Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Selected Protein Adult PR canned dog food 13.6 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case)

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Naturally preserved
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Selected Protein Adult PR is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for dogs with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by potato and rabbit.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Natural Preservative
Naturally preserved to ensure freshness and quality.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 can (152 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 3/4 can (303 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 1/4 cans (509 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 1 3/4 cans (690 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 1/4 cans (856 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 2 3/4 cans (1012 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 3 cans (1160 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 3 1/2 cans (1302 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 3 3/4 cans (1439 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 4 cans (1572 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 4 1/2 cans (1702 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 5 cans (1951 g)
Selected Protein Adult PR is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Loaf in Gel
Water sufficient for processing, rabbit, potato, dried potato, rabbit liver, vegetable oil, potato protein, fish oil, calcium carbonate, sodium tripolyphosphate, potassium chloride, natural flavors, taurine, choline chloride, DL-methionine, cysteine, glycine, carrageenan, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.).

Guaranteed Analysis
Loaf in Gel
Crude Protein (min)5.5%
Crude Fat (min)4.0%
Crude Fiber (max)1.5%
Moisture (max)76.0%
Calorie Content

Loaf in Gel
This diet contains 1105 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram (calculated).
One 13.6oz can contains 425 kilocalories of ME on an as fed basis.

Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Selected Protein Adult PR canned dog food 13.6 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case) is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, but OUT OF STOCK My 13 year old Bull Terrier, Dottie, has been on this food for over two years now. This is the ONLY FOOD she can eat with out having sever allergies, or stomach problems, PLEASE hurry and restock this food! Everything else makes her sick and she is starting to refuse the dry kibble version :( helllp!
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great food; poor availability I'm in agreement with most of the other customers who have commented on this food. My dog suffers from food and environmental allergies and our vet switched her to the RC prescription rabbit (dry and wet). The wet, canned food has been out of stock for almost two months. I realize you are having problems with raw materials so you don't need to comment on that but how much longer will this be unavailable? We are left without any canned food and as others have stated, it's hard enough to transition over from one food to another so I hope we do not have to do this again. Thank you! p.s. I am checking 'yes' to recommending product to a friend with the warning that it is on backorder too frequently.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more allergy symptoms! When I first adopted my dog, she suffered with severe skin and stomach issues. The vet suggested possible food sensitivities, and the food trials began. When my Roxy started on Royal Canin PV, she became a new dog! No more red itchy skin, her stomach issues disappeared and most of all, it was food she loved to eat! That was five years ago and she still loves it and has remained happy and healthy. It certainly costs more, but when you watch your baby suffer with food allergies, it's worth the extra expense.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dog needs this food My vet recommended this for my dog very allergic. So disappointed that Royal canine has not had the canned food in stock for over a month. Very difficult when this is all your dog can eat.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - A Happy Havanese! After 2 years of "accidents", paw-chewing, excessive licking and constant scratching, we were at our wit's end. A popular new drug marketed as the "cure all" for itchy dogs almost killed our little guy. Part of the recovery from the bad drug and the wellness plan to deal with the itchiness and skin reactions was a recommendation from a new Vet to stop using our food (which is a top 10 dog food for nutrition) and put our dog on Royal Canin. We were skeptical. The food we feed him is super high quality. But after just 2 weeks on the Royal Canin Selected Proten - WOW! Then a month. WOW! Now 3 months on the Royal Canin Selected Protein product line and our Havanese is happy - and back to his mischievous, yet playful self. Royal Canin literally saved our dog's life and we will be forever grateful.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed in production I have been a royal canine customer for years my dog used to be on potato in whitefish and became very sick with it. We then switched to potato and rabbit he has been doing great since. He has terrible food allergies and inflammatory bowel disease he has been doing excellent on this food we are now down to our last few cans and I am in fear that he will have a relapse due to this food being out of stock. I don’t know what to do. We have traveled all around Texas looking for the last little bit of canned there might be. When will this food be back in stock! We are in desperate need.while this is a great product, I am extremely upset that it’s been on backorder for so long. It’s neen months.
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great, but... My 2 havanese have been thriving on this food for well over a year. Who knew I needed to stockpile?? Now it’s out of stock everywhere with no answer as to when it will be back. My dogs are now struck with stomach upsets as we try transition to another food. So frustrated!! I’d be giving a 5 star review if not for this issue.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Canned food out of stick UC Davis dermatology recommended Royal Canin for my Newfoundland who has serious allergy issues. He loves the dry as well as the canned food. I use the canned food to make meat balls to coat his pills and I freeze some as well in ice cube trays that I use as treats - but with it’s unstable availability it has caused a huge dilemma.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent results - when available Our dog has done very well on this diet for the past 9 months. Unfortunately, for the second time this year, the food is out of stock everywhere. Changing our dog's diet is a very tricky situation given his food sensitivities, so we are trying now to introduce a new food.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from When will this be back in stock? It has been out of stock for more 6 weeks, and my dog cannot tolerate the venison or HP that we tried as alternatives. I am tired of reading that RC is "working hard" to secure quality ingredients. When, exactly, will it be available again?
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sustitute for Selected Protein Adult PR??? My Bichon has terrible skin allergies and has been on this food for years and we're down to 3 cans and I can't find more anywhere. What are people using as a substitute? HELP!
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped My Pup's Stomach Issues! Not only did this food help my pup's digestive issues, her skin issues cleared up, as well! Despite the expense, it helped improved her health!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great food, but always out of stock! My french bulldog loves this food, she is the only food she can have without having a reaction. I would give it 5 stars but it's always out of stock. Also, I wish local pet stores like Mudbay would carry this brand. It's hard to find it. *Please, don't discontinue this product.*
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiny, Full, and Soft Coat Lucy, a 4 - 5 year old rescued Bull Terrier develop a severe food allergy to all poultry. Chicken, Turkey, Duck.. If it is a bird, she will develop Panniculitus on her feet and neck. I started her on Royal Canin Rabbit and Potato and the lumps went away quickly. I was on another brand's of Selected Protein and I noticed her coat was dry and brittle. I switched to Royal Canin and noticed that her coat is very glossy and Soft. She loves the food! I will be sticking with Royal Canin for life.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have fed this wet food to my 3 dogs for over a year. They have allergies and this product was suggested to me because rabbit is not a common ingredient in dog food. I saw a difference in about 4 weeks. My female, who has the worst food allergies, hardly scratches or chews on her feet anymore. When I used other wet dog food, I wasn't impressed by the consistency, texture or fillers used in those brands. Royal Canin never disappoints! I won't feed my dogs any other wet - or dry - dog food.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for our dog. We have a 6 year old Pomeranian that started on this diet a couple of years ago due to having severe stomach issues. This food is the first formula we found that didn't cause symptoms. Thanks Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog When I got my Lab mix from the pound and took him to see the vet the vet thought he had cancer. He was emaciated. The vet also said his ears were the worst he had ever seen. I really considered putting him down. After several visits the vet decided to try this food. His ears eventually cleared up and he has now gained ten pounds. He is happy and healthy. Abe is around 10 and has finally learned to chase a ball and play. The food is expensive but it literally saved this rescues life.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food!! My little 10 lb Shorkie has been on this food for almost 3 years. Has never been better healthier!! She has gastro issues and this food has been so easy on her little tummy!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food I bought this for my dog last year, and she loved it. Shes a picky eater and was losing weight, this food fixed that for her. Well worth trying it.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits into my allergic dog's diet My dog, Zeke, is a Springer Chesapeake mix with allergies. This food is one of several Royal Canin foods that he enjoys!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for allergies Our dog got a staff infection from allergies and this definitely helped him to heal faster.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing transformation after switching to this can All of my dogs allergies stopped once we switched to this food.He absolutely loves it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food I have a black lab and she is so picky about what she eats. You don't even want to know what I have spent on every dog food that is out there that would be good for her. She is very itchy and went to a dermatologist for her and I bought five cans of the select food which is rabbit and potato. She loves it! I am the happiest mommy ever! I don't even have to hand feed it to her with cheese on top. She eats it by herself as soon as I put it down. I love royal canin!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out of stock!!! I bought the Venison instead!!! Ive been feeding this to My French Bulldog for six years and its done wonders for her. My vet prescribed the Venison and she loved it, then after a while it was out of stock so we switched to the Rabbit. She's done fine on the Rabbit but now the rabbit is out of stock but to my surprise while searching everywhere for it I found the Venison is back in stock yeahhh!!! For all those people complaining about the rabbit why don't you give the venison a try.
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food allergy life saver! My dog has extensive food allergies and cannot tolerate most foods. The Select Adult PR was prescribed by my vet over a year ago and it has been a life saver. My dog is a somewhat picky eater and this food is palatable to her. Having her on this diet has enabled us to take her off of steroids which was a major long term concern for us. We cannot say enough good things about this food!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to work with and my dog always loves it My dog is a very picky eater and has a multitude of health problems including food allergies. Thank goodness for ROYAL CANIN PR canned dog food, it has saved his life.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful to our dogs Prior to using this product one of our dogs almost died due to food allergies. After extensive testing, our vet recommended Royal Canine PR foods. For about two months now we have been feeding s combination of Royal Canin PR soft food and dry food to our dogs. Both the one with food allergies and our other dog are enjoying the food. Thanks.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every picky eater loves this food My dogs are very picky eaters and adding a little of this canned to their food makes everyone happy. I keep a few tiny dogs from time to time and they would never eat while their parents were away but a little canned rabbit on their kibble and they are ready for breakfast and dinnertime
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonders! Our little Kirra (Min-Pin/Chihuahua) has food allergies along with other allergy problems and this is what our Vet recommended that we use. Within a week, Kirra coat had improved and she was no longer constantly licking and chewing at her paws. I'm so happy with the results!
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from He loves it We were advised to remove beef and chicken products from our Mn poodle's diet to determine whether he has food allergies. As he is a very picky eater we were concerned as we introduced this into his diet. He loves it and doesn't seem to miss beef. Good job Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-05-05
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_302210, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT