Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog’s special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Supports urinary health
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Kibble helps reduce tartar formation
  • Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Dog dry is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet. The diet is specifically formulated for use as short-term elimination feeding and as long-term nutrition for dogs with food sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Hydrolyzed Protein
Hydrolyzed soy protein, composed of low molecular weight peptides, is highly digestible and supports gastrointestinal and dermatological health.

Relative Super Saturation
Relative Super Saturation (RSS) methodology predicts the crystallization potential of urine; RSS is used to develop diets that control both struvite and calcium oxalate urolithiasis.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin’s natural barrier effect.

Dental Health
This formula helps support healthy teeth with kibbles that promote a brushing effect while chewing.

Feeding Guide

Daily feeding recommendations may be divided into two to four meals. Individual requirements may vary. Consult your veterinarian for specific feeding guidelines for your pet. This feeding guide does not apply to puppies or pregnant/lactating dogs. Ensure fresh drinking water is available at all times. Store product in a cool, dry place.

Hydrolyzed Protein Small Dog is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, hydrolyzed soy protein, chicken fat, natural flavors, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, dried plain beet pulp, monocalcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, salt, fish oil, fructooligosaccharides, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, sodium tripolyphosphate, DL-methionine, taurine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 22.5%
Crude Fat (min) 14.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 2.7%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3628 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 374 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this food! Patches has allergies and was getting frequent collitis. The vet recommended this food to determine if the allergies were food related. After two months on this food the allergy symptoms have not improved, so a no go there. However, she hasn't had a bout of colitis since being on this food. She also loves it. With other food, we used to have to cajole her to eat, now she goobles it right up. I highly recommend this food.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cut allergy itching probably in half. We buy a bag each month for our shih tzu. He is allergic to absolutely everything and cries and cries and scratches in discomfort. This helped by probably cutting his itching in half. Remainder of allergies are dust, grass, environmentally-induced and we can't do anything about that without his living in a bubble. He has ear drops and eye drops and special shampoos, etc. But the special food definitely helps.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Small Breed Dry Food I started buying the Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food in May of 2015 and have been very happy with the improved health of my dog. My Multi-Poo was having many digestive problems with the other brands of dog foods and sometimes would not eat for a day. My dog is very happy with this dog food it resolved his food related problems. Excellent would highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really seems to be working!! My female mini dachshund (now 16 1/2 years old) was first diagnosed with bladder stones about 5-6 years ago. At first, she was prescribed a different brand SO complex food which kept the stones away; however, she started to develop allergy/skin issues. Our vet then recommended the Hydrolyzed Protein with SO complex (which is also hypoallergenic) and she has not had a reoccurrence of the stones!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY ! A FOOD LOKI WILL EAT ! My Vet recommended this particular formula for my Miniature Pinscher, "Loki". From the first day he started eating this new formula, he licked his bowl clean ! Loki is one hard Pin to please. But thankfully ROYAL CANIN has this formula and it does Loki good also. He's more active and his coat has taken on a sheen that he has never had before. This is now Loki's new "best kibble" !
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved Gastrointestinal Problems I have a small breed dog that could suddenly not keep any food down, it was frightening. He was losing weight rapidly and we were desperate for a solution. Our vet prescribed this food and our dog's stomach problems all but disappeared. I like that it comes in a small breed size too so we don't have to alter the large pieces. Very grateful this food exists.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors We bought our dog when she was 4 months old, we were her 4th owner. She was very sick and no one wanted to deal with her, after a few months of trying to help her feel better our vet recommended this dog food, she has no more issues with food. She is allergic to everything but this food. We wish the price wasn't near as much though.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog eats nothing else! We were switching our dog from another brand of hypoallergenic dog food to Royal Canin's Hydrolized Protein. During the transition, our dog picked out the Royal Canin food and ate all of it leaving the other brand behind. That speaks volumes to me about the flavor of the Royal Canin. Our dog just loves it!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food My Bichon lost 25% of his weight and the Vet investigated and found that he was not digesting his food, i.e. The pellets were still whole and undigested in his intestines as shown on an ultrasound. After switching him to the hydrolyzed protein he gained his full weight back and is fine today.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dogs with allergies! This is the only brand of food that my Lhasa/poodle mix can eat without throwing up. I went through almost a year of trying so many types and brands. She no longer gets sick, her eyes don't have the tear stains anymore and her coat is so healthy! So happy to have found this!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more scratching My dog was placed on this food after allergy testing showed he was allergic to almost everything. He suffered chronic ear infections and would chew his paw until it bled. After being placed on this food the ear infection has not come back and the chewing is at a minimum.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My dog Kalvin, had some severe allergies going on, the vet suggested a few things, which we tried....then we decided it must be food allergies....we tried this food and within 2 weeks, I saw a big difference in Kalvins skin!!! And most of the itchies have gone away!!!
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Sensitive Tummies of Small Dogs My vet suggested Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food for my 9-lb Yorkie, who has a sensitive tummy as well as allergies. He loves the dog food and eats it consistently and aside from summer itching is a very healthy 6-1/2-year-old dog.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad to have found it! My little Rat Terrier had so much intestinal trouble. We tried many diets. Finally, this Hydrolyzed Protein was prescribed and she loves it. The customer support team at RC talked to me about what to expect and how to feed the new diet. My Katie loves it!
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! I have used this food for many years on my mini poodles. They have been free of illnesses and diseases. Their teeth r nice too. My boys will be 11 this year and show no signs of aging! They r as frisky and happy as they were when they were puppies!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks great We tried the food with our Chihuahua poodle mix. He would only eat it if there was no trash to get into. Maybe it doesn't smell good to him. We wish you had a product he was into. We know royal canin is a high quality product
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small Dog with Allergies This product was recommended by a veterinarian to clear up Charley's itchy, red eyes. After a few weeks there was notable improvement. He has now been on this product for over 3 years and continues to have healthy eyes.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more itching! Hallelujah! My dog constantly itched made she and I miserable. I tried RX's and baths to no avail. My vet recommended this food and she no longer itches and loves the food. It's pricey but my dog is small so I can afford it.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has saved my pet My Yorkiepoo had constant digestive problems. Sometimes it was so severe he would dispel large amounts of blood. Two years ago my vet put him on this product and he has been free of any problems since that time.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hydrolyzed Protein Small Dog is excellent! My Westie was having constant ear infections and skin growths before I started him on the Hydrolyzed Protein Small Dog food. He has never been healthier since he has been on this food. Thank You Royal Canine!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allergy buster Started my 6 year old Schnoodle on this several years ago. It has really helped with his allergies. I also like your Gastrointestinal Low Fat food for my 11 year old Schnoodle who recovered from pancreatitis.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dog with food allergies! My dog loves the taste and is no longer itching and scratching from food allergies! I like that this food provides all the nutrients that she needs while still safe for her allergies! And she loves it too!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It must taste great!! My vet prescribed this food for my Pekingese with food allergies. She's been doing great on it. No GInproblems since making the change. She's very picky about what she eats so this must taste great!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results My Bichon Frise, who is highly allergic, has been on this diet for about four years after having bladder stone removal surgery. He has done extremely well without a reoccurrence of the bladder stones.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I have a Chinese crested that has a regurgitation issue. Since feeding the hydrolyzed protein diet he has greatly reduced the amount of time he vomits back up his food. So glad I found this product!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both of my Pekingese Love it! The Veterinarian prescribed this diet for both of my Pekingese dogs as they have some food allergies. The dogs love this food, which I feed along with the Canned Hydrolyzed Protein diet. Thank you!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dogs been on it for a little over a yr now, it has improved her over all health so much. Alergies no more, tummy problems gone skin and coat shinny and she is herself again, Thanks.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We switched to this because our little pug had so many allergies and was constantly getting ear infections. Since starting this food no more ear infections or probable so with allergies
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works Sandy has been eating this food for about 2 years. She has not had a UTI , and far fewer ear problems since on this diet. Previously, she would have one or the other every 3-4 months.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it!!! My dog has food allergies and we have tired several brands. She loves the Hydrolzed Protein in the Small Breed small bite. She is a German Shepherd but prefers the small bite size.
Date published: 2016-05-26
  • y_2018, m_6, d_17, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_476888, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT