Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Renal Support S dry cat food

Cats and dogs with CKD can often have waxing and waning appetites. Since pets rely on more than just taste when determining what they will eat, ROYAL CANIN® RENAL SUPPORT diets include several aromatic profiles along with kibble texture, shape and size that can help stimulate decreased appetites. Available in multiple aromatic profiles, in both wet and dry food, the diets can be easily mixed or rotated to provide multiple feeding options.

  • 3 dry and 3 wet options for both cats and dogs providing 9 different feeding combinations
  • All RENAL products have similar nutritional profiles, easing the transition when introducing product rotations without concern for digestive upset
  • Click here to view feeding combinations based on the dry options A, S, F and wet options E,T,D

Renal Support S dry is a high energy and highly digestible diet for cats that has been formulated with low protein and low phosphorus levels and is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only.

Where to Buy
Size: 12 oz
Size: 3 lb
Size: 6.6 lb
Product Information
Benefits

Nutrition to Support Renal Health
Formulated with optimal nutrient levels, including low protein and phosphorus, a complex of antioxidants, and EPA/DHA.

Aromatic Choice
Customized palatability profile designed for individual preferences.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Normal Lean
4.4 lb (2 kg) 1/4 cup (30 g) 3/8 cup (36 g)
5.5 lb (2.5 kg) 3/8 cup (35 g) 3/8 cup (43 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 3/8 cup (40 g) 1/2 cup (48 g)
7.7 lb (3.5 kg) 1/2 cup (45 g) 1/2 cup (54 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 1/2 cup (50 g) 5/8 cup (59 g)
9.9 lb (4.5 kg) 1/2 cup (54 g) 5/8 cup (65 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 5/8 cup (58 g) 3/4 cup (70 g)
12.1 lb (5.5 kg) 5/8 cup (62 g) 3/4 cup (75 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 5/8 cup (66 g) 3/4 cup (79 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 3/4 cup (74 g) 7/8 cup (89 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 7/8 cup (81 g) 1 cup (97 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 7/8 cup (88 g) 1 1/8 cup (106 g)
22.0 lb (10 kg) 1 cup (95 g) 1 1/8 cup (114 g)
1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 98 grams
Ingredients

Corn, chicken fat, pork meal, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, fish meal, natural flavors, pea fiber, chicory, wheat gluten, fish oil, calcium carbonate, vegetable oil, sodium silico aluminate, potassium chloride, salt, psyllium seed husk, potassium citrate, DL-methionine, fructooligosaccharides, L-arginine, choline chloride, taurine, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, riboflavin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], magnesium oxide, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)22.5%
Crude Protein (max)26.5%
Crude Fat (min)19.5%
Crude Fiber (max)5.0%
Moisture (max)8.0%
Phosphorus (max)0.55%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.24%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.1%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 4061 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 398 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Renal Support S dry cat food is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working well Recommended by vet after previous food did not reduce crystals. This one reduced the crystals and we had no transition issues from the cat. He likes the taste. It has caused hard, dry stools, will be checking with vet on the next visit to address that issue.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TOO CONFUSING Keep it simple. Working at a veterinary clinic, clients do not understand or accept change well. They are frustrated and are just switching to different brands that are more consistent
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat Can't Get Enough My cat is around five years old (got him from a shelter 6 months ago), and has the very beginnings of kidney disease. My vet recommended any of the Royal Canin renal support foods. JoeJoe (the cat) loves all of the flavors, but this is the dry food we settled on. (He eats wet food as well.) Honestly, he begs for this food like my dog begged for table scraps. After just one month on this food, his bloodwork went back to almost normal. It is rather expensive, but I do what I need to for my babby.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cat food My cat absolutely love this food. She love the S Formula. It is her favorite food. She eats as much as I give her.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back Renal LP for felines Raise the price if it must be. I see the new mixes are already a smaller size so this must have been a profit decision. Will look for a brand that may have filled the void . Was happy with the old formula for years . Oh well
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from our cats love this Our vet told about this product and it is the best , 4 year old cat with ONE kidney, and 14 year old with renal failure. Both cats devour this food,have always had good things to say about Royal Canin food , wet or dry. Recently tried the newer version of renal dry food for sensitive stomachs from Royal Canin our cats were very constipated, to sum it up, Renal S dry food is like pizza for cats!!
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quailty! my vet prescribed this a few years ago for my cat because his blood work was a little off. i was worried because he doesnt like many foods, he wont even eat cat treats... but he actually loves it, especially when i open a new bag, he comes running!!!! best of all, his blood work is much better!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both cats love it! Purchased this for my kitty who had stage I renal failure. The wet food took a while to tolerate, but the FRS S dry food, was a hit. Even my other kitty (who is healthy) loved it! Sad to say, my sick kitty passed on Mother's Day. Got a kitten & is on the Mother/Kitten dry food. LOVES IT!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect 'cookie' replacement When my cat, Tony, was diagnosed with renal disease I knew we'd have to switch up his diet, thankfully he loves the wet food but I was worried about replacing his 'cookies' he has before bed every day, vet suggested trying the dry renal diet kibbles & it was a success! Tony loves them! & I love them because his coat his coat is more beautiful than it has been in years & the diet has made him like a kitten again! Thank you so much Royal Canin for bringing me & my cat so much joy & better health!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I tried another prescription diet and my cat did not like it. So I tried Royal Canin and my cat loves it. This is good because she is limited to a renal support diet.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too oily My cat loved the S flavor but it was much more greasy than the other dry renal flavors (F and A). She continually threw it up.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Renal Diet Cats The Vet recommended this diet because suspected kidney problems, based on test results. Have been using this and Can D. EKO loves it. He appears to be doing better. Has gained about one pound. Dr suggested 4 months and then retest. Two more months and we will see how this diet is really working. At this point, it looks like it’s working. New tests will tell.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! My cat loves this food. Switching him to a renal diet was a little rough in the beginning because i only had 2 flavors of food to feed him. He seemed bored with that and i found this brand & it worked out great. He gobbled it down immediately and is still loving it. I love that is helping his need for renal support.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good food My 17 year old cat was diagnosed with kidney failure about a year ago and I started feeding this food and his muscle mass is better, coat is shiny, and he loves it. His blood work over the last year shows stable disease, which is excellent. He also has IBD and this doesn't upset his stomach. Glad I found this food.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food of Choice for My Cats Upon recommendation of my veterinarian I started using S/O a few years ago for one cat. Now all eight will only eat the S/O dry which I leave out all the time for free feeding. If bowls are full before bed, they are empty by morning. They also eat wet food three times a day but the dry is everyone's favorite.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the combo! When our rep told our clinic about the new multifunction diets I was excited to try out the urinary health and calm combo. I have three cats and they all thrive on this diet! Thanks so much for paying attention to the special needs of feline diet and well-being.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat has been enjoying and eats regularly! My cat has been on S for nine months now and still eats regularly. When he was first diagnosed I didn't know how my cat would respond. So happy that this food is liked - my cat eats better on this food than on the non-prescription premium foods.
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed I started feeding this to a couple of 15 year old cats a little over a year ago. One has steady kidney values since a year ago and the other one has actually gotten a little better. Did not have any trouble transitioning them to this food.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cat liked it, all that matters My cat liked it so that is all that matters. It is super difficult to get our cat to eat different food and especially when they are not feeling well. So if they actually eat a new diet, I am thrilled.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great option for my picky eater! After trying the sampler pack (thank you for offering this!), my cat decided on Renal Support A dry food. Recently he changed his mind, and now "S" is all he'll eat. Thank you for having options!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little man loves it! My picky eater loves it. For the days that he is being really finicky, switching to one of the other dry in the renal line is all it takes. Love the variety.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! I was feeding my cat another brand of renal support dry food and she didn't want to eat it. When I changed to Royal Canin dry she enjoys eating again!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats Love it!!!! I just lost my 20 year old Siamese cat "SHALIMAR"!!! She had kidney failure, but I know feeding this food for several years prolonged her life!!!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was recommended when my kitty had a urinary infection......It keeps her healthy and satisfied and helps her maintain a healthy weight..
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New food I am trying this sample bag for my cat who was diagnosed with stage 1 of renal failure. He likes it more than the urinary so he is use to.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 17 year old cat with kidney failure has been eating this for about a year. He seems to like it and isn't bored with it yet.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat loves it! My cat started eating this 5 months ago and she loves it. She has regained some weight. Very happy with this food.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must be tasty! My old cats ate this for A few years. I have one cat left and he loves it!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Royal Canin Renal Support My cats like the taste of this much better than the Science Diet kd food.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for older kitties! My “older” cat rescue of 6 love this mixed with the renal canned food!
Date published: 2018-10-02
  • y_2018, m_12, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_4171, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT