Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein PS dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Supports cellular health
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Hydrolyzed Protein PS is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet. The diet is specifically formulated for use as short-term elimination feeding and as long-term nutrition for dogs with food sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Size: 24.2 lb
Size: 8.8 lb
Product Information

Skin Barrier
Specific amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

Antioxidant Complex
A synergystic complex of antioxidants to support cell health.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (43 g) 5/8 cup (50 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (85 g) 1 1/8 cups (99 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 5/8 cups (143 g) 2 cups (166 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 1/4 cups (194 g) 2 5/8 cups (225 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 7/8 cups (241 g) 3 1/4 cups (279 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 3/8 cups (285 g) 3 7/8 cups (330 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 3 7/8 cups (327 g) 4 3/8 cups (378 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 4 1/4 cups (367 g) 5 cups (425 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 4 3/4 cups (405 g) 5 1/2 cups (469 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 5 1/4 cups (443 g) 6 cups (513 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 5 5/8 cups (479 g) 6 1/2 cups (555 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 6 3/8 cups (549 g) 7 1/2 cups (636 g)
Hydrolyzed Protein Adult PS is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

Dried potato, hydrolyzed soy protein, coconut oil, potato protein, natural flavors, fish oil, monocalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, vegetable oil, salt, DL-methionine, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex], choline chloride, trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, copper proteinate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)19.0%
Crude Fat (min)10.0%
Crude Fiber (max)3.7%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3516 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 302 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein PS dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pup with stomach issues My poor Jasper has always had a sensitive stomach. After numerous test and vet bills he was put on the hydrolyzed protein dog food. He doesn't have anymore issues as long as this is all he eats. We will definitely continue purchasing this for him. We buy the small breed because the kibble is the perfect size since he is a little Shih Tzu.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My veterinarian and the Royal Canin sales representative both recommended this diet for my dog who has food intolerance and IBD. She has been a picky eater in the past but absolutely loves this food. Her symptoms are gone and she has been eating great. I could not be happier and have always had great experiences with Royal Canin.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for little dogs with digestion issues I have a 4 pound yorkie. He has a horrible food reaction to almost everything he eats. It wasn't until he was put on the Hydrolyzed Protein diet that he was able to experience a good meal without vomiting and diarrhea. I am confident with this product that I am uninterested in even attempting to try anything else!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more food problems Our Weimaraner, Bosco, was put on this product several years ago after being very ill with a mystery GI illness. He wasn't able to keep anything down including water. From the time Bosco was placed on this food, he has been a changed man. He gained all his weight back and was back to his normal self.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A life style changer Our Cairn was showing a decrease in her protein and had to undergo N Endoscopy. The Cet's determined she needed to be on a hydrolysis protein diet. Our Vet suggested Royal Canin and two years later it has improved her health enormously. We juggle because our other dog is in regular food.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Taste My dogs (14yrs and 3yrs) both Shar Pei love this food. It has helped with their skin issues (infections) and smell tremendously. Since we have been feeding this formula we have not had one skin infection or hair loss. Been feeding for 3 years now.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best food for our Cali We have had cali our dog on this food for 4 years. She loves it! We had tried other high end foods but she stopped eating. After trying a few alternatives we found she loves this food. The vet feels she is extremely healthy from the diet she's on.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very palatable, affordable for hydrolyzed food I bought this for my dog who potentially has food allergies and I have noticed a decreased in his itching. he is also very picky but eats this right up! Very pleased with it! It does smell kind of strange, but this doesn't bother me anymore.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog has IBS and has not been able to live on anything other than this food. He has been on it now for years and has finally gained the weight he needs and is much happier! Thank goodness for this product and the canned equivalent!!!!!
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent ingredients My veterinarian prescribed this food for my dog's inflammatory bowel disease almost a year ago. This food plus a small amount of medication has cleared up this problem completely. I now can take him anywhere including road trips.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Our German Pinscher was so sick when we bought her. She had diarrhea and vomiting. We tried withholding food for 24 hours then start her back on small meals of chicken and rice. This did not help. Once she started eating again, the vomiting and diarrhea started. Our vet put her on this dog food, and in 24 hours after she began eating his food, the diarrhea and vomiting stopped! She loves the food and we also feed her the treats. She has had no problems since switching to this food.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog's life My dog has food allergies and gets colitis with every other food. He had lost a lot of weight and had bloody diarrhea when we put him on this 3 years ago. Now healthy and happy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Size of kibbles My Westie loves this food , she eats dry &canned. I Find the dry is easier for her to eat than the older Duck &Potato version. Digests both very well and no allergy problems.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for my dog Our minpin had been throwing up a lot and had a very sensitive stomach. This food has been amazing. No more throwing up every day and he has a ton of energy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food My yorkie, Lincoln, eats the small bread and loves it. We needed this for his food allergies and it has been great for his system since day one.
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein We put my Boxer on this dog food a few years ago and it has made a world of difference! He has a lot of allergies, including food allergies, that made him break out in horrible rashes that itch and bleed and also gave him terrible ear infections. Switching him to this prescription diet made his allergy symptoms 85% better! I think the remainder of his allergy symptoms are just environmental now and we are treating those with a separate prescription. This food has been great!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Normans Favorite Normans allergy issues resolved no more issues with yeast build up between toes less itching and scratching vet recomended
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food Our dog is allergic to animal protein and this is the only food she can eat. Works great and no side affects.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my dog This is the best food for my dog! Before she used to be itchy all the time! Now she is awsome!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I work for a veterinary office and see many dog foods that say they help wIth allergies, but nothing has come close yet. I have been feeding the canine HP to both of my dogs for the past year. I have really noticed an improvement with their skin allergies. The only complaint I have is that I have noticed a weight gain with both dogs (one that needed it and the other definitely did not). I have reduced the amount that I feed them, but now they always seem hungry.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's GREAT for my mini doxie He's been on this food for over a year. loves it and he's lost 3 pounds---we're both happy
Date published: 2015-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product I have been using this food for 8 years and it has helped our dog with his allergies!!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from helps with the alergies. Been using for over 3 years. It is a little to big for my little dogs but they do ok.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog loves it Been feeding my dog this for almost two years. She loves it and helps her skin.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The food works for his allergies but is very expensive for a small bag
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed my dog's food allergies My dachshund loves the taste and it fixed her food allergy issues!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food This is the first dog food that doesn't make my dog sick
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fix for my dog's digestive problems! Always having a sensitive stomach, my dog did well on a limited ingredient diet for years. When she developed painful digestive problems, we switched to the hydrolyzed protein dry dog food and she's been doing great ever since! I would give this 5 stars if the price weren't so high -- it's a strain on our budget, so we've had to make sacrifices in other areas to provide this quality food for her.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped our dog with his G.I. issues Our Boston Terrier has major gastrointestinal issues. Before we started on the Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein PS, his stool was never well formed and would be very irregular, sometimes bloody. Our vet told us that our dog might have food allergies and suggested we try the Royal Canin product. It has been a miracle. We definitely recommend it for other dogs with these types of G.I. issues.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Beagle loves it and is healthier! Our Beagle has been eating this food now for multiple years. Our veterinarian recommended trying it for him as he's had what seems to be allergic reactions, including increased seizures and more frequent ear infections, with other foods we've tried through the years. His seizures decreased not long after beginning this food and we're grateful he seems to love it, as well!
Date published: 2017-05-05
  • y_2018, m_3, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_3947, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms