Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Ultamino® dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Highly palatable and highly digestible
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Ultamino is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet for adult dogs.

Where to Buy
Size: 19.8 lb
Size: 8.8 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Oligopeptides
Formulated with low molecular weight peptides to support dermatological and gastrointestinal health in dogs with food sensitivities.

Quality Manufacturing
Formula and production process dedicated to quality and food safety.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (41 g) 5/8 cup (48 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (82 g) 1 1/8 cups (95 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 5/8 cups (138 g) 1 7/8 cups (160 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 1/4 cups (188 g) 2 1/2 cups (217 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 3/4 cups (233 g) 3 1/8 cups (270 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 1/4 cups (275 g) 3 3/4 cups (319 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 3 3/4 cups (316 g) 4 1/4 cups (365 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 4 1/8 cups (354 g) 4 3/4 cups (410 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 4 5/8 cups (392 g) 5 1/4 cups (453 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 5 cups (428 g) 5 3/4 cups (495 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 5 3/8 cups (463 g) 6 1/4 cups (536 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 6 1/4 cups (531 g) 7 1/4 cups (615 g)
Animal feeding tests using AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) procedures substantiate that Ultamino provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance.
Ingredients

Corn starch, hydrolyzed poultry by-products aggregate, coconut oil, soybean oil, natural flavors, potassium phosphate, powdered cellulose, calcium carbonate, sodium silico aluminate, chicory, L-tyrosine, fructooligosaccharides, fish oil, L-lysine, choline chloride, taurine, L-tryptophan, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], DL-methionine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), histidine, trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)16.9%
Crude Fat (min)14.5%
Crude Fiber (max)4.2%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3688 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 313 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Ultamino ® dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 87.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helping my IBD dog I have a greyhound girl that was diagnosed with IBD years ago and we've been through so many brands/types of dog food with limited success on controlling flare-ups. A specialist vet finally recommended Anallergenic, now Ultamino, over two years ago and my dog has been doing great! She loves the food, her coat is healthier, and she hasn't had flare-ups!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing. My veterinarian prescribed this diet to help with my dogs food allergies. It made a HUGE difference! We were able to take him off all medications, and he enjoys the diet! As it is designed to be fed exclusively, we use the kibble as treats, too, and the small size works great for training. I highly recommend trying if your veterinarian suggests!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from always out of stock I am so sick of going to order this product and it is always out of stock. Why can't you keep it in stock? I have patients with food allergies that depend on me to get this food for them, and half the time, I can't. It is frustrating and infuriating!!
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Our dog is HIGHLY allergic to hundreds of things--both environmental and food-based. This is the only food he has been able to tolerate, so we are VERY to be able to get it. Before eating it, he had very little hair and many open sore spots. After using this food (since it came out), he has grown more hair and no more sore spots. It's been amazing!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Dogs life I have a German Shepard that was having up and down weight loss and off and on diarrhea. This started when she was 1 yrs old. She went down as low as 53 lbs. After going to specialist, found out she had gastrointestinal problems due to food. Took 1 1/2 yrs to get it under control through drugs and food. Ultamino food has stabilized her weight and she loves the taste. It is not like the other hypoallergenic foods out there. It actually has a taste she loves. She is now 5 yrs old and healthy as she should be. A great product!
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My lab is so much better! Our 12 year old lab has had digestive issues for several years. Belching, loose stool, gas, licking front leg, salivating excessively, panting excessively. He was also eating feces/scat on a regular basis. The vet suspected IBD inflammatory bowel disease. Said he may be allergic to some type of protein likely animal based. She gave him a short course of steroid and put him on ultamino. Within 36 hours we saw improvement. His symptoms (listed above) have diminished over the month since he's been on an exclusive diet of this food. He gets it for a treat too! We have now stepped down to the hydrolyzed protein dog food today. We'll see how he does. The only thing was he lost a few pounds over last month. His previous dog food has more kcal per cup than ultamino. So I have been reading labels and adjusted his daily quantity accordingly. His coat is soft and shiny and he likes the food (what lab doesn't like food?!!) royal canon is not cheap but it is made in a process to eliminate any kinds of allergic causing contaminants. excellent product.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific for dogs with allergies My dog is doing great with this food and try Royal Canin Canned hydrolized dog food as a topper. Use all hydrolized for allergy prone dogs . It's Greattt, and my shihtzu loves it and thanks you , right Skittzie ? Woof it up he says
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very palatable My 10 year old pit bull has struggled with allergies her whole life. With this diet her skin and coat has never been better and she is off of all medication including atopica. She even prefers the taste to the hypoallergenic.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to good health After several years of vomiting and diarrhea with other foods, a new vet recommend this food. Was the best thing ever for her, it's been 20 months without vomiting and diarrhea. Thankful for Royal Canin Ultamino.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great product! My Dog was out on this formula after suffering form severe systemic allergies for the past 6 years. Since her Vet recommended switching her to Royal Canin I'm noticed a remarkable change in her overall health. Prior to being on RC my dog experienced chronic runny nose and sneezing, necrosis of the tail (her tail was double the normal size and was completely black from chronic biting over the years. Aside from allergy relief as the Vet thought some of her allergies may have stemmed from food, my dog is also able to chew more easily because of the size and texture (similar brands became difficult for her to chew in the past as she is now a senior). Overall, my dog LOVES this product. I look forward to RC coming out with more options for dogs with digestion issues to include an assortment of snacks.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work but extremely expensive Our dog seems to be allergic to everything. We tried many different natural/grain free foods, which seemed to help, but not as much as this. Much less scratching and itching.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Great- even to me! We've been feeding our dog this food for the past 5 months and he loves it! It even smells delicious to me, and I normally hate the smell of dog food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dogs with allergies! I have two cocker spaniels one of them has allergies, ear trouble, etc. Since she started eating this food, her allergies are more manageable.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works very well foe our dog. Have been using for over two years now and have not had to bring our dog to the vet 2 or 3 times each summer, works very well.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know why people would buy anything els I have allways been happy with royal cannin food feed my huskey and my mothers guide dog on it really recommend it
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for English Bulldogs I have been using this dog food for my English Bulldog Marshall for almost 3 years and he loves it!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent Food My dog has severe food allergies and is doing great since our vet advised this food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my dog loves this !! and great for his itchy skin! my vet got Sarge started on this because he was sick
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has solved the GI issues I have to say I was very reluctant to use this- I had been feeding a home prepared, balanced diet with supplements, which was no longer working to keep my GSD's weight on and prevent loose stools. I have been using the Ultamino now for almost a year and he is doing well and has gained weight and maintained it. You have to do what works and clearly this is working for him. As a bonus he loves the taste so I use it as treats between meals!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty Food, Great Benefits! My puppy was put on this food to start a food trail after our vet suspected that she has food allergies. Luckily her skin has been healthy but she had chronic loose stools and some hair thinning on her back legs and on her face. After a week of transition to this diet and another week of being only on this diet her stools were almost normal. She is part Labrador so she would eat anything and everything I put in front of her but she loves the food and is always excited about meal time. Since we are on a food trial she can't have any other treats so she gets kibble pieces for her training treats and doesn't mind this at all. It's only been a few weeks now that we have been on this diet but she already had some GI relief for the first time since I've had her. The food is costly but worth it due to the results we have seen so far. I would definitely recommend this food to others.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved our Great Dane! Our vet recommended we try Ultamino dry food when our dog's skin allergies became very severe. We had tried every limited ingredient food we could find, and although we were reluctant of the price of Ultamino, we started seeing improvement within two days. The redness and blisters are gone, he loves the food, and it requires smaller servings. The initial extra cost has actually become a savings!
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Food! I rescued a Dalmatian with severe ear infections and skin issues. I started him in this food a couple months ago and the changes I saw in him were fantastic! His skin and hair coat were so soft and his ears started to regrow hair!!! I was so happy I felt so bad for this boy and the condition he was in. Ultamino is great and I recommend the product to anyone with a dog having skin issues!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food! I am a veterinary student and my dog has suffered from IBD and food allergies for years. She was always dealing with upset stomachs, poor stools, struggling to deficate, vomiting and a whole slew of other problems. Then we switched her to Ultamino and she has been a completely different dog. Every problem that she had has been almost completely eliminated and she is much happier!
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dog has been having GI issues and we have tried so many different diets. Due to her having Cushing disease she has to have a low protein diet and with the GI issue we have been limited to what she can eat. FINALLY we found something that she will eat and has helped with her GI issues. I will definitely recommend this for dogs that have food sensitivities and GI issues.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made all the difference for our Westie West Highland Terriers are notorious for their allergies and ours was suffering mightily. Our vet prescribed Royal Canin Ultamino dry dog food and within a few days she was itching and biting at her feet less. Her skin turned from dark red to a healthy pink on her underbelly. A bonus to using this food is the fact that her stools are firm, regular, and not very smelly!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my dogs life My pit bull terrier suffered with both food and environmental allergies for 8 years until we started her on ultamino. She was on several medications that made her stomach upset, decreased her appetite and made her drowsy. After being in this food for 6 months all medications were able to be eliminated and she loved the food. Truly amazing and she never felt better.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only food my dog can eat Before starting this food, my dog would throw up everything he ate and have uncontrollable diahrrea. My dog was lethargic, and you could tell he never really felt well. After starting this food over a year ago, he doesn't throw up and usually has solid poos. You can tell Wilson feels much better. It is expensive, but worth it for the health of my dog!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results My poor dog Lilly has very bad allergies. Any food we fed her seemed to make her have a reaction of either terrible ear infections or being so itchy she would scratch all the fur off her head and around her ears. Our vet put her on Royal Canin Ultamino and it is amazing. She has had no issues whatsoever while on this food! Thank you!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from constipating on this for 1 month now. very constipating for my dog, but we added the dry to water, equal parts, and let it sit for 2 hours. He loves the food and most of the liquid is absorbed. He finishes it all. not sure if the feet are better or not, so will continue the food with the Apoquel rx regimin for another month.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GI support We started this food about a year ago, for allergies, but my GSD also has gastro issues. This food has helped his GI issues tremendously - I believe his gut has now had the chance to heal. The allergies are still present, but that is obviously due to them being environmental and not food allergies.
Date published: 2017-05-22
  • y_2018, m_6, d_17, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_4014, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT