Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Skin Support SS® dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Supports healthy skin cell generation
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

ROYAL CANIN® VETERINARY DIET® CANINE SKIN SUPPORT SS® is a complete and balanced, highly digestible diet that has been specifically formulated for adult dogs and puppies to support healthy skin. The diet contains curcumin, which imparts a yellow coloring to the kibble. As this natural color may stain, contact with delicate items should be avoided.

Where to Buy
Size: 16.5 lb
Size: 32 lb
Size: 6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

SKIN SUPPORT
Synergistic action of the exclusive complex including curcumin, vitamin C, and taurine helps support healthy skin cell generation.

SKIN BARRIER
Patented blend of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural healthy barrier properties.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion - for Adults
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (42 g) 1/2 cup (49 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (84 g) 1 1/8 cups (97 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 5/8 cups (141 g) 1 7/8 cups (164 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 1/8 cups (192 g) 2 1/2 cups (222 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 5/8 cups (238 g) 3 1/8 cups (275 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 1/8 cups (281 g) 3 5/8 cups (325 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 3 5/8 cups (322 g) 4 1/4 cups (373 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 4 1/8 cups (362 g) 4 3/4 cups (419 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 4 1/2 cups (400 g) 5 1/4 cups (463 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 4 7/8 cups (437 g) 5 5/8 cups (505 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 5 3/8 cups (472 g) 6 1/8 cups (547 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 6 1/8 cups (542 g) 7 cups (627 g)

Recommended Daily Feeding Portion - for Puppies
Age of Puppy
Adult Target Weight 2 months 4 months 6 months 8 months 10 months 12 months 14 months 16 months 18 months
4.4 lb (2 kg) 5/8 cup 5/8 cup 5/8 cup 1/2 cup 1/2 cup Transition to the Adult Feeding Guidelines
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/8 cups 1 3/8 cups 1 1/4 cups 1 cup 1 cup
22 lb (10 kg) 1 3/4 cups 2 1/4 cups 2 1/4 cups 1 7/8 cups 1 5/8 cups
33 lb (15 kg) 2 3/8 cups 3 cups 3 cups 2 5/8 cups 2 1/4 cups 2 1/8 cups
44 lb (20 kg) 2 7/8 cups 3 3/4 cups 3 3/4 cups 3 1/4 cups 2 3/4 cups 2 5/8 cups
55 lb (25 kg) 3 cups 4 cups 4 1/2 cups 4 cups 3 1/4 cups 3 1/4 cups 3 1/8 cups
66 lb (30 kg) 3 1/8 cups 4 1/4 cups 5 1/8 cups 4 3/4 cups 4 cups 3 5/8 cups 3 5/8 cups
77 lb (35 kg) 3 1/4 cups 4 1/2 cups 5 3/4 cups 5 3/8 cups 4 5/8 cups 4 1/8 cups 4 1/8 cups
88 lb (40 kg) 3 3/8 cups 4 7/8 cups 6 3/8 cups 6 cups 5 1/4 cups 4 5/8 cups 4 1/2 cups
99 lb (45 kg) 3 1/2 cups 5 1/8 cups 7 cups 6 7/8 cups 6 cups 5 cups 5 cups
110 lb (50 kg) 4 1/8 cups 5 5/8 cups 7 1/2 cups 7 1/2 cups 6 5/8 cups 5 3/4 cups 5 3/8 cups 5 3/8 cups
132 lb (60 kg) 4 1/2 cups 6 3/8 cups 8 1/2 cups 8 5/8 cups 7 5/8 cups 6 5/8 cups 6 1/4 cups 6 1/8 cups 6 1/8 cups
100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
ROYAL CANIN® VETERINARY DIET® CANINE SKIN SUPPORT SS® is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth, including growth of large size dogs (70 lbs. or more as an adult) and maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, fish meal, brown rice, chicken fat, natural flavors, powdered cellulose, dried plain beet pulp, vegetable oil, fish oil, calcium carbonate, monosodium phosphate, L-tyrosine, tumeric extract, potassium chloride, taurine, salt, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex], choline chloride, aloe vera, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, copper proteinate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)21.0%
Crude Fat (min)13.0%
Crude Fiber (max)5.2%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Taurine* (min)0.22%
Ascorbic Acid* (min)100 mg/kg
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3624 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 323 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Skin Support SS ® dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 80.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps to condition the dogs coat and scratches less
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! My dog has seasonal allergies. I started him on this food at first signs and the rest if the summer- he was perfect! His coat was beautifull, stopped licking/chewing paws, stopped licking his fur off his legs! And no meds were needed three times a day while on this food!!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more ear infections My dog used to get seasonal ear infections throughout the spring and summer. I would then have to put her on an expensive medication to prevent their recurrence throughout the season. Then the Royal Canin representative for the animal hospital at which I worked mentioned the success a relative had feeding this diet to his dog, to treat his skin allergies. Since starting Skin Support, my dog has had zero ear infections; plus, I know she is getting all the Omega 3s she needs for healthy skin and joints!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver I recently switched my terrier mix to this product due to his recent diagnosis of atopy. I chose this product over others because years ago I had a Brittany Spaniel with seasonal allergies that was on multiple medications to control his ear flare-ups, skin itching, and feet licking. After him being on this food for a month, I was able to decrease all of his medications by half and then by six months I was able to take him off all medications. He continued this diet until he passed away and never had to be on allergy medications again. During this time we never moved, so the seasonal allergen had to have still been present in our environment, but this food gave his skin the strength to keep the barrier from the allergen! Great food and I am excited to see the difference we can make with my current dog and atopy.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What A Difference I recently took my dog to the vet due to secere itching and hair loss. After blood work and skin scrapes, it was determined that my dog had a low T4 level and we started him on thyroid medication, a antibiotic, and the Royal Canin Skin support fiod. What a dramatic difference i saw in him after just 1 week! He has been on the food for 2 months now and his fur has all grown back and his coat is silky and shiny!! I will never feed my dog any other food!!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Self explanatory My white pitbull has had allergies since five months old we’ve tried dog food after dog food after dog food nothing helped about eight months ago the vet recommended your dog food we are happy to say the dog food worked he is not allergic to the food his skin looks better he’s more healthy so we only buy your food for skin support it’s rather expensive but we don’t mind the extra expense The extra expenses worth it we will only buy this dog food
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I bought this food in January 2018 this year my dog was suffering with bad skin problems itching and flacks and reddish irritation and within weeks of just this dog food that completely cleared up! And he is an 11 year old German Shepherd he had hip problems troubles getting up and was on medicine for that but he no longer needs it now that he’s eating this healthy food! What a blessing? Thank You!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my dogs life! About a year ago I switched my Great Dane to RC Skin Support. She used to get hair loss along her back. Instead of being my beautiful girl, people would always ask what was wrong with her. Allergy mess didn't help. Within 4 weeks of making he switch, the improvement was amazing! She also loves the taste and looks forward to feeding time. Today she has a full shiny coat and is back to beautiful.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped heal pressure wounds! My aging golden retriever ended up with some pressure wounds while ill. Our Royal Canin Representative mentioned during a lunch and learn that skin support can help with wound healing. I wasn't sure she would even eat it she had become so picky. I started feeding it to her, she really liked it, and within a couple weeks the wounds were improving greatly! Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome food I have been buying this dog food for 4 months now, it has been such a blessing! My dog kept getting ear infections one right after another no matter what kind of food I tried. I went to ban field with her and they gave me this prescription and now she doesn't get the repeat ear infections. I am so glad that this food works so great for dogs like mine with terrible allergies!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't help my dog My Vet recommended this brand since my dog has allergies, unfortunately my dog had a sever outbreak of raise pus pimples. I am not saying its not a good brand, it just didn't work for me and its extremely expensive. I do whatever it takes to help my dog with issues. Hopefully I will get a refund as it only been a week.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I discoveredyour food at a promotion table. I fed our dog for 14 years with Royal Canine. He was never overweight and always in good health. The 14th year he developed skin problems and we went to the special diet. He passed and now we are feeding our new rescue with Royal Canine. I feel she will be healthy and Happy for years ;-)
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed my PUGS skin! I have 2 pugs, so with that of course comes skin and ear problems. They are on allergy medications and receive regular baths. I decided to give this food a try and within 3 weeks I was able to lower the amount of medication they were taking! What an amazing food!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food for dogs with skin allergies I used this product for my older German Shepherd Dog as she has enviromental allergies. The vet specialist dermatologist said that it is a great product for this dog. I agree with her. My dog is doing well. No complaints whatsoever about Royal Canin Brands.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps dry skin issues and tastes great Purchased this kibble for our 9 year old Keeshonden who suffers from dry skin infections. He is so sweet and patient but his gorgeous coat was beginning to fall out. We are seeing improvements after only a few weeks and are hopeful for a full recovery
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more itching and "cracker back" We started on this variety of food for our Chocolate Lab, Izzie several months ago. She was continually scratching and had red welts and horrible dandruff "cracker back". She loves this delicious food and her skin and hair look incredible.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product My dog had chronic ear infections. Spend hundreds of dollars on medications, test. Started him on Skin Support and within 1 month his ears cleared up. I used to have to clean his ears daily, now I clean them every 4-5 months-just because.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for my dogs with sensitive skin issues Five of my 6 dogs eat this and love it. It has really benefitted my Emily, a little Maltipoo with skin issues. Her coat has improved dramatically with this food. The others eat it as well and just love it. Thanks for such a great product.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love it Good quality food! Our dogs always loved the taste of the food. Also this company has not ever had as many recalls on their foods as some other major brand companies, we trust this food is what it says it is and does for the pets health.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our vet recommended it and what a difference Our Lhasa had very bad skin allergies and we tried everything including meds and our vet recommended we try the Skin Support. He even gave us a free bag to try and she no longer is on meds for her sensitive skin.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Food I have been feeding both my Lab and Boxer this food for over a year now and they have never felt or looked better. Both of my dogs had skin and allergy issues. Royal Canin Skin Support has been a life saver.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great diet! My allergy-prone Golden retriever has been on this diet for a couple of months now, and it's been great for her! Her coat looks very healthy, and there have been no weird odor or GI upset associated with it.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! We've been trying different ways to help our frenchie with dry itchy skin. Royal Canin has made the difference. His coat is shiny and shedding has reduced drastically. He's much happier and healthier.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product In an industry that is burdened by misinformation, Royal Canin products are well researched and ethically marketed. The skin support diet was an excellent addition to my pet's allergy treatment regimen.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Me & ma sistah loove this food! We give it 5 pawz. It smells soo good & tastes soo yummy. Mom says it makes our fur soft & shiny. We hope she keeps feeding us this. Thanx Razzle & Ella
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results - My dogs hair grew back! Our Cairn Terrier suffers from a rare auto immune related illness, which causes lesions on his body that break open and leave scars and bald spots in addition to depression. After thorough evaluation by our Veterinarian, who sent the tissue samples off to a Lab and a veterinarian dermatologist, we were advised of a long term treatment plan, of which Royal Canine Skin Support was part of. The amazing thing was: Our dogs hair grew back after several months, his treatment was long term, but successful and he still is and will remain on RC Skin Support. He Loves his food, has a shiny coat, keeps his weight and his coat quality could not be better. I also would like to mention, that before I was advised by our Vet to try this food, I had tried several brands of "holistic" food - which made his coat greasy, flaky and horrible digestive issues. All I can say is this: When is comes to a dog with health problems I swear by research and science, which is what goes into RC Veterinary diets. Our dog will remain on this food, likely for the rest of his life under Veterinary supervision. Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiny coat I have different 3 different breeds a Doberman, Mcnab and Poodle and and made their coats so shiny and soft. Love how this type and brand of food made them look. I will keep using it
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more steroid shots! I have been using Skin Support for 6 months and it is great. My Basset had terrible allergies and was needed a steroid shot every 6 weeks. No longer! He has not a shot in 5 months.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product This product has truly done wonders for my atopic Boxer. Not only does it help his skin maintain beautifully, but it also keeps him sleek and healthy. This is my go to dog food!!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food! I am on my third bag of this dog food. It works well and I am amazed that you are able to use the entire bag of food. There are not cupful of crumbs in the bottom of the bag.
Date published: 2018-10-18
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_3921, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT