Royal Canin Veterinary Diet® Feline Selected Protein Adult PR dry cat food 8.8 lb bag

Founded by a veterinarian, Royal Canin has over 40 years experience in health nutrition. Our work with pet nutritionists, breeders, and veterinarians from around the world has provided us with knowledge about the specific nutritional requirements of cats. This knowledge has allowed us to formulate the optimal diet for your cat's special needs.

  • Supports skin and digestive health in cats with food sensitivity
  • Supports the skin's natural barrier
  • Helps maintain skin and coat health
  • Naturally preserved
  • 100% Complete and Balanced Nutrition
  • 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Feline Selected Protein Adult PR is a complete and balanced, selected protein diet that is formulated for cats with food sensitivities resulting in dermatologic or gastrointestinal signs.

Where to Buy
Product Information
Benefits

Selected Protein
The protein in the diet is provided by peas, rabbit and hydrolyzed soy.

Skin Barrier
Optimal amounts of B vitamins and amino acids help maintain the skin's natural barrier effect.

EPA & DHA
Eicosapentaenoic and docosahexaenoic acids are long chain Omega-3 fatty acids that promote a healthy skin and coat.

Natural Preservative
Naturally preserved to ensure freshness and quality.

Feeding Guide
Recommended Daily Feeding Portion
Weight Daily Feeding
4.4 lb (2 kg) 3/8 cup (34 g)
6.6 lb (3 kg) 1/2 cup (45 g)
8.8 lb (4 kg) 5/8 cup (55 g)
11.0 lb (5 kg) 3/4 cup (65 g)
13.2 lb (6 kg) 3/4 cup (74 g)
15.4 lb (7 kg) 7/8 cup (83 g)
17.6 lb (8 kg) 1 cup (91 g)
Selected Protein Adult PR is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO (Association of American Feed Control Officials) Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.
Ingredients

Peas, rabbit meal, coconut oil, pea protein, hydrolyzed soy protein, natural flavors, calcium sulfate, vegetable oil, sodium bisulfate, DL-methionine, monocalcium phosphate, fish oil, salt, taurine, choline chloride, monosodium phosphate, vitamins [DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, biotin, riboflavin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin A acetate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min)30.0%
Crude Fat (min)11.0%
Crude Fiber (max)5.5%
Moisture (max)9.0%
Omega-3 Fatty Acids* (min)0.4%
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA)* (min)0.12%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA)* (min)0.05%
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
Calorie Content
This diet contains 3534 kilocalories of metabolizable energy (ME) per kilogram or 332 kilocalories ME per cup on an as fed basis (calculated).
Product Reviews
Royal Canin Veterinary Diet ® Feline Selected Protein Adult PR dry cat food 8.8 lb bag is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Selected Protein cat food My cat, Rider, was diagnosed with IBD a little over a year ago. His internal medicine specialist wants him to eat a novel protein diet or a hydrolyzed protein diet. I tried a few different brands, but Rider didn't like them. Finally, I bought Royal Canin Selected Protein PR, and Rider seems to like it. So far, it's the only food he'll eat well enough to maintain his weight. I wish it was not quite so expensive... and that it was available in smaller bags. Currently it's only available in a big 8.8 pound bag. It would be great if Royal Canin would also offer it in a smaller 4 pound bag. Rider is the only one eating this, and he eats both canned and dry. His appetite is also variable with IBD. So... the huge 8.8 pound bags last forever and I worry that it goes stale before he can finish it. Please make this product available in a smaller bag.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love it. My cats love it. They are both allergic to most cat foods (eosinophilic granuloma - rodent ulcers). This is the only one we have discovered so far that they aren't allergic to.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Simba LOVES this! He has a severe chicken allergy and will only eat this or the Royal Canin PV. I have tried other supposedly chicken free products and he has had reactions to them and had to go back on his immunosuppressants but never with your products
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for an ailing pet! This was a prescription for our cat with inflammatory bowel disease. Since we've been solely feeding her this, she's been the picture of health!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I do not have one bad thing to say about this food I have a 5 year old Siamese about a year ago he developed bad allergies had no hair loss at first just purple skin above one eye and coughing. I took him to my veterinarian she put him on a couple medications which did not seem to help he started to have hair loss above his eye and very red/bloody skin (from irritation). We put him on the selected protein and he is doing very well, however I noticed if he has a few treats that are not his normal diet he starts to vomit so it looks like my spoiled boy will always stay on this awesome food!
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She likes it! My cat needed this food due to her inflammatory bowel disease. Along with medication, this food keeps her from having any issues with her disease. And she likes the taste, never turns it down unless she is sick. My only complaint is that it does not come in smaller bags as it takes her awhile to consume an entire bag. I try to keep it tightly closed so it does not get stale.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eater My cat who I fostered since he was 2 weeks old has always loved the flavor of royal canin. He has always eaten royal canin since he was 6 weeks old until we found out he has food allergies. After trying several brands of select diets the only one he would eat was royal canin selected protein PV . I am greatful royal canin makes a diet my cat is able to eat and enjoy!
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cats Life! High Quality, Amazing Food Our vet suggested this food after we began trying to solve the mystery of our adopted 10 year old cat's allergy problems. Our cat was bald on her belly and constantly biting at herself from what we now know is a combination of food allergies as well as seasonal and just air allergens. Our cat was miserable. When we tried this food, it took some time, but we began to see improvement in our girl. Slowly we were able to confirm that she has a food allergy and this food will be a must. It has saved her in so many ways! She is healthy, happy, and no longer has a bald belly and she also is no longer biting at herself! Thank you Royal Canin for saving our girl! Also a plus, it must be great tasting as she loves it and the 8.8 pound bag lasts a long time, so the price is justified.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver! Using this food exclusively has completely cleared up my cat's allergic skin condition. I give him nothing else. He was in terrible condition -- ears and head hairless and large hairless areas on body, very itchy. Now, people comment on how beautiful he is. I
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great option for sensitive tummies My three cats have been on this food (various forms of the novel protein in fact) for about 8 years. They love the rabbit/pea option especially. Although a little pricey, it's definitely worth it. Just wish it came in a larger bag option.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Cat A specialist put my cat on this diet about a year ago because of a suspected food allergy that was causing itchy spots on the skin. It has helped somewhat, and my cat loves the food. She has been eating this formula for about a year.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No longer able to get RC rabbit/wet sick cat help! We can't find the prescription, select protein, rabbit & pea, wet food. We have a very sick cat and it's the only thing we can get her to eat. WE NEED HELP ROYAL CANIN. THIS IS A PROBLEM. WHY IS EVERYONE OUT, INCLUDING OUR VET?
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for our cat's IBD Our cat has been on this food since 2010 after she was diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease and pancreatitis via biopsies. We were able to take her off medications and she no longer has the GI upset like she used to.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sensitive Stomach We have used this dry formula and the matching canned food for the last year. This is easily digested for my almost 14 year old cat who has a sensitive stomach. Her coat is now soft and shinny, and her energy is great
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect diet for my food allergy cat!! This diet has made my feline friend a normal cat again. He's back to his playful into everything self!! He also has finally gained weight and his skin in no longer terrible. Plus, it helps that he lives this diet!!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vomiting stopped , her coat is so soft again My cat had chronic hair loss and vomiting and since using this diet , not only does she love it , she has gotten so much better. The price is much better than having to take her to the vet.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Food, but too small My Ragdoll with IBD has been on the food for a few months and has done well on it. and has no issue eating it. My only issue is the price and that lack of bigger bag for better pricing.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A true blessing ! My cat needs this food , he loves the flavor. I am so thankful that with feeding this food and some meds from the vet I am able to keep him comfortable and healthy.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Special ingredients This has been the only food my sensitive cat can eat without allergic reactions.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We tried at least 5 different foods.... We tried at least 5 different foods as a food trial minimum of 8 weeks before finding the royal canin brand. Being a veterinary technician I did the exact opposite of what I should have done, I went to an OTC food instead of trying a selected protein diet for my IBD cat AND for my cat with skin issues. This food saved my life, not literally but it made a big sigh of relief for sure! Both cats either hated the previous foods and/or started vomiting immediately or chin acne would appear. Both the dry and canned RC PR are palatable and stayed fresh. Even with the larger cat a whole bag lasts me a month and I love that. I'm constantly impressed by Royal Canin products as an RVT, but I'm a Royal Canin believer forever! Thanks Royal Canin for making a food that has helped my cats have a longer life and keep picky eaters eating!
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for inflammatory bowel disease Very happy so far with this. She is down to 1/2 steroid pill every other day. A monthly b12 shot too. I even feed it as a treat. been on it since beginning of january 2018. Almost 13 too. Works better than the HP she was on. She had a reaction on news years wouldn't eat the HP any more. Reviews on this were so good so with my vets permission i started this. From the first minute she smelled this food she was hooked. Her litter box is alot better too.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat loves it Our cat became very ill and foods with fish protein made him very ill, but had been his main diet. It was hard to find foods without fish that the cat would eat. His vet gave us samples of the Royal Canin with novel proteins like duck, venison, and rabbit. Our cat loves the food with rabbit and has thrived on it. Food no longer makes him throw up and he has regained the weight he lost during his illness. I highly recommend the food!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Break outs no more My cat Cooper has some bad allergies to cheaper cat foods. He had atopic dermatitis so bad his skin was oozing. He had these big welts all over his body and he looked really bad. My vet put him on the PR dry cat food and it has made all the difference in his skin. He is a Sphynx so you can see his skin very well. It's worth every penny to keep him healthy.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my cat's diarrhea AND made his coat smooth My cat seemed to develop some type of allergy to his regular cat food, his fecal was negative and nothing was helping, so I got him switched over to the PR diet and his diarrhea went away within a week!! He has been on it for about a year now. He is doing great on this food and he loves it. Additionally, his coat is super smooth and beautiful!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What happened to the smaller bags? I'm really disappointed in Royal Canin. I have 1 cat who doesn't eat a lot - and these 8+ lb bags are just wasteful. I have to throw 1/2 the bag away because it gets old and stale (we live in FL and the humidity gets to the food no matter what type of container we have tried). We switched to a different brand because they sold 4lb bags.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing food My cat was diagnosed with IBD over 5 years ago and has been on this diet ever since. She loves it, and it has kept her off of any drugs for many years. She stopped vomiting and having frequent boughts of diarrhea. I am a true believer in Royal Canin products, and I appreciate the science behind them and the quality control standards!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved our cat’s quality of life! Due to allergies the vet switched our cat to this food. We noticed a great improvement in her health within the 1st month. She is no longer scratching until her skin is raw. She loves the taste of this dry food and also the canned version. Thank you Royal Canin for improving our Dory’s quality of life.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I've been buying this for about eight months now and I love it. It doesn't have crazy thing in it that you can't make sense of. I enjoy the results with my cat too. She is feeling better and has less issues. Her fur is beyond soft too. Idk if that had anything to do with it but I'm correlating the two.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Medically neccesary Tried top quality non-vet foods for our "sick child" (the one who we have to take to the vets the most). He had lost patches of fur and was grooming those areas raw. He had to spend most of his time wearing the Elizabethan collar most of the time. Since trying this new food his fur is growing back.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best food my cat has ever eaten! My cat has severe food allergies! After starting Selected Protein PR over a year ago, he hasn’t had any vomiting episodes and his skin and fur look amazing. He absolutely loves his food! He gets both the dry and the canned and actually lets us know when it’s time to eat. He is one very happy kitty!
Date published: 2018-10-08
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_762188, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_royal-canin
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT