Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Ultamino® dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in dogs with food sensitivity
  • Highly palatable and highly digestible
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Ultamino is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet for adult dogs.

Where to Buy
Size: 19.8 lb
Size: 8.8 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Oligopeptides
Formulated with low molecular weight peptides to support dermatological and gastrointestinal health in dogs with food sensitivities.

Quality Manufacturing
Formula and production process dedicated to quality and food safety.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (41 g) 5/8 cup (48 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (82 g) 1 1/8 cups (95 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 1 5/8 cups (138 g) 1 7/8 cups (160 g)
33 lb (15 kg) 2 1/4 cups (188 g) 2 1/2 cups (217 g)
44 lb (20 kg) 2 3/4 cups (233 g) 3 1/8 cups (270 g)
55 lb (25 kg) 3 1/4 cups (275 g) 3 3/4 cups (319 g)
66 lb (30 kg) 3 3/4 cups (316 g) 4 1/4 cups (365 g)
77 lb (35 kg) 4 1/8 cups (354 g) 4 3/4 cups (410 g)
88 lb (40 kg) 4 5/8 cups (392 g) 5 1/4 cups (453 g)
99 lb (45 kg) 5 cups (428 g) 5 3/4 cups (495 g)
110 lb (50 kg) 5 3/8 cups (463 g) 6 1/4 cups (536 g)
132 lb (60 kg) 6 1/4 cups (531 g) 7 1/4 cups (615 g)
Animal feeding tests using AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) procedures substantiate that Ultamino provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance.
Ingredients

Corn starch, hydrolyzed poultry by-products aggregate, coconut oil, soybean oil, natural flavors, potassium phosphate, powdered cellulose, calcium carbonate, sodium silico aluminate, chicory, L-tyrosine, fructooligosaccharides, fish oil, L-lysine, choline chloride, taurine, L-tryptophan, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], DL-methionine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), histidine, trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)16.9%
Crude Fat (min)14.5%
Crude Fiber (max)4.2%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3688 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 313 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Ultamino ® dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 152.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food Allergies I adopted my 18 month old chihuahua mix furrbaby a little over a year ago from an animal shelter I was familiar with. I really didnt know what I was getting myself into. I thought that dogs were easy to take care of, just feed and walk them a couple times a day. I was very wrong about this being easy! From kennel cough to ringworm, I thought there couldn't be anything worse... But of course, my little boy kept getting patchier everyday and I had no idea what was causing his bald spots. When I started working at my clinic I found out about food allergies and the signs of food allergies. My pooch has been on Ultimino for four months now while we have been trialing different foods and I am above and beyond grateful for this food option because I can always fall back on it. I have other proteins I could trial but honestly, he loves the food and i love what it does for his coat. So why not just stick with what works?! :) Im definitely sticking with the facts on this one. Thank you Royal Canin and thank you representatives for keeping us informed!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Optimal nutrition and skin/coat support One year ago, our 6 yr old beagle developed some skin and questionable issues, possibly allergies to foods. After months of feeding Ultamino, his coat shines beautifully, his digestion is reliable, his stools are consistent. Although we have determined that his occasional rashes may not be food related, we continue to feed him Ultamino because of the positive effects and nutritional support he receives. And add it to a combination of the Royal Canin Beagle dry food. We have added the Ultamino into our 2 yr old German Shepherd's Royal Canin German Shepherd dry food also as a mix and supplement. Both dogs have beautiful coats and consistent stool habits and easy weight control.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimately The Best Therapy for El's Skin, Ears We are sold on Ultamino for Eleanor. Her skin was worst seasonally but was actively itchy year round. Aural vasculitis was rampant 6 mo ago. Finally, all our lives are easier and she's comfortable. Bargain when we consider all the products, prescriptions, time, services, and sanity vested which never reduced discomfort and symptoms enough, just a little response here and there. Six years ago, upon rescue intake, we treated two back-to-back skin, ear, feet, and gland infections/inflammation. She maintained well on monthly Trifexis to prevent internal and external parasites, which were contributing to her skin inflammation and poor coat. Now, Simparica and Sentinel, our preferred HWP. I selected Royal Canin rabbit novel protein diet which we fed for 8 weeks. The other rx food manufacturers didn't have the efficacy of Royal Canin. Iams kangaroo was close, but often on backorder and limited production 2012 to 2013 when we looked. We spayed her, then surgically repaired her luxating patellas so she'd be as healthy and pain free as possible. Now, just the superficial allergy component. The diet didn't really help her pruritis after 8 weeks. We went with antihistamine therapy , additional omega-3 fatty acids in Welactin, which helped her knees, too. Therapeutic bathing with Douxo products, wiping down with wet cloth every time came indoors, and alternating Fromm high protein diets with Purina Pro Plan sensitive systems and Earthborne. But, her ear canals were strangely emitting serous discharge and the pinna thickened with edema and oozing serum. The clear, sticky discharge would dry, forming scabs on the surface that would slough off. Initially, steroids effective. No topical ear med, including Synotic/banamine compd, or ones with mometasone, fluticasone, hydrcortisone and other anti-inflammatory helped. Prescribed cleansers, my trusty EpiOtic, new Cerumene and OtiCleanse, made more serous discharge ooze so mineral oil was used to swab out her scabs daily. Once Apoquel on market, we tried it. Stopped the antihistamine, maintained once daily Apoquel, which solved skin pruritis, but aural vasculitis persisted. She never had an infection after treating the first 2 in 2012 thanks to medicated bathing every 3 to 4 days. Once Apoquel on backorder for 3rd time, we tried CADI injection every 4 weeks. No better or worse than Apoquel at interrupting itch pathway, so we had her rDVM administer every month for approximately $40. This past winter, the flare ups of edema led to bleeding, rather than just serum. Upper canals, edges of pinna, bleeding, then clot with compression. She'd shake her head, start all over. Hair thinned on her pinna then fell out along edges. It's dachshund pinnal alopecia the vet diagnosed at derm consult. But, the edema and oozing didn't fit, as DPA usually led to dry crusty ear edges. I implored an out of the box internist DVM to research and solve this, because bleeding, bald ears seemed a gateway to this edematous swelling surpassing ears eventually. Fearing more of her little body being affected, we needed faster, effective treatment. I cold packed the edge of her ears to increase clotting, and her doc ordered compounded meds that were unusual, but effective. She broached diet. I reviewed the RC rabbit/potato trial 5 years prior, did she want to try Hill's or Iams now, retry RC novel protein? No Blue Buffalo rx diets, she did not support those for skin, GI, or urinary health. The doc reviewed Ultamino with me, it's proven hydrolysed protein better than the Hill's competing product of her clinical comparison with many patients the last 6 or 7 years she'd prescribed both foods. Already hydrolysed, the protein just needs absorption in the intestine. Less denaturing and digesting the protein, less converting and breaking down needed to become absorbable amino acids, which contribute to cellular generation of all physiological systems including skin, lymph, and immune system, her allergy related anatomy. Somehow, her body investing less in digesting food would help reduce inflammation, as easier nutrients to absorb. She translated this to: less work for more payoff. I was all in and ready for less stress for the family. I figured 4 to 8 weeks to wait to determine if effective, like any therapeutic diet. Nope! Eleanor was less itchy, less edematous, less serous and bloody discharge 3 days later; no discharge and pinna hair regrowth starting in 2 weeks! I blew up her doctors' emails, primary care, surgeon, internist, derm, we have a solution, take note and use for future patients. We started the compounded ear medication anyway when it arrived. Tacrolimus suspended in Aquaphor ointment, which we used for 2 months, gradually decreasing to gauge her ears response. Today, she rarely licks a toe, her hoohaa, even more rarely has tiny 1mm dried serous scab in upper canal. All pinna hear regrew, her white parts of her coat unstained, thick furred and gleaming. Ultamino is a blessing. If it has to be changed in someway in the future, I request smaller kibble pieces and canned hydrolysed chicken or other meat based Ultamino. Once named Anallergenic diet, Ultamino is a hypoallergenic diet that brought back Miss El's ears, cut all the medicating down to daily Welactin and weekly bath, saving so much resources and headache. After 6 months of calm, we feel up to the challenge of a weekly reintroduction of typically non-inflammatory whole food. No reaction to apple slice or a carrot the last 2 weeks. We'll try a chew treat next so she can return to removing her own plaque before it becomes tartar or calculus. Even potato and oats on the list to try eventually. I don't think we'll ever change from Ultamino. I just don't see anything else working after all we tried. Thanks for a good product and excellent customer service! Love your palatability guarantee.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the red, white and blue color scheme! I have been feeding Royal Canine Ultamino to my American Cocker Spaniel for 4 years now. She has terrible food allergies and we tried everything!! She went on a very basic diet of steamed sweet potatoes for two weeks to clear up the allergies and then we began adding ingredients to the sweet potatoes slowly to see what gave her a reaction. We eliminated so many things and were suspecting it had something to do with the way her body breaks down proteins. Our vet recommended trying the Royal Canine food and we were ecstatic to find that it agreed with Gracie's system!! We have been feeding it ever since!
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderful for animals with food allergies My dog has been on this food for about a year. There is nothing else iut there that he can have with being allergic to all proteins and most vegetables. Even my vet said she had never seen any animal with as many allergies that he has. Since starting on this food and immunotherapy, Buddy's allergies are under control, his coat is beautiful, and he does not dig as much or have open sore.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great product! My Dog was out on this formula after suffering form severe systemic allergies for the past 6 years. Since her Vet recommended switching her to Royal Canin I'm noticed a remarkable change in her overall health. Prior to being on RC my dog experienced chronic runny nose and sneezing, necrosis of the tail (her tail was double the normal size and was completely black from chronic biting over the years. Aside from allergy relief as the Vet thought some of her allergies may have stemmed from food, my dog is also able to chew more easily because of the size and texture (similar brands became difficult for her to chew in the past as she is now a senior). Overall, my dog LOVES this product. I look forward to RC coming out with more options for dogs with digestion issues to include an assortment of snacks.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing. My veterinarian prescribed this diet to help with my dogs food allergies. It made a HUGE difference! We were able to take him off all medications, and he enjoys the diet! As it is designed to be fed exclusively, we use the kibble as treats, too, and the small size works great for training. I highly recommend trying if your veterinarian suggests!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from always out of stock I am so sick of going to order this product and it is always out of stock. Why can't you keep it in stock? I have patients with food allergies that depend on me to get this food for them, and half the time, I can't. It is frustrating and infuriating!!
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work but extremely expensive Our dog seems to be allergic to everything. We tried many different natural/grain free foods, which seemed to help, but not as much as this. Much less scratching and itching.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works very well foe our dog. Have been using for over two years now and have not had to bring our dog to the vet 2 or 3 times each summer, works very well.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty Food, Great Benefits! My puppy was put on this food to start a food trail after our vet suspected that she has food allergies. Luckily her skin has been healthy but she had chronic loose stools and some hair thinning on her back legs and on her face. After a week of transition to this diet and another week of being only on this diet her stools were almost normal. She is part Labrador so she would eat anything and everything I put in front of her but she loves the food and is always excited about meal time. Since we are on a food trial she can't have any other treats so she gets kibble pieces for her training treats and doesn't mind this at all. It's only been a few weeks now that we have been on this diet but she already had some GI relief for the first time since I've had her. The food is costly but worth it due to the results we have seen so far. I would definitely recommend this food to others.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved our Great Dane! Our vet recommended we try Ultamino dry food when our dog's skin allergies became very severe. We had tried every limited ingredient food we could find, and although we were reluctant of the price of Ultamino, we started seeing improvement within two days. The redness and blisters are gone, he loves the food, and it requires smaller servings. The initial extra cost has actually become a savings!
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Food! I rescued a Dalmatian with severe ear infections and skin issues. I started him in this food a couple months ago and the changes I saw in him were fantastic! His skin and hair coat were so soft and his ears started to regrow hair!!! I was so happy I felt so bad for this boy and the condition he was in. Ultamino is great and I recommend the product to anyone with a dog having skin issues!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped an allergy suffering dog Our miniature schnauzer has suffered with allergies for several years. We tried medications and shampoos but nothing seemed to help until our Vet suggested Ultamino dog food and nothing else. The nothing else was what we had not heard before. We had been giving her snacks of all kinds and the grandkids had slipped her chips and cheetos. Once we took everything else out of her diet, her skin cleared up, she stopped her obsessive scratching, and is a much happier dog. She loves the food and gobbles it up as soon as we put it down.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made all the difference for our Westie West Highland Terriers are notorious for their allergies and ours was suffering mightily. Our vet prescribed Royal Canin Ultamino dry dog food and within a few days she was itching and biting at her feet less. Her skin turned from dark red to a healthy pink on her underbelly. A bonus to using this food is the fact that her stools are firm, regular, and not very smelly!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my dogs life My pit bull terrier suffered with both food and environmental allergies for 8 years until we started her on ultamino. She was on several medications that made her stomach upset, decreased her appetite and made her drowsy. After being in this food for 6 months all medications were able to be eliminated and she loved the food. Truly amazing and she never felt better.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Our dog is HIGHLY allergic to hundreds of things--both environmental and food-based. This is the only food he has been able to tolerate, so we are VERY to be able to get it. Before eating it, he had very little hair and many open sore spots. After using this food (since it came out), he has grown more hair and no more sore spots. It's been amazing!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Dogs life I have a German Shepard that was having up and down weight loss and off and on diarrhea. This started when she was 1 yrs old. She went down as low as 53 lbs. After going to specialist, found out she had gastrointestinal problems due to food. Took 1 1/2 yrs to get it under control through drugs and food. Ultamino food has stabilized her weight and she loves the taste. It is not like the other hypoallergenic foods out there. It actually has a taste she loves. She is now 5 yrs old and healthy as she should be. A great product!
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food is a life changer!!! My Ridgeback was diagnosed with Gastrointestinal disease at age 3. After countless test and trying several different brands of prescription dog foods. We were suggested the food by a new veterinarian that diaganosed Finn. We were skeptical and worried that it wouldn’t work. Poor Finn had been battling loss of appetite/nausea and constant soft or lose stools since he turned a year old. His quality of life was not good,but we weren’t ready to give up. We gave him his first bowl 4 years ago and we haven’t stopped!! First of all he loved the food. Which was super exciting for us, as sometimes he would go days without eating. And his stools are now normal and I can tell he feels so much better. I would recommend this food for any dog that is battling gastrointestinal disease. I should also say Finn has bad allergies too. This food is a game changer! His quality of life is now amazing! Thank you Royal Canin for making the best dog food!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from dog food 12 yr old dog has battled allergies for years ,this dog food has helped a lot,we started Lilly about 2 years ago and Lilly is down to needing allergy medicine mostly in april-may ,so the food has more than paid for itself and alleviated her year round medicine needs.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My lab is so much better! Our 12 year old lab has had digestive issues for several years. Belching, loose stool, gas, licking front leg, salivating excessively, panting excessively. He was also eating feces/scat on a regular basis. The vet suspected IBD inflammatory bowel disease. Said he may be allergic to some type of protein likely animal based. She gave him a short course of steroid and put him on ultamino. Within 36 hours we saw improvement. His symptoms (listed above) have diminished over the month since he's been on an exclusive diet of this food. He gets it for a treat too! We have now stepped down to the hydrolyzed protein dog food today. We'll see how he does. The only thing was he lost a few pounds over last month. His previous dog food has more kcal per cup than ultamino. So I have been reading labels and adjusted his daily quantity accordingly. His coat is soft and shiny and he likes the food (what lab doesn't like food?!!) royal canon is not cheap but it is made in a process to eliminate any kinds of allergic causing contaminants. excellent product.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific for dogs with allergies My dog is doing great with this food and try Royal Canin Canned hydrolized dog food as a topper. Use all hydrolized for allergy prone dogs . It's Greattt, and my shihtzu loves it and thanks you , right Skittzie ? Woof it up he says
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very palatable My 10 year old pit bull has struggled with allergies her whole life. With this diet her skin and coat has never been better and she is off of all medication including atopica. She even prefers the taste to the hypoallergenic.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver for my dog! My dog, who has such extensive allergies that she has actually been included in studies, was unable to digest anything we had been trying to feed her. We had tried exotic proteins, raw food, cooked human food, everything both we & her allergist could think of. This food was her last shot. And it worked. She is happy & eating great, and is maintaining her body weight and digestive health. She literally could not live without this food. I'm so grateful that this food exists, that words fail me!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to good health After several years of vomiting and diarrhea with other foods, a new vet recommend this food. Was the best thing ever for her, it's been 20 months without vomiting and diarrhea. Thankful for Royal Canin Ultamino.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for English Bulldogs I have been using this dog food for my English Bulldog Marshall for almost 3 years and he loves it!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Food! My dog has been on this food for months now. He is an allergic mess between food and environmental allergies. This food really helped with the food componenet. He loves it and it doesn't make his stools soft, like another hypoallergenic diet from another big name food company did. Unfortunately, this food does cause his stools to become harder and I have to have him on a stool softener daily. I love this food, I just wish it didn't make his stool hard and I wish it was less expensive.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from extremely satisfied I'VE BEEN FEEDING THIS BRAND OF FOOD TO MY BEST FRIEND FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS.SHE LOVEEEEES IT. AMAZING IMPROVEMENT IN HER SKIN AND COAT AND MOST OF ALL STOPPED CHEWING AT HERSELF.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Honey loves her special food! My dog, Honey, has major allergies, and this is one of two kinds of food she can eat. I am relieved to know that Royal Canin provides a quality food that Honey loves to eat.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results! A Vet recommended this food for our highly allergic dog and we are glad we tried it. We tried every food out that there that was recommended for dogs with allergies and skin problems and they all made him worse. He was on and off antibiotics for a long time trying to fight this infection. then we decided to change his food one last time to the Ultimino and in a couple of weeks he started clearing up. It has been 10 months and he is the happiest and healthiest he has ever been.
Date published: 2018-10-31
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_141
  • loc_en_US, sid_4014, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT