Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog’s special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Supports urinary health
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Kibble helps reduce tartar formation
  • Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Dog dry is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet. The diet is specifically formulated for use as short-term elimination feeding and as long-term nutrition for dogs with food sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Hydrolyzed Protein
Hydrolyzed soy protein, composed of low molecular weight peptides, is highly digestible and supports gastrointestinal and dermatological health.

Relative Super Saturation
Relative Super Saturation (RSS) methodology predicts the crystallization potential of urine; RSS is used to develop diets that control both struvite and calcium oxalate urolithiasis.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin’s natural barrier effect.

Dental Health
This formula helps support healthy teeth with kibbles that promote a brushing effect while chewing.

Feeding Guide

Daily feeding recommendations may be divided into two to four meals. Individual requirements may vary. Consult your veterinarian for specific feeding guidelines for your pet. This feeding guide does not apply to puppies or pregnant/lactating dogs. Ensure fresh drinking water is available at all times. Store product in a cool, dry place.

Hydrolyzed Protein Small Dog is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, hydrolyzed soy protein, chicken fat, natural flavors, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, dried plain beet pulp, monocalcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, salt, fish oil, fructooligosaccharides, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, sodium tripolyphosphate, DL-methionine, taurine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 22.5%
Crude Fat (min) 14.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 2.7%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3628 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 374 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 105.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this food !!! I have bought this dog food for over 4 years because of allergy conditions. My dog loves it and never has any problem coming straight to his dish to eat. I can use it for treats also to take with me on a walk. I also use the canned moist in 4 little chunks in the evening and he then knows it is time for bed. His stools are firm and small so I am appreciative of this also, along with the fact that he does not have gas eating this dog food !! Bostons are notorious for having gas so this is great news for all !!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing food for meat allergies My golden retriever was diagnosed with meat allergies. By eliminating any meat products and feeding him the Royal Canin hydrolyzed dry food, his health improved immediately and he LOVES this dry food.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For My Frenchie With Allergies My Frenchie is allergic to everything, food included. She probably should live in a bubble. However, I was prescribed this by the vet, and we have never looked back. It seems to do just fine on her stomach, and my girl loves it! I am so glad to have found something that doesn't make her sick to her stomach and that she likes eating. I do wish that it came in larger bags to reduce the frequency that it is needed to be purchased and that it was available in more places.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Dog I buy the dry and wet food. I rescued Scruffy and he has allergies.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT! I have had my Bichon Frise' and my Miniature Schnauzer on this diet for nearly 3 years and could not be happier! Bailey, my rescued 2 yr old Bichon developed Gastroenteritis and his stomach slightly twisted, which in turn led to surgery - he nearly died. The Vet put him on a well-known i/d Digestive Care kibble and advised he would need to stay on this specific diet indefinitely. Unfortunately, Bailey was reluctant to eat it and I wasn't too happy with the ingredients but I kept him on it for nearly 6 months. Within those 6 months, Bailey started having gas and he started scratching profusely! He developed severe hot spots and he also had crystals in his urine, to which required a Prescription Spray and Antibiotics. I consulted with our Veterinarian and my son who is the lead Vet-Tech at our Clinic regarding changing Bailey's diet. They met with the Royal Canin Representative that very afternoon at the clinic. The Rep recommended Royal Canin Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed formula. Within 2 weeks of being on the new diet, I noticed a significant improvement in Bailey's skin and when we tested Bailey's urine again, his levels were back to normal. Bailey's hot spots completely CEASED and his urine levels remain normal. Both of our dogs are on this diet. In regard to Scout, our now 13 yr old rescued Miniature Schnauzer, I'm happy to report he has never had ANY kidney or bladder issues AND I am positive it is primarily due to the Hydrolyzed Protein. Thank you for creating a food that helps to keep my canine babies healthy.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cut allergy itching probably in half. We buy a bag each month for our shih tzu. He is allergic to absolutely everything and cries and cries and scratches in discomfort. This helped by probably cutting his itching in half. Remainder of allergies are dust, grass, environmentally-induced and we can't do anything about that without his living in a bubble. He has ear drops and eye drops and special shampoos, etc. But the special food definitely helps.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Small Breed Dry Food I started buying the Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Canine Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food in May of 2015 and have been very happy with the improved health of my dog. My Multi-Poo was having many digestive problems with the other brands of dog foods and sometimes would not eat for a day. My dog is very happy with this dog food it resolved his food related problems. Excellent would highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really seems to be working!! My female mini dachshund (now 16 1/2 years old) was first diagnosed with bladder stones about 5-6 years ago. At first, she was prescribed a different brand SO complex food which kept the stones away; however, she started to develop allergy/skin issues. Our vet then recommended the Hydrolyzed Protein with SO complex (which is also hypoallergenic) and she has not had a reoccurrence of the stones!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY ! A FOOD LOKI WILL EAT ! My Vet recommended this particular formula for my Miniature Pinscher, "Loki". From the first day he started eating this new formula, he licked his bowl clean ! Loki is one hard Pin to please. But thankfully ROYAL CANIN has this formula and it does Loki good also. He's more active and his coat has taken on a sheen that he has never had before. This is now Loki's new "best kibble" !
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved Gastrointestinal Problems I have a small breed dog that could suddenly not keep any food down, it was frightening. He was losing weight rapidly and we were desperate for a solution. Our vet prescribed this food and our dog's stomach problems all but disappeared. I like that it comes in a small breed size too so we don't have to alter the large pieces. Very grateful this food exists.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best.Food.Ever!! My mini dachshund has been on this food for the last 6-7 years for prevention of bladder stones and it has worked marvelously! We tried different prescription foods prior to this one, but then she developed allergies. This food has the best of both worlds - prevents bladder stones and is hypoallergenic! PS - she's turning 19 in December :)
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors We bought our dog when she was 4 months old, we were her 4th owner. She was very sick and no one wanted to deal with her, after a few months of trying to help her feel better our vet recommended this dog food, she has no more issues with food. She is allergic to everything but this food. We wish the price wasn't near as much though.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my Westie!!! I have been feeding my Westie the hydrolyzed protein for about 3 years. It has been fantastic for her skin and coat. After the first month I could see a big difference. She was feeling better and her skin started improving. We continued giving her this food and her skin looks fantastic. I would certainly recommend this food!!!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only food for my dog My dog is for some years on the HP prescription food. It is the only food he can have , because he has food sensitivities to almost everything. Tried for years the commercial brands and also high end foods. Nothing worked for him. Glad that I finally tried prescription food a few years ago. And he is on it since.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! No more itching and patchy hair coat Recently switched to help with skin allergies and urinary/bladder inflammation. We have been exclusive with this diet only and have had zero urinary accidents or skin conditions. Feed this to both of my dogs just wish it was available in larger portions as a 8.8# bag split between 2 14# dogs goes super quickly.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My long-haired Chihuahua is a very picky eater. When the vet wanted to put him on a food trial for allergies, I was worried that he wouldn’t eat the new food. The pieces of this food are a perfect size for him, and he really likes the taste of it. He has has no digestive issues while he has been on this food.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog eats nothing else! We were switching our dog from another brand of hypoallergenic dog food to Royal Canin's Hydrolized Protein. During the transition, our dog picked out the Royal Canin food and ate all of it leaving the other brand behind. That speaks volumes to me about the flavor of the Royal Canin. Our dog just loves it!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food My Bichon lost 25% of his weight and the Vet investigated and found that he was not digesting his food, i.e. The pellets were still whole and undigested in his intestines as shown on an ultrasound. After switching him to the hydrolyzed protein he gained his full weight back and is fine today.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dogs with allergies! This is the only brand of food that my Lhasa/poodle mix can eat without throwing up. I went through almost a year of trying so many types and brands. She no longer gets sick, her eyes don't have the tear stains anymore and her coat is so healthy! So happy to have found this!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more scratching My dog was placed on this food after allergy testing showed he was allergic to almost everything. He suffered chronic ear infections and would chew his paw until it bled. After being placed on this food the ear infection has not come back and the chewing is at a minimum.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My dog Kalvin, had some severe allergies going on, the vet suggested a few things, which we tried....then we decided it must be food allergies....we tried this food and within 2 weeks, I saw a big difference in Kalvins skin!!! And most of the itchies have gone away!!!
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Sensitive Tummies of Small Dogs My vet suggested Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein Small Breed dry dog food for my 9-lb Yorkie, who has a sensitive tummy as well as allergies. He loves the dog food and eats it consistently and aside from summer itching is a very healthy 6-1/2-year-old dog.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My two dogs, Sugar and Charlie, have been eating this product since they were 10 months old due to food allergies causing itching and hairloss. Sugar is now 12 years old and Charlie is 8 years old. Both have healthy skin and coats thanks to Royal Cabin.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad to have found it! My little Rat Terrier had so much intestinal trouble. We tried many diets. Finally, this Hydrolyzed Protein was prescribed and she loves it. The customer support team at RC talked to me about what to expect and how to feed the new diet. My Katie loves it!
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog is spunky again! My dog is a very picky eater, even when it comes to treats. She had some trouble with her kidneys and allergies and our vet recommended this food. She loves it and has become spunky since we switched. She is 15 years old and has the energy she had at 6!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! I have used this food for many years on my mini poodles. They have been free of illnesses and diseases. Their teeth r nice too. My boys will be 11 this year and show no signs of aging! They r as frisky and happy as they were when they were puppies!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm told its tasty! I switched to the "small dog" variety after feeding the hydrolyzed protein foods for several years. My 3 bichons love it. The kibble is a bit smaller so its easier for them to chew too. No problems here getting them to eat it up.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks great We tried the food with our Chihuahua poodle mix. He would only eat it if there was no trash to get into. Maybe it doesn't smell good to him. We wish you had a product he was into. We know royal canin is a high quality product
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small Dog with Allergies This product was recommended by a veterinarian to clear up Charley's itchy, red eyes. After a few weeks there was notable improvement. He has now been on this product for over 3 years and continues to have healthy eyes.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more itching! Hallelujah! My dog constantly itched made she and I miserable. I tried RX's and baths to no avail. My vet recommended this food and she no longer itches and loves the food. It's pricey but my dog is small so I can afford it.
Date published: 2017-05-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_476888, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT