Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Gastrointestinal Moderate Calorie dry cat food 7.7 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Moderate calorie content supports healthy weight
  • Royal Canin Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Gastrointestinal Moderate Calorie is a moderate energy, highly digestible, palatable, complete and balanced diet for cats predisposed to weight gain.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Digestive Health
A combination of highly digestible proteins, prebiotics and EPA & DHA helps support digestive health.

Moderate Calorie
A reduced fat content (41% less than Feline Gastrointestinal High Energy dry) helps limit weight gain in spayed/neutered cats or those with a tendency to be or become overweight.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Tendency to become Overweight Ideal Weight
4.4 lb (2 kg) 3/8 cup (27 g) 3/8 cup (34 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 3/8 cup (32 g) 1/2 cup (40 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 3/8 cup (37 g) 1/2 cup (46 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 1/2 cup (41 g) 5/8 cup (51 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 1/2 cup (45 g) 5/8 cup (56 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 5/8 cup (49 g) 3/4 cup (61 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 5/8 cup (53 g) 3/4 cup (66 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 3/4 cup (60 g) 7/8 cup (75 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 3/4 cup (67 g) 1 cup (84 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 7/8 cup (74 g) 1 1/8 cups (92 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 1 cup (80 g) 1 1/8 cups (100 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 1 cup (86 g) 1 1/4 cups (108 g)
Gastrointestinal Moderate Calorie is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Brewers rice, chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, wheat gluten, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, chicken fat, egg product, dried plain beet pulp, calcium sulfate, fish oil, vegetable oil, potassium chloride, sodium silico aluminate, grain distillers dried yeast, monocalcium phosphate, sodium bisulfate, psyllium seed husk, DL-methionine, fructooligosaccharides, hydrolyzed yeast, taurine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), biotin, niacin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)33.0%
Crude Fat (min)11.0%
Crude Fat (max)15.0%
Crude Fiber (max)7.0%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3478 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 299 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Gastrointestinal Moderate Calorie dry cat food 7.7 lb bag is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cats like the food...my only issue is the litter box result! Amazing quantity!!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works! We have a large male cat that has mega-colon and he always had great difficulty pooping, to the point of vomiting when he strained so hard to get it out. As the surgical option is too expensive we chose the dietary route and have been extremely pleased with the Royal Canin Gastro food. Morris poops regularly and does not have to strain himself, so no more vomiting. He's in great health with a beautiful coat. As we have another cat living with him, it's easier to just feed them the same food and since being on the Royal Canin Gastro Tiger now has a beautiful coat as well and no longer has the rash and skin condition that created sores under her chin and neck. Two very healthy and happy cats because of Royal Canin Gastro! Thanks for a great product.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing. My cat was having stomach issues. Bouts of vomiting and diarrhea every few weeks. After a few rounds of orals meds my vet recommended we change his diet. About a week later you could tell he was feeling better. Its been over a year and this food has changed our lives! He loves it and so does our other cat. They love the flavor and so does a stray I'm feeding too. We all know how picky cats can be.This food also contains the SO index which is a plus when owning male cats and is something otc store foods can not offer.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIFE CHANGING! But PRICEY! Two of our cats are siblings. We work in animal rescue and bottle fed them and their litter mates. We ended up adopted the two. Neither of them ever seemed to have firm stool like they should have. Both of them had NASTY gas. At one point Ryder (the male) was having leakage which resulted in multiple vet visits. After finding this food the leakage stopped, the gas stopped and their stool wasn't loose!!!! My only complaint is the price. But over all this food has changed the quality of our cats' lives!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saving Food! One of my cats has IBS, and her attacks were getting to the point of nearly killing her. She has been on this food for about 3 months, and loves it! And so does my very picky eater cat!! Since she started this food, she has not had a single bout of IBS!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food My cat had diarrhea for 4 months. Fecal negative. No medication worked. Put her on this food and her stools are normal and she is happy and healthy again and back to her normal self.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied with this product My cat suffers from inflammatory bowel disease and can be very picky. She can eat this food but doesn't gain weight or get sick.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great for my cat's problems She's been on this for a half year and is doing really well
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! My kitty was having issues keeping food down and we have tried different brands/types to see what would work. Vet recommended we try GI Mod. Cal. to see how he would do. Since switching him to this food his vomiting has decreased tremendously and add in a puzzle bowl and it has completely stopped!! We are super happy our little guy is back to his normal self and since this food is SO index I can put his brother on it who has a history of being blocked!!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My story (Ozzie), An Autobiography My owners adopted me a little over 3 years ago. I'm a Tabby, male and proud of it! I'm sort of large at 17 pounds. When I first came with these people I weighed a little over 18 pounds so the Vet said I needed to loose some weight. That was tough! Papa Jon (as most everyone calls him) bought a gizmo that automatically rotates with a serving of this fantastic food every few hours. That way I don't over eat, which I probably would do given the chance. The formula is really very nice. It doesn't have that "pet food" aroma that others do. Yet, I really like it causes it fills me up until the next feeding. The food comes in a easy to open/close bag that doesn't weigh a ton and is easy to manage. Sometimes I have the need to "burp" after a meal but I keep that to myself most of the time. Papa Jon, Honey and Laurie, my family, all comment that that I don't have that "pet food smell" after a meal . It makes for a nice , cozy snuggle without having to worry about "what's that I smell?" This food keeps me active, alert and my family tells me all the time they are happy they found me. I am happy too. I think this Royal Canin Gastro-Intestinal food is the best. My tummy doesn't bother me as it used to before we switched to Royal Canin. I would like to offer a suggestion....why not name it Royal Feline? :)
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat approved! I have tried so many different foods trying to find something my cat would eat and not have an upset stomach! Every food we tried he would eat, but hours later vomit all over the house. Concerned about a GI problem, I took him to the vet. Long story short, he has some type of food intolerance. He loves his Royal Canin food and doesn't have as many vomiting episodes. He is happy and I'm happy too! Thanks Royal Canin! :)
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Literal - Life Saver! This has kept my daughter's beloved cat healthy, and happy for the last 2 years! She was diagnosed with a food intolerance (thankfully only GI complications!) on top of already being diagnosed as FLUTD (feline lower urinary tract disease/disorder). This diet is the ONLY veterinary diet that treats BOTH complications this sweet girl lives with! Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happier Tummy! I have a cat that has had issues with diarrhea since she was a kitten. I have tried a good amount of cat foods that just didn't do anything. I have been feeding this to her for several months and finally! It seems to help. It isn't completely gone, but it has helped! It is a little on the spendy side for a 7 lb bag, but hey if it helps, I'll continue using it!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome but expensive! After several trips to the vet this food was suggested by our vet and our cat improved immediately. Two of our cats have had gastrointestinal problems all of their lives and they don't have any issues at all with this food. All of our cats love it but I can't afford to feed all of them since it is so expensive. But I will have to day it is a great product!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Cat Food! I have 3 Maine Coon Cats that my vet switched to this food to help with digestion issues. This food has helped alot and I'm not cleaning up kitty puke all the time anymore. The BEST thing about this food is that my cats LOVE it!!! It must taste great to them...I trust their judgement on this...their empty bowl says it all! Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fixes the problem One of my cats always had terrible smelling soft stool, no matter what diets we tried. This gastrointestinal low fat diet makes his stool look and smell normal, he likes the food and just to keep things simple, my other cats are on it too now. This cat food saved my marriage, the cat is staying and my husband too...
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy My cat was diagnosed with IBD and we tried every food on the market. Finally got this food and we have the first solid litter box results in three years. We are on our fourth bag and she still likes it. I have two male cats who tend to get UTIs and I like that this food has the s/o index so they can eat it too.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for health restoration A few months ago, after my cat's operation (her body reacts very badly to all kinds of medicine) when her tummy was really upset. She started losing weight fast and then I decided to buy this and am very happy that I did. Her tummy got a lot better just in a few days. Now Royal Canin is all that we use!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat is doing great on this food! One of my cats had very smelly poops (it would wake me up out of my sleep!) and soft stool for a long time. Try different types of GI foods and medications and nothing worked. I have had my cat on this food for about two years and the odor and soft stool are gone.Thank you Royal Canin!
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing My babies are now 2.5 years old and they have been on Royal Canin ever since we brought them home. This is the only food I will allow my babies to eat. My Vet recommends this food and it has done wonders for my current babies and my baby that is up in the big cat tree in the sky.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love it! I have two cats, one of which suffers from Irritable Bowel Syndrome. Both cats love this food, and they're two of the pickiest cats I've ever known, so that's saying something!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats are healthy on this product Have 3 cats each with there own health issues. This cat food has addressed all. But it would be great to be able to buy in a larger bag. They can go through a bag in 3-4 weeks.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my kitty healthy - no more urinary crystals My kitty has been on this diet for quite some time due to a history of crystals in his urine. We haven’t had the problem since we started the food, so I’d say its a success.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor bag seal quality I end up tossing the last third away as the product would stay fresh after about 30days, even switching it to a double bag zip lock.. very sensitive to air I am assuming
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the mod calorie! So glad RC decided to go with a moderate calorie formula! Our cat loves it just the same as the full calorie. Now we are hopeful for a canned version of the same!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always an empty bowl My little boy is a picky eater with a very sensitive stomach. He absolutely loves this. His stomach is fine which means so is everything else, thank goodness.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Blend for Cat's Health Our vet suggested this as our cat Lucy had some digestive issues. She has more energy and gained some playfulness before which she did not display.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more vomiting! My cat was vomiting hairballs almost daily while eating purina one. After 1 month of feeding this diet I'm happy to say vomiting has now stopped!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and really works I started buying this for my cat who had loose stools due to mega colon. It has worked wonders and he really enjoys eating it!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cat likes it and no health problems bear has pancretitis and the vet said to feed this. Since he has been on this no new symptoms or problems 16 months later
Date published: 2018-10-05
  • y_2018, m_12, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_484188, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT