Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Selected Protein Adult PR dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Naturally preserved
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Selected Protein Adult PR is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for dogs with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 25 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by potato, rabbit and hydrolyzed soy.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Natural Preservative
Naturally preserved to ensure freshness and quality.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (50 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups (99 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 2 cups (167 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 3/4 cups (226 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 3 1/2 cups (281 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 4 1/8 cups (332 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 4 5/8 cups (381 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 5 1/4 cups (427 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 5 3/4 cups (472 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 6 3/8 cups (516 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 6 7/8 cups (558 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 7 7/8 cups (640 g)
Selected Protein Adult PR is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for dogs with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.
Ingredients

Dried potato, rabbit meal, coconut oil, hydrolyzed soy protein, potato protein, natural flavors, vegetable oil, monocalcium phosphate, fish oil, calcium carbonate, DL-methionine, salt, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], taurine, trace minerals [zinc oxide, zinc proteinate, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)19.5%
Crude Fat (min)10.5%
Crude Fiber (max)3.7%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Omega-3 Fatty Acids* (min)0.35%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.12%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.05%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3495 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 287 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Selected Protein Adult PR dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 98.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gave my dog a new life I adopted my catahoula when he was a year and a half young. I had him for a few months, feeding a good quality dog food that was chicken based, he started itching nonstop. Talked to some vets and they suggested to start with his feed. I immediately came to Royal Canin and selected the Rabbit blend as it said was to be easy on his system as well. He has been on it for a year and I will not even consider taking him off of it as his coat looks GREAT and he doesn't itch along with having good solid deifications that are not very large relaying to me that he is absorbing all the nutrients he is needing from this food. Thank you for focusing on quality feeds and blends that can help our canine family members.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's all about our babies! My neighbor turned me onto RC. My sweet babies have lost weight and look great! Beautiful coats and so active!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gabriel is better now! Gabriel's vet prescribed Royal Canin adult PR because he was having IBS problems. Well, problems no more. Gabey loves the food and he does very well on it. Just wish they made some treats or biscuits to go with it. Gabriel is a Tibetan Terrier. 14 months old.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food for my food allergic dog! My dog has been fed this food now for about 5 years. The quality of the food is great, and she loves it. She salivates for the food!! It is great for her and me because I spend less on her allergy medications! My go to allergy diet! Love it!!!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It saved my dog's life! We had no idea why our precious Yorkie was having bloody diarrhea so often. After several hospital stays and changing her food, antibiotics, exploratory surgery...we thought she would never have her 4th birthday until our doctor put her on this diet without treats, strictly her food. We started with Venison or Rabbit and she became the happiest dog, gain strength and even though she was diagnosed as having irritable bowel syndrome,she is striving and her episodes have diminish greatly. She turned 5 this year thanks to her Royal Canin veterinary diet.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dogs coat and our sanity My poor puppy had a rough first year. He was given to the humane society at 4 weeks, adopted at 9. Had to stay at the hospital at 3 months due to swollen bowls from eating his bed. At 6 months he had eated almost all of his hair from his shoulder to the end of his tail and had chronic diarrhea. There for about 3 months we were at the vet every other week. They thought it was allergies so we tried this medicine and that medicine and this food and that food, finally after some things worked but others didn't. We did the blood test. One of the food he was allowed it this one. He has been on it for about 18 months. And he has a allergy shot for his outdoor allergies. Between these two things our dog has the most beautiful coat again and isn't contantly scratcing or biting hisself. Thank you royal canin for making a food that my dog can have and that he seems to enjoy.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Food I have 2 Yorkies and this food is good for them. They do not get sick eating the Royal Canin food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for allergy sufferers We buy this for our English mastiff due to chronic skin allergies and ear infections! This is the ONLY food that will keep his hair from falling out constantly. The only negative thing about this food is the price. We buy a 25 lb bag for $104.00 every two weeks from our vets office. Otherwise is great and this is all he is able to eat. It actually smells good enough that humans could probably eat it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of a Kind My dog has a lot of food allergies. Her skin breaks out. I had to take her to a veterinarian dermatologist at a specialty animal hospital. The vet prescribed her this food. The results were unbelievable for my dog. This is the only dog food that my dog can eat, that she doesn't have a skin reaction to. My dog has been on this food for about 3 years now. It worked in our case.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from healthy & happy therapy dog! i am an RN & layla is a 3 year old therapy dog - we became a therapy dog team when she was about a 1 1/2 - one day when we were outside playing when she was about 1 1/2 years old i felt little bumps all over her body & redness in her ears & I between her toes & thought they were hives - though after a day she still had them - she was itchy & sensitive to the reddened spots - i knew that it was affecting her happiness & she was uncomfortable - though she was making hospital adult & children patients happy it was obvious that she was not her happy self that she was before - though she was happy to visit the patients the ones that she visited routinely could tell that something was just off - I made an appt with our vet & found out that she had food allergies - our vet highly recommended the dry & can food to not only help workout what she was allergic to through a food trial & to alievate the bumps & redness - within a few days the bumps & redness were gone & she was back to her happy self - she waits patiently but excited for her food & loves both the dry & can food - so much that she would rather have pieces of dry food as treats than most other treats - because of this I have began to freeze the can food in cubette trays as treats too which are her favorite - the royal canin dry & can food has helped her with her allergies & to be part of a healthy diet - because of this she is back to her healthy & happy self & can help the patients that she visits get back to their healthy & happy self!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! Our mixed lab has really improved his itching and coat since he has been taking this product. He had a lot of itching issues which caused other complications for him. However, this product has definitely improved his coat as it is very healthy and shiny. He gets so many compliments on his shiny, healthy appearance.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog's Love it! Our golden retriever mix had serious, chronic ear infections, most likely caused by food allergies. On the advice of the Veterinary Dermatologist we switched to this food for her! We have 2 dogs and we switched them both in February 2014.They love the food and it keeps them healthy.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my dog with allergies! A few months ago we noticed that our dog no longer seemed interested in his normal food. Suddenly he broke out in hives! Turns out he has some pretty severe allergies. The vet recommended this food to us and he has been eating like a champ, with no issues every since!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Food Saved his life My 8 year old hound dog mix has been suffering for the last 3 years with GI issues and constant skin infection due to allergies and these issues were treated for years with antibiotics and steroids:( We tried every diet out there but the issues just continued. Once the vet recommended this food, I wasn't hopeful but within 8 weeks, we had no GI issues, and No skin infections!!! My dog has even been medication free for months now!!! He loves the food and I have my old dog back!! Thank you Royal Canine!!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Diabetic/Allergy prone poodle This product and the canned work wonderfully for my diabetic poodle (11lbs). He's been diabetic 2 years and still maintains his sight. Not sure if the high Omegas in this product is helping along with being strictly monitored. May work differently for others, so please test BG regularly, esp before bed. I often need to feed up to 6 kibbles to maintain BG thru the night. His allergies are significantly improved, I also maintain with monthly baths with Malacetic Ultra Shampoo. I highly recommend!!! :)
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with Use for Allergic Dog My dog has very serious allergies and after many attempts of using various foods we were directed to use this product by our veterinary dermatologist. Our dog has tolerated this food very well and is able to have less food related allergy issues.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy and safe ! It works ! I've been giving my baby girl Royal Canin for almost a year now and it is so much higher quality than anything else out there. This novel protein in particular is the only thing she is not allergic to and finally her belly rash is gone !
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! Our vet recommended this food due to Jake's GI issues and allergies. So far it has worked very well for him. We are very satisfied with this produt, except for the cost! Very expensive...wish price was lower.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only food that has helped with our dog's allergies. He would have paw infections all the time, swollen eyes..... After switching to Royal Canin PR, he has been great! It's expensive but it works.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saving Ru has been on this food for three years. She has severe food intolerances and food allergies. This is the only food she can tolerate. Without this food I do not know what her outcome would have been.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Palatable! My dog has been on this for over a year. Her stool is great. Her skin is great. She loves this food, too. And sometimes one of my cats will steal a piece of the kibble. It's like a yummy treat for him.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product for allergy sensitive dog My two Standard Poodles have eaten this select protein dry dog food for over 8 years. It has definitely kept them healthy and allergy symptom free. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog absolutely loves this food! She has a severe protein allergy and once we switched to the rabbit and potato formula she has not had any problems!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to get this dog food our dog has been on PR wet and dry for 3 yrs-- too hard to locate food really, don't rabbit's breed like rabbits so many rabbits...
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Enjoys My dog enjoys this dog food which says A LOT! It's helped her with her tummy issues and for that we are very thankful!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for dogs with allergies I have an Akita with food allergies, this Rx food diet solved the problem. I'm so glad she is not itchy anymore.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its great for skin issues with my bulldogs. I'm on my third bulldog and I've used it for all three.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Great food for my dog with severe allergies to any protein. He does really well on this food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for my dog! Great food. Helps with my dog's itchy skin problem.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Issues Cleared Up We switched Lexi to the veterinary dog food, and Royal Canin came through once again! This is a special blend with potato and rabbit since we have tried every other kind of dog food combination for her. She had a lot of stomach issues and diarrhea and vomiting frequently. After putting her on this diet, her issues cleared up. I have kept her on this food for over a year, and she still does extremely well on it.
Date published: 2018-10-31
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_1396, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT