Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein canned dog food 13.7 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case)

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Hydrolyzed Protein is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet. The diet is specifically formulated for use as short-term elimination feeding and as long-term nutrition for dogs with food sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Hydrolyzed Protein
Hydrolyzed soy protein, composed of low molecular weight peptides, is highly digestible and supports gastrointestinal and dermatological health.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Digestive Support
Specific nutrient blend to help regulate intestinal transit and to help support the digestive flora.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 3/8 can (155 g) 1/2 can (179 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 1/2 can (210 g) 5/8 can (243 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 5/8 can (260 g) 3/4 can (301 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 3/4 can (308 g) 7/8 can (356 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 7/8 can (353 g) 1 can (408 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 1 can (396 g) 1 1/8 cans (458 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 1 1/8 cans (438 g) 1 1/4 cans (507 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 1 3/8 cans (517 g) 1 1/2 cans (599 g)
26.5 lb (12 kg) 1 1/2 cans (593 g) 1 3/4 cans (687 g)
30.9 lb (14 kg) 1 3/4 cans (666 g) 2 cans (771 g)
35.3 lb (16 kg) 1 7/8 cans (736 g) 2 1/8 cans (852 g)
39.7 lb (18 kg) 2 cans (804 g) 2 3/8 cans (931 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 2 1/4 cans (870 g) 2 5/8 cans (1007 g)
48.5 lb (22 kg) 2 3/8 cans (934 g) 2 3/4 cans (1082 g)
52.9 lb (24 kg) 2 1/2 cans (997 g) 3 cans (1155 g)
57.3 lb (26 kg) 2 3/4 cans (1059 g) 3 1/8 cans (1226 g)
61.7 lb (28 kg) 2 7/8 cans (1120 g) 3 3/8 cans (1296 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 3 cans (1179 g) 3 1/2 cans (1365 g)
70.5 lb (32 kg) 3 1/8 cans (1238 g) 3 5/8 cans (1433 g)
75.0 lb (34 kg) 3 3/8 cans (1295 g) 3 7/8 cans (1500 g)
79.4 lb (36 kg) 3 1/2 cans (1352 g) 4 cans (1565 g)
83.8 lb (38 kg) 3 5/8 cans (1408 g) 4 1/8 cans (1630 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 3 3/4 cans (1463 g) 4 3/8 cans (1694 g)
92.6 lb (42 kg) 3 7/8 cans (1517 g) 4 1/2 cans (1757 g)
97.0 lb (44 kg) 4 cans (1571 g) 4 5/8 cans (1819 g)
101.4 lb (46 kg) 4 1/8 cans (1625 g) 4 7/8 cans (1881 g)
105.8 lb (48 kg) 4 1/4 cans (1677 g) 5 cans (1942 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 4 3/8 cans (1729 g) 5 1/8 cans (2003 g)
Hydrolyzed Protein is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Loaf in Gel
Water sufficient for processing, pea starch, hydrolyzed soy protein, chicken liver hydrolyzate, vegetable oil, powdered cellulose, sodium carboxymethyl-cellulose, lecithin, fish oil, sodium tripolyphosphate, natural flavors, calcium carbonate, sodium silico aluminate, carrageenan, calcium sulfate, potassium chloride, taurine, choline chloride, DL-methionine, cysteine, glycine, potassium phosphate, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], magnesium oxide, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.).

Guaranteed Analysis
Loaf in Gel
Crude Protein (min)5.0%
Crude Fat (min)2.5%
Crude Fiber (max)2.5%
Moisture (max)76.0%
Calorie Content

Loaf in Gel
This diet contains 1012 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram (calculated).
One 13.7oz can contains 395 kilocalories of ME on an as fed basis.

Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein canned dog food 13.7 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case) is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog's life! And he loves the taste! Our dear 8 year old standard poodle has a very pesky immune system and about 4 months ago he developed colitis secondary to a medication he was on for a blood disorder. He had extreme diarrhea and lost 14 lbs in 2 months. We were expecting that we would lose him, which broke our hearts. Enter Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein dry and canned. As we transitioned him over (from another vet Rx food) the frequency of stools dropped markedly (now 2-3 a day), then they became firmer. And dear Toby started to put on weight (thank heaven!) He LOVES the stuff and we use the dry as treats for him (and our other 2 dogs like it, too). I truly believe that our fantastic vet and Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein food has saved his life. We can't thank you enough!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black Spots A couple of people mentioned the black spots. I had my dermatologist check to see if it was mold. It was not. So I took pictures, and wrote to RC. Here is what I was told. Smaller spots: This can occur when the minerals cook and clump slightly, causing some slight discoloration during the baking process. These discolorations can be more visible in the HP since it’s light in color. The Hydrolyzed Protein cans are safe and healthy to feed, these spots will not affect the benefits or nutritional value. Larger spots: Typically attributed to the lecithin in the product that helps to thicken the formula. This ingredient is not very soluble in water so it does not always completely dissolve during the baking process. Due to this, it is possible to sometimes see spots of this substance in the food. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reduced my pugs itching We have been using this product since November if last year due to my pugs allergies and IBS. This product has reduced his itching by 75% as well as controlled his IBS. There are no more loose stools and my pug is getting better day by day. Although we are not there this is a good product. My biggest concern that it cost too much per can at $4.19 a can there needs to be a way cost to the customer can be reduced or at least manufacturers coupons can be offered.
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dog has a sensitive stomach and allergies. She is also very active. This is perfect for her and she loves it!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves! My dog just started this wet food three weeks ago as a supplement to his RC Hydrolyzed Protein dry food. He loves it! He will stand by the refrigerator waiting for more and bark if anyone (besides me) gets near the refrigerator, fearing someone will devour his delicious food. He has not had any GI side effects which is always a worry with his IBD.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my IBD dog! My dog was diagnosed with IBD AND THIS FOOD ALONG WITH THE DRY FORMULA HAS BEEN A LIFE SAVER FOR BLITZEN:) We went with Hills Z/D first and it made her not feel well and still continue to vomit up her food. Now she is on a balanced diet of the HP and is doing the best she has been in her entire young 2 1/2 year old life! Thank you Royal Canin!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Canned relief for itchy dogs Alfie switched from PV to this Hydrolized protein when venison product became unpredictably available in our midAtlantic area - has enjoyed 1/6th of a can with a scoop of RC matching dry food 2x daily w/o skipping a beat. The canned food keeps well for 3-4 days open, capped, in fridge. Malleable with little effort into pill-coating pellet.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only thing that helped Ella's colitis Our bulldog, Ella, has chronic colitis. We tried SO many foods. She would be ok for a month or so and then the colitis would flare up again. Finally her dermatologist suggested we try the RC hydrolized and she has had NO flares since starting it two years ago except when being on a new medication. It has truly changed our lives.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black spots? I’m having the same black spots as another customer that asked 7 months ago but the question was not really addressed. Just wondering as to what these tiny black spots actually are because we see them too but only in 2-3 cans per box of 12
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! I have been using this diet for the past 3 years on my yellow lab. My vet recommended it after being diagnosed with a series of food and environmental allergies. This diet dramatically changed how my lab digests his food (no more runny stool!) Well worth the price.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful product Our senior beagle has been on this for almost a year now and does not have intestinal distress at all! Before going on this we were afraid we would loose him as he would not eat, threw up often and was going down fast!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Loves Hydro Our dog has had all kinds of food allergies. Since he has been on this wonderful food for six weeks his skin had improved and he is not licking his paws anymore. Thanks Royal Cain! He is one happy dog!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Abby loves it. This is the only dog food my Yorkie has been able to tolerate. She has stomach issues and I have to be very careful what I feed her. I even bake the dog food to make her treats.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dog will only take her pills if they are rolled up in the food and will only eat the dry food if I mix it with the wet.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Use to hide pill I purchased the canned product to wrap around the pill that I need to give to my dog. I don't need that much to do that, so I've separated it into 3rds and freeze the 2 sections. I learned to do this when the 1st can I used developed mold and I couldn't use it any longer. I've found that it does break down in the freezer and it effects it's consistency.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps my dog! My vet put my dog on this canned and dry food around 6 months ago because of allergies! I'm thankful it has helped.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I switched my dog to this forms Hills Z/D. I works great for his IBD and smells better (to me) than Hills.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Treat! This is the only treat my two little ones can have due to allergies and they just love this!
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good food My vet recommended this food for my dog who has many allergies. Great food. Helps a lot.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stinky! But she loves it. Recommend for tummy troubles. No problem yet. Been on it since April 2015.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 15 year old Bichon Frise has numerous medical and allergy issues. Per his veterinarian's recommendation, he has been eating the dry and canned HP for over a year now. Unlike other brands, he has tolerated Royal Canin well and gobbles up his food.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The RC Hydrolyed soft food I just have a question about the soft food. I opened the new can and noticed black spots. Is that normal for this food? I gave it 4 stars because my pet is tolerating the hard food well.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jack loves it! Jack was sick, throwing up, he had been on blue buffalo for 4 yrs and evidently the fat content became too much. He has been on the HP for almost 3 weeks and no more sickness! Thx!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Food I bought this for my dog with skin issues hoping it would help. He loves it. He obviously doesn't have food allergies as the vet assumed but he loves it so I'll keep him on it.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Soft Food My dog will not take his heartworm pill alone and he cannot have p.butter or anything else we would normally try. This works great to hide the pill in and he loves the food!
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular There are no words to describe the perfection of this product. Buying Royal Canin I'm not worrying any more about my dog'a nutrition and food.!!!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It worked! I am so glad my veterinarian introduced me to Royal Canin. It has solved Bussy's digestive issues and we couldn't be more pleased!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive stomachs! This food has worked great for my two shih tzu's . They both have very sensitive tummy's. They also love the taste !!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Hydrolyzed is the only dog food (wet and dry) that my dog can eat because of her bad skin allergies.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dog food ever! My dogs have been on Royal Canine for a few years. It is the best dog food that I have ever used.
Date published: 2017-05-22
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_771513, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT