Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Renal Support A dry cat food

Cats and dogs with CKD can often have waxing and waning appetites. Since pets rely on more than just taste when determining what they will eat, ROYAL CANIN® RENAL SUPPORT diets include several aromatic profiles along with kibble texture, shape and size that can help stimulate decreased appetites. Available in multiple aromatic profiles, in both wet and dry food, the diets can be easily mixed or rotated to provide multiple feeding options.

  • 3 dry and 3 wet options for both cats and dogs providing 9 different feeding combinations
  • All RENAL products have similar nutritional profiles, easing the transition when introducing product rotations without concern for digestive upset
  • Click here to view feeding combinations based on the dry options A, S, F and wet options E,T,D

Renal Support A dry is a high energy and highly digestible diet for cats that has been formulated with low protein and low phosphorus levels and is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only.

Where to Buy
Size: 12 oz
Size: 3 lb
Size: 6.6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Nutrition to Support Renal Health
Formulated with optimal nutrient levels, including low protein and phosphorus, a complex of antioxidants, and EPA/DHA.

Aromatic Choice
Customized palatability profile designed for individual preferences.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Normal Lean
4.4 lb (2 kg) 3/8 cup (32 g) 3/8 cup (39 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 3/8 cup (38 g) 1/2 cup (46 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 1/2 cup (43 g) 5/8 cup (52 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 1/2 cup (48 g) 5/8 cup (58 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 5/8 cup (53 g) 3/4 cup (64 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 5/8 cup (58 g) 3/4 cup (69 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 5/8 cup (62 g) 7/8 cup (75 g)
12.1 lb (5.5 kg) 3/4 cup (66 g) 7/8 cup (80 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 3/4 cup (71 g) 7/8 cup (85 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 7/8 cup (79 g) 1 cup (95 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 1 cup (87 g) 1 1/8 cup (104 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 1 cup (94 g) 1 1/4 cup (113 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 1 1/8 cup (102 g) 1 3/8 cup (122 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 91 grams
Ingredients

Brewers rice, corn, chicken fat, wheat gluten, corn gluten meal, chicken by-product meal, soy protein isolate, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, wheat, chicory, fish oil, calcium carbonate, sodium silico aluminate, potassium chloride, DL-methionine, psyllium seed husk, potassium citrate, L-arginine, fructooligosaccharides, salt, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, riboflavin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], taurine, trace minerals [zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], L-lysine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)21.0%
Crude Protein (max)25.0%
Crude Fat (min)15.0%
Crude Fiber (max)6.4%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Phosphorus (max)0.57%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.28%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.12%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3790 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 345 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Renal Support A dry cat food is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Prevents Crystals in Urine I was very grateful to find a cat food that could not only provide superior nutrition, yet also prevent crystallization of the urine and kidney stones all at the same time. I felt relieved that I did not have to invest in extensive medical care, yet merely put my male cats on this high quality diet to help them avoid forming crystals.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 11 year old princess suddenly got sick one day and stopped eating and drinking. After taking her to the vet I found out that she was in the early stages of renal failure... I was devastated! My vet recommended trying this new formula which was very pricey but at that point, money was no object! She loved the food right from the start and it has kept her levels on the low side which makes me feel better. Some months its tough to afford the food though and I wish it was a little more reasonable but I will always make sure she has what she needs before I do!
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low protein for our senior cat.. Lone it! We are very pleased with our Vet's recommendation to put our senior cat on this renal support food. He has been taking it for 2 yrs now and his urinating has went back to normal and he is doing so much better!!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life! My cat was diagnosed with chronic kidney disease and a smaller kidney. I had to switch him to this diet and was amazed at how Royal Canin had different options for smells and textures for cats as they get taste aversion with chronic kidney disease. I started on the E renal diet and switched to this one as he seemed to want to eat different diet. Basically after switching to this diet his BUN and Creatinine values went back to normal and I feel like I have.extra years with my kitty and I don’t have to worry with this diet.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat's LOVE it!!!!! I put my 18 year old on this because she has some kidney failure. My other 2 are old enough to eat it, too. I first bought the Hill's K/D and had to take it back, because NONE of my 3 cats would eat it!!!!! They always LOVE Royal Canin products.....
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My little old lady cat is still alive! 2 1/2 years ago my sweet old cat was so sick from renal failure. We gave her lots of IV fluids and switched to the renal diet and she's still with us today. She's 19 this year!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have a couple cats that I feed this to. They LOVE it! I Love that they are eating it and it fits their diet needs
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Feline Food I bought this formula to try w/my senior male cat, and had great results. Super Happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it and feels good I’ve been feeding the dry renal support (A or F) to my kitty for about a year now. I tried other kidney diets and he wouldn’t eat them, but he immediately liked the Royal Canin and has been eating it well for the whole year! Even more importantly his blood work improved, he felt noticeably better and gained weight. We’re all thrilled with the results- a healthier cat who enjoys his food.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both kitties doing better My vet prescribed this for my older kitty with a number of chronic health issues, including early kidney disease. Since being on this food, his kidney function levels have improved, he's gained weight, and is back to behaving like his normal self. The second younger kitty is also eating Royal Canin Renal support, as a preventive measure. We're very happy with this product.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat loves it! Having a CKD cat can be tough, they love food one day and the next they turn up their nose. We keep Renal Support A as our back up food, our cat acts like he's getting a bowl of treats every time we give it to him! Try the variety pack before committing to buying a bag or a case of food. It's a great way to introduce all the different kinds RC has to offer.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for my cat I have been buying this for my 16 year old cat and she likes it.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps my senior cat! Happy we have this for my 17 year old feline..thankyou!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been buying this for 5-6years now and my cat loves it!! When I ran out and had to wait for my delivery,I gave my cat regular food. The second day she had a urinary tract infection, I called my vet she got me this food. Within two days she was over her infection and was my normal cat again!
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love the flavor! I have 2 very different cats; the younger one has kidney issues but my vet said this would benefit my 13 yr old as well. The boys love it, no issues going from R/C #33 & Indoor Mature (mixed) to the renal diet. I buy "A", "F" & "S" in the small bags and mix 2 flavors together.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Eats! My cat, Whyskrs, was diagnosed with Renal Failure a few weeks ago and our vet recommended the sampler package. I was reluctant and tried Whyskrs on everything. He liked all three samples of the dry which was surprisingly to me, but made me happy knowingly he will not starve.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats Gobble it up I have tried multiple different brands of renal diets, and Royal Canin's types of renal diet. Of all of them, my cat loves the renal A. He was not fond of the renal S. Since using the Renal Diet, his kidneys have improved and his #'s are down. Saved his life and my worry.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cat will not eat vet rx for renal failure, wish it was more appealing for 16 year old ..... she will not eat the RC renal line of products .... but still loves Sheba, Fancy Feast, Iams ....
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Food I rescued my cat 2 years ago. I took him the veteran and found he had FIV and Kidney failure. He has been on renal support A and S. He is 17 years old and he is my emotional support animal. Everyone that meets him can’t believe he sick at all.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat loves it! My 15-year-old Maine Coon mix with early stage renal failure enjoys this food. He's always been a dry food fanatic, so I was happy that he gave this product a no-thumbs up (excuse the bad pun) when his vet diagnosed renal failure.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it I've always fed my 2 rescues Royal Canin. When the male developed urinary stone issues & after his bladder surgery, our dr recommended this formula. So far, along with medication, his bladder stones are a non-issue.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats gobble it up! 2 of my cats have kidney issues. I bought Royal Canin and within a month blood tests revealed a much better picture of health thanks to the choice in food. I am so grateful to see my cats thrive with this product!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Taste According to the Felines I am owned by 3 Senior Kitties (1 - 16 year old and, 2 - 18 year olds) all are in renal failure. They really like this food and as they age you want them to keep eating all of the time. This food does the trick!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from \ROYAL CANIN VET DIET AND RENALSUPPORT I HAVE BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR OVER 10 YEARS ON BOTH OF OUR CATS. AFTER ALL THIS TIME, THEY STILL LOVE TO EAT THE DRY FOOD. ONE OF THE CATS HAS A RENAL ISSUE AND HAS DONE QUITE WELL SINCE ON THIS PRODUCT.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT features! Our young 3 year old Maine Coon has stage 3 kidney failure (May have been born with it or got into something previous owners left him run outdoors his first 6 months of life in cold Ohio winter to boot!
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky cat loves it My 15 year old finicky girl loves this. She's also known as a puker and this food seems to sit well with her. She will wait for this dry food to be set out instead of eating her fresh canned food!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My CKD Kitty Loves This As a Snack, to Her Wet Foo My CKD kitty has wet food during the day, but I offer the dry to her upstairs at night, for a snack. It's easy to offer a small amount of kibble in case she gets hungry at night.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We tried them all and this in the only one my cat would eat. She loved it from the start and is doing great on your product. She is a Tortiseshell cat so she is very picky!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! I've been using this product for approx.3 years since my cat has kidney disease and he has done really well on this food. He loves it and it's helping to maintain his health
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats finally started eating My cats finally started eating their prescription diet. They must have liked the "flavor" of the food. I do not know but whatever the case they are eating now.
Date published: 2018-10-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_3900, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT