Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Selected Protein Adult PR canned cat food 5.9 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case)

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in cats with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Naturally preserved
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Selected Protein Adult PR is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for cats with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by peas and rabbit.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Natural Preservative
Naturally preserved to ensure freshness and quality.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 3/4 can (115 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 1 can (155 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 1 1/4 cans (190 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cans (220 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 1 1/2 cans (250 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 1 3/4 cans (280 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 1 3/4 cans (310 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 2 cans (335 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 2 1/4 cans (360 g)
Selected Protein Adult PR is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Loaf in Gel
Water sufficient for processing, rabbit, rabbit liver, pea flour, vegetable oil, pea protein, natural flavors, fish oil, calcium carbonate, carrageenan, calcium sulfate, taurine, DL-methionine, cysteine, sodium tripolyphosphate, glycine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], potassium chloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.).

Guaranteed Analysis
Loaf in Gel
Crude Protein (min)8.5%
Crude Fat (min)4.5%
Crude Fiber (max)1.0%
Moisture (max)78.0%
Calorie Content

Loaf in Gel
This diet contains 994 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram (calculated).
One 5.9oz can contains 167 kilocalories of ME on an as fed basis.

Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Selected Protein Adult PR canned cat food 5.9 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case) is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality Control Issues My 9 year old male neutered cat was put on this to help with intestinal problems and allergies. This did help with both. However as another reviewer has stated some batches are not the same as others. This current case I bought is much lighter in color, more dry, and my cat will not touch it now. It always happens on a new case and is very frustrating for how expensive it is.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps control my cats food allergies My cat Simba has food allergies that cause him to have some major health issues. Not only does this food help minimize his outbreaks but he and my other cat absolutely love the taste. If you have a cat with food allergies who is also super finicky this is the product for you, them beg for it and rub their face against the can it is so cute. I have never seen them like a food so much usually they just turn up their nose and walk away. Additionally, their coats are super shiny since we switched to Selected Protien PR over a year ago. Thanks Royal Canin for balancing good taste with healthy food!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need smaller cans My cat will sometimes eat this but never a whole can and never after refrigerated even if I warm the bowl and take the chill off the food. It is a waste that I feed him a third of the can and pitch the rest. I don't mind paying if I don't have to pitch most of it. Also has fish oil in it and my cat has allergies to fish and chicken. There is a food from New Zealand that has it right but I would prefer this one if in smaller cans. Please make smaller cans as I am sure you can still make money on this if you do!!
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellence in IBD care As a veterinarian, I was heartbroken when my then 6 year old cat developed inflammatory bowel disease. He is a little devilish, so oral medications like prednisolone or Atopica are not an option for him unless I submit myself to severe bodily harm. Thankfully, this food has spared him the need for oral medications for the last 2 years, his diarrhea disappeared, and his vomiting has reduced from multiple times daily to about once monthly. I recommend this food to all of my clients whose cats are suspected of having IBD or food sensitivities. It is well worth the cost, and he loves it.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love this and it helps. Switched to this due to my cat having IBD. She loves it and so does my other cat who eats with her and doesn't have IBD. The Vet said it's healthy for both cats. I noticed a difference in my sick kitty almost immediately. She loved it and wasn't the least but finicky about eating it as she'd been with everything else for months. Unfortunately, she had a bad infection from the feeding tube she'd had prior and we took a few steps back due to the antibiotic messing up her belly. Took about a month of her avoiding anything she'd had when she was taking the antibiotics until she went back to loving this again. It's her favorite. If your cat has IBD and needs a hydrolized single protein, I highly recommend this.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a great cat food I have been buying the canned and the dry Selected protein PR food for more than a year now. Initially I got it for one of my cats because he was throwing up any chicken or beef based foods. Royal Canin has been very good for my cats - they even lost weight. Now I give it to both of then and stopped buying anything else.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my cat My Ragdoll has IBD and this food has been a true lifesaver. He feels better with less stomach upset, gaining the appropriate amount of weight and his coat is looking better also.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Solved! I have a few indoor kitties and their mother who prefers outdoor living. My outdoor kitty I noticed was having bad diarrhea that I assumed was from the wet food brand I was feeding her. My vet who's opinion I trust confirmed this and recommended the Royal Canin. I was a bit reluctant with it being on the pricey side but her overall health was my utmost concern so I purchased a case and was very pleased with the results. Not only did her gastrointestinal problems clear up but her coat is much shinier and overall she looks much healthier.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves this! My cat had a history of allergies which led him to scratch constantly to the point of open cuts. I tried several different brands of canned food but Royal Canin is the only one that cleared up the problem. He has eaten nothing else for several years and the scratching has stopped. Plus he never gets tired of the food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat loves it, my wallet doesn't. Perfect for a cat that is dx w/ inflammatory bowel. Cat seems to like it better when microwaved for ~10 seconds. Need to shop around as the price varies from place to place. It is expensive.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finicky cat loves this! I rescued a kitty that was about to be euthanized at our local animal control. She was there for over a year, and returned twice by her adopters. Her issue... vomiting, diarrhea and weight loss. She has been diagnosed with IBD. I tried various foods and either she didn't like the food or her symptoms did not go away. She loved this food from the start! And better yet, no more vomiting or diarrhea! She has been on this food for over 6 months and her weight is normal!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soft food My allergic cat loves this food alongside the dry variety
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality/kitty with allergies loves it This is great food. One of our cats has some severe reactions to many cat foods. The ones that she could have, she hated (which says something because she eats anything in front of her). Our vet gave us a prescription for PR and our Sophie took to it immediately. It doesn't smell bad and is always a consistent texture (which I cannot say about most brands). It is a bit more expensive than other brands, but quality does cost a bit more.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cat My 5 y.o. Cat was diagnosed with severe case of intestinal inflammation or intestinal cancer. Only way to tell was to open him up ... I declined that procedure. My vet and I worked very hard as to get him healthy again trying various medications and food Your product was the only product he would eat and could eat. Pure rabbit and pea, no other products Thank you He is going on 8 y.o. now and is healthy Thank you Sue
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Freeze it I was having trouble getting my cat to finish a full can. Seems it lost its appeal and I ended up throwing part of it away. Out of desperation, I went on line and read about owners who were freezing portions of the canned food. I tried this and it is a miracle! She's cleaned her plate every time! I freeze it in about Tablespoon portions, with a piece of wax paper between layers of portions. No more wasted food or money!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped my cat When my cat was 9 months old she began overgrooming and had patchy hair loss on her sides and abdomen. My veterinarian recommended royal canin selected protein because she said she might be allergic to her diet. There was major improvement after being on the diet for one month. And after 2 months she looked like a normal cat. I will keep my kitty on this food forever.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Healty! My cat loves Royal Canin canned meals. She devours each meal and sometimes after her meals she can be seen licking her lips.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cats LOVE it! When one of our cats was diagnosed with IBS over a year ago, the Vet recommended Royal Canin Feline Selected Protein Adult PR. We tried out the duck, venison and rabbit. They loved the rabbit most. Royal Canin is top quality food that I can feed my cats and be confident that they are eating good healthy food. We won't feed them anything else.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied. I use both the can and dry food version of this Rx diet for my cat athena who suffers from an unknown food sensitivity. Because i have more than one cat i am glad that the rest of my cats can safely eat this product, it covers and meets adult cat nutritional requirements. It is very hard to feed a multicat household different diets.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great food. My male cat has IBD and has been eating this for a few years. He loves the food and it doesn't upset his stomach.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only food cat can tolerate! My Bengal suddenly came down with IBD and became unable to tolerate any kid of dry and most kinds of wet food. My vet suggested this, and her vomiting which used to be a daily occurrence (sometimes even up to several times a day) has stopped completely! It's a bit costly but so worth it for her tolerance.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two dewclaws up It's tough feeding your clowder when one cat has a protein allergy and another has IBD. Luckily, Royal Canin's select protein and hypoallergenic foods make it not only possible, but enjoyable. My cats particularly love this rabbit canned food. It is their favorite of the select proteins.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge help My poor cat was so sick when I got him as a kitten. Constantly sick, itchy, throwing up, not gaining weight. After several different foods and even Royal Canin digestive food not helping, the vet recommended PR. Noticed a difference immediately. He loves the dry and wet food of the PR.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life This was prescribed by my cats vet over 3 years ago. He is now 18 and doing great. He could not keep anything down and threw up constantly. He rarely ever does now. Even though it is very expensive to feed him he will stay on Royal Canine rabbit and green peas the rest of his life.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ONLY food my cat does well on! My cat has IBD and has been prescribed this food. We have tried others and none help him as much as this one! This is the ONLY food we have found that keeps him from having constant IBD symptoms. Super expensive at $3/can with rarely any coupons available but my cat is worth it.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cats Love Bunny! Our 9 year old Tuxedo Cats love eating the pure proteins in the PR- pea and rabbit. I ask who wants bunny and they come running. I love feeding my cats something that is pure, healthy and that is good for them. They are family and I wouldn't feed my family anything less.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it! I needed a novel protein to feed to both my Himalayan and Persian cats. I have tried other "rabbit " formulas and they didn't like them! Being the finicky little eaters that they are, I decided to give Royal Canin a try and viola!! Success!! They dive right in!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very palatable I have an elderly cat with many health problems, including IBD & pancreatitis. When we started her on this diet, she was just diagnosed with cancer & was not eating & feeling terrible. Much to my surprise, she immediately took interest & started eating it well.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it!! We were instructed that our cat had pancreatitis and needed to change her diet. First words out of our vet's mouth was Royal Canin Adult PR. We purchased some and it has really helped our Topaz. She likes it and has helped reduced the pancreatitis.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kitties started on this when they were kittens. Sarin is still on it and she is almost 13. Geddy has to go on a special diet for her Thuroid but she would still be on it to if not for that. Now....if only you would make a Thyroid diet....
Date published: 2018-10-31
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_303110, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT