Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Selected Protein Adult PD dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Naturally preserved
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Selected Protein Adult PD is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for dogs with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 25 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by potato, duck and hydrolyzed soy.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Natural Preservative
Naturally preserved to ensure freshness and quality.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (49 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/8 cups (98 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 7/8 cups (165 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 5/8 cups (224 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 3 1/4 cups (277 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 3/4 cups (328 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 4 3/8 cups (376 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 4 7/8 cups (422 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 5 3/8 cups (467 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 5 7/8 cups (510 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 6 3/8 cups (552 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 7 3/8 cups (633 g)
Selected Protein Adult PD is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Dried potato, duck by-product meal, coconut oil, potato protein, hydrolyzed soy protein, natural flavors, vegetable oil, fish oil, monocalcium phosphate, DL-methionine, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)19.0%
Crude Fat (min)10.0%
Crude Fiber (max)3.5%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.12%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.05%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3530 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 304 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Selected Protein Adult PD dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Food Ever! I have had my 8 year old Vizsla on the Veterinary Diet for about 6 months now which was recommended by my Veterinarian due to her allergies and she is doing great! She absolutely loves it and I don't have to add wet food like I used to with other dog food to get her to eat it. Not only does her skin look great, but so does her coat.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I have a dog that is allergic to most proteins and most grains so it is very hard to find a food for him that he enjoys and that is healthy for him. I would only feed him the best and I love the fact that Royal Canin stands behind their product as well as how they only use top quality ingredients.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product helped save my dog! Our Chihuahua,ChiChi was very ill. His fur was falling out and he was vomiting his food and had diarrhea. We could not pin it down to anything specific,so we took him to an internist who recommended your Select Protein, PD. He has done a complete turn around and has gotten back to his old self...
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and my dog loves it! My dog princess has been on this food for over two years due to food allergies, and it has greatly improved her health and controlled her allergic outbreaks, plus she loves it!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! Bella has been on this product for about 3 months and it has been a blessing. With all her allergies, this has improved her digestive issues tremendously. Thank you :)
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped our dog's Tummy Issues When we got our puppy, Max, we had him on a natural, grain free food that he tolerated well but when that brand had a recall and we were forced to switch him to a new food without notice he started having digestive issues. They were pretty significant for some time. While he ate 'enough' he was losing weight and experiencing lots of diarrhea and loose/bloody stools. When our vet recommended this Royal Canin food we were a little bummed about the expense but it has REALLY helped Max. He still has some intermittent issues where he skips a meal here or there but he gained weight--his body and his coat are gorgeous--and he only VERY rarely has any loose stools. He is just one of those dogs with a highly sensitive stomach and we don't plan to change his diet now that we have found something that works for him.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent My English bulldog had intestinal issues about a year and a half ago. No problems since using the food. Also has made her coat look much better.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food for my dog My Beagle has been on this food for about a year and half now and he's loving. No problem at all since we switched to Royal Canin food
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gracie Loves It!!!! Gracie loves this food and it agrees with her sensitive digestive system-please continue to sell it!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Canine Selected Protein dry After starting my dog on the selected protein, he hasn't had any more gland issues and sensitivities
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog has been on this for about 6 years for her allergies. She is doing GREAT!!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Golden Retriever Cooper loves his food. I have been using this product for many years and will continue in the futures.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for food allergies!! This is the only food we've found that my dog can eat with her food allergy
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy pup My dog is so much happier and healthier with this dog food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results for our sensitive skined dog. Has made a difference in our Chinese crested itchy skin.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skin Issues Cleared! My 3 mixed breed dogs have had on and off skin issues, specifically my boxer/lab mix. He would get a rash in his groin and on his muzzle. We tried many foods, but then got to this one. He responded well and has been on it for 5 years with little to no flare ups. We have all of our dogs on this diet and they all have the healthiest looking coats. Not taking them off!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for sensitive dogs. I was giving my dog this food for about 2 years and decided to change to another kind. I had major dr. bills and an unhappy little dog. I went back to this food and my dog has been healthy and happy for years. Switching back has saved me from vet visits and a happier and healthy 13 year old companion.Lily loves the canned food and begs for more. Thanks!!!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from changed my dogs quality of life Started my Lhas Apso on this diet 12 years ago and all her skin conditions disappeared.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food! Love the Royal Canin brand. My dog loves this food and is doing great on it.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results My dogs have been on it for years and do very well on it.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dog My rescue dog turned out to be allergic to most everything in regular dog food. I went through every dry dog food in the store and all had an allergen as an ingredient. My only option looked like I would have to cook meals for her. Then this product was recommended by a PetSmart store employee. So relieved that she like this.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! I started feeding my blue tick coonhound this about 2 months ago, and he has been so much healthier looking and energetic. He also loves the taste and wolfs it down like no other dog food before. We will definitely be sticking with this from now on. Can't say enough about the difference this high quality food has made in my dog!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this!!! My dog needed to be on a special food because of allergies. The vet prescribed the select protein dry and canned. I mix the can and the dry and she loves it...my other dogs try to eat her food. Her allergy issues have improved and I know she's getting a healthy food that she loves
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food!! My shepherd has protein issues and as soon as I started her on this food which is duck and potato she has had such a remarkable improvement. She's gained weight, no tummy problems and she loves the food. Thank you Royal Canin for making this food available for my girl.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to have helped my dog I am on my third bag and also use canned Royal Canin. My dog no longer regurgitates and food is the only change we've made, so it seems to have "cured" whatever problem she had with the premium food she previously ate. .
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could be more descriptive title (main ingredient) I have been purchasing this product for 8 years since my dog was diagnosed with allergies. She has experienced significantly less ear infections since she began eating this food. The main drawback is the expense.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps his stomach issues. My dog has been on a couple of your dry foods, most recently this one. He seems to be doing well, though he still needs to take medicine to control everything as the food doesn't do it by itself unfortunately.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for our allergies We bought this on advice from vet as our Amstaf has terrible allergies. He has been on it for a couple of years. My only complaint is that it is a bit fatty/greasy and we have had to manage weight gain
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifetime User My 11 year old female cocker spaniel has been on Select Protein Adult PD since she was 1 year old due to GI issues. The food is high quality and have had no problems. Has also kept her weight in check.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves It My little yorkie is very picky about what she eats and she loves this food. She has trouble with her digestive tract and she has food allergies. She has done wonderfully on this food with no problems.
Date published: 2016-05-09
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_1395, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT