Atopic dermatitis in dogs: more than a scratchy disease

3/10/2018
Reading time 10 min
If your dog’s skin shows signs of redness, they’re biting the end of their limbs or scratching more than usual, you might wonder what’s going on. And if you’ve made sure their flea treatment is up to date and you’ve checked them all over for parasites,but found nothing, then you could be left scratching your head too! Possibly your dog is suffering from an allergy, more precisely, from Canine Atopic Dermatitis aka CAD. Let’s have a look at this condition and how you can recognise it, but remember, no one does this better than your vet!
Beagle sniffing his skin

 

Through this article you can learn:


  • (1) What is canine atopic dermatitis?
  • (2) The clues to help recognise canine atopic dermatitis
  • (3) How can nutrition be beneficial to prevent and manage canine atopic dermatitis?
  • (4) What’s next?

  •  

    What is canine atopic dermatitis?

    CAD is one of many allergic conditions in dogs. Put simply, it’s called "Canine" for dog, "Atopic" for allergic trend which express by certain skin signs and "Dermatitis" because it causes irritated skin. Put scientifically, it’s a genetically predisposed inflammatory and pruritic skin disease found in up to 10% of dogsandsome breeds are more prone to it than others. And put in other words, it's “environmental atopy” or atopy.

    Atopic dogs have a fragile skin barrier that can’t protect them properly, allowing airborne allergens to pass and trigger a defensive reaction from their immune system, leading to inflammation, and itchiness. These allergens can be found...Well, everywhere -In your home, garden or on the path of your dog’s favourite walk and they may come from grass, dust mites, pollen, or mould. Finding the one your dog is allergic to will often require you and your vet to put on your Sherlock Holmes’ hats!

    The clues to help recognise canine atopic dermatitis

    First, you might observe behavioural changes such as frequent:

    • Scratching
    • Licking and chewing
    • Rubbing
    • Violent head shaking

    These useful clues run only skin-deep. In fact, they sometimes hide other symptoms of ear or skin infections.

    Looking closer, you may also notice:

    • Redness
    • Darker spots on the skin
    • Scales or flakes
    • Hair loss
    • Greasy skin
    • Yeasty smell
    • Lesions in specific areassuch as inflamed skin on the belly, reddened skin & brown hairs in between the fingers...

    This diagram will help you identify the areas where Canine Atopic Dermatitis lesionscan often be found.

    • Paws
    • Armpit
    • Internal part of the joints(such as such as in the elbow fold)
    • Tummy
    • Face (Around the nose and near the ears)
    canine atopic dermatitis lesions

     

    Another clue is your dog’s age as Canine Atopy usually first appears when a dog is between one and three years old.
    Although these clues are useful to assess the situation, only consulting a vet can lead to a diagnosis. It’s only once the other possible causes or conditions with similar clinical signs have been discounted, that the CAD diagnosis can start. To rule them out, your vet will go through your pet’s history, their symptoms, a dermatological exam, and eventually an 8 to 12 week elimination diet to ensure your dog is not suffering from a food allergy (the signs can be quite similar). Once the diagnosis of Canine Atopic Dermatitis is confirmed, your vet may propose to perform some specific allergy testing to identify the triggering allergens and then start desensitization if this is relevant for your pet.

    How can nutrition be beneficial to prevent and manage canine atopic dermatitis?

    Although CAD requires lifelong attention, it can be managed on a daily base by making simple but important choices. It’s well known that atopic skin needs a lot of care. Your veterinarian will define with you the best management plan, which may include combination of pills, shampoos or creams, and adapted food for instance. The goal being to strengthen the skin barrier, help decrease inflammation, support your dog overall skin & coat health, scratching much less and feeling better! Calming lotions and sprays, or some pills can also soothe the pain and relieve your pet. What is less well known however, is that their skin can also be fed, hydrated, and healed from the inside.

    Special food enriched with good sources of essential fatty acids from the omega 3 & 6 families, helps calm and protect your dog’s skin and make it less sensitive to irritation while helping their coat to stay full and healthy. Rich in carefully selected and high-quality proteins and nutrients, this type of food may also support a good digestive tolerance while supporting the skin natural defences (against oxidation for instance) and providing key support for dogs prone to CAD and skin sensitivity in general.

     

    To help support your dog’s skin health and assist in the recovery, your vet may also recommend a specific diet. Make sure you stick to it and avoid feeding your dog with food scraps or other treats (unless considered ok by your vet) which can jeopardise your pet’s healing process. Trust that your vet will know the best atopic dermatitis dogs treatment for your pet and always keep them in the loop if any new symptoms arise.

    What’s next?

    We’ve only scratched the surface and Canine Atopic Dermatitis might not be the reason your dog keeps scratching. It could be due to another skin condition, or it could be the symptom of something else with implications ranging from benign to life-threatening, so it’s important to never overlook the symptoms and always check with the vet!

    Back to top

    Content Block With Text And Image 1

    Let’s talk about skin conditions in dogs

    Learn more
    Content Block With Text And Image 2

    Let’s talk about dog skin allergies

    Learn more

犬隻異位性皮膚炎:不只是令皮膚痕癢的疾病

27/9/2023
閱讀時間 10 分鐘
當你的狗狗皮膚出現泛紅,啃咬四肢及搔癢的次數變得頻繁,你可能會好奇他到底發生什麽事。如果你已經幫他做好了跳虱治療,也檢查過沒有寄生蟲的問題,相信連你也會抓破頭皮百思不得其解。這情況狗狗有可能是患了過敏症,正確來說,是犬隻異位性皮膚炎,俗稱CAD。讓我們來看看甚麼是CAD以及如何辨認這個病症,但請記住,獸醫一定是最了解這個病的人了。
狗在聞他的皮膚

 

透過本⽂您可以了解:



1.甚麼是犬隻異位性皮膚炎
2.協助識別狗狗是否患有異位性皮膚炎的線索
3.營養如何有助於預防和控制犬隻異位性皮膚炎?
4.接下來該如何呢?

【點擊標題可快速跳⾄該段落】



 

甚麼是犬隻異位性皮膚炎

CAD是常見於狗隻身上出現的過敏症的其中一種。 簡單來說,Canine (犬隻),代表狗;Atopic (過敏),代表過敏通常會透過某些皮膚徵狀表現出來,而Dermatitis (皮膚炎) 則指會對皮膚造成刺激。以科學的角度來解釋,這是一種有基因傾向的發炎性及搔養性疾病,於高達10%的狗隻中發現,而且某些品種更會較容易患上這疾病。換句話說,它是一種“環境過敏”或過敏症。

患有過敏症的狗狗皮膚十分脆弱,不能適當地保護他們,使得透過空氣傳播的致敏原輕易穿透皮膚,引發免疫系統的防禦反應,導致發炎和痕癢。這些致敏原無處不在,會出現在你的家中、公園、甚至狗狗最喜歡散步的地方。致敏原可能來自草地、塵蟎、花粉,甚至黴菌。你和你的獸醫必須要十分細心,才有辦法找出令狗狗過敏的那一種致敏原。

協助識別狗狗是否患有異位性皮膚炎的線索包括:

首先,留意狗狗以下行為是否變得頻密:

  • 搔癢
  • 舔和咀嚼動作
  • 磨擦身體
  • 起勁地搖頭

這些有用的線索僅限於皮膚層面,實際上,他們有時會把耳朵或皮膚等敏感徵狀隱藏起來。

仔細檢查,你可能也會發現:

  • 皮膚泛紅
  • 皮膚出現深色斑點
  • 鄰片或皮屑
  • 掉毛
  • 皮膚油脂變多
  • 發出異味
  • 特定部位出現病變,如腹部發炎的皮膚,紅腫的皮膚及指縫中毛髮下的皮膚

以下示意圖將幫助您辨認犬隻異位性皮膚炎病變時經常出現的區域:

  • 腳掌
  • 腋下
  • 關節內摺皮膚 (如肘部內摺的位置)
  • 腹部
  • 面部 (鼻子及耳朵附近)

    犬隻異位性皮膚炎

     

另一線索是有關狗狗的年齡,犬隻異位性皮膚炎首發通常是在一歲到三歲之間。儘管這些線索對評估病情很有幫助,但只有諮詢獸醫才能正確斷診。只有在排除了其他可能性或具有相似臨床表現的情況後,才能開始進行CAD診斷。為了排除其他可能性,你的獸醫將深入了解寵物的病史、症狀、皮膚檢查,最終可能需要進行8至12周的排除飲食,以確保你的狗狗沒有食物過敏(因為症狀可以非常相似)。一旦確認患上犬隻異位性皮膚炎,你的獸醫可能會建議進行一些特定的過敏測試,以確定導致過敏的過敏原,然後根據寵物的情況開始脱敏治療。

 

營養如何有助於預防和控制犬隻異位性皮膚炎?

儘管CAD需要長期照料,但透過日常一些簡單但重要的選擇,也是可以受到控制的。眾所周知,過敏性皮膚需要悉心呵護,你的獸醫將與你一起制定最佳的管理計劃,有機會包含藥物、洗髮水或乳液的組合,以及選擇適當的食物。目標是增強皮膚的保護力,幫助減輕炎症,支援狗狗整體的皮膚和毛髮健康,減少搔癢,令他舒服一點!舒緩乳液和噴霧,或一些藥物也可以舒緩疼痛感,減輕寵物的不適。然而,較少人知道的是,其實寵物的皮膚也可以從內部進行滋養、保濕和修復的。

加入來自omega 3和omega 6家族,含豐富必需脂肪酸的食物,有助於舒緩和保護狗狗的皮膚,使其對刺激變得不那麼敏感,同時有助於保持其毛髮豐盈和健康。這種食物含有精心挑選的優質蛋白質和營養素,除了加強皮膚的自然防禦能力(例如抗氧化),也有機會協助維持良好的消化耐受性,並為容易患上CAD和皮膚敏感的狗隻提供關鍵支持。

為了保持狗狗的皮膚健康並協助其康復,你的獸醫可能會建議指定的飲食。請確保遵守醫生的建議,避免給狗狗餵食食物殘渣或其他零食(除非經獸醫批准),因為這可能影響寵物的康復過程。相信你的獸醫,他會建議最適合治療你愛犬異位性皮膚炎的方法,如果出現新的症狀,也請即時通知他們。

接下來該如何呢?

對於犬隻異位性皮膚炎,我們知道的只是冰山一角,這有可能並不是狗狗一直抓癢 的原因,亦有可能是由其他皮膚問題或其他疾病引起的症狀,有機會是良性,嚴重的話也可能會危害生命,所以永遠不要忽視這些症狀,並一定要咨詢信任的獸醫!

回到頂部

Content Block With Text And Image 1

Let’s talk about skin conditions in dogs

Learn more
Content Block With Text And Image 2

Let’s talk about dog skin allergies

Learn more