Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry cat food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Helps regulate intestinal transit
  • Royal Canin Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is a highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced cat food.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

Colonic Transit
An optimal blend of insoluble and soluble fiber helps maintain intestinal health.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/4 cup (26 g) 3/8 cup (33 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 3/8 cup (31 g) 3/8 cup (38 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 3/8 cup (35 g) 1/2 cup (44 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 3/8 cup (39 g) 1/2 cup (49 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 1/2 cup (43 g) 1/2 cup (53 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 1/2 cup (46 g) 5/8 cup (58 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 1/2 cup (50 g) 5/8 cup (63 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 5/8 cup (57 g) 3/4 cup (71 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 5/8 cup (64 g) 7/8 cup (79 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 3/4 cup (70 g) 7/8 cup (87 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 3/4 cup (76 g) 1 cup (95 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 7/8 cup (82 g) 1 cup (102 g)
Gastrointestinal Fiber Response is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, corn, corn gluten meal, wheat gluten, psyllium seed husk, natural flavors, chicory, egg product, potassium chloride, fish oil, calcium sulfate, grain distillers dried yeast, fructooligosaccharides, DL-methionine, potassium phosphate, salt, vegetable oil, hydrolyzed yeast, choline chloride, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, riboflavin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], L-lysine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)29.0%
Crude Fat (min)13.0%
Crude Fiber (max)4.7%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3687 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 361 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Gastrointestinal Fiber Response dry cat food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 339.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He loves it! My one cat has had chronic, liquid diarrhea for quite some time now. We tried different medications and probiotics, but nothing completely cleared it. We were reluctant to change his diet for fear of causing more of a GI upset, but nothing else was working & we could tell he was miserable :( We live in a small apartment with very few rooms with doors so we were concerned that having to feed yet another cat separately (we have a diabetic as well on a specialized diet) would be challenging, but it hasn't been. Once he was completely onto the RC Fiber diet (dry & can) the diarrhea cleared up! There's been no more "explosions" and we have our happy boy back!
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my kitten My kitten has mega colon and had constipation problems shortly after we got him at only a couple months old. After many enemas and vet visits it was suggested that we try Royal Canin high fiber food and it has made a huge difference. He still has occasional constipation but it is nothing like what he used to go through when he would just sit in the box and meow because he couldn't go poop. Now when he goes poop, he runs through the house all excited and happy!! He loves the food and his sister can eat it too. While the food is a little pricey, it is well worth it to save the money on vet visits and more importantly pain and suffering on the animals part. Thank you from my kitten and our family!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changer for my megacolon/obstipation kitty!! I'm an RVT. My cat was an orphaned kitten whom I bottle fed from the age of 2 weeks. He has had megacolon/obstipation issues since he was 3 weeks old. At the age of 3 years, he also experienced a urinary blockage. Around that same time, I discovered this food. It has been a game changer for us! My cat has been weaned off miralax, lactulose, and cisapride. With this food, he no longer needs the medications. He has not experienced a urinary blockage since starting this diet. This food has improved his quality of life 10 fold and he loves the taste too! I highly recommend it to all megacolon cat owners!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food! My now 2 year old cat was taken away from her mother before receiving all the colostrum she needed, so she would have incessant diarrhea and gas terrible enough to clear out a room since I adopted her as a kitten. Several fecal analyses and smears showed nothing. But all became well after a Royal Canin representative told me about this food! My cat has not had any diarrhea since! She now only produces noxious gas when I feed her too many treats of a different brand (but now Royal Canin has come out with feline gastrointestinal treats that I cannot wait to try!). I am so grateful for this food, and I am sure my cat is happy to have a stool consistency that does not make her yowl when trying to poop. I HIGHLY recommend this food if your cat is in a similar position.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than medication!! This diet has changed my cats life. At 6 months old she was diagnosed with constipation. A couple enemas later and bottles of lactulose she was pretty fed up. Then my Dr. Recommended the high fiber diet. She hasn't needed any medications since that day and is a happy normal kitty. Her sister can eat eat the food as well which was a huge relief.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders!! Our cat suffers from chronic constipation, and after two enemas, a hospital stay, and fighting her every night to get her to take her laxative our vet recommended Royal Canin Fiber Response. It has been a life saver for us! She is SUPER picky with her food, so we were nervous she wouldn't even attempt to try this food. We offered her a piece from the bag and she immediately lit up and began begging for more! She now has normal bowel movements every day, and has so much more energy. Occasionally her bowel movements are quite large, but it doesn't seem to bother her. The only real critique I have for this food is that the main ingredients could stand to be a little healthier for the price. As far as the price goes.. if your cat suffers like mine, PLEASE ask your vet about this diet. Trust me, it's a small price to pay for your kitty's well being, and the vet bills that can add up quickly! * For our cat, one 8.8 pound bag usually lasts us about 12 weeks, maybe a couple days short of that. *
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food is a lifesaver I have 4 cats, and one of them suffers from chronic constipation. After multiple trips to the vet for enemas and manual extraction, she was diagnosed with mega colon. After being put on Cisapride twice a day before she eats, I decided to give this dry food a try. I could not be happier! All of my cats eat this same food, and they all, including my kitty with mega colon, have healthy bowel movements every day. And as a perk, there have not been any puking on this food either. All kitties are happy and healthy, and no more emergency trips to the vet. It is totally worth the price of your cat suffers from constipation.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works My cat had been on another Royal Canin food for his urinary tract, and after about a year of that he started throwing up almost daily. Since we still have to keep an eye on his urinary tract this food is appropriate for both of his problems. He only throws up about once a week, which I still think is a lot. His feces is larger than I have ever seen come from a cat and I do not love the main ingredients of this food, especially for the price. I am sticking with it because of the recent developments in my cats heath but I would much rather feed him a more natural cat food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGHLY recommend I am a Registered Veterinary Technician and one of my own cats, Earl, was having issues with constipation. I was having to give him enemas at least two to three times a month. Our Royal Canin rep suggested I try this food. I was very skeptical because I had already tried medications and other diets that were expensive and did not help. I had been keeping a record of how often he was receiving enemas. The last enema he was given was June 26, 2016 and I started this food the following day. I am thrilled to say that he has not needed an enema since! This food saved his quality of life and my own sanity. Please, if your veterinarian is recommending this diet, give it a try! I am forever grateful for Royal Canin GI Fiber Response!
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life This product literally saved my cat's life. She has a condition called megacolon. We had kept her alive for about 10 years with this condition with a variety of medications including daily fiber and lactulose. However, all of these treatments suddenly stopped working. We were in the vet's office every other month so she could be "cleaned out" with an enema. This was no way to live. As the last ditch effort, our vet recommended the Fiber Response food. We mix it with her regular diet. She is off all meds and thriving. No more enemas!!
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been purchasing this food for almost 2 years now. I have 4 cats and they all love it, but the reason I buy it is for my kitty (Sampson) that has intestinal cancer. He was given only a year at most to survive, but here we are 2 years later and going strong. I swear it's the food! I have to mix it with a cheaper brand of food to make it stretch further for my budget, but they don't seem to mind. So I thank you and so does Sampson!!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Tummy Troubles My cat Blue has chronic constipation and has been on Royal canin fiber response food for 6 months now. After being hospitalized and given multiple enemas, i was so grateful to see that this food is helping him to use the bethroom regularly, and the best part is that he loves it! I attempted to mix fiber response with a less expensive brand of food also high in fiber to save money, and within 2 days, he was back at the vet unable to use the bathroom. This has taught me that this food is working and that the price i pay for the food is well worth it to avoid costly vet bills!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my cat needs My cat Pretzel has mega colon and is eating this food exclusively although he has no teeth. He has no problem eating this dry food and chooses it despite the fact that he could go to other, canned foods that I feed my other cats. Along with his meds this is keeping this older boy going and in good health.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have been using this for many years and it was amazing for my cat, HOWEVER, they seem to have changed the formula! Bogart had very healthy stools and now, the last bag I purchased, his stool is now pellets again. And because of that, his stress disorder has reappeared from the change in "diet". Please go back to the old formula or the old suppliers! I know because it happened to himtwo bags ago, then I purchased a bag from a different pet store and his stool went back to normal and now its not good anymore, since the flood at the factory. Very disappointing!
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for digestive issues I've been feeding both my cats this food for about a year. My older cat, Jasper, who is 11, has had in the past couple of years chronic constipation. I've had to take him a few times to the vet to be evacuated. Not fun for Jasper or my wallet. This food had helped tremendously.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference! I bought this product for my Persian after many failed attempts to help his uncontrollable diarrhea. Between a numerous amount of medications and changing food, this great diet finally worked! Milo now has no problems and looks forward to eating his GI Fiber Response everyday!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miraculous!!! I took my Chopper to the vet once again because of his constant problem with constipation. Chopper was a butterball weighing in at 26 pounds. Anyways the vet did the usual and gave me a prescription for Lactulose which temporarily helps the situation but I needed something long term. While I was in the vets office they had samples of the Royal Canin Gastrointestinal so I grabbed two. I was shocked that Chopper actually liked it . Since it is a food that needs a prescription I went back to the vet and got it from the doctor. Since I've given it to him two weeks ago he has been as regular as possible and he's even lost a few pounds. This is the greatest stuff ever!! My Chopper is such a sweeti pie and has had problems with constipation his entire life, I really thought that his life was going to be cut short because of his condition but now I feel like he has a new lease on life.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It works but at what cost? Feline Gastrointestinal Fiber Response helps with mega colon, but the ingredients list includes brewers rice as the first ingredient not chicken. chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, corn, corn gluten meal, wheat gluten all low quality ingredients and unnecessary grains and fillers cats dont need things I would expect in a $5 dollar bag of friskas not a $40 dollar bag of food.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved all of our problems My cats were having intestinal problems such as blood in their stool ect. I made several vet visits and had lots of test done with no clear diagnosis. What I did get was a prescription for this food. I don't know why, but it solved all of the problems. I have 4 cats and they all get this food. I will never take them off because the risk of the problems returning is a risk I am not willing to take. I just wish it came in a bigger bag!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Veterinary Diet on the Market! Mandy, our 11 year old rescue kitty, has been on the dry and canned for probably 4 years due to irritable bowel. She is so much more comfortable, no diarrhea, no gas, and she is cleaner than before the diet. It also helps with our other cats when they have dietary upset for whatever reason.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food continues to save cats lives Thank you to the people who made this food. I adopted a cat who had been hit by a car and suffered a pelvic break and broken/pulled tail that required amputation. One of the side effects of the injury was severe constipation. I tried wet food mixed with pumkin, Fiber supplements, lactulose... nothing helped. He required enemas. But then the vet recommended this food. He has had perfect soft but formed marshmallow type poops ever since and needs no other digestive help. I call them marshmallow poops because they deflate after a bit of time. :P He would be on pain control because of the constipation too, (would even drool and twitch and chew at himself,) but now he no longer needs the pain control and he is fine. With what little poop pushing power he has he is able to do it with this food. Thank you. For those with cats with paralysis or mobility issues I recommend finding the group "cats with paralysis and mobility issues" on Facebook. Lots of support on there from people with paralyzed kitties. It doesn't have to be the end having a kitty with special needs... Just takes a little time and extra bit of love.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Miracles 3 years ago my male cat was diagnosed with megacolon and my vet was suggesting a costly surgery to remove part of his colon. After getting a second opinion from a specialist and a nutritionist, he was prescribed Royal Canine Gastrointestinal Fiber Response in conjunction with medication and an OTC laxative and avoided the need for the surgery. After less than a year, he was off the medication and to this day, the food alone has regulated his system and he gets a clean bill of health at all his vet visits. He loves the food too!!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Picky cat LOVES this food I have a cat who has digestion issues (megacolon) and is also very picky about foods. This makes things difficult because I can't give her food she would love, because it may cause other digestion issues. This is the 3rd (or 4th) food I have had to switch her to because of her megacolon. She LOVES this food. When the box comes, she knows her food is in there before I even open the box. Her digestion issues are more under control now as well, which is a bonus for both of us!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it is supposed to I bought this food a couple of months ago for my cat that has chronic constipation, to the severity where enemas were not even working. My vet started her on Cisapride, and I asked if I could switch her to this food to make sure she stays regular. Well, this food is now being fed to all 4 of my cats, and I have never seen such healthy bowl movements! I was able to lower the dosage of Cisapride, and this food has kept my sweet girl very regular. And all my cats eat it as a preventative to constipation, and they all love the taste. I highly recommend this for any cat owner dealing with any form of constipation in their cat. It is a life changer and you won't regret it!
Date published: 2018-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love That Fiber! This was recommended for one of my cats that would get diarrhea when he was stressed from the family going on vacation, moving into a new house, etc. I used to just put it down a few days before the stressful event but now I leave a bowl down all the time. It has been a miracle worker for my little guy.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food This was given to me by a friend that suggested it for my cats with IBD. My cats loved it and I have not had any loose stool or hairball issues since.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does what it is meant to do Max had chronic diarrhea and vomiting and was brought into our clinic for euthanasia since his owner passed and the family could not care for his needs. We tried many tricks, being a veterinary clinic but very little helped . Finally we have a clinic cat that is 90% better thanks to this food. If we stray even a little, the problem comes back. Thank you once again Royal Canin, your foods truly do what they are intended to do.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works amazing I'm a C.V.T. have a maine coon with mega colon. Nothing was working .on every med possible. Anemia's at work and home almost weekly. Couldn't get anyone to be able to medicate him. So always had to be around to give meds.. our Royal canin rep suggested fiber response. I didn't believe a food could work ...3 years later. No meds since first bag of food. And hasn't blocked since. It saved his life. He is 12 now..doing great...
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results!! I have a cat with megacolon, so if he's constipated, that can end very badly. Ever since putting him on this diet, he's had zero constipation and he's back to his old self. I've been recommending Royal Canin products to ALL of my friends who have animals requiring a prescription diet! The results are just unbelievable.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life! After 14 months of gastrointestinal problems, visits to two vets, expensive tests and several changes in medications and foods, my trusted vet suggested that I consider putting my little Annabelle down to save us both from the agony we had been going through. When I could not bear to make that decision without giving her one more chance, I drove a distance to a vet who specialized in cat care. That vet prescribed Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Fiber Response food, and I could not believe the difference it made in Annabelle's life! She is now a happy and playful and loving young cat. Thank you Royal Canin for giving my sweet cat a second chance and for literally saving her life!
Date published: 2018-11-03
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_327
  • loc_en_US, sid_484288, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT