Royal Canin Veterinary Diet®Canine Urinary SO® canned dog food 13.6 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case)

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports Struvite Dissolution
  • Supports urinary health
  • Increases urine volume to help decrease struvite and calcium oxalate levels
  • Reduced magnesium level
  • Royal Canin Urinary SO Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Urinary SO is a complete and balanced diet for adult dogs formulated to aid in the nutritional management of calcium oxalate and struvite urolithiasis.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Struvite Dissolution
Provides nutrition that aids in the management of pure struvite uroliths.

Low RSS
Relative Super Saturation (RSS) methodology predicts the crystallization potential of urine; RSS is used to develop diets that lower the concentration of ions contributing to struvite and calcium oxalate urolithiasis.

Urine Dilution
Increasing the urine volume simultaneously reduces the saturation of urine with calcium oxalate and struvite crystals.

Controlled Magnesium
Reduced level of magnesium, a natural component of struvite stones.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4 lb (1.8 kg) 1/2 can (158 g)
6 lb (2.7 kg) 1/2 can (212 g)
10 lb (4.5 kg) 3/4 can (308 g)
20 lb (9.1 kg) 1 1/4 cans (511 g)
30 lb (13.6 kg) 2 cans (686 g)
40 lb (18.1 kg) 2 1/4 cans (847 g)
50 lb (22.7 kg) 2 1/2 cans (997 g)
60 lb (27.2 kg) 3 cans (1139 g)
70 lb (31.8 kg) 3 1/4 cans (1274 g)
80 lb (36.3 kg) 3 3/4 cans (1405 g)
90 lb (40.8 kg) 4 cans (1531 g)
100 lb (45.4 kg) 4 1/4 cans (1653 g)
110 lb (49.9 kg) 4 1/2 cans (1772 g)
120 lb (54.4 kg) 5 cans (1888 g)
130 lb (59.0 kg) 5 cans (2002 g)
140 lb (63.5 kg) 5 1/2 cans (2113 g)
150 lb (68.0 kg) 5 3/4 cans (2223 g)
160 lb (72.6 kg) 6 cans (2330 g)
170 lb (77.1 kg) 6 1/4 cans (2435 g)
180 lb (81.6 kg) 6 1/2 cans (2539 g)
Urinary SO provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance and is comparable in nutritional adequacy to a product which has been substantiated using AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) feeding tests.
Ingredients

Water sufficient for processing, chicken liver, corn grits, pork by-poducts, chicken, chicken by-products, corn starch modified, vegetable oil, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, sodium tripolyphosphate, guar gum, potassium chloride, fish oil, carob bean gum, salt, carrageenan, calcium sulphate, taurine, DL-methionine, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, potassium phosphate, vitamins (DL-alpha-tocopherol acetate [source of vitamin E], thiamine mononitrate [vitamin B1], biotin, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement [Vitamin B2], pyridoxine hydrochloride [vitamin B6], vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, Vitamin D3 supplement), trace minerals (zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, zinc proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, sodium selenite, calcium iodate), magnesium oxide, marigold extract (tagetes erecta L.)

Guaranteed Analysis
Loaf in Gel
Crude Protein (min)4.0%
Crude Fat (min)5.5%
Crude Fiber (max)2.0%
Moisture (max)75.0%
Magnesium (max)0.02%
Calorie Content

Loaf in Gel
This diet contains 1226 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram (calculated).
One 13.6oz can contains 472 kilocalories of ME on an as fed basis.

Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Urinary SO ® canned dog food 13.6 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case) is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 213.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin Dry & Canned mixed! Yummy! My Shih Tzu had to have bladder surgery at 5 yrs old. I thought she may have had a UTI, but no. It was a life threatening situation and I could have lost her had I not taken her to Our Vet.! He immediately took her to surgery and removed 3 stones. Luckily they were a type of the less dangerous stones. He saved her life however Royal Canin keeps her Alive! Not just as nutrition alone but it's excellent ingredients in the Vet prescribed Urinary SO, keeps her bladder stones at bay! I am beyond grateful to Royal Canin and my Vet for taking care of my precious shelter Rescue at 6 months old who became my best friend! Taking a Bow to you Royal Canin , for having such health specific Pet Food that Bebe also enjoys! I suffered head trauma related to an injury and Bebe never left my side thanks to you! Forever Grateful
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin Life Enhancement Our little terrier mix, Happy, was stricken with bladder stones about 8 years ago. It was necessary for our veteranian to operate and remove the stones. Upon her recover, our vet highly recommended that Royal Canin Urinary SO be her food of choice. We also incorporate the SO Dry food. She has been eating this formula for 8 years and there has never been a reoccurance of the stones and, I feel, that her general good health can be attributed to her Royal Canin diet. She is going to be 10 years old October/November 2015. Also, she is a shelter dog with a heart of gold. We love her so much. Thank you for making such great products and putting the pet owners mind at ease. Audrey Bufalini
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LILY LOVES IT!! I was happy to see that a wet canned vet dog food was offered for the urinary condition that Lily has. I cannot feed her anything but the SO dry food and felt bad that our other dog, Tiffy, has the ability to try other types of wet food in her regular food, for a little extra and to cover her pills. When I found that our vet offered the canned food for Lily, I was very pleased, as I did not want to buy a full case. She loves it, gobbles it down with her regular dry Royal Canine SO formula food and has no problem with pills concealed in it. The only problem I see is that I wish it were offered in a smaller can, as she is a small breed dog, and it takes quite a while for her to finish the larger can.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Costly I have bought several cases of this starting in May Through mid July. This product is very costly and costs more than other brands that does the same thing. However, I wanted to make sure that my dog got the best; so this is the brand we went with. When I purchased it from my veterinary they said they had a $20.00 mail in rebate. I followed ALL of the steps on the rebate but received an email stating that I would not get the $20.00 back. By this point I had already bought a total of 6 cases which would have been a total of $60.00 in rebates. When I told the veterinary clinic that Royal Canin didn't honor the rebate they spoke with their representative and confirmed that I should get it and that I did qualify for it. At this point I gave up. I decided it is not worth the headache; and have since switched to Hill's Urinary, which my dog likes much better, it's cheaper, and I have had no issues with using their coupons. Also, I found out that my vet. also prefers the Hill's.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I was having troubles getting my girl to eat after giving her her medicine, so I bought the canned food to mix with her dry food. And now I give her the meds in the wet food and she will eat when I put her food down after mixing the two. She grew up just eating when she was hungry, never over ate, so when she needed to start eating after she had her meds to keep her tummy from getting upset, I was at a loss as to what to do. She needed her medicine, but she needed to take it with food. And now FINALLY she does. I am super grateful I found this option.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No bladder stones so far! My bichon, Sam, has had surgery twice for bladder stones. We were feeding him an expensive food to prevent them (prescription diet u/d), but he developed stones again anyway. After the 2nd surgery, the surgeon recommended Royal Canin Urinary SO. We found the best price at Chewy.com, and their auto-ship service keeps us from ever running out of food. It has been over a year since the last surgery, and we've been having Sam's urine tested for bladder stones every few months, and so far, no bladder stones! I highly recommend this food!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves This Food! My dog was having issues with his bladder and urinary tract. He was painful and had blood in his urine, twice in one year. After doing various tests and ruling out tumors, etc., we started him on Urinary SO (canned and dry food) He's 10 years old and takes Meloxicam for arthritis and Cosequin for hip dysplasia. The canned food helps hide his meds. He also eats dry Urinary SO Moderate Calorie food. So, far this food has been a life saver for him. He hasn't had any more blood in his urine and his urine is much lighter than it was.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as advertised My (nearly 19 year old) dachshund has been on Royal Canin's canned Urinary SO for many years since our discovery of bladder stones. Consequently, he hasn't needed any more surgeries for this condition. We tried the dry version prior and it didn't work nearly as well. The only con is that the original canned version causes constipation. The morsels (a low fat version) are tastier, and don't cause constipation. However, geriatric dogs, like mine, are usually underweight, whether it be due to not wanting to eat, or chronic illnesses. These dogs need all the calories they can get and would benefit from a tastier version of the original formula. I wish Royal Canin would take the flavor from the low fat morsels and add it to the original formula for geriatric dogs.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I have been buying this food for Dakota for quite a while now. Dakota had surgery for stones in his bladder. We were told that he needed to eat Urinary S/O from now on and he loves it. He was always picky when I would buy him food but he loves this stuff and it's good for him! His urine is actually helping our grass to grow outdoors!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy dog Heidi had serious bladder infection and developed struvite stones when she was only 5 months old. After a serious and expensive operation to remove 30 some stones, she has been healthy and happy. Urinary SO is all that I will feed her. She is now 6 years old and has remained free from infection for all these years.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stones are a thing of the past We have been feeding this to our Min. schnauzer for about 2 years now and I am so thankful our vet recommended it because since we started feeding it the urinary stones are now a thing of the past. Before we started feeding him this food he had surgery at least once a year going back to 2007. Thank you Royal Canine
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WHAT?! Exactly what is in this food that makes it "prescription" or makes it "dissolve struvite crystals"?!
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! Sadie LOVES - straight from can or baked in treats
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for the purpose. My fifteenth year old Eskie developed bladder stones and this diet resolved the stones. Not even a crystal in his urine remained! Five months and NO SURGERY!!!!!! He will stay on this food for life, but it's worth it. I mix this with the SO Morsels with gravy and he eats like I haven't fed him for days! Just loves this food. It's pricey; $3.29/$3.69 each, but extending his life at 15 is my utmost concern. CHEERS TO ROYAL CANIN from His Majesty!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from must have My choodles have a history of kidney stones and I have fed them Urinary s/o for 7 years. I buy the large bag of dry and the cans to mix in with the dry and they eat it right up. They can not have any other food, so I am grateful for this product. Scotty lost his brother Mikey this year, and we are sad, but Scotty is doing good and he is grateful for his S/O. We put some of the can food in the oven and bake it to make little treats!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DOES THE TRICK My 11 month old Dalmation puppy was diagnosed with bladder stones? he had a surgical procedure and it was very costly! My vet suggested Royal Canin urinary so and my dog just celebrated his 6th birthday and has had no recurrence of any problems. I give him 1 can a day plus dry and I float his food and feed him twice daily AM and PM, I also add a potassium /citrate tablet. This diet and regime seems to do the trick!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog loves her food When my dog was diagnosed with bladder stones 9 years ago, the vet ordered a special diet for her and she hated it. She also needed frequent lab work. The breeder suggested I try the Urinary S/O they had for their dog with the same problem and I did. She loved it. I then told my vet about it. He checked into it and now orders it for all his patients. No lab work and no problems with bladder stones.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My dog doesn't like it I have a 13 year old poodle mix. She does not like Royal Canin Urinary SO canned or kibble. The only way I get her to eat is have the cat sit nearby as a threat...you eat it or I will. Also extremely expensive.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to read My dog had bladder stone surgery in Feb. 2012 and the vet recommended this product. It has been 3 and a half years now and the stones have not returned. My dog loves this product and I make her "cookies" out of this moist dog food by scooping out a teaspoon full & baking them for 10 minutes a side @ 350 degrees. This is the only treat my dog can have & she thinks that they are great!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality change? My shin tzu has been on the moderate calorie version of this food for over 5 years. Open a can every morning and split it between her and sibling shih tzu( just easier that way ) Do it by rote, 1/2 and 1/2 Noticed there is a lot more " gravy" lately and actual food pieces are less. Just isn't measuring up. So very disappointed this is happening. For the price especially
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Lhapso Ahpso ended up with bladder stones twice in one year. As a result we had to change her diet to help prevent any other problems. The vet recommended the SO diet which she enjoys very much. We give her 1/3 can for breakfast and dinner which she sees as a treat. We have 3 dogs and made a switch with their kibble to the SO dry food as well and they all enjoy that.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great as a snack I give my dog the canned food along with his dry. He is on a restricted SO diet only so I decided to try and make the canned food as a snack. I scoop the canned food on to a cookie sheet and bake it for 30 minutes. The treats aren't crispy, but he gets excited when I bake them. I then freeze the treats up to 1 month and he gets his "biscuits" every day. He loves them.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Urinary SO My Yorkshire Terrier Sophie has been on Royal Canine Urinary SO for about 6 years to treat her for urinary crystals. We are happy to report that she is tested each year and so far the results are good. We feed her the can which she really enjoys and also the dry Urinary SO. She visits the vet regularly and her check ups are great she is 8 years old now.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Major staining going on Major staining going on after few days of eating this food. Not sure which ingredient has coloring. I don't think this is good food for dogs. Very disappointed with this product. You can see in before and after pics. Pics taken with red stains was taken after dog was groomed. Dog in the car going to get his prescription from vet 1 month ago.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! My dog has been on this food for 8 years and it has been wonderful. When she was 6 months old, she was getting urinary tract infections and then it was found that she had 2 huge bladder stones that she had to have surgery to remove. Since then she has been on prescription food (royal canin urinary s/o) and has not had a single problem!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cody Loves It! Cody has been eating Urinary SO for years and loves it. He had bladder stones when he was younger and had to have surgery that cost me over $5,000.00. I love my little Shih Tzu and Urinary SO for keeping him so healthy. He is nine years old and I am hoping that the Urinary SO will help keep him healthy for a few more wonderful years
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best solution for dogs with urinary issues After some research and reviews from other users I convinced my vet to switch to this brand .One year later my dog who had problems with struvite stones for years is healthy and happy and no urinary problems.She is on this food for more than year now and it is really worth every penny considering spending thousands for vet bills...
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dakota loves it Dakota was put on a special diet after having bladder stones surgically removed. He is a very picky eater. I was amazed that he didn't even hesitate to eat the urinary so! He hasn't had anymore problems since the surgery. Our vet wants him to eat the whole can but he just can't so it is nice that we get 2 portions from a can :)
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working! Our dog Snickers had bladder stones & a blockage that prevented him from urinating, so our veterinarian Dr Love recommended that he be put on a special diet of your Royal Canin SO product a little over 2 yrs ago & Snickers has not had a problem since! We are hoping that this diet prevents him from going through that again!
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for bladder issues! This product has kept my dog from the operating room again. Bodhi is prone to bladder stones and by changing his food to Royal Canin SO he is had a clean bill of health. His Mama Bella eats it too because its just that good. I make homemade treats baking morsels in the oven or microwave and they just can't get enough!
Date published: 2015-09-02
  • y_2018, m_9, d_23, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_196
  • loc_en_US, sid_60401, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT