetted her, tested her, and found no reason for the onset. I even had her on a bland diet which helped initially, but not permanently. She lost weight, about 1/3 of her body weight. We pursued herbal supplements that stopped the diarrhea, but needed something more balanced to sustain her. Our vet prescribed the Gastrointestinal Low Fat diet, and she has been healthy ever since. She has regained weight to a healthy weight, and has dropped the supplements in favor of the Royal Canin Diet. This product saved my Cavalier King Charles Spaniels life.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommendation!!!!! I have been using this product for my mini schnauzers for YEARS!! Have had multiple fur babies eating this and have been very pleased. My oldest is 13 and doing GREAT!!!! Recommend Royal Canine products over other brands!!! Also use moderate calorie SO on 2 others.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have mixed feelings about this food. My dog kept getting six over the last 6 months until the vet prescribed this for her. My dog was sick enough that she wouldn't eat anything but loved the taste of this food. It also cleared up her GI issues (which had gotten bad), but is chock full of chicken--to which my dog has a sensitivity. She is constantly licking her paws since being put on this diet and doesn't seem very energetic overall. I'm very thankful that it healed up her GI issues but I can't keep feeding her this food that has significant amounts of chicken in it. I wish there were a hypoallergenic version.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver My little Donovan was diagnosed with Canine Intestinal Lymphangiectasia in 2013. The first thing I was told by the specialist was fat is the enemy. He recommended RC LF for Donovan and even gave me a sample as I had to get a prescription for it filled. Within two weeks Donovan's swelling had subsided and his appetite was back. It has been 2+ years and Donovan is a happy, healthy little boy. I truly feel that without Royal Canin Gastronintestinal Low Fat dog food, he would not have made such a remarkable recovery. I also have all of my other dogs on Royal Canin specialty foods and all are thriving. Royal Canin has been good to my guys, even answering questions I had before I bought any product. I cannot say enough about this Company. I will always use Royal Canin for my fur-babies.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing food! My Siberian Husky has had a sensitive stomach his whole life, we could never find a food he could digest well. A month ago he had a bad case of pancreatitis and we almost lost him. Apparently regular dog food, even the expensive food, is just too fatty for him. He is now well and LOVES this food. When he knows it's meal time he starts talking and bouncing around. We buy him the dry and canned and we couldn't be happier. He has to be on it the rest of his life and I'm glad he enjoys the taste!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! Really helped our dog! Our 9 year old long hair Chihuahua has some medical and digestive issues. Having switched her over to this food she became more regular with going #2 and was no longer stressed or holding it for so long. She has also lost about 1 pound in the last few months so she is getting closer to the ideal weight the vet would like to see her at. She is a very picky eater when it comes to her dog food and she loves this food! The smaller pieces also makes it very easy for her to eat. Great product!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features for my dogs. I bought a dozen cans and dry dog food 3 months ago. My dogs kept getting sick I was fearful that they might die. We where feeding the dogs off of the table. My vet said that our dogs need to go on a diet and stop feeding them off of the table. Suggested some other brand then ask about Royal Canin and she said that would work as well. Well, proud to say both dogs are no longer eating of the table and instead are eating Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food and can dog food they have not been sick once have lost some weight and are doing just find. Thanks Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Sheltie Leo one of my Shelties totally stopped eating and drinking. Took him to the vet and found he had elevated liver enzyme counts, enlarged gall bladder and other intestinal issues. We tried various drugs and nothing seemed to help. He was off and on for about a month before he ended up spending a weekend at the local vet hospital. When he came out he started on the canned version and was the only thing he would eat. Within 3 days he graduated to the dry version. Within 30 days of being on this formula his levels were almost back to normal and we stopped all the drugs. He has been on it for 5 months and just had his 6 month checkup and his levels are where they should be and his xray showed no abnormal liver or gall bladder shapes. Yes it is a little higher priced than pet store generic dog food but Leo is alive and doing fine.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for my basset hound with pacrititas prescription for my dog molly... she was diagnosed with pacrititas so this food works for us.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has kept my dog healthy and happy for years My dog developed pancreatitis a few years ago. As a result, my vet recommended a lowfat dog food from a competitor. After two months eating it, my dog was underweight. If I increased her food intake, she wouldn't gain weight, but instead had accidents in the house because of the high fiber in the food. We switched to Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat dog food, and it made all the difference. She is now a healthy weight, is happy, and rarely has accidents inside. She also seems to really like this food and looks forward to her meal times..she makes it clear if I'm a minute late feeding her!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatly improved Lily's quality of life! Our 8 year old 90 pound beloved German Shepherd was diagnosed with pancreatitis 1 year ago. Our vet suggested we try Royal Canin Gastro Intestinal low fat food. Lily loves the food and is thriving on it. Her health at 8 years old is very good and she has lots of energy. She also gets a helping of the Royal Canin canned low far once a day. When we have questions the Royal Canin customer support has been outstanding.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improving my Dog's Health! I started my dog on the Royal Canin GI low-fat dry food over a year ago at the recommendation of my dog's veteranarian. It was discovered during pre-op lab work that my Min Pin (then 16-17 lbs at the time) had triglycerides that were out of sight. The vet recommended a prescription food to help get my dog's labs down into a healthy range. The food and other dietary changes (eliminating completely the dog treats found on store shelves in favor of plain Cheerios, vegetables, etc for treats) cut my dog's Triglycerides significantly just in the first 3-4 months. I have kept him on the food b/c he likes it and just to be in the safe side when it comes to his health! His lab work is now in normal ranges.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed! My boxer was diagnosed with pancreatitis and required a low-fat food. I checked all the other dry foods available on the market, and this product was the best to meet his needs, containing the least amount of fat. My pup loves it too!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remarkable Results Back From The Brink It has been a year since my Maltese dog Mickey had four lab confirmations of Cushing's Disease of the Pituitary and was prescribed this food given in two meals, and wet food for lunch. He also has one daily supplement of Potassium plus Cosequin DS PPlus MSM powdered on his Royal Canin GI formula each morning, then just the Royal Canin in the evening. He had tried a regimen of chemo via Trislostane aka Vetoryl... but it almost killed him and we had to gradually withdraw the dosage to zero. We have also increased our walks for more daily exercise. His last blood work-up in January was within perfect range and his overall health is now extremely better. Now at 10 years old he is like a puppy full of play and enthusiasm! I have to thank Royal Canin and more healthy exercise for this remarkable change in direction. Mickey adores the food as well and we both snack on fresh fruits and veggies as well.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have in my pantry. I always keep a bag of Royal Canin Gastrointestinal low fat canned and dry for dogs on hand. I have four dogs and at least one of them will come down with a tummy upset or diarrhea. I count on this product for my dogs because it's easy for them to digest, gentle on the GI tract and most of all, it's palatable. I also like the low fat formula for my Toy Poodle that is prone to pancreatitis.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pooch is looking and feeling great! After a low-grade pancreatitis scare, my vet recommended this food for my 10 year old mixed breed. She has been on it about six months now and is doing SO much better! Her appetite is back, she's able to keep food down, she's gained back weight, and she is just a much happier pooch all around. I've attached a photo of her enjoying a recent warm summer day in our backyard.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for older dogs We've been buying Royal Canin Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat food for several years. Our dachshund, Chloe, had pancreatitis. She had problems with vomiting and diarrhea until the vet recommended this food. It worked so well relieving her stomach issues that we started feeding it to Buster, too. To our surprise, they both love this food and gobble down every bite!
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for pancreatitis Our dog had pancreatitis and was prescribed this food. He seems to get filled up on it and it keeps him healthy, most importantly!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cured my dog's diarrhea No matter what I fed my picky eater mixed breed rescue, she had diarrhea off and on. My vet discovered gastrointestinal Royal Canin dry and canned food, the low fat variety. My dog has been on this now for about six months and has not had one episode of her bowel problem during that time. I feed my second rescue the same food and both are doing well.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food My dog has a very sensitive stomach, i have tried everything... from grain free to high protein to all natural... None of the foods i tried has worked... she has been on this rx food since she was about 5 months old and i will say this has made her have great stool and she feels better all around. she is not under weight nor over weight. she has great teeth and i would recommend this food for anyone who has a pet like mine. Yes it is a bit pricey for the size bag but it is well worth it. only thing i wish is that Royal Canin gave out more coupons for the vert diets.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible find! My 3 year old Havanese was the pickiest eater. One day he stopped eating suddenly and I tried over 50 different varieties of both wet and dry food over a 7 month period. In addition to not eating he vomited bile daily and as a result I had to put him on Pepsid which didn't help! I finally came to the realization that maybe he had a GI issue causing him to stop eating. Upon doing extensive food research I decided to put him on Royal Canin LF Gastrointestinal Veterinary diet. Voila! He is eating again and off the Pepsid because the vomiting stopped as soon as he started eating the Royal Canin. I highly recommend this particular food because it literally saved my dog's life as well as my sanity. Thank you Royal Canin
Date published: 2017-05-02
  • y_2018, m_2, d_23, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_299
  • loc_en_US, sid_3932, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT