Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Renal Support A dry dog food

Cats and dogs with CKD can often have waxing and waning appetites. Since pets rely on more than just taste when determining what they will eat, ROYAL CANIN® RENAL SUPPORT diets include several aromatic profiles along with kibble texture, shape and size that can help stimulate decreased appetites. Available in multiple aromatic profiles, in both wet and dry food, the diets can be easily mixed or rotated to provide multiple feeding options.

  • 3 dry and 3 wet options for both cats and dogs providing 9 different feeding combinations
  • All RENAL products have similar nutritional profiles, easing the transition when introducing product rotations without concern for digestive upset
  • Click here to view feeding combinations based on the dry options A, S, F and wet options E,T,D

Renal Support A dry is a high energy and highly digestible diet for dogs that has been formulated with low protein and low phosphorus levels and is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Nutrition to Support Renal Health
Formulated with optimal nutrient levels, including low protein and phosphorus, a complex of antioxidants, and EPA/DHA.

Aromatic Choice
Customized palatability profile designed for individual preferences.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Medium Activity High Activity
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (46 g) 5/8 cup (52 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (92 g) 1 1/8 cup (104 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 3/4 cup (154 g) 1 7/8 cup (175 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 1/4 cup (209 g) 2 5/8 cup (238 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 2 7/8 cup (259 g) 3 1/4 cup (295 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 3 3/8 cup (307 g) 3 7/8 cup (348 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 3 7/8 cup (352 g) 4 3/8 cup (399 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 4 3/8 cup (395 g) 4 7/8 cup (448 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 4 3/4 cup (436 g) 5 1/2 cup (496 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 5 1/4 cup (476 g) 5 7/8 cup (541 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 5 5/8 cup (516 g) 6 3/8 cup (586 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 6 1/2 cup (591 g) 7 3/8 cup (672 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 85 grams
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken fat, corn, corn gluten meal, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, wheat gluten, fish oil, powdered cellulose, vegetable oil, potassium chloride, salt, calcium carbonate, psyllium seed husk, sodium silico aluminate, fructooligosaccharides, L-lysine, DL-methionine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, copper proteinate, sodium selenite], magnesium oxide, taurine, L-tryptophan, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)12.0%
Crude Protein (max)16.0%
Crude Fat (min)16.0%
Crude Fiber (max)4.5%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Phosphorus (max)0.27%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.28%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.12%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3872 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 352 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Renal Support A dry dog food is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Dog Food EVER!!! Our vet prescribed this food for our three senior dogs and I have to admit I was skeptical. However, the difference in my dogs was almost immediate! I truly believe that your food is a large part of the reason our senior dogs are still with us. Their health improved almost immediately and they are all three doing very well. Only one has to take any medicine for their kidneys. I tell everyone I meet about your wonderful food and the difference it has made for our precious furry family members. Thank you for a wonderful product!!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor quality ingredients disappointed that a vet recommends this and then you read the ingredients. Corn gluten meal, chicken by product (complete garbage, was an actual waste product until they found a niche to sell to dog food companies), wheat gluten, dried beet pulp- ALL CHEAP INGREDIENTS, not healthy for a sick dog.
Date published: 2018-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canine dog food My dogs have always loved Royal Canine dog food! I love the nutritional value of the dog food as well as the pretty affordable price!
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Since onset of kidney failure 3 weekas ago, my dog, Boop, has been on this and is acting like she's totally cured(I know she's not). Remarkable!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features! Been using this product for about 2 or 3 years for renal support for my 16 year old dachshund. He has no problem eating and loves the taste!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sick dog I introduced the "new" formula 'A' since the original is not available. My dog started vomiting almost immediately. He got better the minute I stopped using this food.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this food for My dog who had just been diagnosed with renal disease. She loves the food compared to other brand renal food.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dogs that have renal problems Been buying this , ever since my dog started to have kidney failure , it help with his kidneys and he seems to love it .
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food Purchased 1 month ago and she has lost 4 lbs already. 3 time lymphoma survivor and torn acl that cannot have surgery.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! My dog has one kidney and his SDMA levels we’re going up every 6 months for the last 2 years. I started the food and checked his levels 6 months later and they were exactly the same as 6 months earlier. I’m going to check again soon and I’m im confident hey will be the same or barely have moved. He also loves this food and he’s not food motivated. Even my cats try to eat his food!
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Our two retired guide dogs, who are almost 14 years old, have been helped greatly by this diet. With renal disease, sometimes our dogs don't feel like eating. This has enough flavor and texture to appeal to them most of the time; they have been able to obtain their weight on the Royal Canin renal support products because they seem to really like them!l
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog Loves this! My 45 points rescue is over 15 years old and is a very picky eater. We tried other brands of prescription food, but she wouldn't eat it. This is her 4th bag of Royal Canin and she still loves it. It is no longer a struggle to get her to eat. Thank you, Royal Canin!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent food for my sweet boy w/ kidney disease! Since my dog was diagnosed with kidney disease, he's been eating this daily and absolutely loves it! Thank you for making a product that my companion is able to enjoy that is also good for him!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tasting! My vet prescribed this for our dog who has kidney issues and this is the only brand we tried out of about three that she will eat! I am so happy we finally found a dog food my dog will eat.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog! My dog was diagnosed with severe kidney problems a few years ago. My vet prescribed this food and his numbers were better at his very next appointment! My dog still eats this and loves it!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes Great My 17 year old puppy has the beginning stages of chronic kidney disease and our vet put him on this diet for renal support. Sammy James transitioned well and loves the food.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality food that helps my dog. Great food for dogs in Congestive Heart failure. She is on furosemide and vet desired a low protein dog food. Just checked her kidney values and they look normal.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog is very pickey since he has been on the low protein diet for his kidneys, but he does eat this and we mix in the special KD type can food with it twice a day
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality that my dog loves We had to feed this to our dog due to a small infection. We thought it would be a temporary product but after the great results we decided to continue using it.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste He is full of energy and is keeping at a perfect weight. He is so enthused when I put his food in his dish. Gobbles it down immediately. No picky eater .
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it My cat has been diagnosed with Renal problems. I changed her diet to Royal Canin and she loves the A food. Thanks for helping me keep my cat healthy.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I use both the A & S dry on a regular basis and the cans on occasion. Product has definitely helped to change pets' medical levels for the better.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog likes the flavor. And Ian doing well since being changed over to it. I wish the pieces were just a little smaller since my dog is almost 17
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor taste My dog refuses to eat this or to eat the canned Royal Canin renal diet wet food (we tried the lamb & two formulas of the chicken)
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Renal Diet I love that my dog loves this diet. I worry about her renal function and it makes me so happy with such a great quality food.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my aging dog This was recommended for my aging dog that kept losing weight. She loves it and her weight has stabilized
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dogs renal counts are back to normal after several months of being on this diet. We are very happy!
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Apparentky this food tastes great! Was prescribed by my vet for one of my dogs who has kidney issues... my second dog loves it too!!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My senior dog loves it!! Finally, a kidney diet dogs will eat. My senior loves it and my younger dogs try to steal a bite.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves the taste and I love the nutrients My dog loves the taste of this food... and I love that it gives her the necessary renal support.
Date published: 2017-05-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_3916, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT