Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Selected Protein Adult PV dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Naturally preserved
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Selected Protein Adult PV is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for dogs with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 25 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by potato, venison and hydrolyzed soy.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Natural Preservative
Naturally preserved to ensure freshness and quality.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion - for Adults
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup (50 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups (99 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 2 cups (167 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 3/4 cups (226 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 3 1/2 cups (281 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 4 1/8 cups (332 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 4 5/8 cups (381 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 5 1/4 cups (428 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 5 3/4 cups (473 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 6 3/8 cups (516 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 6 7/8 cups (559 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 7 7/8 cups (641 g)

Recommended Daily Feeding Portion - for Puppies
Age of Puppy
Adult Target Weight 2 months 3 months 4 months 6 months 8 months 10 months 12 months
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup 3/4 cup 3/4 cup 5/8 cup 1/2 cup 1/2 cup Transition
to the Adult
Feeding
Guidelines
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cups 1 3/8 cups 1 1/2 cups 1 3/8 cups 1 1/8 cups 1 cup
22 lb (10 kg) 2 cups 2 3/8 cups 2 1/2 cups 2 1/2 cups 2 cups 1 3/4 cups
33 lb (15 kg) 2 5/8 cups 3 1/8 cups 3 3/8 cups 3 3/8 cups 2 7/8 cups 2 3/8 cups 2 3/8 cups
44 lb (20 kg) 3 1/8 cups 3 7/8 cups 4 1/8 cups 4 1/4 cups 3 5/8 cups 3 cups 3 cups
55 lb (25 kg) 3 3/8 cups 4 1/8 cups 4 3/8 cups 5 cups 4 1/2 cups 3 5/8 cups 3 1/2 cups
66 lb (30 kg) 3 1/2 cups 4 3/8 cups 4 3/4 cups 5 3/4 cups 5 1/4 cups 4 1/2 cups 4 1/8 cups
77 lb (35 kg) 3 5/8 cups 4 5/8 cups 5 1/8 cups 6 3/8 cups 6 cups 5 1/8 cups 4 5/8 cups
88 lb (40 kg) 3 3/4 cups 4 7/8 cups 5 3/8 cups 7 cups 6 5/8 cups 5 3/4 cups 5 1/8 cups
99 lb (45 kg) 3 7/8 cups 5 1/8 cups 5 3/4 cups 7 3/4 cups 7 5/8 cups 6 3/4 cups 5 5/8 cups
110 lb (50 kg) 4 5/8 cups 5 3/4 cups 6 1/4 cups 8 3/8 cups 8 3/8 cups 7 3/8 cups 6 3/8 cups
132 lb (60 kg) 5 cups 6 3/8 cups 7 cups 9 1/2 cups 9 5/8 cups 8 1/2 cups 7 3/8 cups
154 lb (70 kg) 5 1/4 cups 7 cups 7 3/4 cups 10 5/8 cups 10 3/4 cups 10 1/8 cups 8 7/8 cups
176 lb (80 kg) 5 5/8 cups 7 5/8 cups 8 1/2 cups 11 5/8 cups 11 7/8 cups 11 3/8 cups 10 1/4 cups
Selected Protein Adult PV is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth and maintenance.
Ingredients

Dried potato, venison meal, coconut oil, potato protein, hydrolyzed soy protein, natural flavors, vegetable oil, fish oil, monocalcium phosphate, DL-methionine, calcium carbonate, salt, choline chloride, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)19.0%
Crude Fat (min)10.0%
Crude Fiber (max)3.5%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.12%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.05%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3484 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 286 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Selected Protein Adult PV dry dog food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Poodle with an appetite!! This food (along with the canned version) was prescribed by our veterinary nutritionists. Our miniature poodle Bernie had to go on a strict diet due to numerous allergies and colon problems. Bernie would never consistently eat ANY commercial dog food he was offered for the past 9 years. So, of course we were sure he would not eat this consistently--if at all--when we offered it to him. Well, just over a year later, Bernie is still loving his Royal Canine PV!! Also, we had contacted customer support with questions about the product, as well as other products, and the representatives were so knowledgeable, professional, helpful, and caring. We recommend Royal Canin brand products to everyone!
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eliminated medical problems First, our dogs love this product -- mealtime is quick and efficient. More importantly though, one of our dogs has a significant health problem which has resolved and stays resolved with use of the Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Selected Protein Dog Food. Quality food has greatly reduced the medication needed, and we feel better giving Millie good food rather than medicine.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great High Quality Food I bought this in response to my Veterinarian's diagnosis of allergies. In about a month my dog's skin had cleared up.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more yak! We had problems with trying to find a food for our young Great Dane that wouldn't upset her very sensitive stomach. Adult PV (potato, venison) did the trick. No more yak, gulping or stomach distress. Good stools and good skin and coat as well. Thanks Royal Canin. Cheryl and IZZY
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great results! Have been using this dry dog food for about 4 months and the results have been great. Both of my boxers developed skin issues. I tried multiple brands of food but none compared to royal canin. It's pricey but worth it in the long run.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent For Dogs With Food Allergies For over two years my dog suffered with monthly staff infections. My veterinarian at the time kept prescribing antibiotics. Once in awhile he would suggest allergy testing but discouraged it because the antibiotics were cheaper. I went ahead with the testing and that doctor suggested changing his food to Royal Canin PV. My furbaby no longer suffers from staff infections thanks to this limited ingredient food.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rc pv It's great except the deer are diseased and is no longer avaiable
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food! I have been feeding all of 4 of my dogs PV for the past year. They absolutely love it! They all have some form of skin allergies and irritations and PV has been a life saver for them. I have a English Toy Spaniel who used to rub his face on the concrete because it was itchy, that no longer happens. I have a Papillon who used to have gland issues and that has resolved and a Golden doodle with GI issues if he eats anything else. I am VERY disappointed that PV is being discontinued. I honestly do not know what I will be replacing it with.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved our biggest allergy issues! Our dog had stomach issues and his stomach felt sick every day. We still monitor his allergies and are still trying to identify what he's allergic too, but this food is the only select ingredient food that has stabilized his stomach issues (which makes him a lot more comfortable!). We also appreciate the occasional rebate program that the company runs on their hyperallegenic food!
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2 small dogs, bella and boomer. both are rescues. boomer has stomach trouble and will have vomiting and diarehea. we tried many different dog foods to help with this problem but none worked. our vet put him on royal canin selected protein and have not had a problem since. I free feed so naturally both dogs enjoy royal canin. we also trust the quality of this food. thank you.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I made the switch! My Labrador has allergies and I switched to the PV dry food several years ago. After trying several brands and kinds, this one definitely works the best. My dogs ears are less itchy, he digests the food well (small firm stools) and overall he is in great condition. Allergies are something a lot of dogs have, and although you can eradicate it entirely, what you feed makes such a difference. I highly recommend this food for dogs with allergies. The nutritional value of the food is also top quality. I swear by Royal Canin.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The dog ruvs it. My dog's vet suspected that she had food allergies when she began to scratch a lot. She put my dog on a special protein diet and recommended Royal Canin. I am very satisfied with it. My dog loved this one and the duck and potatoes version (yellow packaging). Her fur is shinier than usual and she does not scratch as much.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results!!! My dog has various food allergies resulting in painful ear infections. Once I switched him to the Selected Protein food, his skin irritation stopped. He's somewhat finicky but he devours this food! He's been on Selected Protein for years now and he's a happy dog!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great food. My English bulldog Nunzio has been eating this formula for about 7 years and he still devours it everyday. The color/density of the kibble is inconsistent from bag to bag.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves it! I have a picky dog who has food allergies but she loves all the Royal Canin Flavors! Its great to be able to offer her a variety of flavors when she gets bored.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog loves it Switched to this a couple of years ago. Dog has allergies & sensitive stomach. Dog seems to love it and no problems at all with it with his GI system.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life long customer! My dog has been on this food for 3 years now and I have never been disappointed with anything about it. Thank goodness for allergy foods! :-)
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Dogs have been on this for over a year. One has IBS. She has been great since we switched. Not one sick day!!!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth skin and coat! My Pancho has been eating PV for almost two years and we've had no further instance of bumpy, itchy skin since.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food Product was recommended by vet and my dog has been on it for 1 1/2 years akibg with the canned PT dog food.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't get enough of it ! One of my dogs eats this dry dog food and loves it. He has been on this diet a year or more.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped all of my Ellie's allergies (itching) Ellie seemed to have allergies so when her doctor prescribed this she stopped itching!!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent food I have 2 dogs with food allergies and this food has been a god send.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Itchy Dog Although a little expensive it has helped with the itchy scin
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made a Huge Difference My 6 month old Golden Retriever, Buttermilk Biscuit with Honey, has had difficulty with loose stools since she was 8 weeks old. Different foods with a chicken base appear to have been the issue. Once I began the Veterinary dry diet Select Protein PV, it was like night and day.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my dog a lifetime of problems I have used this diet for my Lab who is now 13 years old. I started the diet when he was just a year old and used it for making the diagnosis of food allergies. I treat many animals for allergies as a veterinarian and I know because of this diet my dog has lived a long healthy life free of the frequent skin and ear infections I would highly recommend it!!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dog Food! Our Golden Retriever began to have GI issues no matter what "healthy" dog food we tried. He even wasn't able to tolerate another prescribe dog food. Finally our Vet prescribed Royal Canin PR Protein and it was life changing. Not only did we get our happy playful doggie back but he absolutely loves, loves his new food. We are a Royal Canin only Family now.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Annabelle loves her food!! My Weimaraner, Annabelle was diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel about 2 yrs ago and it's never been under control. Her internal specialist recommend she go on the Vet Diet selected protein PV. She gets the dry and I use the canned to hide all her pills in. So far she has had the best stools ever and no vomiting or diarrhea. She loves her new food.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog was hesitant at first but now loves it/ allergy symptoms have gotten a lot better
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used this product for several years and believe it helps my pet's allergies.
Date published: 2015-08-10
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_1397, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT