Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Calm dry cat food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Royal Canin Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Calm is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced adult cat food formulated to meet the nutritional needs of cats facing digestive, skin and urinary sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Size: 4.4 lb
Size: 8.8 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/4 cup (28 g) 3/8 cup (35 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 3/8 cup (32 g) 3/8 cup (40 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 3/8 cup (37 g) 1/2 cup (46 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 3/8 cup (41 g) 1/2 cup (51 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 1/2 cup (45 g) 5/8 cup (57 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 1/2 cup (49 g) 5/8 cup (61 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1/2 cup (53 g) 3/4 cup (66 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 5/8 cup (60 g) 3/4 cup (75 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 3/4 cup (67 g) 7/8 cup (84 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 3/4 cup (74 g) 1 cup (92 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 7/8 cup (80 g) 1 cup (101 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 7/8 cup (87 g) 1 1/8 cups (108 g)
Calm is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Chicken by-product meal, corn, brewers rice, wheat gluten, corn gluten meal, wheat, natural flavors, powdered cellulose, dried plain beet pulp, chicken fat, fish oil, calcium sulfate, salt, potassium chloride, DL-methionine, vegetable oil, fructooligosaccharides, taurine, L-lysine, psyllium seed husk, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], dried hydrolyzed casein, L-tryptophan, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], L-carnitine, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)34.0%
Crude Fat (min)9.0%
Crude Fiber (max)6.0%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Tryptophan (min)0.35%
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3434 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 330 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Calm dry cat food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 105.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Anxiety The vet prescribed this food to help calm one of my 2 cats, who was urinating outside the litter box after I introduced a puppy into my cat only household. Within 1 month he had calmed down considerably without losing his spunk and now sits on the opposite side of the pet gate, taunting my 2 year old dog!
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little miracle This food, recommended by a specialized vet tech who is a friend, has helped restore one of our older cats to some semblance of sanity. This cat, always highly strung, became so anxious and easily agitated (due to outside animals visiting our grounds, we think) that we were spending a great deal of money on Felliway products that were only mildly helpful. But after about four days of giving her a palmful of Calm each day,which she loved, her excessive agitation began to fade. Now, after three weeks or so, she is back to being a nervous little girl, but is no longer certifiable..... We would recommend this food to anyone. And by the way, my friend who told me about it had just begun using it when she told me, and she has since reported her cat has responded beautifully as well. Thank you, Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Food Ever I have been using this for my skittish cat for 2 months now and I can't believe the diffrence. She doesn't hide very much any more and stays in the same room with the family even comes by the dogs now without hissing and spitting at them. My cat also loves the taste, and the best part no mess to try to get in in her its stress free medication.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent My cat was under a lot of stress, due to moving, and was licking himself bald on his front legs, down his belly, and back legs. Thank goodness his doctor likes diet remedies as opposed to daily medicine. I noticed a change in him right away. Now his hair is back and shinier than before! Thank you for such a great product!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well My cats really seem to love the taste of it. I use this because my 12 year old cat has urinary issues in regards to the feral cats that roam our neighborhood. He is not an easy cat to medicate and this has seemed to help him quite a bit. Between this and feliway I have only seen him have one outside the litterbox issue in the past year. I just wish it was also available in canned food for my kitty.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I have a male kitty that's always been a little grumpy towards our other pets, but therapeutic meds for felines were expensive several years ago and Feliway/catnip products weren't strong enough... We were so extremely excited after hearing RC had developed the Calm diets! He's been a total different cat since switching 3+ years ago! Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product exceeded my expectations! I am a Veterinary technician. I have a cat with a major behavior issue with my other cat. It has been very stressful keeping these 2 apart. She would attack and stock my other cat. I tried all of the other behavior products,phermones,calming collars,zylkene,amitryptoline. She was difficult to pill also. This food has made it a blessing to me! In 2 days of mixing the Calm with her original food,what a definite change in her demeanor. She has a sensitive stomach and there has been no vomiting at all.The other cat can come out of his room without incident. There is harmony in the house again. It has been a God sent!.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anti anxiety for a wild fur ball When I first tried this food with my wild ball of fur, I didn't see too much of a difference. One move later, I decided to cut back and go to a store brand. Man, was that a poor choice. She went from perfect cuddly kitty to rage-fueled demon kitty real quick. Needless to say she is back happily eating her calm food. I love this food. I really think it helps my best friend with her stress. A simple solution for me for a horrible problem for her.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Results!! After feeding Erik and Satchmo the Calm food, they were more subdued, and got along better and their dietary issues were better.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help I have a multi cat household (7) and all the problems associated with it - bullying, spraying, scratching,etc. My vet recommended this product for my resident bully and it has helped somewhat. I had used feliway diffusers and spray plus calming collars which didn't have much effect. The other benefits include palatibility - they really like it which is a plus with cats since they can be persnickity! In addition, I have 2 male cats that had needed emergency surgery for urinary blockages and this food is allowed.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food, very palatable I use this food for my cat with anxiety and urinary issues, but do feed it to both of my cats. They both love the food, come running when it is put into the bowl. My kitty with urinary issues is controlled and we have not had any issues in 6+ months of feeding this food. Very Happy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Paws Up" Rating - by all 9 of my cats At first this was a purchase of necessity for my 3 indoor cats. Now it is a "preferred" food by all of our 9 cats: 4 who live on our front screened in porch & 2 who live on our back screened in porch. Each evening the bowls that are filled with the Royal Canin Calm every morning are empty! So my husband and I now share and thoroughly enjoy the company of calm/peaceful cats - who love their food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Cat! I was about to euthanize my cat for terrorizing the household. Humans, dogs, and furniture alike. I have been feeding it for over a year now and she is a new cat. We have a cat that we can enjoy again. She now sits and hangs out with us, and the dogs are no longer afraid for their lives! Before Calm no one ever knew we had a cat in the house, now she is happy to great visitors at the door.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food ever We have 8 cats and sometimes they chase on another. One of our cats licked all of her belly hair off and on all 4 paws chewed the hair off. One vet told us to rehouse her. After one month of being on the Calm food all of her hair returned and she is like a new cat. One of our ferrel cats that is now a house cat eats this food and he is so relaxed he lets you pet him and play with him
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kitty loves it My cat has been on this food for 2 years for urinary issues due to stress. He has not had any urinary issues since. He loves it and we love it too!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really worked well for the crazy cat Rock has been on it for a year and we quickly saw an immediate change in his anxiety based digging, scratching, biting and overall destructiveness. As a hand raised kitten who was actually raised by dog people, Rocky had issues trying to be both. Now he is a calm, relaxed 2year old who enjoys people and plays without becoming frantic and stressed.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it! ALL five of our cats really like Royal Canin Calm Cat Food. We first tried it to see if it would help our "scaredy cat" calm down, but all of the fur babies liked it so much we continued feeding it. We especially like that the pieces are small and easy to chew. Our cats range in age from 2 years to 18 years!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Notable difference for patient. I started my cat on this diet for stress related to increased cat traffic outside our house that had led to him urinating under the windows indoors. I had tried calming supplements but he would not eat them consistently. This diet is very palatable and eliminated the stress reduced behaviors.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has been effective I bought this on advice of a feline practitioner to try and help deal with some behavior issues I am having amongst my cats. It seems to have helped somewhat. I don't give it 5 stars only because it seems to lose a little on the palatability scale. Given a choice, they will eat their other dry food, which is not something I usually find with Royal Canin products.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Two Turkish Van Cats Ive been using this for a few months. The older female (3) gets stressed and jealous. The younger male (1) often wants to play when she does not. Both are sterilized but they are still active & alert cats. This food takes the edge off both of them and they get along better.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves the taste of this nutritional food! My cat was prescribed Royal Canin Calm dry cat food to help reduce his stress. He loves the taste of the food and begs for the food like it's a treat! I also noticed that this food has helped reduce his stress level. I'd highly recommend this Royal Canin brand!
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food Saved my Cat's LIFE! I have had my cat Toes on this food for 3 years now. Before giving it to her our house lived in fear of our feline friend. She attacked the dogs, destroyed my walls, and never purred. Feeding the food is easy and it has made a tremendous improvement. Toes now enjoys life. Every morning she sits purring with me while I have my coffee. I look forward to that time to enjoy her company. Toes has become a member of the family again. Thank you
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calm is Harmonious! We have been using this food for our 5 yr old Red Tabby Persian for over a year now. We all love it! Our Rory has stress issues and urinary issues otherwise. He is a happy boy! It is highly palatable as well.
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have my calm kitty back My cat was not eating and i'm losing weightdue to stress. This food was perfect for him he loves it , eats it well and he is much calmer and Happy once again! Thank you Royal Canin Love Wyatt and mom
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My New Marriage I was married in January and my ten year old cat and new hubby didn’t have a lot of time together prior to us all moving in together. My sweet cat (sweet to me) was highly agitated around hubby so our amazing veterinarian recommended Royal Canin Calming food! It worked magic, calmed my cats nerves, my nerves and saved my marriage (well, cats been around longer lol so couldn’t let him go) I thank you from the bottom of my heart
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful food My cat, Mister E, has now eaten this exclusively for about 3 years. He has yet to get partially blocked like he had before he started this food. Thank you so much for helping my cat!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love this!!! Our cats really like this food. The bites are small enough that it is easy for them to eat - especially for our older cat (21 years) . It also seems to help keep them "calm".
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love the calm food I placed my cat on it to help calm them down. It made the difference and kept him from being stressed. He became more friendly.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! This works really well. We are a multiple cat household and have had great results.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticed a difference I truly noticed a difference in my cat's attitude after starting this diet. My cat was prescribed this food for urinating outside the box, which my veterinarian deemed behavioral. It has really helped with her overall attitude, which I thought was just normal behaviors for her. She does continue to urinate outside the box, but very infrequently, which is a huge change for her.
Date published: 2016-05-10
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_3955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT