Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in Health Nutrition. Our work with veterinarians, pet nutritionists, breeders and dog professionals from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the precise diet for your dog’s special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Low fat concentration
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced dog food. The diet is restricted in fat.

Where to Buy
Size: 1.5 lb
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 28.6 lb
Size: 6.6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

DIGESTIVE HEALTH
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

LOW FAT
A low fat concentration, while providing a maintenance energy level, helps dogs with difficulties in digesting fat.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products are specially formulated for use in a veterinary dietary management program. All ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products guarantee 100% satisfaction with superior quality and consistency. If you have any questions or comments regarding our products, call ROYAL CANIN Technical Services: 1-800-592-6687.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (46 g) 3/4 cup (53 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups (91 g) 1 1/2 cups (106 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 2 1/8 cups (154 g) 2 3/8 cups (178 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 7/8 cups (208 g) 3 1/4 cups (241 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 3 1/2 cups (259 g) 4 1/8 cups (300 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 4 1/8 cups (306 g) 4 7/8 cups (354 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 4 3/4 cups (351 g) 5 1/2 cups (406 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 5 3/8 cups (394 g) 6 1/4 cups (456 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 5 7/8 cups (435 g) 6 7/8 cups (504 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 6 1/2 cups (475 g) 7 1/2 cups (550 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 7 cups (514 g) 8 1/8 cups (596 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 8 cups (590 g) 9 1/4 cups (683 g)
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® Canine GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, wheat, barley, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, grain distillers dried yeast, chicken fat, salt, calcium carbonate, fish oil, sodium silico aluminate, psyllium seed husk, potassium chloride, monocalcium phosphate, fructooligosaccharides, hydrolyzed yeast, choline chloride, taurine, DL-methionine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 20.0%
Crude Fat (min) 4.5%
Crude Fat (max) 8.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 3.6%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min) 0.09%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min) 0.04%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3237 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 240 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 452.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saving my baby After getting bad food and trying some high quality food Lucy's tummy was still bad. Royal Canin saved my baby. We love it! She enjoys it for her meals as well as treats inbetween!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs Love It! I work at a veterinary hospital as a vet tech. We feed all our dogs (boarding & hospitalized) Royal Canin GI Low Fat. Dogs love this food & it is easy on their stomach. Clients will often buy a bag after we tell them how well their pets did after eating it while boarding. Wonderful product! We always say that you can have the best dog food in the world, but if the dog won't eat it......Well, the dogs eat this one! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! I joint this bc my dog kept getting colitis and gastritis! Hasn't been sick once since I've put him on it. And it's funny bc I have gastritis as well!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dog! I purchased this food for our Lucy who had some GI concerns and after just one week she was feeling better. Thank you for producing a quality product.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low Fat When my dog had an episode of pancreatitis he was switched to this formula by his vet. Since then he has not had an episode.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more pancreatitis episodes for my dog! My dog has been eating this for 2 years following a 3rd episode of pancreatitis and he has been pancreatitis free since!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! My dog has a very sensitive tummy and also can be a bit on the chubby side so the vet had me put Bingo on this food which Bingo loves. I also baby sit two other dogs and one is 20 years old and overweight so I have her on this food also. Bingo's tummy issues have become almost non-existant since using this product. It does get a bit expensive, though, with two dogs on it. Would LOVE to obtain free food!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for chronic pancreatitis My 10 year old dog (a borzoi) has had issues with diarrhea and pancreatitis since he was a puppy. A few years ago, a vet friend suggested we try feeding him Royal Canin Vet Diet Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat based on a continuing education course that she had attended. It has work wonders. He has only had diarrhea a few times in two or three years as compared to frequently when eating other foods.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both Dogs Love It! This is the only prescription dog food I could get my papilion to show interest in. She loves it - as does my Japanese Chin. The papilion was very sick when the food was prescribed by my vet - but she is doing very well with this food. My dogs have been given this food exclusively for over a year now - and they are both doing great. Glad I found this vet - and glad I found this food that they love!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin has worked wonders fro my senior dog! My senior dog (12.5 yrs old) has been on 5 different vet prescribed foods over the last 3 yrs. after being on the Royal Canin gastrointestinal Low Fat, she is like a new dog! She runs and plays like she was when she was a puppy. I can't believe the results. No more vomiting, no more tummy upset, I have a happy dog again! I even emailed Royal Canin thanking them for making such a wonderful product!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stop the Runs! I found a stray back in April. I fed her different premium dog foods but she kept having soft stool and passing terrible gas! I am a veterinarian so I de-wormed her multiple times and kept working her up trying to find the cause of her GI problems. Finally I put her on Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat diet and not only did it cure the runs and the flatulence, she loves the food! She can hardly wait to have her bowl filled. I think that this is a win-win as my dog is doing great and she loves the diet that keeps her doing so well.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for GI Upset!! My french bulldog has struggled with diarrhea for some time. This food has proven to be wonderful and works for his GI upset. He has been eating this food (both the canned and dry) for about a year. The canned food is not "dried out" and likely makes this more appetizing for my pet. "Yoda" loves the taste, which is often hard to find in a GI diet. Highly Recommended!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Loves it!! For a long while tried to figure out what best to give my dog with gastrointestinal issues, and also suffered with pancreatitis. After trying all types of food, including home cooking, vet prescribed the Gatrointestinal Low Fat. Halo has been on it for about 4 yrs now and he is going great! His issues are few and far between. Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Food My vet has had my Yorkie on the canned gastrointestinal L/F. I wanted to move him to the dry & my vet thought this would be fine. I was worried that Alfie would not accept the dry as he was "spoiled" with the wet food. I was shocked that he went right to the dry. I will admit that for his night meal he holds out for a tsp of the wet to be mixed in.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Health Benefit Achieved Our vet recommended this 10 years ago when our one year old rottie was diagnosed with motility disorder. Along with the stomach meds and this food, Sofie is doing great!! Rotties life span is typically 8-10 years, Sofie will be 11 in November and she is doing great. We believe her diet (very limited) has played a big role in Sofie's success!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! Helped save my dog's life. My healthy, happy pug developed pancreatitis. He had stopped playing and was just not his perky self. After his diagnosis, the vet prescribed this food. Shortly thereafter, he perked back up and quickly started behaving like himself again. It is a pain to get the food because the vet isn't near my house or work, but it is definitely worth it!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing that works! We adopted my dog kissy from a shelter about 3 years ago. She was only 6 months old and had been treated for having a collar embedded in her neck. About 6 months after getting her we suffered from the loss of everything with the flood of 2016 we had a hard time getting kissy to stay calm whenever it rained. We moved to a location that she would be more comfortable. Upon relocation we learned that kissy was having problems and found out that she was deaf. We love her so much. About a year ago she was diagnosed with HGE- a condition that is deadly to dogs. Royal canin gastrointestinal low fat has been fantastic for our baby. She no longer has flare ups and is very excited when she gets her dinner so I would say it’s a hit! I would definitely recommend this product!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful diet!! We have a purebred 11 month old German Shepherd and for the past 6 months he continuously had soft stool or dirrahea. After consulting with our vet she recommended switching him to this diet and since he started this food he has not experienced any of the previous symptoms. We feed him 1 1/2 cups of dry food mixed with 1 can of the wet food in both the morning and evening (amount set by our vet). It is a little pricey but we are willing to spend any amount on our favorite furry friend!! Extremely happy with this food.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for overweight and cholesterohl.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and to the point! I have a female Golden Retriever who was about 20 pounds overweight. After I started feeding her GI Low Fat, not only did she take 18 pounds off, but her skin and coat were actually healthier! I recommend Royal Canin diets to anyone who will listen to me. Great diets, great company, and very kind, helpful sales reps!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet recommended for pet's health. (Six of them) We have been using this product for a little over two years after being recommended by our Vet. I wouldn't think of using another product since there has been a noticeable improvement in our pets health. One of our pets had serious stomach issues and this took care of it so we feed it to all pets. Great product.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very hlepful My dog Nicky had a pancreatitis attack that was frightening. My vet put Nicky on RC's low fat GI dry and wet food. It's been so good that I put my other two dogs on it. Nicky still has the occasional flare, but this food helps prevent another attack. I am very grateful to Royal Canin for making this product.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great name ! My yellow lab drank irrigation water when we moved back to Wyoming in 2012 and ended up with problems with his pancreas. Our vet placed him on Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat food. He has bouts of intestinal upset from time to time but overall its the only food he can consistently eat and be healthy.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yummy even the picky dogs eat it! We use this food at home and in our kennel, and all of the dogs love it. Even for dogs who switch to this food without a slow transition (we don't recommend doing that) we haven't seen issues with diarrhea for the sudden diet change. This is such a great choice for feeding dogs with a variety of issues.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results Vet put Wrinkles on this food when she had a severe case of pancreatitis. I have tried different foods several times since her recovery, but within a couple of days the vomiting and diarrhea start up. She has been on the Gastrointestinal Low Fat food exclusively now for about two years and no more upsets.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only prescription that has worked!! My Golden Retriever spent the first year in her life with running stools and violent diarrhea. We tried dozens of foods with no relief. She has severe gastrointestinal issues, and is on a strict "no human food" diet. This food gave her the ability to be a normal dog. She is now 6 years old and has continued with this wonderful food. We highly recommend it for anyone with a dog who has gastrointestinal issues. Couple that with the Gastrointestinal Treats, and she lives like a queen! Thank you Royal Canin
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 14 year old dog is doing very well on RC food Five years ago our dog had a severe attack of pancreatitis and his vet put him on the gastrointestinal formula. He is 14 1/2 years old now and doing well, has a good appetite and loves his dinner. I put some warm nonfat chicken broth on it to soften it up to make it easier to eat and he loves it!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Cadillac of Food :) My vet was so happy to hear that I feed my dogs Royal Canin! By Far the best food on the Market! My Senior dog suffers from PLE and my other dog has liver issues and both dogs love Royal Canin and it assist with helping their condition to remain as healthy as they can be in there senior lives.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from she loves it! My pooch was always a picky eater..after being very sick she has been prescribed this for life...she loves it..the first time we gave it to her she gobbled it down. Kuddos to my vet for researching food and finding the perfect one for her very sensitive stomach..giving her a much better life!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pancreatitis gone! My dog had multiple bouts of pancreatitis and this food has helped to control it! I am so thankful our vet recommended it. We definitely use the dry formula and only give sweet potatoes as a treat. This combo has prevented him from having another pancreatitis attack for 2 years now!
Date published: 2017-05-02
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_435
  • loc_en_US, sid_3932, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT