Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Canine Urinary SO® Moderate Calorie dry dog food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of dogs. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your dog's special needs.

  • Supports Struvite Dissolution
  • Moderate calorie content supports healthy weight
  • Increases urine volume to help decrease struvite and calcium oxalate levels
  • Supports urinary health
  • Royal Canin Urinary SO Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Canine Urinary SO Moderate Calorie is a complete and balanced diet for adult dogs predisposed to weight gain. It is formulated to aid in the nutritional management of calcium oxalate and struvite urolithiasis.

Where to Buy
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Struvite Dissolution
Provides nutrition that aids in the management of pure struvite uroliths.

Moderate Calorie
Moderate calorie content, compared to canine Urinary SO, to help maintain ideal weight.

Urine Dilution
Increasing the urine volume simultaneously reduces the saturation of urine with calcium oxalate and struvite crystals.

Low RSS
Relative Super Saturation (RSS) methodology predicts the crystallization potential of urine; RSS is used to develop diets that lower the concentration of ions contributing to struvite and calcium oxalate urolithiasis.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Low Activity Medium Activity
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/2 cup (40 g) 5/8 cup (47 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1 cup (79 g) 1 1/8 cup (94 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 1 5/8 cup (133 g) 2 cup (158 g)
33.0 lb (15 kg) 2 1/4 cup (180 g) 2 3/4 cup (214 g)
44.1 lb (20 kg) 2 7/8 cup (224 g) 3 3/8 cup (266 g)
55.0 lb (25 kg) 3 3/8 cup (264 g) 4 cup (314 g)
66.1 lb (30 kg) 3 7/8 cup (303 g) 4 1/2 cup (360 g)
77.2 lb (35 kg) 4 1/4 cup (340 g) 5 1/8 cup (404 g)
88.2 lb (40 kg) 4 3/4 cup (376 g) 5 5/8 cup (447 g)
99.2 lb (45 kg) 5 1/4 cup (411 g) 6 1/8 cup (488 g)
110.2 lb (50 kg) 5 5/8 cup (445 g) 6 5/8 cup (528 g)
132.3 lb (55 kg) 6 1/2 cup (510 g) 7 5/8 cup (605 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 85 grams
Ingredients

Brewers rice, corn, brown rice, corn gluten meal, chicken by-product meal, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, chicken fat, chicory, egg product, salt, wheat gluten, monocalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, vegetable oil, calcium sulfate, fish oil, DL-methionine, fructooligosaccharides, L-lysine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, niacin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid], taurine, trace minerals [zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), L-carnitine, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min) 18.0%
Crude Fat (min) 9.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 7.5%
Moisture (max) 10.0%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3298 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 261 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Canine Urinary SO ® Moderate Calorie dry dog food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 475.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as a snack! My little shih tzu rescue had severe struvite stones several years ago. She has them removed immediately after I got her and to my chagrin, I was told she'd be on a special dog food diet the rest of her life. We started her on this dry food and I also supplement it with same type of canned. She wolfs this stuff down and can't hardly wait for snack time when I give her a handful of these dry morsels. This food gives new meaning to a tasty morsel! My other dog, who is a picky eater, also relishes what he can steal from her. Her struvite stones are under control and she's a happy eater!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food for Life My Basset Hound, Daisy, has been eating Royal Canin SO for years. The Urinary issue Daisy had years ago has not reoccurred. Daisy has never tired of the food and at 12 years of age continues to "wolf down her meal twice a day. Her weight is constant and energy level is just now starting to slow down a little due to her old age. Just like her papa. A great product that has help provide a quality life for my Daisy. Thank you.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Best Friends Cure! I believe Royal Canin's product has helped my 7 year old miniature schnauzer live an active and healthy life after his kidney stone surgery two years ago. Maxx is full of energy and is always ready for a walk or play in the back yard with his other schnauzer friend, Jagger. I keep Maxx on a strict diet of Royal Canin and the recommendation from my vet has been the best decision I have made.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! My mini dachshund has been on this for 2 yrs after having had back surgery at 3 yrs of age, and then developing crystalluria. I had been cooking organic food for her for about 2 yrs, and was afraid she wouldn't like the SO. She loved it right at first bite, and still does - can't wait to be fed each morning and evening! I'm so glad this product is so palatable and effective!
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Our dog had to be operated on for bladder stones and the vet recommended we use Royal Canin. We haven't had any more problems since we started feeding it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this! When this was prescribed for my dog five years ago after she experienced bladder stones, I was concerned that she wouldn't eat it, but she gobbled it up from day one. She loves the food, now drinks sufficient amount of water and thankfully has had no more stones. She had been eating it daily for five years. My only concern is the cost, but her health is worth it.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps my dog well! My dog has been on the Urinary SO food for 7 years, since she was a puppy. In the past 3 years we changed to the Moderate Calorie version to keep her weight healthy. The only time we tried her off of the food, she got another terrible UTI. Although the food is expensive, it is worth it to keep her healthy. Just wish the moderate calorie came in a larger bag!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! My dogs have been eating Royal Canin Moderate Calorie Urinary SO for years. They got a little chunky on the full calorie version, but are back down to their normal weight since eating moderate calorie. They both had calcium oxylate stones and this food has prevented any more stones from forming. I highly recommend feeding it to pets with urinary issues!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem solved I was trying to figure out why my dog was having accidents in the house. It turned out that she had struvite crystals. I chose SO moderate calorie over the other options my vet gave me because I didn't want my pug to gain weight. Not only did she maintain an ideal body condition but her struvite crystals cleared up! Then one of my other pugs was urinating in the house. He had calcium oxalate crystals. I put him on the SO moderate calorie as well and was cleared up in no time at all. They both love the food and keeping them on the diet has prevented recurrence of any crystals.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cardi Corgi Nikki likes it & keeps her in shape Purchased this food shortly after getting our rescue girl, Nikki. When she was diagnosed with severe bladder stones, requiring surgery, we were advised by our vet at Easttowne Pet Clinic, Madison, WI, to feed this for continued health. She loves the food, and the moderate calorie helped her lose some weight without sacrificing food volume.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to regular SO My dog was put on SO after too many urinary tract infections and everything was great. No more UTIs but after 3 years she started gaining weight. We switched her to moderate Calorie and what a difference in her weight. I swear she had an easier time pooping also. She's a happy doggy now and so am I.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food! I recently switched my dogs food from Hills C/D to this S/O and I'm so glad I did. My dogs have had horrible UTI issues since I've had them. From filtered water to cranberry tablets and prescription food. They use to potty in bed all over house and I can now say since I've had them on this product I haven't had any issues. One of my dogs have crystals no matter what I do and I can honestly say since the food change they are dissolving! Love the brand and food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE! My dogs love this food. My little Rosko suffered from Urinary Tract Infections for a long time, on and off. My vet recommended Royal Canin Urinary S/O. Since then Rosko has not had any UTI's. I am so pleased as this is less money spent at the vet and less pain for my baby.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product with Care in Mind! Schnauzer has been using this food since I adopted him and he needed major surgery for a bladder stone. He always looks forward to eating the SO food, and he seems to be very healthy and full of energy! Thank you Royal Canine!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dog seems to like it... This food has been effective in keeping my pug from having a recurrence of bladder stones, which is wonderful. She seems to like the food. It is a bit on the expensive side, but generally is a good choice for our dog.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has kept my dog from having bladder stones My spayed female dog was having frequent UTI's and had several crystals in her urine, we started her on the s/o when she was 3 and she is now 7 , still on s/o reduced Valerie with no problems since we started at age 3
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! Our Schnauzer, Sadie, has had two surgeries for bladder stones. She has been on Royal Canin Urinary SO, exclusively, for two years and has no incidence of bladder stones since! Thank you, Royal Canin!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food! I started using this food for my miniature schnauzer, Toaster, and it's done a world of wonder for her! I can choose between wet and dry, depending on which she wants, and we couldn't be happier! : )
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Our PBGVs (Petite Basset Griffon Vendeen) are prone to urinary infections and "stones." Our vet recommended Urinary SO Moderate Calorie and both dogs improved and eat this food with great relish!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad side effects After one bag my dog had frequent urination problems. She was urinating while sleeping, walking, squatting, etc. As soon as we stopped and went back to her old food,her problems went away.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food!! I have been feeding this food to Babe for 2 years now and so far her bladder stones have not formed again. Yea!! She loves this food and gobbles it down. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food I have 2 miniature Schnauzers who both are on this veterinary diet food. They both have bladder and kidney issues which is only controlled with this food.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver This food saved my dogs life! My mini Schnauzer was plagued with bladder stones. After one operation to remove 6 stones the size of marbles, her stones were coming back. She was on the Prescription Hills brand for urinary track issues and the stones were coming back! My vet switched her to the Royal Canine Urinary SO and not only were the stones dissolved, in 5 years on this food she has never been so health.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a food she loves that makes her Thrive! We are so grateful for the effective results we've experienced with the Royal Canin Moderate Calorie S/O foods. Before trying S/O, I conducted a lot of research about non-prescription diets that claimed to help dogs with struvite tendencies, but despite my best efforts Jodie continued to experience crystals with painful UTIs, resulting in two separate surgeries. The third time this occurred, her vet was adamant that we begin Royal Canin S/O. I needed no further convincing. We started the diet immediately. After merely a week, it was obvious how much the S/O had helped to dissolve the crystals, and Jodie was on the road to recovery. It has been several months and her health and energy are now fully restored, her urinary levels remain stable, and above all she just loves this food-both canned and dry. Thank you, Royal Canin! You've given our little Jodie the opportunity to live large again!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Results I have purchased this food since one of my rescues was diagnosed with bladder stones at 8 months. My vet suggested the diet change and though it took about 6 months to dissolve the stones, it saved her from having bladder surgery. She has done extremely well as has her adopted 'brother', a Shih Tzu, a breed that tends to nave bladder problems.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Dog, Happy Owner My female English Bulldog had urinary infection issues for the first several years of her life. Vet after vet would treat the symptoms, but would fail to find a solution. Finally, our 5th Vet suggested Royal Canine Urinary SO Moderate Diet. Wow! Thankfully, we found the answer to her problem. Not only did this end the urinary infections, but our picky eater loves it, and it got her weight down to where the Vet wanted it. She is 8 1/2 years old now and continues to be infection free and healthy. Thank you Royal Canine!
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food. My five year old Boston Terrier has been on this food for a little over a year now. I had him on the regular SO but he put on five pounds in a short period of time. Since switching him over, he's lost weight and has had only one bladder infection. I'd recommend this food over similar diets by other companies for palatability, price, and effect.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prescription made easy Unfortunatly my dog has to be on a prescription diet for his urinary bladder crystals, however, having the Urinary SO has made it easy to ensure he is getting the right balance that his body requires to keep him healthy. It was also nice that a moderate calorie was developed to keep his weight manageable as he gets older.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scout loves this food! Scout is almost 15 and has diabetes along with a history of chronic UTI's and struvite stones. She has been diabetic for 8 yrs. and because of her history we decided to keep her on this food and try to regulate. For over 8 yrs she has remained well-regulated and has had no further difficulty with stone formation OR UTI's.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turned my dog's urinary problems around in a month My weimaraner has struggled with urinary infections since she was a puppy. She was 9 years old when my vet finally recommended Royal Canin Urinary SO. I feed her the dry kibble and the wet dog food in a can. Her urinary issues have almost disappeared! She is a much happier and healthy dog now that she eats Royal Canin.
Date published: 2015-08-10
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_440
  • loc_en_US, sid_3800, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT