Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Selected Protein Adult PR canned cat food 5.9 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case)

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in cats with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Naturally preserved
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Selected Protein Adult PR is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for cats with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by peas and rabbit.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Natural Preservative
Naturally preserved to ensure freshness and quality.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 3/4 can (115 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 1 can (155 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 1 1/4 cans (190 g)
11 lb (5 kg) 1 1/4 cans (220 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 1 1/2 cans (250 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 1 3/4 cans (280 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 1 3/4 cans (310 g)
19.8 lb (9 kg) 2 cans (335 g)
22 lb (10 kg) 2 1/4 cans (360 g)
Selected Protein Adult PR is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Loaf in Gel
Water sufficient for processing, rabbit, rabbit liver, pea flour, vegetable oil, pea protein, natural flavors, fish oil, calcium carbonate, carrageenan, calcium sulfate, taurine, DL-methionine, cysteine, sodium tripolyphosphate, glycine, choline chloride, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], potassium chloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.).

Guaranteed Analysis
Loaf in Gel
Crude Protein (min)8.5%
Crude Fat (min)4.5%
Crude Fiber (max)1.0%
Moisture (max)78.0%
Calorie Content

Loaf in Gel
This diet contains 994 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram (calculated).
One 5.9oz can contains 167 kilocalories of ME on an as fed basis.

Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Selected Protein Adult PR canned cat food 5.9 oz - Loaf in Gel (24 cans/case) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality Control Issues My 9 year old male neutered cat was put on this to help with intestinal problems and allergies. This did help with both. However as another reviewer has stated some batches are not the same as others. This current case I bought is much lighter in color, more dry, and my cat will not touch it now. It always happens on a new case and is very frustrating for how expensive it is.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps control my cats food allergies My cat Simba has food allergies that cause him to have some major health issues. Not only does this food help minimize his outbreaks but he and my other cat absolutely love the taste. If you have a cat with food allergies who is also super finicky this is the product for you, them beg for it and rub their face against the can it is so cute. I have never seen them like a food so much usually they just turn up their nose and walk away. Additionally, their coats are super shiny since we switched to Selected Protien PR over a year ago. Thanks Royal Canin for balancing good taste with healthy food!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a great cat food I have been buying the canned and the dry Selected protein PR food for more than a year now. Initially I got it for one of my cats because he was throwing up any chicken or beef based foods. Royal Canin has been very good for my cats - they even lost weight. Now I give it to both of then and stopped buying anything else.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my cat My Ragdoll has IBD and this food has been a true lifesaver. He feels better with less stomach upset, gaining the appropriate amount of weight and his coat is looking better also.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Solved! I have a few indoor kitties and their mother who prefers outdoor living. My outdoor kitty I noticed was having bad diarrhea that I assumed was from the wet food brand I was feeding her. My vet who's opinion I trust confirmed this and recommended the Royal Canin. I was a bit reluctant with it being on the pricey side but her overall health was my utmost concern so I purchased a case and was very pleased with the results. Not only did her gastrointestinal problems clear up but her coat is much shinier and overall she looks much healthier.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves this! My cat had a history of allergies which led him to scratch constantly to the point of open cuts. I tried several different brands of canned food but Royal Canin is the only one that cleared up the problem. He has eaten nothing else for several years and the scratching has stopped. Plus he never gets tired of the food!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need smaller cans My cat will sometimes eat this but never a whole can and never after refrigerated even if I warm the bowl and take the chill off the food. It is a waste that I feed him a third of the can and pitch the rest. I don't mind paying if I don't have to pitch most of it. Also has fish oil in it and my cat has allergies to fish and chicken. There is a food from New Zealand that has it right but I would prefer this one if in smaller cans. Please make smaller cans as I am sure you can still make money on this if you do!!
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat loves it, my wallet doesn't. Perfect for a cat that is dx w/ inflammatory bowel. Cat seems to like it better when microwaved for ~10 seconds. Need to shop around as the price varies from place to place. It is expensive.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soft food My allergic cat loves this food alongside the dry variety
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cat My 5 y.o. Cat was diagnosed with severe case of intestinal inflammation or intestinal cancer. Only way to tell was to open him up ... I declined that procedure. My vet and I worked very hard as to get him healthy again trying various medications and food Your product was the only product he would eat and could eat. Pure rabbit and pea, no other products Thank you He is going on 8 y.o. now and is healthy Thank you Sue
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Freeze it I was having trouble getting my cat to finish a full can. Seems it lost its appeal and I ended up throwing part of it away. Out of desperation, I went on line and read about owners who were freezing portions of the canned food. I tried this and it is a miracle! She's cleaned her plate every time! I freeze it in about Tablespoon portions, with a piece of wax paper between layers of portions. No more wasted food or money!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dangerous - contains carageenan I just transitioned a cat with chronic diarrhea onto this and his stools are perfect now. Unfortunately, I did not think to look closely at the ingredients until now, and this contains carageenan which is a known inflammatory and thus has been correlated with cancer. Now I'll transition our cat to another single protein rabbit food and hopefully Royal Canin will get on the bandwagon and correct this.
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Healty! My cat loves Royal Canin canned meals. She devours each meal and sometimes after her meals she can be seen licking her lips.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cats LOVE it! When one of our cats was diagnosed with IBS over a year ago, the Vet recommended Royal Canin Feline Selected Protein Adult PR. We tried out the duck, venison and rabbit. They loved the rabbit most. Royal Canin is top quality food that I can feed my cats and be confident that they are eating good healthy food. We won't feed them anything else.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great food. My male cat has IBD and has been eating this for a few years. He loves the food and it doesn't upset his stomach.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only food cat can tolerate! My Bengal suddenly came down with IBD and became unable to tolerate any kid of dry and most kinds of wet food. My vet suggested this, and her vomiting which used to be a daily occurrence (sometimes even up to several times a day) has stopped completely! It's a bit costly but so worth it for her tolerance.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge help My poor cat was so sick when I got him as a kitten. Constantly sick, itchy, throwing up, not gaining weight. After several different foods and even Royal Canin digestive food not helping, the vet recommended PR. Noticed a difference immediately. He loves the dry and wet food of the PR.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats life This was prescribed by my cats vet over 3 years ago. He is now 18 and doing great. He could not keep anything down and threw up constantly. He rarely ever does now. Even though it is very expensive to feed him he will stay on Royal Canine rabbit and green peas the rest of his life.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats love it! I needed a novel protein to feed to both my Himalayan and Persian cats. I have tried other "rabbit " formulas and they didn't like them! Being the finicky little eaters that they are, I decided to give Royal Canin a try and viola!! Success!! They dive right in!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very palatable I have an elderly cat with many health problems, including IBD & pancreatitis. When we started her on this diet, she was just diagnosed with cancer & was not eating & feeling terrible. Much to my surprise, she immediately took interest & started eating it well.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well with syringe feeding My cat has lymphoma and requires supplemental feeding with a syringe. This food mixes easily with water and is smooth enough to use in a syringe. The nutrition value is high so he can get what he needs in a reasonable amount of food.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cats like it My girl has gi issues and sensitivities and this product was suggested by my vet. She really likes it, which is good as she is also finicky. It is filling, tasty, and doesn't activate her sensitivities and gi issues
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pet loves the food My Polly has always been a picky eater as she got older I could not find any food for her to eat. My vet tech daughter suggested this product. Pollyanna loves it and eats it better than the tuna we used to feed her.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rabbit Formula Have issues with my cat, he's so finicky and usually will only eat one can of anything new and that's it! Well he loves it! We're up to a can and a half a day, need to get some weight back on him and it's working
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! I had start feeding this to my cat with IBD and was pleased to find that she loves it. It makes my life a little easier when I don't have to worry about whether or not she will eat her prescription food.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So tasty! This food is not only tasty (just ask my cats) but has also helped my one cat's IBD tremendously! The novel protein (rabbit) has decreased the inflammation and he's having much better stools.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Tasty and it WORKS I've been purchasing this for about 2 years now for my 17yr old IBD cat and it has been the only thing that has worked for his bouts of painful gas episodes.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat LOVES this We've been buying this for over a year !! My cat absolutely loves this food. She can hardly wait for me to put it down, so she can eat it !!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love it! Two of my cats have been on this food for over 5 years due to certain food sensitivities. Every morning they come running when I open a can.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PALATABLE, HIGH QUALITY FOOD EMILY HAS IBD AND FREQUENTLY VOMITED UNTIL I CHANGED HER DIET. SINCE BEING SWITCHED TO THIS CANNED FOOD, SHE RARELY VOMITS!
Date published: 2016-05-31
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_303110, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT