Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP dry cat food

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in cats with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Helps maintain digestive health
  • Royal Canin Urinary S/O Index® promotes a urinary environment unfavorable to the development of both struvite and calcium oxalate crystals
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP is a highly palatable, highly digestible, complete and balanced hydrolyzed protein diet. The diet is specifically formulated for use as short-term elimination feeding and as long-term nutrition for cats with food sensitivities.

Where to Buy
Size: 12 oz
Size: 17.6 lb
Size: 7.7 lb
Product Information

Hydrolyzed Protein
Hydrolyzed soy protein, composed of low molecular weight peptides, is highly digestible and supports gastrointestinal and dermatological health.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Digestive Support
Specific nutrient blend to help regulate intestinal transit and to help support the digestive flora.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
5 lb (2.3 kg) 3/8 cup (30 g)
7 lb (3.2 kg) 1/2 cup (42 g)
9 lb (4.1 kg) 5/8 cup (54 g)
11 lb (5.0 kg) 3/4 cup (66 g)
13 lb (5.9 kg) 1 cup (78 g)
15 lb (6.8 kg) 1 1/8 cups (90 g)
17 lb (7.7 kg) 1 1/4 cups (102 g)
Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

Brewers rice, hydrolyzed soy protein, chicken fat, natural flavors, powdered cellulose, dried plain beet pulp, monocalcium phosphate, fish oil, potassium chloride, calcium sulfate, calcium carbonate, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, fructooligosaccharides, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], choline chloride, DL-methionine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)23.0%
Crude Fat (min)18.0%
Crude Fiber (max)5.6%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.18%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.08%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3909 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 328 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Hydrolyzed Protein Adult HP dry cat food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 181.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Canin helped my cat's skin condition My cat Loki has suffered an allergy that caused him to scratch at his skin to the point of bloody scratches and scabes. Bits of skin would be attatched to bits of fur on the furniture. We had several vet visits and shots to try to help his condition. We were looking at allergy testing that would make Loki very uncomfertable and cost $700.00. The vet we saw wanted to try working with. His diet first. We then started using the Royal Canin hydrolized adult hp veterinary diet. Due to this at food, he does not scratch as much and he no longer has cuts all over his skin. He looks and feels healthier.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing multipurpose food I have a multi cat house hold and my cats have been eating this for the past 3 years. About half of my cats are healthy but we have 3 cats with IBD, 1 cat we highly suspect has IBD and 2 cats with flea allergy dermatitis and the food has worked excellent for all of them. A lot of our cats are Persians and Himalayans but we also have domestic short and long hairs and all of their coats are soft and shiny thanks to this food. All our cats love this food. In the past 3 years we have added cats to our household and converting them onto this food was very easy, they all begin eating it immediately.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our cat Hurley has been living on this food for almost four years now. He was diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease nearly five years ago, and after trying several alternate-protein diets, we finally found that this Hydrolyzed Protein formula (along with prednisolone) keeps his intestines working, and he enjoys the taste enough that he does not seem to mind the lack of variety. The only problem we've had since he's been on this food is that he developed another urinary tract blockage, since he needed to stop eating Royal Canin Urinary SO formula, so he needed to have surgery to prevent further urinary tract problems.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped bring my Bengi back to great health I have been using Royal Cainin's Hydrolyzed Protein for over a year now, and my 2 year old cat is thriving! I got him at a Shelter and he was very ill with chronic bowel issues and allergic eye and nose reactions to other premium foods. After a few months on Royal Canin, Bengi started perking up and becoming a kitty again! It was amazing to see. He no longer had diarrhea and vomiting and his runny eyes cleared up at long last! His rough coat became very smooth and shiny! Now at 2 and 1/2 years he looks great and is happy and playful. I ran the gauntlet of premium cat foods and at last my fantastic Vet suggested Hydrolyzed Protein and boy was she right. He loves the dry and on occasion, he has a can of the wet. Thank you Royal Canin for your the time you put in to develop this quality cat food.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Effective but pricey Our rescue cat had numerous lesions when eating normal cat food, no matter which brand we fed him. Our vet put him on this product two years ago, and the only time he developed those lesions again was when we experimented with non-prescription food. Fortunately he hasn't gotten those lesions again, but at $60 for a 7.7 pound bag, we have "lesions" in our household budget. Good product, unreasonably high price level.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helped all my cats! I began using HP for my cat Chita on the recommendation of a cat veterinarian several years ago.... She was having symptoms coughing, wheezing and sneezing. She had seen another vet and he only gave steroids for the symptoms, and I didn't like that. We tried the HP and within a couple days she never had the symptoms again...I grant you the food is expensive but the alternative for my cat was so much worse. She sheds less and her skin is less dry we well. She is 20 yrs. Old...Royal Canin knows their stuff!
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank goodness for this food!!! Our 16 year old cat Elvis has struggled through inflammatory bowel and food allergies since he was 5 years old. Every food we tried just didn't seem to help, including other competitor prescription diets. Elvis even went through a bad year of urinary tract infections because the low allergen food he was on didn't provide any protection from urinary crystals. After years of struggling to find the right food, and tiring of seeing him suffer through chronic vomiting and upset tummy, we reached out to a dear friend who happens to be a sales representative for Royal Canin. She immediately suggested the Hydrolyzed Protein diet, and we didn't hesitate to get him on it. Within the first month of the HP diet, we noticed a huge difference. Elvis was tolerating the food so well, with a dramatic decrease in upset tummy incidents. He has now been on this diet for 2 years and is healthier than ever. The HP diet helps to reduce GI inflammation, contains a soy based protein that Elvis has no allergies to, and helps prevent the formation of urinary crystals which he has been prone to in the past. When people see him they are surprised to learn he is 16! We are so thankful to have found this food...and Elvis is very appreciative!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem solver! For months my cat was itching and scratching to the point he was bald and had gaping wounds on his head, and this was the only food that helped his allergies. Thank God for Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein dry food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, multi-functional food!!! I have a 9 year old male cat that was originally on a different prescription diet for struvite crystals in his urine and recurring cystitis. The other food dramatically reduced, if not eliminated, this problem. After being on the food for 1-2 years, he also developed inflammatory bowel disease (IBD). To my relief, I found that HP can treat both problems!!! Since making the switch, Banjo's urinary and GI problems have been resolved!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cats Love This! Just tried this food because one of my cats is having digestive issues. Because I free feed, all my cats have to have this, so as not to have to seclude the one cat with the medical issue. The kibble is big enough that they don't reject it and they seem to love the taste. I'm glad I found a food they can all enjoy while getting through this medical issue for my one cat. The specialist said it is a well-rounded healthy food. My cats rejected the Hills Z/D because the kibble was too tiny. Glad to have found this food.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for IBD Our cat was losing weight and had loose stools as a result of IBD. After unsuccessfully trying a few select protein foods, our vet suggested feline HP combined with a daily steroid pill. He's gained back a couple of pounds and is doing great.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this food!! My 6 year old "Teacup" Maine Coon developed (or was diagnosed with) Food Allergies around 5 months of age. I spent the next 2 years fighting my vet (trying holistic diets, raw diets, obscure and hard to find diets) because I wasn't going to support the 'big evil pet food company who's just paying the vets off anyway'. Finally I broke and tried the Select Protein PV and PR diets. They worked pretty well for him (and saved my 15 year old cat's skin, but that's a whole other review). He still vomited a few times a week, but it wasn't a fight daily just to keep food down his throat. Recently my vet noticed crystals in his urine and suggested we switch to the Urinary SO. I freaked out because of his food allergies and she introduced me to the Hydrolyzed diet (which comes in a Urinary SO + Hydrolyzed). He hasn't thrown up since switching (except for when he gets a hold of my other cats food). This is a game changer. He's put on a little weight and looks so much happier. He still begs at meal time, but now it's not all the time nor is it this pitiful meow that screams "I'm so hungry". Thanks RC, you guys rock!!
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver! I have a cat I adopted from the SPCA about 13 years ago, it was a rough start. She was urinating all over my house and I had taken her to the vet countless times. She had crystals in her urine and I was started on another prescription food. Needless to say she didn't eat it well and it didn't take care of the problem. I was very close to giving her up due to the issue. She also in that time was diagnosed with food allergies. My primary veterinarian recommend the Royal Canin HP with SO index to see if that fixed her medical issues. My cat is 16 years old and she is crystal free, no longer urinates anywhere but her litter, and her skin is spotless. I owe Royal Canin HP my happiness and her long happy life. She is going strong and just had her annual check up where she got a gold start for this year! I'd recommend this product both as an owner and veterinary professional. Great for food trials! And the animals love to eat it!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our fur baby Bo has inflammatory bowel disease, thanks to this food and daily medicine you would never even know he is sick !!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buster, my cat, is healed!!! Ny 7 year old kitty, Buster, suffered for 6 years with undiagnosed food allergies. He had chronic ear infections, IBS, goopy eyes, poor fur quality and would throw up daily. I changed veterinarians, and our new one put him on Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein. What a difference it made! He no longer suffers from any of the previously mentioned problems and his disposition is so sweet now that he is no longer hurting. This food is a game changer in his life and mine, and I'm so grateful to have it available and that our veterinarian prescribed for him. Thank you so much Royal Canin for this outstanding product. I don't know if Buster would still be with us if we had not been introduced to this particular formula.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped save my cats life!!!! I have three cats who share this food, all with various health problems form Lymphoma to IBD and this is the ONLY food that I can feed them that keeps their tummies happy and their purrrrs going. I cannot say enough about how much this food has helped our cat Comrad in his battle with lymphoma, we tried several foods and he would not stop vomiting. On RC hydrolyzed protein he has not only stopped vomiting but gained weight and back to his happy snuggling self. Thank you Royal Canin!!!!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved Our Cat's Life Our 19 ½ year-old cat depended on this for her IBD: It gave her calories without causing further distress. The other cat in the household liked it, as well, and it's become a favorite of our new kitten (she eats other foods, as well, both canned and dry). It's a bit pricey, but not when one compares that to health care.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to digest This is the only food that I can feed to my Siamese cat with very sensitive digestion issues. He is able to maintain a healthy weight. Prior to trying this diet he had a critically low weight because he was unable to digest his food. The quality of this product is great and it suits even the most finicky eaters.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more bloody poop in your bed! Our cat suffered from colitis and it was a rough and messy time while we got him diagnosed and onto the hydrolized protein diet. Now he has no issues with his digestive tract. Because there is no discomfort, he is back to using appropriate locations as well. It may be expensive, but it's worth it to us!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from IBD cat and RC HP I started purchasing this product for my cat who has IBD and questionably some sort of allergies. This is our 6th bag and although he still has flair ups every so often of his IBD this product has helped. We have tried so many diets for him and most with no success or very little so RC HP has been a main stay in our home since it has worked for him. HP is also great for cats who have Pancreatitis , allergies , digestive issues. Tried the other brand of hydrolyzed protein Rx dry food and he would not touch it. The only thing I would change is the size of the kibbles, a little bit smaller would be perfect since my cat has a hard time eating the whole kibble and I find little pieces left in the food bowl.. HP is also Great because it also has the s/o index which is beneficial for cats who develop crystals in their urine.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Quality! I took my female Siamese to a dermatologist for an itching problem. The dermatologist place her on the hydrolyzed diet in hopes it was simply a food allergy. I feel really good knowing that my cat is eating something that is healthier for her and to assist with her condition.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet Recommended My vet recommended that we change my cat to the Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein cat food. He was storing fat all over his body and the pads of his feet were splitting open for being swollen. He had always been overweight since he became an adult cat. We tried feeding him less food and healthy weight food and nothing ever helped. Once his paws pads split, we took him to the vet and found out that his body can not process protein correctly. He has been on this diet for a year now and has lost so much weight and is super healthy now. Last month, I ran out of his food and since it is so expensive and my budget was over extended, I just fed him regular cat food that my other cat eats. Within a week his feet were swollen and splitting open again. I bit the bullet, went and picked up a bag of this from my vet and started him back on it. It took about 3 or 4 days, but all the swelling went back down. Amazing how the correct diet makes such a big difference. I won't let my budget keep from buying this food for him anymore.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps our cat happy and healthy Our sweet girl had all sort of digestive issues and nothing helped and being super picky didn't help either. She has been on this brand for well over eight years now. We have tried other brands off and one, but always come back to this. She loves it and has a happy tummy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped my cat's allergy problems! My cat has both food and environmental allergies -- this food took care of his food allergy problems better than any other product we tried. Although it's pricey, it keeps us from making additional trips to the vet for more treatment -- and my cat is finally healthy.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely solved Sheba's food allergy skin rash About 2 years ago, Sheba (one of a litter of 7 but seems to have a different father from the other 6 - 3 had a Siamese father, 3 a gray tabby father and Sheba's father appeared to be a pure black cat; mother is a red tabby) developed a skin rash on the hind right portion of her stomach area that was very resistant to clearing up. We put her on this food and went through about 6 months of her fighting to try to eat the food that the other 8 cats eat (one of the other 8 is on Royal Canin Urinary SO - he is not related to Sheba) which made it so that the rash was still slow in clearing up but once she went entirely onto this food, she has been totally clear of the rash. Now she refuses to eat any of the other 8 cats' food and will make sure that she has no access to her food if I have put it up so that the other 8 cats cannot eat it.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped a stray! My kitty found me on his last leg of life. When I brought him home he had severe diarrhea. When I took him to the right vet he suggested Royal Canin Hydrolyzed protein diet and my cat is finally diarrhea free and healthy... Can't forget handsome.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my cat! I purchased this food based on the recommendation of my veterinarian. My cat was losing weight and muscle mass and the vet determined it was the result of an intestinal problem, like an irritable bowel. Not only does my cat really like the food, but his intestinal problems (I'll spare you the details!) have greatly improved, he gained weight, and is more active. I am pleased with the changes I've observed since switching to this diet.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the urinary index plus hypoallergenic I absolutely love this food. I have three cats with IBD and food allergies. I have recently had one that also had urinary stones. It's been difficult to find a food that would work for allergies and urinary problems. With this formula, I haven't had to worry. It has the urinary index to help prevent stone formation as well as for allergies. Thank you Royal Canin for helping my entire family of cats, as well as my dogs.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Diet My cat was diagnosed with IBD and was vomiting on every food that we had tried (even other prescription diets). I transitioned him to HP about 3 years ago and he is doing great! I had to put my other cat on it as well because he was getting into the other ones food. Both cats took to the diet without hesitation and are both doing very well on it. I am a veterinary professional and recommend it to a lot of clients.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Sensitive Diets! My cat, Taltos, has been on this diet for a few years now. He was very sick his whole life as he was allergic to almost everything we gave him. He's thrived on this food, and it's kept him in great health (and kept his coat gorgeous). You would have no idea he was 11. My 9 month old kitten, Garfunkle, is also eating this food and he's been doing very well on it even though he does not have any allergies.
Date published: 2017-01-17
  • y_2018, m_3, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_177
  • loc_en_US, sid_3902, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getContent, 546ms