Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry cat food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Helps regulate intestinal transit
  • Royal Canin Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced cat food.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

Colonic Transit
An optimal blend of insoluble and soluble fiber helps maintain intestinal health.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/4 cup (26 g) 3/8 cup (33 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 3/8 cup (31 g) 3/8 cup (38 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 3/8 cup (35 g) 1/2 cup (44 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 3/8 cup (39 g) 1/2 cup (49 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 1/2 cup (43 g) 1/2 cup (53 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 1/2 cup (46 g) 5/8 cup (58 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1/2 cup (50 g) 5/8 cup (63 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 5/8 cup (57 g) 3/4 cup (71 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 5/8 cup (64 g) 7/8 cup (79 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 3/4 cup (70 g) 7/8 cup (87 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 3/4 cup (76 g) 1 cup (95 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 7/8 cup (82 g) 1 cup (102 g)
Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, corn, corn gluten meal, wheat gluten, psyllium seed husk, natural flavors, chicory, egg product, potassium chloride, fish oil, calcium sulfate, grain distillers dried yeast, fructooligosaccharides, DL-methionine, potassium phosphate, salt, vegetable oil, hydrolyzed yeast, choline chloride, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, riboflavin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], L-lysine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)29.0%
Crude Fat (min)13.0%
Crude Fiber (max)4.7%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3687 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 361 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry cat food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 239.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin Saved my Cat's Life I was first introduced to the Royal Canin GI Fiber Response diet when my cat Nikki stopped having bowel movements. It took three visits to the vet to get her cleaned out, manually. Needless to say this was very stressful for both Nikki and myself. I hated to see her so uncomfortable. It has been two years since Nikki's constipation issues started. She has been on this Royal Canin formula ever since and I have been jealous of her bowel movements with every litter box cleanup. She is spunky, regular, and healthy at nearly 20 years young. I truly believe this diet not only saved Nikki's life but it has improved her quality of life and given me more years to enjoy her companionship. Only the best for my Nikki kitty who was pulled from a dumpster at seven weeks old
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changer for my megacolon/obstipation kitty!! I'm an RVT. My cat was an orphaned kitten whom I bottle fed from the age of 2 weeks. He has had megacolon/obstipation issues since he was 3 weeks old. At the age of 3 years, he also experienced a urinary blockage. Around that same time, I discovered this food. It has been a game changer for us! My cat has been weaned off miralax, lactulose, and cisapride. With this food, he no longer needs the medications. He has not experienced a urinary blockage since starting this diet. This food has improved his quality of life 10 fold and he loves the taste too! I highly recommend it to all megacolon cat owners!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my kitten My kitten has mega colon and had constipation problems shortly after we got him at only a couple months old. After many enemas and vet visits it was suggested that we try Royal Canin high fiber food and it has made a huge difference. He still has occasional constipation but it is nothing like what he used to go through when he would just sit in the box and meow because he couldn't go poop. Now when he goes poop, he runs through the house all excited and happy!! He loves the food and his sister can eat it too. While the food is a little pricey, it is well worth it to save the money on vet visits and more importantly pain and suffering on the animals part. Thank you from my kitten and our family!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food works miracles I have a cat with mega colon and severe constipation. This food is the only thing that really helps his situation entirely. I have literally tried everything including pumpkin and Lactulose. All he needs is this fiber response dry food. I am writing the review to thank Royal Canin for making this miracle formula that treats mega colon. Thank you !! I don't know what I would do without it. He would be going to the Vet all the time for a "clean out". My veterinarian put my cat on this about 5 years ago. The only thing I don't like is some of the ingredients, but the alternative is worse. The main thing is, it Works!!
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than medication!! This diet has changed my cats life. At 6 months old she was diagnosed with constipation. A couple enemas later and bottles of lactulose she was pretty fed up. Then my Dr. Recommended the high fiber diet. She hasn't needed any medications since that day and is a happy normal kitty. Her sister can eat eat the food as well which was a huge relief.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works My cat had been on another Royal Canin food for his urinary tract, and after about a year of that he started throwing up almost daily. Since we still have to keep an eye on his urinary tract this food is appropriate for both of his problems. He only throws up about once a week, which I still think is a lot. His feces is larger than I have ever seen come from a cat and I do not love the main ingredients of this food, especially for the price. I am sticking with it because of the recent developments in my cats heath but I would much rather feed him a more natural cat food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life This product literally saved my cat's life. She has a condition called megacolon. We had kept her alive for about 10 years with this condition with a variety of medications including daily fiber and lactulose. However, all of these treatments suddenly stopped working. We were in the vet's office every other month so she could be "cleaned out" with an enema. This was no way to live. As the last ditch effort, our vet recommended the Fiber Response food. We mix it with her regular diet. She is off all meds and thriving. No more enemas!!
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my cat needs My cat Pretzel has mega colon and is eating this food exclusively although he has no teeth. He has no problem eating this dry food and chooses it despite the fact that he could go to other, canned foods that I feed my other cats. Along with his meds this is keeping this older boy going and in good health.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders!! Our cat suffers from chronic constipation, and after two enemas, a hospital stay, and fighting her every night to get her to take her laxative our vet recommended Royal Canin Fiber Response. It has been a life saver for us! She is SUPER picky with her food, so we were nervous she wouldn't even attempt to try this food. We offered her a piece from the bag and she immediately lit up and began begging for more! She now has normal bowel movements every day, and has so much more energy. Occasionally her bowel movements are quite large, but it doesn't seem to bother her. The only real critique I have for this food is that the main ingredients could stand to be a little healthier for the price. As far as the price goes.. if your cat suffers like mine, PLEASE ask your vet about this diet. Trust me, it's a small price to pay for your kitty's well being, and the vet bills that can add up quickly! * For our cat, one 8.8 pound bag usually lasts us about 12 weeks, maybe a couple days short of that. *
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been purchasing this food for almost 2 years now. I have 4 cats and they all love it, but the reason I buy it is for my kitty (Sampson) that has intestinal cancer. He was given only a year at most to survive, but here we are 2 years later and going strong. I swear it's the food! I have to mix it with a cheaper brand of food to make it stretch further for my budget, but they don't seem to mind. So I thank you and so does Sampson!!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved all of our problems My cats were having intestinal problems such as blood in their stool ect. I made several vet visits and had lots of test done with no clear diagnosis. What I did get was a prescription for this food. I don't know why, but it solved all of the problems. I have 4 cats and they all get this food. I will never take them off because the risk of the problems returning is a risk I am not willing to take. I just wish it came in a bigger bag!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Miracles 3 years ago my male cat was diagnosed with megacolon and my vet was suggesting a costly surgery to remove part of his colon. After getting a second opinion from a specialist and a nutritionist, he was prescribed Royal Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response in conjunction with medication and an OTC laxative and avoided the need for the surgery. After less than a year, he was off the medication and to this day, the food alone has regulated his system and he gets a clean bill of health at all his vet visits. He loves the food too!!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Picky cat LOVES this food I have a cat who has digestion issues (megacolon) and is also very picky about foods. This makes things difficult because I can't give her food she would love, because it may cause other digestion issues. This is the 3rd (or 4th) food I have had to switch her to because of her megacolon. She LOVES this food. When the box comes, she knows her food is in there before I even open the box. Her digestion issues are more under control now as well, which is a bonus for both of us!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miraculous!!! I took my Chopper to the vet once again because of his constant problem with constipation. Chopper was a butterball weighing in at 26 pounds. Anyways the vet did the usual and gave me a prescription for Lactulose which temporarily helps the situation but I needed something long term. While I was in the vets office they had samples of the Royal Canin Gastrointestinal so I grabbed two. I was shocked that Chopper actually liked it . Since it is a food that needs a prescription I went back to the vet and got it from the doctor. Since I've given it to him two weeks ago he has been as regular as possible and he's even lost a few pounds. This is the greatest stuff ever!! My Chopper is such a sweeti pie and has had problems with constipation his entire life, I really thought that his life was going to be cut short because of his condition but now I feel like he has a new lease on life.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Tummy Troubles My cat Blue has chronic constipation and has been on Royal canin fiber response food for 6 months now. After being hospitalized and given multiple enemas, i was so grateful to see that this food is helping him to use the bethroom regularly, and the best part is that he loves it! I attempted to mix fiber response with a less expensive brand of food also high in fiber to save money, and within 2 days, he was back at the vet unable to use the bathroom. This has taught me that this food is working and that the price i pay for the food is well worth it to avoid costly vet bills!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Veterinary Diet on the Market! Mandy, our 11 year old rescue kitty, has been on the dry and canned for probably 4 years due to irritable bowel. She is so much more comfortable, no diarrhea, no gas, and she is cleaner than before the diet. It also helps with our other cats when they have dietary upset for whatever reason.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference! I bought this product for my Persian after many failed attempts to help his uncontrollable diarrhea. Between a numerous amount of medications and changing food, this great diet finally worked! Milo now has no problems and looks forward to eating his GI Fiber Response everyday!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for digestive issues I've been feeding both my cats this food for about a year. My older cat, Jasper, who is 11, has had in the past couple of years chronic constipation. I've had to take him a few times to the vet to be evacuated. Not fun for Jasper or my wallet. This food had helped tremendously.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does what it is meant to do Max had chronic diarrhea and vomiting and was brought into our clinic for euthanasia since his owner passed and the family could not care for his needs. We tried many tricks, being a veterinary clinic but very little helped . Finally we have a clinic cat that is 90% better thanks to this food. If we stray even a little, the problem comes back. Thank you once again Royal Canin, your foods truly do what they are intended to do.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works amazing I'm a C.V.T. have a maine coon with mega colon. Nothing was working .on every med possible. Anemia's at work and home almost weekly. Couldn't get anyone to be able to medicate him. So always had to be around to give meds.. our Royal canin rep suggested fiber response. I didn't believe a food could work ...3 years later. No meds since first bag of food. And hasn't blocked since. It saved his life. He is 12 now..doing great...
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGHLY recommend I am a Registered Veterinary Technician and one of my own cats, Earl, was having issues with constipation. I was having to give him enemas at least two to three times a month. Our Royal Canin rep suggested I try this food. I was very skeptical because I had already tried medications and other diets that were expensive and did not help. I had been keeping a record of how often he was receiving enemas. The last enema he was given was June 26, 2016 and I started this food the following day. I am thrilled to say that he has not needed an enema since! This food saved his quality of life and my own sanity. Please, if your veterinarian is recommending this diet, give it a try! I am forever grateful for Royal Canin GI Fiber Response!
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results!! I have a cat with megacolon, so if he's constipated, that can end very badly. Ever since putting him on this diet, he's had zero constipation and he's back to his old self. I've been recommending Royal Canin products to ALL of my friends who have animals requiring a prescription diet! The results are just unbelievable.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food continues to save cats lives Thank you to the people who made this food. I adopted a cat who had been hit by a car and suffered a pelvic break and broken/pulled tail that required amputation. One of the side effects of the injury was severe constipation. I tried wet food mixed with pumkin, Fiber supplements, lactulose... nothing helped. He required enemas. But then the vet recommended this food. He has had perfect soft but formed marshmallow type poops ever since and needs no other digestive help. I call them marshmallow poops because they deflate after a bit of time. :P He would be on pain control because of the constipation too, (would even drool and twitch and chew at himself,) but now he no longer needs the pain control and he is fine. With what little poop pushing power he has he is able to do it with this food. Thank you. For those with cats with paralysis or mobility issues I recommend finding the group "cats with paralysis and mobility issues" on Facebook. Lots of support on there from people with paralyzed kitties. It doesn't have to be the end having a kitty with special needs... Just takes a little time and extra bit of love.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love That Fiber! This was recommended for one of my cats that would get diarrhea when he was stressed from the family going on vacation, moving into a new house, etc. I used to just put it down a few days before the stressful event but now I leave a bowl down all the time. It has been a miracle worker for my little guy.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food This was given to me by a friend that suggested it for my cats with IBD. My cats loved it and I have not had any loose stool or hairball issues since.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely awesome! My cat had idiopathic chronic constipation for all of her life and was starting to go to the bathroom on my couch. My cat was going maybe every 2-3 days. An internist (after many, many regular vet visits and no answers) suggested this food after making sure to check for any major physical problems and finding none. I bought this food, and after one day my cat was completely emptied out and has been going every day (sometimes multiple times) ever since! No blood or mucus in her stool anymore. Total life saver and I'm sure my cat appreciates it!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! One of my cats needs extra fiber to keep regular. Was recommended by our vet, it is expensive though.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderfully Out cat was vomiting a lot and this food really helps to keep things moving in the right direction!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediant Results My three year old Russian Blue, Milo had the runs every time he pooped for a few days. After taking him to the vet and having a fecal test come back negetive; I decided to change his diet to one for a sensitive system. My vet suggested the Fiber Response. It is rather expensive, but my Milo is worth it. One the first day he had diarrhea mixed with formed stool, and by the second day he had a big poop with formed stool! I am very happy with the fast results and I am going to use this product for a time when I wean him onto a sensitive diet by Royal Canine. The corn meal and corn gluten is what acts as thd fiber to stop kitty's from pooping. When kitty starts to feel better, give her a sensitive can of wet cat food for meat.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped save a life. Our cat has a problem called. Mega Colon. He has had it for several years. We have to go to the vet periodically for procedures because his colon is paralyzed, he can't go to the bathroom and gets stopped up. He can die because of this. His vet recommended this food about a year ago explaining it was newer and was helping lots of pets. He has not had any issues since then. I have heard from many other pet owners who have the same story as me. This food is a God send for us. It changed his life and ours.
Date published: 2017-05-05
  • y_2018, m_6, d_23, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_229
  • loc_en_US, sid_484288, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT