Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Hepatic dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Vegetable protein supports digestive health
  • Restricted copper levels support liver health
  • Supports cellular health
  • High energy concentration
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Hepatic is a highly palatable and digestible dog food, restricted in copper content, and formulated with nutrients essential to support liver function.

Where to Buy
Size: 26.4 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Vegetable Protein
Contains highly digestible vegetable protein.

Low Copper
Low level of copper to help minimize its accumulation in liver cells.

Antioxidant Complex
A precise blend of antioxidants helps support a healthy immune system.

High Energy
High energy density helps reduce the amount of food given per meal.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (47 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 3/4 cup (63 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (93 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 3/4 cups (156 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 3/8 cups (212 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 7/8 cups (263 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 1/2 cups (311 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 4 cups (357 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 4 1/2 cups (400 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 4 7/8 cups (442 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 5 3/8 cups (483 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 5 3/4 cups (523 g)
121 lb (55 kg) 6 1/4 cups (562 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 6 5/8 cups (600 g)
143 lb (65 kg) 7 1/8 cups (637 g)
154 lb (70 kg) 7 1/2 cups (673 g)
165 lb (75 kg) 7 7/8 cups (709 g)
176 lb (80 kg) 8 1/4 cups (744 g)
187 lb (85 kg) 8 5/8 cups (779 g)
198 lb (90 kg) 9 cups (813 g)
Hepatic is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only as part of a veterinary-supervised program.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, brown rice, corn, chicken fat, soy protein isolate, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, vegetable oil, monocalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, fish oil, DL-methionine, fructooligosaccharides, choline chloride, taurine, salt, L-lysine, trace minerals (zinc proteinate, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), L-carnitine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)14.0%
Crude Fat (min)14.0%
Crude Fiber (max)3.6%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Copper (max)7 mg/kg
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3768 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 339 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Hepatic dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Yorkie LOVES it! My tiny Yorkie (3-pounds) LOVES Royal Canin Hepatic dry food. He has a liver shunt and needs the lowest protein possible, but was also diagnosed at age 2-1/2 with GME (granulomatous meningioencephalitis). His health is everything to me. He receives chemotherapy (cytarabine) every 8 weeks and prednisone every other day ... he is now 6-1/2 years old and stable. I fully believe that keeping his liver shunt under control with RC Hepatic has helped to keep his overall health stable for the past 4 years.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Second ingredient is corn My 17+ year old Shih Tzu mutt has thrived for the past 10 years on a grain free diet. He has suffered from various stages of liver disease in the past few years and most recently, has exhibited some indication of renal disease as well. I decided to make the move to a prescription diet to improve his nutritional support. This was recommended to me by my vet and I was saddened to see brown rice and corn as the first two ingredients - two high glycemic and hard to digest grains unless over processed thus removing all nutritional value (even for humans!). My dog did not react well to this food over a week of weaning him onto it and we'll be discontinuing use immediately in favor of other higher quality prescription diets with more thoughtful ingredients. Do your homework, there are better options out there.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hank is doing well on this food 2 years ago our Labrador Retriever Hank went in for his spring checkup and his liver enzymes were extremely elevated. Biopsy and blood work showed that he has a hereditary disease call copper induced hepatitis. His liver was compromised which allowed for a gall bladder infection. They put him on meds to clear up the call bladder infection and to clean the copper out of his liver. We also put him on the Royal Canin Hepatic support diet. Hank loves it, his coat is shiny, he is very energetic and best of all, his liver enzymes and blood work come back clean every time!
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food for my small dog and she loves it. We started buying this dry dog food last year when our small dog had pancreatitis. She stated at the vets office for 2 days. Very sick puppy. We started feeding her this dry food and she loves it. Was a great choice.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liver saver I have been feeding this to my 13 yr old ACD for a year because of a high Liver values, Cushings and Copper Storage Disease. It has helped immensely. Her values are back to normal and her coat is nice and thick.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best for liver disease! Our Chihuahua Gizmo loves this food! His liver values have leveled out and he looks fantastic! He looks and acts like a puppy, but will be 14 in October. He has been more playful than ever.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Moe loves it! My 8lb poodle was put on Royal Canin Hepatic after he was diagnosed with cushings. The food is small, easy for him to eat and he loves the flavor
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly saved my puppy! Recently got a new puppy and I was in the process of switching his food to something natural. He was becoming very lethargic and just not himself. I bought the hepatic diet after being advised from his vet after confirming a liver shunt, and less than 10 pieces later, as crazy as it may sound, he bounced back like I couldn't believe. This food truly saved my puppy & I couldn't thank the creators enough!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for my Pomeranian I have an elderly (13 yrs) Pomeranian that prefers this food over the other big brand liver diet. So much so that I was able to get her to switch from wet food to dry food. She eats a combination of the hepatic and appetite stimulation food from the pet store and she is doing very well. I was worried that the kibbles would be too big for her mouth (she's 7lbs) , but she doesn't have any trouble. Has recurring liver issues (cholangiohepatitis) so I will continue to supplement her diet with this food to hopefully prevent future hospitalization.
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appears to taste Good! Our dog has been on this special food since April and seems to like it very well!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my dog healthy! The vet recommended and it's been working great for her liver
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet approved! As a veterinarian, I want my clients to know I believe in a nutritional recommendation-I do not recommend any diet I wouldn't feed my own pets. I feed my other dog the breed specific Labrador diet and her coat/weight/health is amazing. I used to feed my senior schipperkee RC active maturity. Unfortunately she has developed liver disease from a medication she must take to control seizures and has a metabolic disease. I use the prescription hepatic diet to help support her liver-which is working very well. She acts like a puppy!!! No one believes me when I say shes an old lady. She devours the food, which is new for hepatic diets-the palatability of this Royal Canin formulation is impressive, thank you! She is thriving on the diet, mixed wet and dry.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tasty When the Vet recommended a low copper diet I was concerned about switching to a specialty type diet food since my Bulldog can be very fussy. It was a relief to see her gobble it up. I mix the Royal Canine canned Hepatic with the Royal Canine dry Hepatic kibble and she is thrilled about her food
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my fur baby Our boy Ronan has epilepsy, and as we found out last year, liver issues to where he can't process a lot of meat protein. Our vet put us on the hepatic blend and it's been smooth sailing ever since! No more belly issues! We have our happy, hyper dog back thanks to Royal Canin Hepatic dry food.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! My rescue chihuahua was a picky eater - snacking throughout the day. When his blood work showed elevated liver counts, we changed to the RC Hepatic. Buster loves it. He has been on it for three years now and his liver numbers are under control. Thank you for having a great product.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hepatic diet Since being diagnosed with high liver enzyme values without a definitive cause or cure, my dog Eddie has been on the Royal Canin Hepatic diet and his liver values have remained relatively stable, enabling him to live comfortably without significant decline in liver function.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly A Life Saver! My puppy was diagnosed with a Portosystemic Shunt in July of 2015 and we were completely devastated. Our vet was not optimistic about how long she would live and we were so upset and unsure of where to turn to. She recommended some medicine and also to put her on Royal Canin Hepatic food. I can honestly say I think it has saved her life. As soon as we started her on this food she was COMPLETELY changed! Before the food, she was lethargic, walked around in circles, pressed her head against walls, didn't want to play with us or our other dog and just laid around and slept all the time. It was devastating and we honestly thought we would lose her in the next few months to come. Today, she is a completely different dog and has been since we started her on this last summer! I truly think we owe her health to your food and I could never thank this company enough! She is a very happy, energetic puppy with the sweetest little face! I am truly so thankful for what your food has done for her and how much joy it has brought to her and my family. Thank you!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sticking with Royal Canin forever! My dog was diagnosed as Hepatic a year ago and I would see how uncomfortable she felt. After he Vet told us to feed her Royal Canin for Hepatic dog she has not shown any symptoms and is now as healthy as a puppy!.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent My dogs use to use another top brand for hepatic reasons and hated it. A new vet suggested your brand and they love it no more waste and having the food go bad because they wouldn't eat it
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My yorkie loves it! My 9 year old yorkie was showing symptoms of hepatic encephaly so after some testing, my vet suggested I try Royal Canin. So happy I did! My pup loves it and it's helped him SO much!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am thankful to have a food that has my dogs health in mind. I see my dog getting better each day since I have changed to this food. I use the Dry and Can Hepatic food.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Logan loves it! Logan has been on this food for almost a year and he loves it. Won't eat anything else. At 8+ years of age he is doing amazing and blood work hasn't changed.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog loves it!! My vet recommended this food for my dog showing signs of liver problems. He loves this food and seems to be doing very well since starting it a year ago.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Canie Approved! My yorkie has been eatting RC dry Hepatic for 3 years now and loves it! He maintains a healthy weight, beautiful coat, and devours his meals every time!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food I bought this food my vet recommended it because my dogs liver count was off . He was on this food for a month and his liver count is doing great now.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Lab Results My Doberman has had liver issue for years. He was on Hills and I switched him to Royal Canin, his lab work came back better while on the Hepatic diet.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My Pug named Peno has been on this dog food for years now, and he is doing very well. Thank you so much for making this product.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my dog! I feed my dog this food after her gallbladder surgery. She loves it and I notice how well she's doing on this diet
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps the health of my dog This food is keeping my dog healthy and his liver numbers where the vet wants them! Thank you!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste My jack Russell requires a hepatic diet & he loves this, also canned hepatic food
Date published: 2017-05-22
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_3927, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT