Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Urinary S/O Index® Small Dog dry dog food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports Struvite Dissolution
  • Supports urinary health
  • Increases urine volume to help decrease struvite and calcium oxalate levels
  • Royal Canin Urinary SO® Index promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Urinary SO Small Dog is a complete and balanced diet specifically designed for small breed adult dogs. It is formulated to aid in the nutritional management of calcium oxalate and struvite urolithiasis.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Struvite Dissolution
Provides nutrition that aids in the management of pure struvite uroliths.

Low RSS
Relative Super Saturation (RSS) methodology predicts the crystallization potential of urine; RSS is used to develop diets that lower the concentration of ions contributing to struvite and calcium oxalate urolithiasis.

Urine Dilution
Increasing the urine volume simultaneously reduces the saturation of urine with calcium oxalate and struvite crystals.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
2 lb (0.9 kg) 3/8 cup (31 g)
4 lb (1.8 kg) 1/2 cup (51 g)
6 lb (2.7 kg) 3/4 cup (69 g)
8 lb (3.6 kg) 7/8 cup (85 g)
10 lb (4.5 kg) 1 cup (100 g)
12 lb (5.4 kg) 1 1/4 cups (114 g)
14 lb (6.4 kg) 1 3/8 cups (128 g)
16 lb (7.3 kg) 1 1/2 cups (141 g)
18 lb (8.2 kg) 1 5/8 cups (153 g)
20 lb (9.1 kg) 1 3/4 cups (166 g)
22 lb (10.0 kg) 1 7/8 cups (178 g)
Urinary SO Small Dog is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, corn, chicken fat, chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, natural flavors, salt, egg product, wheat gluten, powdered cellulose, potassium chloride, vegetable oil, monocalcium phosphate, fish oil, calcium sulfate, DL-methionine, fructooligosaccharides, sodium tripolyphosphate, L-lysine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid], taurine, trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, copper proteinate, sodium selenite], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)18.5%
Crude Fat (min)15.5%
Crude Fiber (max)3.4%
Moisture (max)10.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3738 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 355 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Urinary S/O Index ® Small Dog dry dog food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 143.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bye Bye UTI's My doctor recommended that I get a companion pet due to my medical issues. I adopted Nellie almost two years ago and from the start we discovered that she suffered with urinary tract infections quite frequently. (Being a female myself, I know the pain and discomfort that UTI"s can cause) After three rounds of medication from the vet, we agreed that something more needed to be done. Our options were 1. Run an extensive round of testing that would be very expensive, or 2. Try a prescription dog food that could possibly help decrease her urinary issues. Well, I am proud to say that Royal Canine has been a Heaven sent for Nellie and I. Nellie has not had a UTI since starting her new diet and both she and I are extremely grateful. Thanks Royal Canin, my babygirl is now painfree!
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good We've used this product for over five years for our miniature schnauzer, Roxy. Poor Roxy had two bladder stone operations in less than six months. After the second operation, our Vet prescribed Royal Canine Urinary SO, and we've been happy to report that Roxy hasn't had a problem since! Roxy just celebrated her 12th birthday on March 1st! Thank you from all of us for saving Roxy's life!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantabulous Product!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My dog was diagnosed with crystals in her urine which could cause kidney stones and possibly surgery. My vet recommended that we try this and it dissolved the crystals which prevented her from having surgery and me from an expensive bill. It tastes great too! Before my dog would take her time to eat, but ever since she started eating this she gobbles it all up in less than a minute!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver! I have been purchasing this food for the past 3 years. In 2012 my Shih Tzu, Samantha had surgery to remove bladder stones. The only way to try and prevent a re-occurrence was to feed her Royal Canin Urinary SO. We have been very satisfied with the results since we changed her diet to this wonderful dog food for her needs. Thanks to Royal Canin for making a food for my dogs needs.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet saver My shorkies got stones and the vet recommended RC SO since using it no more stones and they love it.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Morsels just the right size This food has perfect size morsels for my little Jack Russel mix and just the right amount of crunch, not too hard and very easy to digest. He was a rescue, 12+ yrs old, had extremely bad teeth. My little guy also had bladder stones and this food aided in helping to dissolve them. He at the food with no problem so I knew he liked it. Sadly, he passed away last year but we were blessed to have had the love and affection of this wonderful little boy.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It´s what her doctor said she had to eat. It´s OK, no more bladder stones. So she will have to eat this food her whole life. But the formula is different in this country. I can see is more "greasy" (if you touch the pellets, your hand will finish with oil). My dog increased her weight 10%, since we are in USA ( 2 and half years). I would prefer to be lighter.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this food! Our 13# schnoodle has been on this food for over a year after he developed a UTI. The vet recommended it and I was initially worried that he wouldn't like it but he loves it plus he gets the benefit of UTI prevention!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have been feeding this to our little blind doxie for quite some time now because she has crystals in her urine. It has completely taken care of that problem and she loves her food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for issue My dog has not shown a single issue with his bladder stones since we started use of this food! He is happy and healthy and his coat is looking great!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good size-easy for her to eat. I am happy to have a quality food to keep my Abby happy and healthy.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely effective Our mini schnauzer had kidney stones. This product was recommended by our vet to melt the stones. What a great alternative to surgery. Also she is small and tends to put on weight, so moderate cal is perfect for her.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more Kidney /Bladder Stones My 3 yr old Paisley ( Shih-Pooh) has been on this food ever since shes was 12 weeks old because she had some Kidney/ Bladder stones. My vet put her on this food which she loved from the get go. She is still on this wonderful food & gets checked for stones every few months & hasn`t had any more stones. This food is good to crystalize the stones which is easier for her to pass!! She loves this food & Im planning on keeping her on it the rest of her life. It is alot cheaper to buy this food than have the surgery for kidney stones.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dog food keeps my girl free of problem! Several years ago, my Miniature Schnauzer developed a nasty UTI which required a vet visit. Crystals in her urine. The vet at Delaware Valley Animal Hospital recommended using Royal Canin Urinary SO for small dogs. She's been on this diet for several years with no reoccurring UTIs. My dog loves it! I give it to her in her Kong Ball and it makes it a game every night.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked for my dog! I have used this for about a year since my dog had high numbers in his blood work that could lead to kidney stones. I wanted to prevent him from ever having to be on medicine full time or having emergency stone surgery so decided to try this diet. He has eaten it for a year now and his recent blood work showed his blood levels dropped and are in normal range.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from May not work for a very small dog. This product did not work for my Yorkie (4 lbs) in fact it made her bladder issue worse. She strained to urinate every 30 minutes until I took her off of it. Once off of the food she was fine. Not for every dog...if you don't see results quickly try something different. Don't feel it was the quality of the food just the formulation for such a small dog...
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wet dry food My little shelter adopted senior dog Teddy is 12, and has only one tooth remaining! I mix his Royal Canin dry food with hot water and 1/4 can of Royal Canin canned food, let it soak a minute, and Teddy loves it! He doesn't stop eating until he has licked the bowl clean (then he goes back and re-licks it during the day just to make sure he got everything.) Although he can't chew with one tooth, he has no problem eating it without choking or coughing, despite the speed with which he gobbles it down. He loves his Royal Canin diet and never gets tired of it, although that is all he eats every day (aside from my wife slippng him a table scrap now and then.) No "same old same old" for him. Thank you, Royal Canin for helping him avoid bladder stones with food he loves!.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My Daisy had a series of bladder stones that required surgery! After a year or so on only Urinary SO so has been stone free for the last few years! It's keeping her healthy and happy! She loves it and our other dog does too even though she does not have to eat it! Thanks for providing a food that keeps our Daisy healthy!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more kidney stones! Our small dogs were put on Royal Canine's Urinary SO dry food by the vet due to the frequency of kidney stones they were developing and ever since then (about 3 years ago), neither have had kidney stone issues since. So it truly seems to be ideal for that situation and they seem to like the taste of it as well.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Urinary S/O First bought this about a year ago. My female Pom was suffering from Urinary Tract Infection. This can be a problem and I was worried she would end up with kidney stones and require surgery. This prevents stones from forming. She has had no problems since we started her on this food.
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of urinary issues prior to use After I started my mini pinscher/chihuahua dog on this dry food, his urinary issues have seemingly subsided. He rarely has an accident in the house and seems to be much happier. It's also alleviated him having to be on antibiotics and steroids for urinary infections. Thank you.
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it!!! This food was prescribed by our vet after my 11 year old fox terrier had surgery for bladder stones. He is usually a picky eater,but took to this food right away.My other dog always wants this food instead of her own. The food is pricey, but so far no problems with stones.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from puppy love My puppy is a bichon friese and she has a sensitive lil' tummy. So our vet reccommended urinary so. I accidentaly got this bag, she likes this one much more than the usual bag. This one has extra small food which we did not know about. She was much happier with this size.
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping my dog healthy! Five years ago my dog had to have surgery for bladder stones. Afterwards my vet recommended Royal Canin Urinary S/O dog food to prevent further stones. It works! This diet has kept my dog from further surgery and I'm glad to say she has been very healthy.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind! I have been giving my Terrier mix the Urinary SO for years after she had stones that had to be removed.I never wanted to go through that again. This food has helped keep her stone free and she eats it really well. I want to keep my dogs healthy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! Our dog loves her food! This is Great news since she is a really picky eater & must eat this for her health! Since she started eating Royal Canin she's once again healthy, energetic & happy & we're happy too! Thank you, thank you!!!!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meal for all my babies. Have one special needs baby; yet all my dogs free feed. Glad to say all my dogs chose to eat the Royal Canin S/O instead of their original food. Now I'd say that's a statement for a "special Diet" food when all the dogs LIKE it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to read Our dog has eaten this food for several years for health reasons and he loves the food. We give him the canned food and he loves it also. He never gets tired of the taste and twirls around in circles when it is time to eat
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great healthy food Two years ago our small Shiz tzu developed uriniary stones & had an operation to remove them. The vet suggested this food for her and she loves it. All is well and have not had any more stones develop.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have been buying this food for my dog for over two years at the suggestion of my veterinarian. Since my pug (15 1/2 years old) has been eating this food, she has not had any infections or problems.
Date published: 2015-08-10
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_135
  • loc_en_US, sid_488488, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT