Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Selected Protein Adult PW Moderate Calorie dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Moderate calorie content supports healthy weight
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Selected Protein Adult PW Moderate Calorie is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for dogs predisposed to weight gain with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Size: 24.2 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by potato and fish.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Moderate Calorie
Moderate calorie content to help maintain ideal weight.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2.0 kg) 5/8 cup (49 g)
11 lb (5.0 kg) 1 1/8 cups (96 g)
22 lb (10.0 kg) 2 cups (162 g)
33 lb (15.0 kg) 2 3/4 cups (220 g)
44 lb (20.0 kg) 3 3/8 cups (273 g)
55 lb (25.0 kg) 4 cups (322 g)
66 lb (30.0 kg) 4 1/2 cups (370 g)
77 lb (35.0 kg) 5 1/8 cups (415 g)
88 lb (40.0 kg) 5 5/8 cups (459 g)
99 lb (45.0 kg) 6 1/8 cups (501 g)
110 lb (50.0 kg) 6 5/8 cups (542 g)
132 lb (60.0 kg) 7 5/8 cups (622 g)
Selected Protein Adult PW Moderate Calorie is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Dried potato, fish meal, powdered cellulose, potato protein, natural flavors, coconut oil, vegetable oil, fish oil, salt, DL-methionine, taurine, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, copper proteinate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], L-carnitine, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)22.5%
Crude Fat (min)7.5%
Crude Fiber (max)9.8%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Omega-3 Fatty Acids* (min)0.79%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.23%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.1%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3167 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 260 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Selected Protein Adult PW Moderate Calorie dry dog food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than a diet food We have use RC dog food most of Molly's life, presently 9.5 years. We changed to this, PW, a few years ago because: a) Molly has an algerynto soy, which is in about everything - but this food, and b) it is a novel protein. So far this has worked out very nicely.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one!! I have two afghan hounds that are incredibly fussy and prone to loose stomachs. Since I have have switched to this food..for at least a year, my problems seem to be solved.
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dog has food allergies and since he's been on this food, he has very little skin issues.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Gerat ,Healing Properties! I have been using for a year now, My Aussie loves it and better digestion overall.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only food for my atopic dermatitis dog! This food was recommended to me by a dermatologist for my dog's atopic dermatitis. We had tried several foods over the years with no luck. As soon as he started this food his skin started to clear, and after a few weeks his skin was the best it's looked in years! His stool also improved, and he has had less gas. He's been on it for almost 2 years and is doing well. The only time we ever had an issue was when I tried to switch to another brand. It was a no go.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrating Food--pieces are too large and hard It is frustrating to be prescribed a food for a dog's health only to be unable to use it because the product is inedible for the pet. First, the individual pieces are too large for a small or medium size dog. The pieces are so big, I would think there are some large dogs that would have a hard time swallowing them. Second, as if the huge size of the pieces isn't enough, each piece is rock hard. My dog gets so frustrated trying to swallow and chew this food that he spits it out, and this is a dog who is extremely food-motivated. I believe that my dog cracked a tooth trying to eat this food. For all their testing and "science," I have my doubts that Royal Canin did real-world tests to see if middle-aged small dogs could actually manage to eat this. These pieces are impossible to break apart. Even my younger dog, who has all his teeth, has a very hard time eating this food. I have taken a hammer to the food pieces and I have to whack them with all my might to even begin to break them up for my dog. It is difficult enough trying to get the appropriate care and food for a family pet, let alone adding the waste of time and frustration of buying an expensive food that your dog can't eat. Avoid our frustration (and wasted time and money) and research another food for your pet. Newsflash for Royal Canin--small and medium sized dogs need prescription food, too.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality food product My dog had extreme food allergies.. She almost died from hemorrhagic gastroenteritis 4 years ago likely caused by something she ate.... After allergy testing , she showed reaction to over 200 food items... I was afraid to feed her anything... the vet recommended this potato/ whitefish based diet... We have had smooth sailing with no digestive issues since feeding her this diet... Thank you for a product I can trust....
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for allergies! I have a chocolate lab who would break out in hot spots and get ear infections all the time. I switch to white fish about 2 years ago and it is the only food I will feed her now. She hasn't had one hot spot or even an ear infection since. I first tried the Large breed formula but she didn't like how big the kibble was so she is now on the smaller kibble and loves it!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product! My 10-year-old weimaraner has IBD and has always done well on a competitor's fish-based diet. Last year, she had a bout of pancreatitis so I called Royal Canin and they recommended this diet because of its low fat content. Bella did so well on this diet that I decided to keep her on it permanently. I couldn't be happier with Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Blue Dobermans We have been using this for about 6 years. The previous RC dog food we used for our blue Doberman was discontinued and this was the next best for his skin and weight issues. Our dog loves it and he has had more fur and less skin infections while eating this food. Also very low in fat which is perfect for a dog susceptible to Pancreatis.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from price/calories The price for your products are to high. Your adult PW calorie dog food is to high in calories. Your adult PW moderate calorie products do not have enough calories.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for allergy and weight management! I have tried SO many different dog foods but none seem to help with my babies allergies and weight. I was finally recommended this and she has been less itchy and has finally started to loose some weight! I absolutely LOVE this diet and will definitely be reordering and recommending
Date published: 2018-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat Was given to us as a sample. Boxer had trouble gaining weight. Could see his ribs and spine. Had liver issues. Tried medication. After feeding him this for 5 months he went from 51 lbs to 63 lbs. His coat looks great and he doesn’t look like he’s starving. So pleased.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for allergy and weight management Switched over to this for my furbaby, she is an allergy kid with weight issues. Been on it for a month now and she is doing great on it! Allergies are not flaring up and she has been shedding some pounds!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only dog food I can feed my Frenchie We have a 3 year old male frenchie who has many allergies to food including chicken, corn, beef etc.. This is the only food we have found that works for him and keeps his allergy symptoms down.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My chocolate Lab loves it! Vet recommended this food because our chocolate lab was having stomach and hair issues. It’s been over a month now & the new food is helping with both issues & he loves the food.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent hair coat My dog needed a hypoallergenic low fat food, and PW moderate calorie was recommended. He loves the food, and there haven’t been any intestinal issues! His hair coat is so shiny!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This was recommended for our dog because of skin and allergy issues. We are very happy with the results. Ever since he started eating this particular food, his issues ceased.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real Life Saver! I work at a veterinary clinic and two of my dogs have been on this product for years! Both struggling with liver issues, this product has truly been a life saver!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food We have been using this food for years and are very happy with it. We have tried different types through the years, but keep coming back to this brand/type.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful skin and coat! I love this food! My dogs have beautiful coats now that they eat this food. I would recommend that food to anyone that is struggling with skin issues.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing positive changes in my fur baby! The first time we bought this for my little guy, his attitude, energy level and overall happiness enhanced immensely! thanks royal canin!!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Devoured! I bought this about 3 months ago and have been using off and on since. Both dogs, a Golden and a Shih Tzu seem to really like it.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! My dogs not only love this food but it controls their allergies and their weight. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it I started Leo on this food about 6 weeks ago. Since starting, he has to lost 2#!
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Taste good price high Enjoyed by dog with a myriad of allergies with weight issues but very expensive
Date published: 2016-05-11
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_1460, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT