Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet. The diet is specifically formulated for use as short-term elimination feeding and as long-term nutrition for dogs with food sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 25.3 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Hydrolyzed Protein
Hydrolyzed soy protein, composed of low molecular weight peptides, is highly digestible and supports gastrointestinal and dermatological health.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Digestive Support
Specific nutrient blend to help regulate intestinal transit and to help support the digestive flora.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion - for Adults
Weight Daily Feeding
4 lb (1.8 kg) 5/8 cup (50 g)
6 lb (2.7 kg) 7/8 cup (68 g)
10 lb (4.5 kg) 1 1/8 cups (98 g)
20 lb (9.1 kg) 2 cups (163 g)
30 lb (13.6 kg) 2 5/8 cups (220 g)
40 lb (18.1 kg) 3 1/4 cups (271 g)
50 lb (22.7 kg) 3 7/8 cups (319 g)
60 lb (27.2 kg) 4 3/8 cups (364 g)
70 lb (31.8 kg) 4 7/8 cups (408 g)
80 lb (36.3 kg) 5 3/8 cups (449 g)
90 lb (40.8 kg) 5 7/8 cups (490 g)
100 lb (45.4 kg) 6 3/8 cups (529 g)
110 lb (49.9 kg) 6 7/8 cups (567 g)
120 lb (54.4 kg) 7 1/4 cups (604 g)
130 lb (59.0 kg) 7 3/4 cups (641 g)
140 lb (63.5 kg) 8 1/8 cups (676 g)
150 lb (68.0 kg) 8 5/8 cups (711 g)
160 lb (72.6 kg) 9 cups (745 g)
170 lb (77.1 kg) 9 3/8 cups (779 g)
180 lb (81.6 kg) 9 3/4 cups (812 g)

Recommended Daily Feeding Portion - for Puppies
Age of Puppy
Adult Target Weight 2 months 3 months 4 months 6 months 8 months 10 months 12 months
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup 3/4 cup 3/4 cup 3/4 cup 3/4 cup 3/4 cup Transition
to the Adult
Feeding
Guidelines
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups 1 cup 1 cup 1 cup 7/8 cup 7/8 cup
22 lb (10 kg) 1 7/8 cups 2 1/8 cups 2 1/4 cups 2 1/4 cups 2 1/4 cups 2 1/4 cups
33 lb (15 kg) 2 1/2 cups 2 7/8 cups 3 1/8 cups 3 1/8 cups 3 cups 3 cups 2 7/8 cups
44 lb (20 kg) 3< cups/td> 3 1/2 cups 3 3/4 cups 3 7/8 cups 3 3/4 cups 3 5/8 cups 3 5/8 cups
66 lb (30 kg) 3 1/2 cups 4 1/4 cups 4 3/4 cups 5 1/8 cups 5 1/8 cups 4 7/8 cups 4 7/8 cups
88 lb (40 kg) 4 cups 5 1/4 cups 5 7/8 cups 6 3/8 cups 6 1/4 cups 6 1/8 cups 6 1/8 cups
110 lb (50 kg) 5 1/4 cups 6 1/2 cups 7 1/8 cups 7 1/2 cups 7 7/8 cups 7 3/4 cups 7 5/8 cups
132 lb (60 kg) 5 3/4 cups 7 1/4 cups 8 cups 8 1/2 cups 9 cups 8 7/8 cups 8 3/4 cups
154 lb (70 kg) 6 1/8 cups 7 7/8 cups 8 3/4 cups 9 1/2 cups 10 1/8 cups 10 cups 9 3/4 cups
176 lb (80 kg) 6 1/2 cups 8 5/8 cups 9 1/2 cups 10 3/8 cups 11 1/8 cups 11 1/8 cups 10 7/8 cups
Animal feeding tests using AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) procedures substantiate that Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP provides complete and balanced nutrition for growth and maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, hydrolyzed soy protein, chicken fat, dried plain beet pulp, natural flavors, monocalcium phosphate, sodium silico aluminate, vegetable oil, calcium carbonate, fish oil, fructooligosaccharides, potassium chloride, L-tyrosine, salt, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], choline chloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)19.0%
Crude Fat (min)17.0%
Crude Fiber (max)3.1%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3845 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 304 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 393.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy transistion Our vet prescribed this diet for recurring chronic colitis, suspecting a food allergy/intolerance. I was concerned that our Dane would not eat it, as she is very food selective and how can hydrolyzed soybeans taste good? Thankfully she took to it immediately and has tolerated the transition to this food very well. It has only been two weeks so too soon to tell if the HP has helped the colitis, but I have noticed she seems to have a little extra energy and is a bit more playful so hopefully we are on the right track. Only gave it 4 stars due to the price.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I first got my dog, finding a food that agreed with his stomach was a very trying process. Everything my vet recommended seemed to bother his stomach more. I decided to change vets and after reviewing the foods Diesel had tried the vet said to try a prescription diet food- Royal Canin's Hydrolyzed protein adult HP. He's now been on this food for over a year and his stomach problems have improved tremendously. Although it's a bit pricey for a 70lbs dog, I'd rather pay more for something that is beneficial to my dog and that he is still able to enjoy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my picky bully loves this chow!!! 2.5 months ago, I purchased this diet for 1 of 4 of my bullies for her food trial due to skin issues. I figured i'd see if my picky eater, Amber, and she hasn't skipped a meal in just under 3 wks now. im currently switching all 4 of my pups to hydrolyzed protein and ditching the other food. I would be happier if you guys had larger than 24# bags though, and would most definitely pay the price to match. I also greatly appreciatethe ziploc feature the dog food bag has. excellent product!!!!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped control my dog's inflammatory BS. My Old English Sheepdog (Gere, as in Richard), was diagnosed (via endoscopic biopsy) with inflammatory bowel disease before the age of 1 year. We had tried a few foods with him, never able to get his symptoms under control (along with medications). He has been on Royal Canin HP for the past 7 years! I can happily say that his symptoms are completely under control (besides the occasional flare-up). He gets his dry HP for breakfast and dinner and we either freeze or bake the canned HP into treats. Without this food, his quality of life would be no where near where it is now! :)
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved her life! Our dog Mollie went through numerous foods her 1st 3 years and hardly ever had a solid bowel movement. It broke our hearts and our vet's heart. When we took her in the last time, our vet said we'll try this but if it doesn't work I'll have to do exploratory surgery to try to find out what is wrong. We were scared! Mollie is a rescue- Great Pyrenees and Greyhound. At that time she weighed a skinny 70 pounds We started on HP immediately and her stools were formed. We were ecstatic! The sound of her crunching kibble brought tears to our eyes. Today, she is 7 years old and a healthy 101 pounds! I still tear up watching her eat! Thank You Royal Canin and Dr. Greenwell at Banfield Pet Hospital in Louisville, Ky.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog is back to her normal self, WORTH EVERY $$$ I can't thank Royal Canin enough. My mini aussie suffered from serious allergy problems and I have tried every dog food on the market. She was getting Cytopoint shots every couple of weeks to keep her comfortable. She would itch herself to the point of sores, which would then become infected and require antibiotics. Many, many vet visits and thousands of dollars later, we tried this and I can say that my girl is back to normal, and doesn't need Cytopoint shots anymore either! She has more energy, is happier and her coat and skin looks amazing. This dog food actually saves me money in vet bills, and most importantly, gives my best friend quality of life.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changer! A cross country move introduced my dog to environmental allergies that left him miserable. He was scratching himself raw and anxiously chewing his paws bloody. We went to three different vets, he was given round the clock steroids, topica, benadryl - it was awful filling him with so many medications. Finally, at the fourth vet - they suggested Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein food and two days later he was no longer taking ANY of the meds. He is healthy and happy and hopefully doesn't remember that miserable few months back in 2012. We are forever grateful to Royal Canin for giving us back our boy.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Diet for Allergies I started feeding this diet 4 years ago. My Dog (65lb wite Pitbull) had suffered from allergies and nothing was helping... many foods were recommended to me but none of them helped. My dog suffered from many many ear infections to skin infection, so bad that I was once told that I may have to euthanize him and I began to wonder if that is what I should do cause he was suffering so bad. Once I started this diet I almost immediately notice a difference (within that 1st month) I will never feed anything else. I now even have all my pets on Royal Canin. This food has saved my dogs life and I am so thankful! Thank You Royal Canin!!!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle food! My pup's name is Rahj, he's a rescue, and he suffered from severe allergies. I tried everything from organic, to rice and venison, to the most expensive dog food at the store. Nothing worked. Then the vet prescribed RC HP. Within a few weeks his tummy issues were resolved and his coat was shiny and healthy too. And he likes the food :) Thank you for saving my pup from a life of misery (itching, vomiting, diarrhea, yes it was that bad all the time). Thanks again!
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog's life! My catahoula mix pup became sick three years ago. Small things at first like being picky with her food, vomiting every few days or soft stool. Then she stopped eating. She would go a day without eating, then would eat - but would vomit or have bloody stool. She was diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease. It was a nightmare of vet visits and trial and error with meds. Her body was treating most food like an allergen. She was skin and bones and weak. Finally I found Royal Canin HP food. When my dog ate her first bowl (loved it) and didn't get sick, I think I cried tears of joy. Royal Canin saved her life. She's been eating it (and only it) for over 3 years and is in remission from her disease.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only One! My two dogs have been on Hydrolyzed Protein for over two years. Mikey, the poodle, is a rescue with a VERY sensitive stomach and, Pennie, my Havenese, has food allergies. This is the only food that both can eat. And Mikey has flourished, gaining 12 pounds during that time and is brighter and better than I ever thought he could be. I have another Havanese named Charlie who is on Ultamino because he has so many allergies that he can't even eat the Hydrolyzed Protein. You saved this dog's life! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed all digestive issues! We rescued a lab a year ago. She came to us in pretty bad shape. Very skinny, flea infested, worms etc. We started her on a "good food" and she had terrible diarrhea. Our vet recommended Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein dry dog food and within 4-5 days, she was cured. She barks for her dinner to be served. She can't wait to gobble it down. It may be expensive but it is worth having a healthy dog who has gained weight and is thriving! Thank you for making such a great product. You saved our Lexi girl!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fur babies have more energy! I had started my 6 pound pom chi on this due to his skin issues. After a few weeks he started getting better. So over time I ended up putting all 5 of my fur babies on the same Hydrolyzed Protein. Very noticeable difference in their coats and energy level. The size of the food is even perfect for my small pom chi.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yorkies both love it, eases their stomach issues. Our Veterinarian prescribed this formula for our 2 very small yorkies who were having upset bowel issues. Never a problem now. The dry small bites are great but the soft canned smell makes me barf but my babies love it. I wish the Pet Smart close to me carried it so I wouldn't have to go to the Banfield farther from my home but if it helps my treasure I will do everything I can. The dry and soft packages say hypo-allergenic something and I have no idea what their problem is but it works and they love it so no reason to change but I wish all dog foods had a variety of taste options. Do you know what I mean? Wouldn't you get tired of eating the same thing day after day, week after week, year after year?
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked for my dog, but expensive! My poor doggy had stomach issues forever. We tried all these different kibbles and diets and nothing was working. Opting to not do a million expensive tests to maybe figure out what he's allergic to or if he has IBS, my vet told me feeding him this food would be the answer to a few different stomach issues and so far it's been working out great. It's been about five months. And he loves it. With other kibble (that he might have been allergic to), he'd stop eating it after a couple weeks, but that hasn't happened with this food. The only bummer is it's super pricey--$100 for a 25 lb bag. But it works, so what are you gonna do? I don't like cooking food for myself let alone my dog, so expensive food it is.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food My yellow lab started to have allergies once she turned 2 years old, she is now 7. We tried to control them with OTC medications and baths. Over time without seeing a difference and seeing her uncomfortable we decided to run an allergy test for environmental and food. We have been on a hydrolyzed food since she was almost 3 years old. She loves it and it has made such a difference. I'm so happy she is comfortable again and she enjoys every bite. I know that the price can be high but we think it is worth every penny. They put so much research into their food, the way they clean the machines after each batch, and out baby girl is no longer miserable. Thank you RC.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Switched from Hills Z/D I recently switched to Royal Canin hydrolyzed protein from Hills Z/D for my dog with inflammatory bowel disease. After several weeks on Hills Z/D, we couldn't figure out why he was having diarrhea that wouldn't respond to any interventions. Our vet finally consulted with a specialist who had seen a number of cases in which dogs eating Hills Z/D had persistent diarrhea. She indicated that it was because the food absorbs a lot of water. She said the Royal Canin hydrolyzed formula did not produce this effect. We switched and the diarrhea went away immediately. Thanks Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect... For challenging health issues This food has been invaluable to my dog that has IBD, Lymphangiectasia, and Cushions disease... This food with the Royal Canin low fat can food has kept my dog healthy over the past 7 years since diagnosed... Thank you Royal Canin... Your food is the reason my dog is still alive today :) Excellent quality food!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Senior Dogs Life My Rose, a 12 year old shepherd mix, was diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease in October, 2013. Her biopsy showed 4 types of the possible 6 types of IBD. The doctor thought she might have had cancer until he tested her. We had two options- 1)Try an alternative food source as she could have severe allergies to regular dog food, 2)High doses of steroids for life. I opted to try the dog food. The vet hospital had three different brands, but said the Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein seemed to be the most palatable for dogs. We tried the food, Rose immediately liked it and we got a 100% positive response immediately! She has been on the dry and the canned for over two years and will be on it for life. She is an eighty pound healty senior. We are forever grateful to the vet hospital and Royal Canin for giving us our precious dog back.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped My Dogs IBD My dog developed IBD symptoms about six months ago and already had a previous autoimmune disease. I had tried all the fad dieting including raw food which just didn't help her. This product has helped her go from losing two pounds a month and vomiting 4-6 times daily (she is little) to holding a steady weight and vomiting about once monthly. The small dog variety of this food also helps manage struvite crystals which she also has so it's a win win.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver My Jack Russell pup developed inflammatory bowel disease at about one year old. I almost lost him. Royal Canin's hydrolyzed protein saved my dogs life. Thank you so much. Smooch is stable and thriving with the support of your dog food.
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! I have been using Royal Canin Canine HP for my 80# Lab for many years! When he was younger every type of food I fed him. He would become sick and throw up. After many tests, it was determined that he had IBD. I started feeding the HP food, and it was like magic. He stopped being sick and got to enjoy his meals, which makes me as an owner happy because it's not something you like to see your furry friend go through! I love all the quality control and rigorous testing that Royal Canin does on their food! I know that my Jake is only getting the best!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! My dog has been eating this diet for almost a year now and I couldn't be happier with it. It is highly digestible too, so much less waste to pick up in the yard. He used to be on antibiotics every couple of months for skin infections due to all of the scratching and now it has been 6 months since the last infection. His skin looks great and he is much happier. The diet is pretty expensive, but cheaper than taking him into the doctor and refilling medications every few months.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A terrific solution! Our dog was suffering from food allergies, so our vet recommended Royal Canin for his diet. Not only does he love the dry food, we use the canned as his "treat" food when training. His skin has completely cleared up and he is no longer scratching himself raw. When I think of how much we have spent on antibiotics and steroids, Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein is a great value.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always consistent in quality. no offensive odor. Our 5 yr old Sheltie has been on this food now for 4 years. He enjoys his meals, and we are very confident in this product. The nibbles are very clean and a good size. We microwave it for 15 seconds so that it is warm. We are retired, and empty nesters. We do spoil our "Solomon Peabody" and we feel that he is on the best food available. We buy it from our vet, that we get the best care from, and he recommended it to us. Thank you for such a great product.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST of the Best Our 4.5 month old shorkie Diego constantly had loose stool & didnt want to eat much. We started with pedigree then tried different treats until we figured out he was allergic to grain products. We tried Hills Advantage but it had grain & they dont make any grain free puppy food. We tried Rachel Rays grain free food which improved his stool but he hated it. I dont blame him, it smelled like fish food. Our vet prescribed him Royal Canin & wow what a difference. His stool is normal & we had never seen him enjoy food so much. It has a growth stage feeding guideline so we can use it now as a puppy & later as an adult. I did the math & its a great value. Yes pedigree is cheaper but it isnt as healthy or safe. Royal canin was far cheaper then everything else we tried. Our vet provides it cheaper then petsmart even. The food doesnt smell bad & isnt greasy like hills. I dont have the urge to wash my hands after touching this stuff. We can't say enough great things!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top of the Line Yorkshire Terrier was having issues with diarrhea starting around 1 year old switched to royal canin HP dry dog food and he's not had an issue since. A little pricy but you know its good food and well worth the extra money.. Plus his coat is perfect and teeth are cavity free at 8 years old.. todays his b-day. 5/7/17
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL FOOD FOR MY DOGS I acquired a 6-month old Italian Greyhound puppy a couple years ago who had developed dry patches and lost hair coat in spots on abdomen and chest. We did tons of tests, etc. and finally thought maybe she was allergic to chicken (in her dog food). Switched her to Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed and within 3 weeks the spots were improving and the hair came back and she has not had a problem since. In fact she has an absolutely beautiful silky soft hair coat and also has no GI problems which runs in that breed. Love this food!!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Murphy loves Royal Canin 9 yrs ago got a CockerPoo who had stomach problems from the get go. We tried several pet store foods to no avail. Pup spent much time being sick from various brands of dog food & ended up at the vet's for treatment. Finally our vet carries Royal Canin & he suggested this particular one to try. We started out adding very small amts to white rice..Lo & behold, Murphy was able to keep it down..9 yrs later we are still giving him this particular dog food including the treats made by Royal Canin as we tried MilkBones to only end up w/a sick pup again. So his only food & treat is Royal Canin! So glad we found this brand & type & no problems since. Would never remotely consider any other dog food! Murphy thrives on Royal Canin...Thank you for making quality dog food.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm shocked... My 8 month old Boxer/lab (Boxador) has had on and off diarrhea almost her whole life! I've tried raw, grain free, top of the line dog foods, limited ingredient diet, changing food, rotation feedings, Natural remedies, she's been on antibiotics... nothing worked. I was told that she might do well on a Hydrolyzed protein diet, I wanted nothing to to with any vet diet! Have a neighbor tell me how much it helped her service, so I finally gave it a tried! Wednesday I poured her first bowl (didn't even do a slow transition) first BM was normal!!!! Thursday.. she had her first full day, No diarrhea.. she had normal BM the whole day! This morning, good BM! not to mention, she was a super picky eater.. she's finally eating and asking for more. She has more energy & loves the food. her quality of life just got better, immediately! Glad i finally gave it a try... :)
Date published: 2017-08-25
  • y_2018, m_6, d_23, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_378
  • loc_en_US, sid_3910, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT