Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in Health Nutrition. Our work with veterinarians, pet nutritionists, breeders and dog professionals from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the precise diet for your dog’s special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Low fat concentration
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced dog food. The diet is restricted in fat.

Where to Buy
Size: 1.5 lb
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 28.6 lb
Size: 6.6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

DIGESTIVE HEALTH
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

LOW FAT
A low fat concentration, while providing a maintenance energy level, helps dogs with difficulties in digesting fat.

100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products are specially formulated for use in a veterinary dietary management program. All ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® products guarantee 100% satisfaction with superior quality and consistency. If you have any questions or comments regarding our products, call ROYAL CANIN Technical Services: 1-800-592-6687.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (46 g) 3/4 cup (53 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups (91 g) 1 1/2 cups (106 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 2 1/8 cups (154 g) 2 3/8 cups (178 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 7/8 cups (208 g) 3 1/4 cups (241 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 3 1/2 cups (259 g) 4 1/8 cups (300 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 4 1/8 cups (306 g) 4 7/8 cups (354 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 4 3/4 cups (351 g) 5 1/2 cups (406 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 5 3/8 cups (394 g) 6 1/4 cups (456 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 5 7/8 cups (435 g) 6 7/8 cups (504 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 6 1/2 cups (475 g) 7 1/2 cups (550 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 7 cups (514 g) 8 1/8 cups (596 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 8 cups (590 g) 9 1/4 cups (683 g)
ROYAL CANIN VETERINARY DIET® Canine GASTROINTESTINAL LOW FAT dry is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, wheat, barley, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, grain distillers dried yeast, chicken fat, salt, calcium carbonate, fish oil, sodium silico aluminate, psyllium seed husk, potassium chloride, monocalcium phosphate, fructooligosaccharides, hydrolyzed yeast, choline chloride, taurine, DL-methionine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 20.0%
Crude Fat (min) 4.5%
Crude Fat (max) 8.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 3.6%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min) 0.09%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min) 0.04%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3237 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 240 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Gastrointestinal Low Fat dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 312.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both Dogs Love It! This is the only prescription dog food I could get my papilion to show interest in. She loves it - as does my Japanese Chin. The papilion was very sick when the food was prescribed by my vet - but she is doing very well with this food. My dogs have been given this food exclusively for over a year now - and they are both doing great. Glad I found this vet - and glad I found this food that they love!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin has worked wonders fro my senior dog! My senior dog (12.5 yrs old) has been on 5 different vet prescribed foods over the last 3 yrs. after being on the Royal Canin gastrointestinal Low Fat, she is like a new dog! She runs and plays like she was when she was a puppy. I can't believe the results. No more vomiting, no more tummy upset, I have a happy dog again! I even emailed Royal Canin thanking them for making such a wonderful product!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for GI Upset!! My french bulldog has struggled with diarrhea for some time. This food has proven to be wonderful and works for his GI upset. He has been eating this food (both the canned and dry) for about a year. The canned food is not "dried out" and likely makes this more appetizing for my pet. "Yoda" loves the taste, which is often hard to find in a GI diet. Highly Recommended!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Loves it!! For a long while tried to figure out what best to give my dog with gastrointestinal issues, and also suffered with pancreatitis. After trying all types of food, including home cooking, vet prescribed the Gatrointestinal Low Fat. Halo has been on it for about 4 yrs now and he is going great! His issues are few and far between. Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Food My vet has had my Yorkie on the canned gastrointestinal L/F. I wanted to move him to the dry & my vet thought this would be fine. I was worried that Alfie would not accept the dry as he was "spoiled" with the wet food. I was shocked that he went right to the dry. I will admit that for his night meal he holds out for a tsp of the wet to be mixed in.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Health Benefit Achieved Our vet recommended this 10 years ago when our one year old rottie was diagnosed with motility disorder. Along with the stomach meds and this food, Sofie is doing great!! Rotties life span is typically 8-10 years, Sofie will be 11 in November and she is doing great. We believe her diet (very limited) has played a big role in Sofie's success!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! Helped save my dog's life. My healthy, happy pug developed pancreatitis. He had stopped playing and was just not his perky self. After his diagnosis, the vet prescribed this food. Shortly thereafter, he perked back up and quickly started behaving like himself again. It is a pain to get the food because the vet isn't near my house or work, but it is definitely worth it!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My German Shepherd, Tristan has been prescribed this food. He had surgery last fall and 18 inches of his intestines were removed. This food helps keep him on track and he's been doing great. He loves the food and gets so happy when it arrives at the door! Tristan is a Certified Crisis Therapy Dog and with finding the right diet, has allowed him to continue to work with dementia patients at assisted living facilities and the kids reading program and the library. Thank you Royal Canin for helping get my boy back on track.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful diet!! We have a purebred 11 month old German Shepherd and for the past 6 months he continuously had soft stool or dirrahea. After consulting with our vet she recommended switching him to this diet and since he started this food he has not experienced any of the previous symptoms. We feed him 1 1/2 cups of dry food mixed with 1 can of the wet food in both the morning and evening (amount set by our vet). It is a little pricey but we are willing to spend any amount on our favorite furry friend!! Extremely happy with this food.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and to the point! I have a female Golden Retriever who was about 20 pounds overweight. After I started feeding her GI Low Fat, not only did she take 18 pounds off, but her skin and coat were actually healthier! I recommend Royal Canin diets to anyone who will listen to me. Great diets, great company, and very kind, helpful sales reps!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dogs life! I started feeding Royal Canin X-Small Breed Adult to my first dog on Recommendation by our veterinarian, after spending nearly $2000 on GI issues, a GI bleed, constipation, and ICU visit- all while feeding a 5star grain free diet. He was suffering kidney problems as a result of too high protein, and could not digest the food properly. The change in my dog after switching was amazing! He had no more GI issues and has been healthy, full of energy, and pain free since! After that, I had my 9yo dog come down with an autoimmune type pancreatitis, and he nearly died. I was handmaking a raw, lowfat diet for him as he had been unable to tolerate any of the Rx/ processed foods on the market that we had tried. He had also stopped drinking water, so I was having to make a soup for him so he would stay hydrated. The vets were out of ideas for me. I asked another Vetrinarian if she had had any luck with the Royal Canin Rx diets and she suggested the GI Low Fat to try. It was absolutely amazing! Not only did he eat it, he transitioned so fast, never had a GI upset, and started drinking water again for the first time in a year!! He is now healthy and acting like his puppy self, playing, pain free, and happy! I was always a skeptic, but I'm now a believer in these products and promote them like crazy. I wish I would have found them years ago... I'm a service dog trainer, and all of my training dogs, clients, and future dogs will all be fed Royal Canin products. I now use several of their formulas, and have perfect results with them all! My dogs and the dogs I have in training all thank you!!!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet recommended for pet's health. (Six of them) We have been using this product for a little over two years after being recommended by our Vet. I wouldn't think of using another product since there has been a noticeable improvement in our pets health. One of our pets had serious stomach issues and this took care of it so we feed it to all pets. Great product.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very hlepful My dog Nicky had a pancreatitis attack that was frightening. My vet put Nicky on RC's low fat GI dry and wet food. It's been so good that I put my other two dogs on it. Nicky still has the occasional flare, but this food helps prevent another attack. I am very grateful to Royal Canin for making this product.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great name ! My yellow lab drank irrigation water when we moved back to Wyoming in 2012 and ended up with problems with his pancreas. Our vet placed him on Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Low Fat food. He has bouts of intestinal upset from time to time but overall its the only food he can consistently eat and be healthy.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yummy even the picky dogs eat it! We use this food at home and in our kennel, and all of the dogs love it. Even for dogs who switch to this food without a slow transition (we don't recommend doing that) we haven't seen issues with diarrhea for the sudden diet change. This is such a great choice for feeding dogs with a variety of issues.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results Vet put Wrinkles on this food when she had a severe case of pancreatitis. I have tried different foods several times since her recovery, but within a couple of days the vomiting and diarrhea start up. She has been on the Gastrointestinal Low Fat food exclusively now for about two years and no more upsets.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 14 year old dog is doing very well on RC food Five years ago our dog had a severe attack of pancreatitis and his vet put him on the gastrointestinal formula. He is 14 1/2 years old now and doing well, has a good appetite and loves his dinner. I put some warm nonfat chicken broth on it to soften it up to make it easier to eat and he loves it!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Cadillac of Food :) My vet was so happy to hear that I feed my dogs Royal Canin! By Far the best food on the Market! My Senior dog suffers from PLE and my other dog has liver issues and both dogs love Royal Canin and it assist with helping their condition to remain as healthy as they can be in there senior lives.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from she loves it! My pooch was always a picky eater..after being very sick she has been prescribed this for life...she loves it..the first time we gave it to her she gobbled it down. Kuddos to my vet for researching food and finding the perfect one for her very sensitive stomach..giving her a much better life!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pancreatitis gone! My dog had multiple bouts of pancreatitis and this food has helped to control it! I am so thankful our vet recommended it. We definitely use the dry formula and only give sweet potatoes as a treat. This combo has prevented him from having another pancreatitis attack for 2 years now!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin GI Low Fat For my family weight management of our pets is important and the GI Low Fat diet we feed our big bruiser (97 lbs. lean) helps keep him lean so his hips and elbows won't become as arthritic in his old age. Great palatability, well tolerated, enhances his coat. Great foods all around.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! My toy poodle, diagnosed with lymphangiecstasia 20 months ago, eats only this food and the canned lowfat gastrointestinal food. He is doing great and his protein level has returned to within the normal range. He loves the food, and I feed it to him as treats as well as at mealtime.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Dog with History of Pancreatitis Our vet recommended this food after our dog had pancreatitis. He likes the food and so far, his pancreatitis seems well-controlled. Our dog has also had a long history of terrible summer allergies. As an added bonus, on this food, his allergies are much better.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Low Fat Diet I found this food for my sheltie when diagnosed with sheltie dystrophy. He had fat droplets in the eye due to too much fat in the blood. His triglycerides were too high and I was looking for the lowest fat diet, not to mention the palpability my dogs love it.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great GI support! Before this dog food, our lab struggled with GI discomfort and eventually refused to eat her food. We tried various types of food before our vet recommended GI low Fat. Jozie has had zero GI issues since we made the switch and we have had fewer vet visits.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for all my dog's My dog hag pancreatitis and has had liver issues in the past. I've had him on this food for about a year it's been great. No issues since. I have two other dogs i feed it to as well and i don't think it will hurt them to be on it it can only help.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from packaging great , keeps food fresh I have been using this since our freddy was diagnosed with panchreitus,,,,it was touch and go ,,but he is thriving on royal canine dry I do wish they would sell the canned also which they do but would like to be able to only buy a half a case ,,,,,,
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My dog liked it the first day or two, then refused to eat any more of it. I thought it had a very peculiar odor. I returned it to the vet, and they did not think so. I bought it a few months later..same thing. My dog was 14, and had pancreatitis.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Our switch to this food My GS has a very sensitive stomach, as do almost all GS. She had been on the same low fat allergy free diet for almost her entire life. She is now 11. We switched her to this food last December. I was very very concerned since even the slightest changes to her diet wreak havoc, After slowly introducing this into her diet as her Vet instructed, she had no problems at all. Transitioned very smoothly. There was some gas from her at first but that subsided.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My vet recommended that I began using Royal Canin- GI - Low Fat dry dog food for my overweight elder dog. I did so 6 months ago and my Abby girl has lost 6 pounds and feels like a pup again! Thanks Royal Canin for making a great product!
Date published: 2015-08-20
  • y_2018, m_6, d_23, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_300
  • loc_en_US, sid_3932, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 109ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT