Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Gastrointestinal High Energy dry cat food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • High energy content helps reduce intestinal load
  • Royal Canin Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Gastrointestinal High Energy is a high energy, highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced cat food.

In the event this product is Out of Stock, please see alternative diet recommendations below: *Diet selection should be based on patient assessment. Alternative diets may not be as efficacious as the primary recommendation. Patient response may vary, so equivalent results may not be achieved with diet alternatives. Patient monitoring and diet transitions are recommended.*
Where to Buy
Product Information

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

High Energy
A high energy content allows a reduction in meal volume (31% less than Feline Gastrointestinal Moderate Calorie dry) and a decreased intestinal load.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/4 cup (25 g) 1/4 cup (31 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 1/4 cup (29 g) 3/8 cup (37 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 1/4 cup (33 g) 3/8 cup (42 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 3/8 cup (37 g) 3/8 cup (47 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 3/8 cup (41 g) 1/2 cup (51 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 3/8 cup (45 g) 1/2 cup (56 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 3/8 cup (48 g) 1/2 cup (60 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 1/2 cup (55 g) 5/8 cup (68 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 1/2 cup (61 g) 5/8 cup (76 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 5/8 cup (67 g) 3/4 cup (84 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 5/8 cup (73 g) 7/8 cup (91 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 3/4 cup (79 g) 7/8 cup (98 g)

Recommended Daily Feeding Portion for Feline Growth
Target Adult Weight
Kitten Age 6 lb (2.7 kg) 11 lb (5 kg)
3 months 1/2 cup (53 g) 5/8 cup (72 g)
6 months 1/2 cup (53 g) 3/4 cup (80 g)
9 months 3/8 cup (48 g) 5/8 cup (69 g)
12 months 3/8 cup (42 g) 1/2 cup (60 g)
Gastrointestinal High Energy is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

Chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, brown rice, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, wheat gluten, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, egg product, dried plain beet pulp, potassium chloride, fish oil, sodium silico aluminate, grain distillers dried yeast, calcium sulfate, sodium bisulfate, DL-methionine, psyllium seed husk, salt, fructooligosaccharides, monosodium phosphate, vegetable oil, hydrolyzed yeast, taurine, choline chloride, L-lysine, magnesium oxide, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)30.0%
Crude Fat (min)20.0%
Crude Fiber (max)7.0%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.09%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3904 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 441 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Gastrointestinal High Energy dry cat food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cured my cat's problem, and the rest love it! The original cat for whom this was prescribed was having a GI tract problem, and this food cured it. My diabetic kitty also eats it in between times for his canned formula of this food in the morning and at night. The other seven kitties in my family love it, too, and I just can't keep their bowls filled, especially the one in the kitchen. Have to fill it at least three times per day! But I want it in a larger bag for my cats so it will be more affordable.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on the tummy! Morris and Hope started this diet several months ago after having issues with vomiting. They have done extremely well since starting. They love the taste of it and I love the response that we've seen since switching.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! My Rag doll was losing weight. He had bowel issues, was lethargic, his coat was dull. This food is amazing!! He has no more bowel issues, he has so much energy, is gaining his weight back, and his coat is superb. I really thought I was going to lose him with all of his prior issues. He is now my youthful nine year old buddy. I also mix the canned version of the same food and he is very pleased. As am I. Thank you so much!!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stomach issues This product has been great as it covers several of my cats issues. No more vomiting or diarehhea
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Cats with IBS One of the cats (Hayden) has horrible IBS. It took forever to find a food that would give him some kind of real stool. Poor guy was miserable, he would cry while and after going potty. His butt was raw from diarrhea all the time. He was miserable!! Well I tried Royal Canin Gastrointestinal High Energy and after being on it for three months he finally had some sort of form to his stool. This has worked miracles. He's been on it for well over a year and his coat is softer, his personality is better, and he no longer cries in pain.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results! I started my sweet kitty on this diet that was recommended by my veterinarian TWO days ago. My cat has digestive issues that make his BM's anything but solid. With that, he rarely could make it to the litter box. After 2 days on this new diet, we have a normal BM and it's in the cat box! It is AMAZING how quickly this diet has turned my cats digestive system into a fully functioning and happy digestive track! If your cat is suffering from gastrointestinal issues, this veterinarian approved diet will do wonders for your household!
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy on stomach we purchased this when both our young kittens started having bowel and vomiting stopped both problems within a wk. we used probiotics too for the vomiting.. the diarrhea had to be controlled with medicine but after getting on this product our problems were better. we are back on regular royal canin for kittens now. love this foid!
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! My 10 year old cat recently had surgery to fix a blockage in her intestine. After surgery she would not eat and my vet recommended the Gastrointestinal diet. This is the only cat food she would eat and is back to eating normally again. Since my cat liked the food so much I've decided to make this her regular food.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it This is very palatable so even very fussy cats dive right in. It's calorie dense, so a cat with a poor appetite doesn't have to take in such a large portion. My geriatric cat with intestinal cancer did well on this food for longer than I thought possible, with noticeably less stomach upset or weight loss.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat love's it. My cat did not do well on any of the foods I had used for my other cats in the past. He would have loose stools. My vet recommended the Feline Gastrointrstinal High Energy and it worked wonders. TJ loves it and it has taken care of the previous problems.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This brand is a great product! I have been feeding all of my dogs and cats Royal Canin diets since being introduced to them 2006. My pets love the food and it has kept them all healthy. Thanks Royal Canin!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain in recovering cat My little Chinchilla Persian was diagnosed with serious liver disease, and had dropped from 2.9kg to 2.2kg and not eating. Vet fitted an o-tube, and I was feeding RC instant convalescence through the tube, which was maintaining a small gain but she was eating very little on her own. Within a week of trying this product, she was up to 2.6kg! We have now removed the tube, and she is eating happily and is active and playful. The food smells great and she needed no encouragement to eat it.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powderpuff Persians approved! This prescribed food has helped one of my cats that experiences IBS. He hasn't been so content in a very long time. I have it on auto ship because when my cats are happy, I'm happy!
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life! My cat developed massive diarrhea, hundreds of dollars later at the vet, we started her in this diet and she is loving it, putting on weight and her diarrhea is finally gone! Love it!
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both kitties love it! So, I'm new to owning cats and decided to adopt 2 this year. I love them both dearly, but with over the counter pet food they had the stinkiest kitty farts!! My veterinarian recommended this GI friendly food and said it had a lot of health benefits; including enough nutrition to support growth, good for teeth, and will help keep their GI tract happy. It works great and they both love it! I also have my dog on a dental diet offered by Royal Canin. My fur kids get nothing but the best!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver My vet recommended this for my cat Stymie. I have been feeding him this for approximately 2 yrs now. The vet tried him with 2 other treatments before prescribing this one for him. I literally almost lost him 2 times due to him digestive disorder. I am overwhelmed with joy to my vet and Royal Cabin for saving his life! Words really cannot express my gratitude! I was so worried that he would not eat it at first...boy, was I wrong! He loves it! It is the only dry food that he can eat and that I buy for him. Since it is a vet prescribed food I never see any kind of coupon or discount offers. I spend close to $50 every 6 weeks...well worth it, but I really can use some type of savings as I am on an extremely tight budget. Please let me know of any/all offers you may offer. Thank you again for saving his life!
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding product nothing like it I bought this over 3 months ago, my tabby was suffering from sever constiptation from being on md prescription science diet. this changed his life.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best for my sensitive Bengal. I've tried other foods, but this is the only one that doesn't give my Bengal diarrhea. He has a great looking coat and plenty of energy.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cat Loves It !!! This is the only cat food that agrees with Naboo's delicate gastrointestinal system. It has been very beneficial to both Naboo and us.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gi and urinary index! Have 2 of my 3 cats are on this food. One has gi issues, the other urinary. Fingers crossed because it is working great for both!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! My cat has never felt better after I started feeding her Royal Canin.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved cat’s constipation issues, so far My six year old 23 pound cat has had constipation and blockage issues since reaching adulthood. After having to endure several trips to the vet and having to be admitted on several occasions for enemas and treatment in past years, he is finally having normal bowl movments thanks to this dry food. It’s been only 1 week since I started him on this diet so maybe more time will be needed to give a proper review but so far so good. I was giving him miralax with his wet food and pumpkin with his dry food but never seemed to get his digestive issues to improve enough until now. The miralax caused his stool to be very much like play dough in consistency and he struggled in the litter box all the time. Since starting him on this dry food I’ve noticed he drinks much more without my encouragement and his stool is ideal according to the stool chart at my vet. I still put a little canned pumpkin with his wet food that he has twice daily and leave dry food out all the time (watch out, my dog loves sneaking the dry cat food any chance she gets. Must taste appealing to dogs also?). I hope this review is helpful to anyone experiencing similar feline constipation issues with their pet and will follow up in a few weeks to review this dry food again with more long term information. Good luck with your pet.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver I adopted a beautiful Ragdoll when my best friend passed away. She was very sick with constant vomiting and bowel issues. After much research I tried Royal Canin gastrointestinal HE and to my wonder I had a new cat. A year later after many Vet visits I decided to read through her medical records from Cape Cod where she came from. To my surprise the Vet had suggested Royal Canjn at six weeks old. WOW!
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver I have a rescue kitten who has very bad tummy trouble. After trying every food that is easy on the digestive system with no luck, I tried Royal Canin. This food is a life saver! Not only did it make her feel better, she loves the taste! But that's not all! My other two rescues love the taste, so every kitty in our house gets Royal Canin. I really don't know what I would do without it.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!! My 5 year old cat was throwing up very frequently. After he threw up some blood, my vet gave him some medication for a week and switched him to this wonderful food. He has been on the Gastrointestinal High Energy diet for almost 2 months and is doing GREAT!! He is a somewhat finicky eater, but LOVES both the dry and canned versions. Thank you Royal Canin!!
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only product that worked One of the cats in our rescue has pancreatic enzyme insufficiency and had chronic diarrhea for 2 years. Our vet consulted with a vet a Royal Canin and they recommended the Gastointestinal High Energy for her. Within a week the stools were normal and she's been fine ever since. She was able to be adopted and is thriving. What a great product!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He LOVED it! My cat is so very finicky and refused to eat anything but dry food. He had stopped eating his usual cat food an I asked my Vet to recommend something. He recommended Royal Canin Feline Gastrointestinal Diet. My cat simply LOVES this stuff!!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love the taste One of our cats had a condition and is on medicine. Our vet suggested to try the royal canin high energy diet. She loves the taste, and we love that the formula says the same. We never worry about the quality of the food we are feeding her.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Have a young cat with unresolved constipation issues. Started her on Royal Canin High Fiber Gastrointestinal food and and she is like a new cat and very happy. Normal stool all the time! So happy to find this product!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have been feeding this to cat in our rescue for almost two years and she is doing amamzing! She was diganoised with Mega colon but she has had zero problems while on the food. It is truse blessing!!!
Date published: 2017-05-03
  • y_2018, m_3, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_484088, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms