Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in Health Nutrition. Our work with veterinarians, pet nutritionists, breeders and dog professionals from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the precise diet for your dog’s special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Low fat concentration
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced dog food. The diet is restricted in fat.

Where to Buy
Size: 1.5 lb
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 28.6 lb
Size: 6.6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

DIGESTIVE HEALTH
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

LOW FAT
A low fat concentration, while providing a maintenance energy level, helps dogs with difficulties in digesting fat.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products are specially formulated for use in a veterinary dietary management program. All ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products guarantee 100% satisfaction with superior quality and consistency. If you have any questions or comments regarding our products, call ROYAL CANIN Technical Services: 1-800-592-6687.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (46 g) 3/4 cup (53 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups (91 g) 1 1/2 cups (106 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 2 1/8 cups (154 g) 2 3/8 cups (178 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 7/8 cups (208 g) 3 1/4 cups (241 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 3 1/2 cups (259 g) 4 1/8 cups (300 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 4 1/8 cups (306 g) 4 7/8 cups (354 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 4 3/4 cups (351 g) 5 1/2 cups (406 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 5 3/8 cups (394 g) 6 1/4 cups (456 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 5 7/8 cups (435 g) 6 7/8 cups (504 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 6 1/2 cups (475 g) 7 1/2 cups (550 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 7 cups (514 g) 8 1/8 cups (596 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 8 cups (590 g) 9 1/4 cups (683 g)
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® Canine GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, wheat, barley, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, grain distillers dried yeast, chicken fat, salt, calcium carbonate, fish oil, sodium silico aluminate, psyllium seed husk, potassium chloride, monocalcium phosphate, fructooligosaccharides, hydrolyzed yeast, choline chloride, taurine, DL-methionine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 20.0%
Crude Fat (min) 4.5%
Crude Fat (max) 8.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 3.6%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min) 0.09%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min) 0.04%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3237 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 240 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 315.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage This food is loaded with junk (brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, dried plain beet pulp, grain distillers dried yeast, sodium silico aluminate, monocalcium phosphate, fructooligosaccharides, hydrolyzed yeast). You can get a far, far better low-fat food OTC and for less money. The only reason our vet pushed this food on us is because she receives a stipend from RC to do so.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cured my dog's diarrhea No matter what I fed my picky eater mixed breed rescue, she had diarrhea off and on. My vet discovered gastrointestinal Royal Canin dry and canned food, the low fat variety. My dog has been on this now for about six months and has not had one episode of her bowel problem during that time. I feed my second rescue the same food and both are doing well.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food My dog has a very sensitive stomach, i have tried everything... from grain free to high protein to all natural... None of the foods i tried has worked... she has been on this rx food since she was about 5 months old and i will say this has made her have great stool and she feels better all around. she is not under weight nor over weight. she has great teeth and i would recommend this food for anyone who has a pet like mine. Yes it is a bit pricey for the size bag but it is well worth it. only thing i wish is that Royal Canin gave out more coupons for the vert diets.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible find! My 3 year old Havanese was the pickiest eater. One day he stopped eating suddenly and I tried over 50 different varieties of both wet and dry food over a 7 month period. In addition to not eating he vomited bile daily and as a result I had to put him on Pepsid which didn't help! I finally came to the realization that maybe he had a GI issue causing him to stop eating. Upon doing extensive food research I decided to put him on Royal Canin LF Gastrointestinal Veterinary diet. Voila! He is eating again and off the Pepsid because the vomiting stopped as soon as he started eating the Royal Canin. I highly recommend this particular food because it literally saved my dog's life as well as my sanity. Thank you Royal Canin
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dry dog food Our Veterinarian recommended this dog food after our miniature schnauzer started having digestive issues with his top rated name brand dog food. He gave us a month supply to try and we have been on it ever since, 4 years now. We also add a teaspoon of the same brand canned food to his dry food. We feed him half a cup twice daily in addition to good quality treats. He has never had tummy issues again and his weight stays constant. The cost is only $ 10.00 more a bag and it is made in the USA and we have not been back to the veterinarian again regarding digestive issues.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved the day! My dachshund was continually have bouts of bloody stool. An ultrasound found nothing internal and no parasites. The last resort was to change his diet. Wow! This food has done wonders and I even give it to my puggle who also had a sensitive digestive system. Thank you very much for making my two pups better!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more gas My Anny has Cushings Disease as well as issues with her digestive system. Her body's reaction to most dog food was a room clearing experience. This food is great! She has lost weight which was necessary for her health and no longer is so odorful. I sincerely thank you for this food.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog's life! My beloved fur baby was put on this by his vet after the worst case of pancreatitis she has ever seen. It is a miracle that he lived - and I give credit to his vet .... and this wonderful food! He loves it ... and we love him! Thank you Royal Canin for keeping my fur baby around!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love that my dog loves the taste and crunchyness My dog has something wrong with her pancreas and has a very sensitive stomach, so about 3 years ago she got very sick and our vet recommended Royal Canin, gastrointestinal low fat. She got well quickly, and that's all she can eat now. Our dogs name is Kasey Jade, and she is the sweetest little Min-Pin ever. My husband is on Disability and I don't currently work. Her food does get a little expensive, but it seems to be the only thing she can eat. We would love to have six months of free dog food!!! My husband is a disabled Marine Corps Veteran. Thank you!!!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Pumpkin.... This is the only food my little Pumpkin can handle. Have tried tons of other food and this one is by far the best for her. She has IBD, allergies, etc... have had no issues since switching to this food amd she no longer takes any medication. I now have all 4 of my babies on it :)
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food, saved my dog's life! My dog has been on this food, wet and dry, for over 2 years. She has acute chronic pancreatitis. This is all she eats and she loves it. It has kept her pancreatitis in check and has saved her life. She was in critical care for over a week and should have died. Love this food!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog's life! My pet, Niko, had a severe case of pancreatitis last year, many days and treatments later along with high vet bills, brought us to your food and diet. After not wanting to or feeling like eating due to the illness, we offered our pet the moist canned version and he loved it and ate it up right away. Started to incorporate the dry food with the wet food, and no thats all he eats every day twice a day. And we're happy to say he's healthy and a happy dog!
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He loves it! Harley Davidson, my miniature schnauzer, has had 2 episodes of pancreatitis. Since being on the low fat gastrointestinal dry kibble he has had no problems. I also noticed that his white beard is no longer stained from the other kibble he had been eating.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! Our dog has had two bouts with pancreatitis. Our vet prescribed the Royal Canin low fat gastrointestinal for him. He's been eating it and the canned version for several years. We have not had any more episodes of pancreatitis since. And he loves it!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My dog liked it the first day or two, then refused to eat any more of it. I thought it had a very peculiar odor. I returned it to the vet, and they did not think so. I bought it a few months later..same thing. My dog was 14, and had pancreatitis.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hit the jackpot!! My Maltese has a super sensitive stomach and we couldn't get her to eat anything or keep anything down. Our vet prescribed this to try and it was a success! Our dog loves it and digests it well! We will keep her on this, always!! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My vet put my 12 year old English Cocker Spaniel on this food after he had pancreatitis. I don't think he has ever felt better. Will never change. Plus, he has always been on Royal Canin dog food and it has always been so good for him.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great food for tummy issue My pup has had issues with food since she got gastroenteritis when she was just two years old. The other brands of food and treats wreaked such havoc on her intestinal track that we almost lost her. Since then she has been on this Royal Canin Gastro food and has had no problems. She's a super picky eater so she doesn't like to eat the dry food alone, that's why I've only given it four stars. I have been mixing in the Royal Canin gastro wet food with the dry food and she's been eating it up! She's now 8 years old and doing great! Can't live without this food!
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Dog!!! My 13 year old eskie has been on Royal Canin gastrointestinal low fat for 2 years. She almost died due to pancreatitis. Since starting this food she is so much healthier and I hope to get many more years from her!! Thx Royal Canin!!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food changed my dog's life! My 14 year old Cocker was very ill with severely high cholesterol and skin lesions. He could barely walk or stand on his own. Medications were not helping him. My Veterinarian prescribed this food about 6 weeks ago with instructions to feed him nothing else. His recovery has been short of miraculous! His cholesterol has normalized, his skin has cleared and he is once again the happy, wiggly, active boy he used to be. And, he loves this food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver Charlie suffered from on and off bouts with diarrhea and vomiting. For 4 years she was on and off meds until we switched vets And he recommended this food. For almost 2 years now she has been vomiting and diarrhea episode free
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchase this monthly for my dogs. My dog had a pancreatic attack and was placed on this prescription diet. It helped to heal her back to health. I believe it helped to save her life. I wouldnt trust any other brand.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear and concise My 15+ year old Jack Russell terrier, Holly, has been enjoying Royal Canine Gastrointestinsl Low Fat kibble and continues to look forward to every meal. Her healthy weight and tummy make me a happy mom.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I use this for my mini rat terrier, have been using it for about a year when she started having stomach problems. She is able to eat her food with no stomach distress. Keeps her weight perfect also.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog's good for LIFE!!! My Sissy has chronic pancreatitis. I've relied on her Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat to provide her neuronal support for over two years now. I use the canned as well and give her a good mix
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features My dog suffered with pancreatitis about 4 yrs ago and was put on this food after we tried others and he would barely eat but this one I have no problems getting him to eat.... thank you so much
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saving my baby After getting bad food and trying some high quality food Lucy's tummy was still bad. Royal Canin saved my baby. We love it! She enjoys it for her meals as well as treats inbetween!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs Love It! I work at a veterinary hospital as a vet tech. We feed all our dogs (boarding & hospitalized) Royal Canin GI Low Fat. Dogs love this food & it is easy on their stomach. Clients will often buy a bag after we tell them how well their pets did after eating it while boarding. Wonderful product! We always say that you can have the best dog food in the world, but if the dog won't eat it......Well, the dogs eat this one! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! I joint this bc my dog kept getting colitis and gastritis! Hasn't been sick once since I've put him on it. And it's funny bc I have gastritis as well!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dog! I purchased this food for our Lucy who had some GI concerns and after just one week she was feeling better. Thank you for producing a quality product.
Date published: 2015-08-11
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_303
  • loc_en_US, sid_3932, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT