Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Gastrointestinal High Energy dry cat food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • High energy content helps reduce intestinal load
  • Royal Canin Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Gastrointestinal High Energy is a high energy, highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced cat food.

In the event this product is Out of Stock, please see alternative diet recommendations below: *Diet selection should be based on patient assessment. Alternative diets may not be as efficacious as the primary recommendation. Patient response may vary, so equivalent results may not be achieved with diet alternatives. Patient monitoring and diet transitions are recommended.*
Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

High Energy
A high energy content allows a reduction in meal volume (31% less than Feline Gastrointestinal Moderate Calorie dry) and a decreased intestinal load.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/4 cup (25 g) 1/4 cup (31 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 1/4 cup (29 g) 3/8 cup (37 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 1/4 cup (33 g) 3/8 cup (42 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 3/8 cup (37 g) 3/8 cup (47 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 3/8 cup (41 g) 1/2 cup (51 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 3/8 cup (45 g) 1/2 cup (56 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 3/8 cup (48 g) 1/2 cup (60 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 1/2 cup (55 g) 5/8 cup (68 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 1/2 cup (61 g) 5/8 cup (76 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 5/8 cup (67 g) 3/4 cup (84 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 5/8 cup (73 g) 7/8 cup (91 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 3/4 cup (79 g) 7/8 cup (98 g)

Recommended Daily Feeding Portion for Feline Growth
Target Adult Weight
Kitten Age 6 lb (2.7 kg) 11 lb (5 kg)
3 months 1/2 cup (53 g) 5/8 cup (72 g)
6 months 1/2 cup (53 g) 3/4 cup (80 g)
9 months 3/8 cup (48 g) 5/8 cup (69 g)
12 months 3/8 cup (42 g) 1/2 cup (60 g)
Gastrointestinal High Energy is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, brown rice, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, wheat gluten, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, egg product, dried plain beet pulp, potassium chloride, fish oil, sodium silico aluminate, grain distillers dried yeast, calcium sulfate, sodium bisulfate, DL-methionine, psyllium seed husk, salt, fructooligosaccharides, monosodium phosphate, vegetable oil, hydrolyzed yeast, taurine, choline chloride, L-lysine, magnesium oxide, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)30.0%
Crude Fat (min)20.0%
Crude Fiber (max)7.0%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.09%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3904 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 441 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Gastrointestinal High Energy dry cat food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powderpuff Persians approved! This prescribed food has helped one of my cats that experiences IBS. He hasn't been so content in a very long time. I have it on auto ship because when my cats are happy, I'm happy!
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Home Run I have a (now) 21 year old kitty who had major constipation problems for several years. We started him on lactulose 3 or 4 years ago which helped some but only produce a partial stool about every 3 or 4 days. Eventually we would have to take him to the vet for an enigma to get cleaned out. The vet had us switch to miralax which helped and was much easier for the cat to tolerate (no taste and not sticky) and that also helped some (about doubling his output, but still not normal). During a subsequent visit, a newer vet suggested trying the Royal Canin Gastointestinal food. I was skeptical. The has only ever eaten dry food and is very picky. We tried a bag and he loved it. Within 2 weeks he started producing normal stools and they are at intervals of about 1 stool every other day. Much more regular than he has been in years. Royal Canin is a home run!
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life! My cat developed massive diarrhea, hundreds of dollars later at the vet, we started her in this diet and she is loving it, putting on weight and her diarrhea is finally gone! Love it!
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I work at a vet's office and bought this at the recommendation of one of the vet's. My cat has had IBD for the last couple of years and it has been difficult finding a diet that doesn't aggravate his condition and is palatable. We switched to Royal Canin's Gastrointestinal HE line and have seen a difference. He still has to be on meds for his IBD, but the food is the only thing he can eat and keep down, plus he likes it. I'm very satisfied with this product!
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cured my cat's problem, and the rest love it! The original cat for whom this was prescribed was having a GI tract problem, and this food cured it. My diabetic kitty also eats it in between times for his canned formula of this food in the morning and at night. The other seven kitties in my family love it, too, and I just can't keep their bowls filled, especially the one in the kitchen. Have to fill it at least three times per day! But I want it in a larger bag for my cats so it will be more affordable.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! My Rag doll was losing weight. He had bowel issues, was lethargic, his coat was dull. This food is amazing!! He has no more bowel issues, he has so much energy, is gaining his weight back, and his coat is superb. I really thought I was going to lose him with all of his prior issues. He is now my youthful nine year old buddy. I also mix the canned version of the same food and he is very pleased. As am I. Thank you so much!!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stomach issues This product has been great as it covers several of my cats issues. No more vomiting or diarehhea
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing! I bought this food a couple of months ago after my veterinarian recommended it after seeing a photo of my cats bowl movement. I have been fighting this issue with my Persian since a kitten and she is 13 years old today. I have tried a few different foods and been given metrodizole but still no luck until this food! This product has not only been life changing for my cat and for me but she even seems happier and healthier. I have not had any issues with her BM's since I have switched. I just wish I would have started this food a lot sooner!!!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! My cat has never felt better after I started feeding her Royal Canin.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results! I started my sweet kitty on this diet that was recommended by my veterinarian TWO days ago. My cat has digestive issues that make his BM's anything but solid. With that, he rarely could make it to the litter box. After 2 days on this new diet, we have a normal BM and it's in the cat box! It is AMAZING how quickly this diet has turned my cats digestive system into a fully functioning and happy digestive track! If your cat is suffering from gastrointestinal issues, this veterinarian approved diet will do wonders for your household!
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy on stomach we purchased this when both our young kittens started having bowel and vomiting issues...it stopped both problems within a wk. we used probiotics too for the vomiting.. the diarrhea had to be controlled with medicine but after getting on this product our problems were better. we are back on regular royal canin for kittens now. love this foid!
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! My 10 year old cat recently had surgery to fix a blockage in her intestine. After surgery she would not eat and my vet recommended the Gastrointestinal diet. This is the only cat food she would eat and is back to eating normally again. Since my cat liked the food so much I've decided to make this her regular food.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it This is very palatable so even very fussy cats dive right in. It's calorie dense, so a cat with a poor appetite doesn't have to take in such a large portion. My geriatric cat with intestinal cancer did well on this food for longer than I thought possible, with noticeably less stomach upset or weight loss.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only diet that helps my sensitive gut cat Adopted my cat seven years ago from a rescue as a kitten. Although he was growing well, his stool was always loose. Fecal exams, bloodwork and PCR panel all negative, no response to meds or dewormers or pre and probiotics. This food alone is the only one that results in normal stool for him and he has been eating it for his entire life. When I couldn't get this food last summer after the data breach, no other presciption diet kept him symptom free. We were so happy when it became regularly available again.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat love's it. My cat did not do well on any of the foods I had used for my other cats in the past. He would have loose stools. My vet recommended the Feline Gastrointrstinal High Energy and it worked wonders. TJ loves it and it has taken care of the previous problems.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This brand is a great product! I have been feeding all of my dogs and cats Royal Canin diets since being introduced to them 2006. My pets love the food and it has kept them all healthy. Thanks Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain in recovering cat My little Chinchilla Persian was diagnosed with serious liver disease, and had dropped from 2.9kg to 2.2kg and not eating. Vet fitted an o-tube, and I was feeding RC instant convalescence through the tube, which was maintaining a small gain but she was eating very little on her own. Within a week of trying this product, she was up to 2.6kg! We have now removed the tube, and she is eating happily and is active and playful. The food smells great and she needed no encouragement to eat it.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both kitties love it! So, I'm new to owning cats and decided to adopt 2 this year. I love them both dearly, but with over the counter pet food they had the stinkiest kitty farts!! My veterinarian recommended this GI friendly food and said it had a lot of health benefits; including enough nutrition to support growth, good for teeth, and will help keep their GI tract happy. It works great and they both love it! I also have my dog on a dental diet offered by Royal Canin. My fur kids get nothing but the best!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver My vet recommended this for my cat Stymie. I have been feeding him this for approximately 2 yrs now. The vet tried him with 2 other treatments before prescribing this one for him. I literally almost lost him 2 times due to him digestive disorder. I am overwhelmed with joy to my vet and Royal Cabin for saving his life! Words really cannot express my gratitude! I was so worried that he would not eat it at first...boy, was I wrong! He loves it! It is the only dry food that he can eat and that I buy for him. Since it is a vet prescribed food I never see any kind of coupon or discount offers. I spend close to $50 every 6 weeks...well worth it, but I really can use some type of savings as I am on an extremely tight budget. Please let me know of any/all offers you may offer. Thank you again for saving his life!
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding product nothing like it I bought this over 3 months ago, my tabby was suffering from sever constiptation from being on md prescription science diet. this changed his life.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best for my sensitive Bengal. I've tried other foods, but this is the only one that doesn't give my Bengal diarrhea. He has a great looking coat and plenty of energy.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cat Loves It !!! This is the only cat food that agrees with Naboo's delicate gastrointestinal system. It has been very beneficial to both Naboo and us.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gi and urinary index! Have 2 of my 3 cats are on this food. One has gi issues, the other urinary. Fingers crossed because it is working great for both!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved cat’s constipation issues, so far My six year old 23 pound cat has had constipation and blockage issues since reaching adulthood. After having to endure several trips to the vet and having to be admitted on several occasions for enemas and treatment in past years, he is finally having normal bowl movments thanks to this dry food. It’s been only 1 week since I started him on this diet so maybe more time will be needed to give a proper review but so far so good. I was giving him miralax with his wet food and pumpkin with his dry food but never seemed to get his digestive issues to improve enough until now. The miralax caused his stool to be very much like play dough in consistency and he struggled in the litter box all the time. Since starting him on this dry food I’ve noticed he drinks much more without my encouragement and his stool is ideal according to the stool chart at my vet. I still put a little canned pumpkin with his wet food that he has twice daily and leave dry food out all the time (watch out, my dog loves sneaking the dry cat food any chance she gets. Must taste appealing to dogs also?). I hope this review is helpful to anyone experiencing similar feline constipation issues with their pet and will follow up in a few weeks to review this dry food again with more long term information. Good luck with your pet.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver I adopted a beautiful Ragdoll when my best friend passed away. She was very sick with constant vomiting and bowel issues. After much research I tried Royal Canin gastrointestinal HE and to my wonder I had a new cat. A year later after many Vet visits I decided to read through her medical records from Cape Cod where she came from. To my surprise the Vet had suggested Royal Canjn at six weeks old. WOW!
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver I have a rescue kitten who has very bad tummy trouble. After trying every food that is easy on the digestive system with no luck, I tried Royal Canin. This food is a life saver! Not only did it make her feel better, she loves the taste! But that's not all! My other two rescues love the taste, so every kitty in our house gets Royal Canin. I really don't know what I would do without it.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is magic! My kitty had some pretty bad gastrointestinal issues after operation. She wouldn't eat and the site in her litter was horrible (sorry, no more grapics) I was afraid, didn't know what to give her. So I started to feed her Royal Canin gastrointestinal dry cat food with lots of water. Despite the amount of antibiotics my kitty had to take, sho got a lot better really quickly. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!! My 5 year old cat was throwing up very frequently. After he threw up some blood, my vet gave him some medication for a week and switched him to this wonderful food. He has been on the Gastrointestinal High Energy diet for almost 2 months and is doing GREAT!! He is a somewhat finicky eater, but LOVES both the dry and canned versions. Thank you Royal Canin!!
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only product that worked One of the cats in our rescue has pancreatic enzyme insufficiency and had chronic diarrhea for 2 years. Our vet consulted with a vet a Royal Canin and they recommended the Gastointestinal High Energy for her. Within a week the stools were normal and she's been fine ever since. She was able to be adopted and is thriving. What a great product!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect For All! We have 2 older cats who required this food and they did absolutely amazing. Our veterinarian recommended it and when we added 3 kittens to our family, she told us they could benefit from it too. That was more than 4 years ago and though we've lost our older kitties to old age, our then kittens and now cats are THRIVING on it.
Date published: 2018-10-02
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_484088, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT