Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Moderate Calorie dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Moderate calorie content supports healthy weight
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Moderate phosphorous level supports renal function health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Moderate Calorie is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet for dogs predisposed to weight gain. The diet is specifically formulated for use as short-term elimination feeding and as long-term nutrition for dogs with food sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Size: 24.2 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Hydrolyzed Protein
Hydrolyzed soy protein, composed of low molecular weight peptides, is highly digestible and supports gastrointestinal and dermatological health.

Moderate Calorie
Moderate calorie content* to help maintain ideal weight. *When compared to Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP dry

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

Moderate Phosphorus
A restricted phosphorus intake is key to help maintain renal function with age.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4 lb (1.8 kg) 1/2 cup (41 g)
6 lb (2.7 kg) 5/8 cup (55 g)
10 lb (4.5 kg) 1 cup (80 g)
20 lb (9.1 kg) 1 5/8 cups (132 g)
30 lb (13.6 kg) 2 1/4 cups (178 g)
40 lb (18.1 kg) 2 3/4 cups (219 g)
50 lb (22.7 kg) 3 1/4 cups (258 g)
60 lb (27.2 kg) 3 5/8 cups (295 g)
70 lb (31.8 kg) 4 1/8 cups (330 g)
80 lb (36.3 kg) 4 1/2 cups (363 g)
90 lb (40.8 kg) 4 7/8 cups (396 g)
100 lb (45.4 kg) 5 1/4 cups (428 g)
110 lb (49.9 kg) 5 3/4 cups (459 g)
120 lb (54.4 kg) 6 1/8 cups (489 g)
130 lb (59.0 kg) 6 3/8 cups (518 g)
140 lb (63.5 kg) 6 3/4 cups (547 g)
150 lb (68.0 kg) 7 1/8 cups (575 g)
160 lb (72.6 kg) 7 1/2 cups (603 g)
170 lb (77.1 kg) 7 7/8 cups (630 g)
180 lb (81.6 kg) 8 1/8 cups (657 g)
Hydrolyzed Protein Moderate Calorie is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, hydrolyzed soy protein, chicken fat, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, monocalcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, fish oil, potassium chloride, fructooligosaccharides, calcium carbonate, salt, taurine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)21.5%
Crude Fat (min)10.5%
Crude Fiber (max)3.1%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Phosphorus (min)0.50%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3491 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 286 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Moderate Calorie dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 90.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My Vet recommended the Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein Moderate Calorie because one of my dogs has a food allergy that caused severe ear infections. Ever since he started this food (over 3 years ago) he has not had one infection. I now feed this food to all three of my dogs... they are happy and healthy. I have been told by other people there is less expensive food out there, however, I would not change for anything... nothing means more to me than my dogs good health. I also use the Hydrolyzed Protein canned dog food as well as the treats...
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed our dogs life! Our Standard Poodle has severe allergies. Constant skin issues, ear infections, eye drainage. Our vet switched him to this food and we eliminated all treats etc and it was almost an immediate difference! The ear infections went away, the horrible eye drainage stopped, and his skin looks much better. It showed us that his issues are mostly food related allergies. We are so grateful that you offer this product. Thank you Royal Canin!!!! We also use the hydrolized protein treats now, and he LOVES them!!! So glad you also offer a safe treat for him.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Veterinarian prescribed, dog approved! We adopted Mae, an 11-year-old Akita, a month ago. Her skin was in bad shape, with bumps and allergy spots showing through her missing fur. I'm so happy to say that with Royal Canin's Hydrolyzed Protein, not only do we see an improvement in her skin and coat, but she's acting more like a puppy than a senior dog. I have no doubt that the change in her food has improved, if not saved, her life (and ours too!).
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my dog's life My vet recommended Royal Canin HP a little over a year ago, after my older dog, suffering from a never-ending allergy cycle, seemed to develop a sensitivity to the food he was eating. What a relief! Within a month, the itchiness, the hives and the ear infections were all gone. His coat regained its luster and his skin lost its dry patches. Worth the price, thank you!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Changing! Life Saving! My dog was diagnosed with acute Inflammatory Bowel Disease via biopsy in May 2013. His Internal Medicine Specialist recommended Royal Canin HP as a new feeding protocol and we have had wonderful success. Boden was a frail 53 lbs after his surgery to remove a damaged section of his stomach and desperately needed to out on weight. We started on the RC HP and slowly with many small meals a day added back on 30 plus lbs and even moved him to the moderate calorie formula. He loves the taste of this food! With food allergies causing an immunity response in him, it is imperative he gets nothing but this kibble. He gets it for treats and I even hydrate it to wrap his daily medicine in so I do not have to pill him. He literally takes his medicine right out of my hand with the hydrated kibble. Royal Canin HP absolutely change and saved Boden's life........no question........! He is now a vibrant beautiful Pointer again and I will never change his food.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hydrolyzed Protein Moderate Calorie I put my 4 year old pup on this about a year ago after having tried 2 other brands. He has food allergies and it was challenging to find a food that he would eat but that would also not cause any issues. He took to this food. I am very pleased to find a high quality food that he enjoys and that does not cause any allergy problems.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results and my dog loves it! My dog has been on Royal Canin for years now. We were going to a different vet initially and our dog was refusing to eat his food after being a voracious eater. We were struggling to find a food that he liked, and he needed a special food that was appropriate for his sensitive stomach. My daughter went on line and found Royal Canin and asked the vet to order it in for him, if it would be an appropriate food, which they did, but the variety of RC did not originally solve his problem. In frustration, we changed vets. Our current vet put him on the RC HP and immediately he began to eat and was our happy dog again. After two bouts with cancer and now on thyroid, he has been walking less, so over time, he has become heavy. The vet suggested this product, the HP Moderate Calorie. Our dog loves it, and he has slowly, and without any problems with hunger, lost weight. He has a waistline again and looks great. Not too heavy and certainly not too thin, just right.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food. I been buying this for my dog sens I found out that he has allergy. He had been eating this for the last 7 years now and it works for us. We been living in Sweden and we used the same brand there too. We will never change something that works for us.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loved it and so do we! Have used this product for years and will not switch to anything else. My Westie has skin issues as most do and Royal Canin food was the only product that did not cause it to keep coming back. We will not use any other brand!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog's is this plus it's hypoalergenic My toy poodle was on Chicken Soup for Adult..but began to have loose bowels so my Vet..Dr. Charlene Cummons of Clay-Mar Vet Clinic in Owosso Michigan recommended this for him..works great..been on it nearly 7 1/2 to 8 yrs.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I started my dog on this two months ago and have never been happier! She has food allergies and is also a bit overweight, so this is the best of both worlds. Keeping my little dog healthy and happy just got easier!
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only food my Dog can eat This food was prescribed by our Veterinarian for our Golden Retriever, it is the only food she can eat, if we did not have a high quality food like this, she would have died, we think very highly of this food
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wonderful results! I have a standard poodle with a sensitive stomach as well as other allergies . Her regurgitation has lessened, and I have noticed an improvement to more of a normalcy in bowel function versus loose stool.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Food and Company Excellent Food!!! Excellent company. Increased the quality of life for many dogs and cats. Keeps your pet out of the veterinarian's office and at home with you feeling great! Worth the money!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food out there I am a Hospital Manager at a Veterinary Hospital and not only do I recommend the Hydrolyzed diet both my dog and cat are on this diet. We have had many animals come trough the office with stomach issues, vomiting issues, and diarrhea issues that have switched over to the Hydrolyzed diet and are doing extremely well when nothing else seemed to work in the past. My dog and cat not only love the food, but I have seen a dramatic change in their behavior, health, and overall well being. 
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great My dog, Angus, has a very sensitive digestive system and this is the only food he can eat without issues. He is now 5 years old and has been on it since he was 1 year old.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food for a food allergy I have been extremely happy with this product for our golden retriever. she has developed a food allergy and this specific food keeps it under control. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!!! I only feed my dog RC! Great food!! Keeps my baby healthy as can be! It's the only food I feed my precious gem! The only thing I find difficult is finding the food when my vet is closed.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Food!! My dog as bad food allergies. She has been on this food for two years and is doing amazing on it. Her skin looks great! I love the Royal Canin brand!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more ear infections! My Basset Hounds were constantly getting ear infections until we tried Royal Canin. Since Royal Canin, we have not had a problem! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Yorkies are on this food and they are doing great. My 11 year old has alergies and this food helps her alot.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! I have been giving my dog this for a while now. He loves it and can't get enough of it.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food helps my dog Great food for my very allergic dog and it does not make her sick.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working well for my dog, he loves it is working well for my dog's tummy issues and thyroid problems
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome food ! Great food that has really helped my dogs allergies !
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think this saved my dog My rescued Chinese Crested from 7 weeks old was always getting sick parvo type systems even though vaccinated.. then at about 6 mo seizure and just a sickly pup . Blood work ok but something not right. He developed a few tiny ulcers in his mouth. Vet referred us to Texas A&M for diognostic testing . However before we went 600 miles while Rusty was feeling ok she suggested this dog food . The dog food I had been feeding was very high quality and we have always used for our sport and work dogs. She explained maybe it was just the process or breakdown of the dog food. Well this was worth a try and BINGO Rusty hasn't been sick in almost a year. Only problem is I'm in Texas we are flooded... my vet is closed and I'm out of dog food. We are an hr away from anywhere that has it and is open but I have no Rx on file with any of them so Rusty is out of food for the next 2 days. The vet in the next town wants 75.00 for dog exam (Emergency hospital is all that's open) and that makes it $125.00 for an 8lb bag of dog food. Would be nice if there was some sort of data base like pharmacies have for an emergency. Not going to let him starve he can have a limited type of human food .. kicking myself for not having my vet write an rx for an emergency. I will though .
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Palatability and works great! My elderly dachshund had always had off and on inconsistent stools and a sensitive stomach. While performing an ultrasound, it was noticed that his intestines looked thickened and could be IBD (not biopsy confirmed). I put him on The Hydrolyzed Protein moderate calorie and within 1-2 months his intestines on the food looked greatly improved on the HP. Also, his stools firmed up. Also, I find that with all the Royal Canin diets have great Palatability!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE I've been using this food for over a year on my 2 dogs. My 6 yr old Westie is Highly allergic to many foods and gets yeast skin breakouts. She does take meds for it but this is the only food I found that doesn't make it worse. Even my 18 month old 13lb. mini goldendoodle has been on it since she was 4 months old. The kibble is small and they love it. I've tried other veterinanry foods and nothing as good as this and they both use it.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features@ Started my dog on this food 10 weeks ago and I'm glad I did. She struggles with environmental allergies as well as food allergies and on and off issues with bloody diaherra because of these allergies. She is also a very picker eater. This food has been a life saver ! She love this food and it seems to be the answer to her problems she is full of energy again! Thank you for making great products that help our fur family members.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for canine allergy sufferer My 5 year old terrier had red itchy skin and inflamed ears. She constantly rubbed her face and licked her paws. She suffered from a chronic cough. After trying a multitude of pills and steroid injections, we tried cutting grains from her diet. While she found some relief, we were unable to take her off of her medications. Her vet consulted a vet who specializes in dermatology and our journey with the food elimination trial began. After one week eliminating everything save Royal Canin Hydrolized Protein Moderate Calorie Dry Dog Food, my itchy terrier stopped scratching. As the weeks rolled on, her chronic cough disappeared and she has not needed any medication besides her monthly heart worm and flea preventative. Her food "trial" that began some five months ago has turned into a permanent solution. A big plus is that she likes the taste and considers the RCHP cookies as a coveted treat.
Date published: 2017-05-03
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_3964, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT