Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Renal Support S dry dog food

Cats and dogs with CKD can often have waxing and waning appetites. Since pets rely on more than just taste when determining what they will eat, ROYAL CANIN® RENAL SUPPORT diets include several aromatic profiles along with kibble texture, shape and size that can help stimulate decreased appetites. Available in multiple aromatic profiles, in both wet and dry food, the diets can be easily mixed or rotated to provide multiple feeding options.

  • 3 dry and 3 wet options for both cats and dogs providing 9 different feeding combinations
  • All RENAL products have similar nutritional profiles, easing the transition when introducing product rotations without concern for digestive upset
  • Click here to view feeding combinations based on the dry options A, S, F and wet options E,T,D

Renal Support S dry is a high energy and highly digestible diet for dogs that has been formulated with low protein and low phosphorus levels and is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Nutrition to Support Renal Health
Formulated with optimal nutrient levels, including low protein and phosphorus, a complex of antioxidants, and EPA/DHA.

Aromatic Choice
Customized palatability profile designed for individual preferences.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Medium Activity High Activity
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (46 g) 5/8 cup (52 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (92 g) 1 1/8 cup (104 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 3/4 cup (154 g) 1 7/8 cup (175 g)
33.1 lb (15 kg) 2 1/4 cup (209 g) 2 5/8 cup (238 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 2 7/8 cup (259 g) 3 1/4 cup (295 g)
55.1 lb (25 kg) 3 3/8 cup (307 g) 3 7/8 cup (348 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 3 7/8 cup (352 g) 4 3/8 cup (399 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 4 3/8 cup (395 g) 4 7/8 cup (448 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 4 3/4 cup (436 g) 5 1/2 cup (496 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 5 1/4 cup (476 g) 5 7/8 cup (541 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 5 5/8 cup (516 g) 6 3/8 cup (586 g)
132.3 lb (60 kg) 6 1/2 cup (591 g) 7 3/8 cup (672 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 85 grams
Ingredients

Corn, brewers rice, chicken fat, brown rice, chicken by-product meal, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, wheat gluten, fish oil, calcium carbonate, psyllium seed husk, sodium silico aluminate, potassium chloride, salt, L-lysine, fructooligosaccharides, choline chloride, potassium citrate, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid], magnesium oxide, taurine, L-tryptophan, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)10.5%
Crude Protein (max)14.5%
Crude Fat (min)16.0%
Crude Fiber (max)4.0%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Phosphorus (max)0.39%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.28%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.12%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3882 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 365 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Renal Support S dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My vet put Holly on this due to her forming crystals in her urine but also put her on the diet version due to the fact that she is prone to gaining weight from being on prednisone for mobility issues. This has been the one dry dog food that she eats with no refusal at all!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog loves it My dog had slowed his eating and was refusing the food I had that was another renal formula. The vet recommend I try Renal Support S and he loves it! He is eating normally again and I am no longer worried about him giving up.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable nutrition for renal issues My doctor prescribed this food after my Jack Russell was bit by a spider. He has been eating Royal Canin for quite a few years now and loves it! He is 12 and still has the energy of a 6 year old.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peewee love it!! Peewee was a runt of a litter who has renal disease with atypical addison's disease. She LOVES this and eats it very well compared to other renal specific diets.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended! I’ve been using this dog food for three years now. My Rescue lab mix will be six in February. He started frequently having to go out to urinate and we took him to the vet. He was diagnosed with kidney and liver failure. My Vet narrowed it down to- due to chewing on a stick that had bird feces on it. The vet prescribed Royal Canaan dog food for his special diet. I believe it saved his life.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from renal issues my min pin is 12 plus, and recently started having urinary issues and i took her to vet and she is in stage 1 of renal failure, the dr put her on this food to lenghten her life and support her renal issues, so far im very happy with this and hope it keeps her a very happy satisfied min pin. i would suggest royal canin they have helped with 2 of my other dogs also.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty My border collie Lori was diagnosed with protein losing nephropathy over two years ago and and given a very poor prognosis she is doing great with most everything. I attribute her longevity to the few medications and her diet . She eats exclusively Royal canin renal. Thanks for providing her such a great diet that she loves.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely palatable!! My sheltie Toby was diagnosed with the early stages of renal failure. I switched him from his regular food and to my delight he LOVES this food. Usually prescription diets aren't really what our pets have in mind but he likes this even more than his old food. Thank you Royal Canin. One less thing I have to worry about :-)
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loved It! My dog progressed from early kidney disease to late stage disease prior to his death. Other brands of dog food he turned away from, but he always ate Renal S, and loved it. I knew it was an exceptional quality food and was beneficial to his health. I was comforted to know that he was enjoying his food until the end.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Golden Girl likes it !! After being diagnosed with early stage kidney disease, my veterinarian recommended Royal Canin. My Golden gobbles her food up and her last blood work confirmed that the renal support diet is doing the job of supporting her kidney function. Thank you Royal Canin for helping my girl enjoy an improved quality of life!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! Our vet prescribed this for our puppy with kidney disease. Before putting him on Royal Canin, we were constantly battling with him having accidents in the house and drinking a ton of water. Ever since switching to this food, his kidney levels are stable and his drinking and urination are normal! Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saving food My dog was put on this food when she was in kidney failure. Her blood work was all out of whack, and I thought she wasn’t going to make it. That was two years ago. She just recently had a yearly appointment and all of her blood work was normal.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog's life! My ESS was diagnosed with renal failure one year ago and per the vet has eaten nothing but this food since. His values have improved, overall he has stabilized and he loves it. Now, Vet says he will live a normal life span. THANK YOU!!!
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the kidneys! We have been giving the food to out chocolate lab for a few months now and it has made a huge difference for our dogs kidneys! Plus she really likes the taste of the food, always a big plus!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 15 year old dog LOVE IT !!!! My 15 year old miniature poodle has been on this diet for over 2 years now. Not only does he LOVE it, but has not allowed his kidney disease progressed. I would highly recommend this diet.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I started pur chasing this at least 5 years ago after Jazzie my Pug had a bladder stone removed. She has been stone free ever since. Thank you Royal Canin for keeping my Jazzie healthy.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soooooo close I have tried ever brand. But what I like this food is personalized to each group, be it by problem or breed. You are truly looking out for dogs just not putting all groups together.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Likes it My 4 year old Great Pyrenees has kidney disease. Feeding time can be difficult as this disease affects his appetite. He seems to like this dry food more than other kinds.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem solved! Our pet had frequent urinary track infections but since using this product she has been her usual happy, healthy self. Love the option of smaller pieces for small dogs.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from She's REALLY fussy, but enjoys her Royal Canin The vet prescribed it for our 12 year old chocolate lab Annie Jester (Aye Jay) and it has significantly improved he condition. AND she actually enjoys it!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chihuahua loved it! My dog wouldn’t eat other name brand foods. She loves this food! Small pieces perfect for her.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think you need to spell out what "S" is or "A" i I like the renal dry food, but need to spell out what "A, F, or S" means on the label.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog seems to love eating this particular diet and the rest of the renal varieties
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthier pet; Immediate results I have been using this product for almost a year and the results are verifiable.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it The vet recommended this as my dog is prone to bladder stones. He loves it.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from clear, precise My dog needed the special diet and it has made a difference in her health.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the crown! My cat's been on this for 3 years and no more problems - YEAH!! Thanks!!
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick This has helped my senior dog tremendously! This has been great!
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blender food My dog loves this food when I go to the vet his counts are good
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dog loves it Our dog seems to enjoy this food, and it seems to help her.
Date published: 2018-10-30
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_4162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT