Why does my dog keep scratching?

21/5/2021
Reading time 2 min
If your dog is scratching a lot, licking their coat excessively, rubbing against walls, or even shaking their head, it could be due to any number of things. Some reasons for the behaviour can range from dry skin to flea bites, hormonal imbalances, inadequate nutrition, anxiety or environmental factors. It’s far from a simple task to work out what the issue is. Here is a list of the most common reasons for your pet’s behaviour and the first steps to take before checking with your vet how to help dog with itching.
Samoyed dog scratching

1: Parasite infections

If your pet excessively scratches, chews in between their fingers, licks their coat, frequently shakes their head, or scratches their ears, the first thing you should look for is if any parasite is involved. Parasites can be very good at hiding, and even if you can’t see them, they can cause your dog a lot of discomfort. Fortunately, they are various efficient treatments.

The following list can help you determine which parasite has infested your dog before you reach out to your vet for a diagnostic. It's important to consider that in many cases of parasite infection, your pet's bed and surroundings should be cleaned and treated with adapted products, to prevent another cycle of infection by the environment, once the larvae of the parasite become adult.

Fleas

Fleas are like tiny vampires, that bite your pet to suck their blood (and a garlic collar won’t stop them). Besides what fleas usually trigger: itch and discomfort that can even make some dogs very nervous, some dog also develop an allergy to the flea's saliva and become severely itchy, showing signs ranging from mild redness, small papules (small, palpable elevations of the skin) under the belly for instance to severe scratching that can often lead to skin infections. In extreme cases, it can also lead to anaemia and carry other disease agents (e.g. tapeworms).

flea life cycle

 

Tapeworms

If your dog itches around their anal area, it's often a sign of an internal parasite. One of the most common of these is tapeworm. Tapeworm eggs can be ingested when your dog uses their teeth to remove fleas, as fleas often carry the eggs. The tapeworm feeds on the food ingested by your dog and deprives your pet of many key nutrients in the process.
This can cause your dog's skin and coat to become unhealthy and poor quality (dry coat, greasy hair, dandruff…) and creates itchy sensations. To minimise the risk, we recommend using a preventive treatment as prescribed by your vet.

 

tapeworms found on canine

Ticks

Adult ticks (small blood-sucking arachnids) are often found on the external part of your dog's ears, on their neck, or between the folds of their skin. As with fleas, a serious infection can lead to anaemia. Ticks are also known for more severe issues, such as spreading infectious diseases to other pets and humans. For instance in humans, ticks can lead to piroplasmosis or Lyme disease, which can trigger major consequences from fatigue and anaemia to liver or even renal failure. It's important to look for flea bites when returning home from walks and hikes. If you find ticks, remove them promptly and carefully using fine pointed tweezers or even better, with a tick removal tool (hook). Do not squash the parasite or leave the “head” (mouth) embedded in the skin. Make sure you disinfect the bite site and monitor the lesion afterwards. Ask your vet for help if you've never done it before. If you live in an area at risk for ticks, it's crucial to treat your dog with an appropriate preventive.

ticks found on canine

Ear mites

Common in puppies and young dogs, ear mites (a type of mite that look like tiny spiders) can find places in or around your pet's ears. Their microscopic size can cause intense and painful ear canal infections, forcing your dog to shake their head or scratch their ear consistently, sometimes creating bleeding wounds. If you suspect an ear mite infestation, look for a brown or black secretions from the ear. If you notice one, head to the vet as it's common for ear mite infestation to lead to a second set of infections due to bacteria or yeast. 

Depending on where you live, a wider range of parasites can cause your dog to itch. In addition, ‘ear scabies’ can be infectious between pets so contaminations often happen after some time spent in a shelter or in dogs rescued after months in the street! Reach out to a vet in your area (you can use our vet finder) to find the precise cause and most appropriate treatment for your pet. Yes, vet knows best!

2: Canine Atopic Dermatitis

If your dog is excessively scratching, rubbing, grooming, or licking themselves, they may be suffering from Canine Atopic Dermatitis (CAD), a common hereditary skin disorder that causes pruritic inflammations (itchiness). Redness or lesions can be found around the face, joints, and perineal area where the skin reacts to environmental stressors such as pollens, mites, grass, moulds, or bacteria. 

While the first signs of CAD will appear on young dogs from 6 weeks to three years of age, they will last their lifetime.
For genetic reasons, French Bulldogs, German Shepherds and Labrador Retrievers are more at risk than other breeds.

Inline Image 5

(Dog encyclopedia)

Even if CAD is one of the most common skin conditions in dogs, it's not the only one. So, if you notice redness, swelling, dandruff, or hair loss, contact your vet for a professional diagnosis and a specific treatment.

3: Food allergies and intolerances

Beef, chicken, lamb, fish, pork, rabbit, dairy, and wheat are among the foods that can cause allergies and be the reason your dog scratches. It's often a genetic condition and the reaction is triggered when your dog eats a certain amount of one or multiple ingredients, they’re allergic to (above their individual threshold of tolerance). The most effective way to find out if your pet has a food allergy is with the help of your vet, who will put them on an elimination diet for eight to twelve weeks. Food is not the only allergic pathogen that can cause your dog to have skin allergies.

4: Endocrine or autoimmune disorders

There is a risk that your dog might suffer from the failure of an endocrine organ to secrete the correct hormones needed to sustain healthy skin and coat. Different endocrine disorders are linked to different hormones (eg hypothyroiditis, Cushing syndrome…) and, while some can be cured with medication, others may require surgery. A visit to the vet is the best way to find out if a hormonal imbalance is the reason your dog can't stop scratching or shows some symmetrical hair loss on the flanks for instance.

5: Ear infections

If your dog is constantly scratching around their ears or shaking their head, this might be due to an otitis (ear infection or inflammation). Redness, swelling, discharge, and scaly skin are other symptoms of otitis and should be reported to the vet. If an unusual odour is present, it can be a sign of internal inflammation in the ear. 

But ear scratching and pain or head shaking can also be linked to foreign bodies! For instance, during related season when spikelets dry out and stick into a dog’s ears (but also in the coat, nostrils, and even the paws). They can be very painful and need expert withdrawal from your vet.

canine ear anatomy

How can you help prevent disorders and ease the discomfort of your dog’s itchy skin?

Whatever the reason your dog is itching, there are simple ways you can help ease the pain and side effects due to the intense scratching.

7 tips to help prevent and stop dog scratching in some common situations.

1. Keep their coat clean and soothe their skin by washing your dog with specialised shampoos when needed and by following a proper skin and coat routine.

2. Ask your vet about the preventive treatments for external parasites needed in your area.

3. Regularly clean and vacuum your pet’s bed and linen.

4. To ease the discomfort, you may be recommended to use treatments such as creams, sprays or as prescribed by your vet, or even pills and specific nutrition for a while.

5. Maintain your garden, keep the grass short and trim bushes.

6. Check your dog’s coat and skin when you come back from hikes and walks and after bathes.

7. Last but not least, it can be beneficial to feed your pet with an appropriate diet rich in nutrients known to support their skin’s health.

Don’t wait to ask your vet

Sometimes, problem skin is more than a skin problem. If your dog is excessively scratching, we recommend consulting your vet, especially if the behaviour has been going on for several days. The underlying reasons for itchy skin in dogs can be benign and temporary but they can also be long lasting and self-aggravating or even life-threatening. Only your vet can make a precise diagnosis and offer appropriate advice, treatment, and diet tailored to your pet’s health needs.

Find a vet

Back to top

Content Block With Text And Image 1

New canine dermatology findings promise relief for itchy dogs

Learn more
Content Block With Text And Image 2

Atopic dermatitis in dogs: more than a scratchy disease

Learn more

為何我的狗狗會一直抓癢?

20/9/2018
閱讀時間 10 分鐘
當你發現狗狗一直在抓搔、頻繁地舔毛、用身體摩擦牆壁甚至常常用力搖頭,成因有機會包括皮膚乾燥、被跳蚤叮咬、荷爾蒙失衡、營養不良、焦慮或由環境引致的問題引起… 要找出確實原因並不是易事。這篇文章將分享導致狗狗一直搔癢的最常見原因,以及向獸醫諮詢前可以採取的預防措施。
薩摩耶抓癢

1. 寄生蟲感染

如果你的寵物不停抓癢、啃咬指縫、舔毛髮、經常搖頭或者抓耳朵,應首先檢查有沒有發現任何寄生蟲的蹤跡。寄生蟲非常擅長躲藏,即使你看不見它們,它們也可以令狗狗感到非常不舒服,因此應馬上尋求有效的治療方法。
在尋求獸醫協助前,以下內容可以幫你找到一些頭緒究竟愛犬感染了哪一類寄生蟲。但無論如何,應該盡快使用適當的清潔用品處理寵物的床鋪和生活環境,以防止在寄生蟲幼蟲長大成成蟲前重複感染。

 

跳蚤

跳蚤就像小小的吸血鬼,為了吸飽鮮血而咬你的寵物(用蒜頭頸圈也無法阻止它們)。跳蚤除了會引致痕癢和不適,令狗狗感到非常不安外,有些狗狗還可能對跳蚤的唾液產生過敏反應,令牠們極度痕癢,輕則出現皮膚紅腫、或腹部下方出現丘疹(皮膚上範圍小而隆起的疹);痕癢使牠們用力抓搔而導致皮膚感染。嚴重的甚至會令狗狗出現貧血以及同時出現帶有其他病原體(例如絛蟲)的可能。

跳蚤的生命週期

 

絛蟲

如果愛犬的肛門周圍感到痕癢,通常是感染了體內寄生蟲的一個徵狀,其中最常見的便是絛蟲。因為跳蚤通常帶有絛蟲卵,所以有機會在狗狗用牙齒咬去跳蚤時被吞下。絛蟲以狗狗吞進肚裏的食物維生,同時吸取食物原本提供給狗狗身體的關鍵營養,導致狗狗的皮膚和毛髮變得不健康(出現毛髮乾燥、油膩、皮屑掉落等症狀),並出現痕癢感。為了降低風險,建議按照獸醫的處方使用預防性治療。

 

犬隻身上發現的絛蟲

 

蜱蟲

成年蜱蟲(小型吸血蜘蛛類動物)通常出現在狗狗的耳朵外圍、頸部或皮膚褶皺之間。跟跳蚤一樣,嚴重的話也會導致貧血。蜱蟲更令人苦惱的是,它們會將傳染病傳播給其他寵物和人類。假如人類感染蜱蟲,有機會引發焦蟲病或萊姆病,出現貧血而令肝臟甚至腎功能衰竭的嚴重後果。建議從散步和遠足回來時,應注意檢查有否被跳蚤叮咬。如發現蜱蟲,應立即小心地使用尖細的鉗子或者移除蜱蟲專用的工具(鈎子)將其清除。千萬不要擠壓蜱蟲或把它的頭部(口部)留在皮膚中。確保適當消毒被叮咬的位置,並留意身體狀況。如果你沒有處理蜱蟲的經驗,請向獸醫尋求協助。萬一你生活的區域有感染蜱蟲的風險,請務必為你的愛犬做好適當的預防措施。

 

犬隻身上發現的蜱蟲

耳蟎

耳蟎(一種看起來像小蜘蛛的蟎蟲)在幼犬和年紀較輕的狗狗身上很常見,一般出現在寵物耳朵內部或周圍。它們微細的身軀可以引發耳道感染及劇烈疼痛,迫使你的愛犬不斷搖頭或一直抓耳朵,有時甚至造成傷口出血。如果懷疑愛犬感染耳蟎,請檢查牠的耳朵是否有褐色或黑色的分泌物。如有發現,應立即向獸醫求診,因為耳蟎通常會導致由細菌或酵母引起的二次感染。 你的居住環境可能有著各式各樣使狗狗感到痕癢的寄生蟲,而且 “耳蟎” 可以在動物之間傳染,因此流浪狗被送到救援中心後,通常不會幸免!請諮詢你附近的獸醫(也可以使用我們的獸醫找尋工具)找出感染原因和最適當的治療方式,因為他們肯定更專業!

 

2. 犬隻異位性皮膚炎

如果你的狗狗不斷抓搔、摩擦、梳理或舔自己,牠也可能患有犬隻異位性皮膚炎(CAD),一種會引發痕癢發炎的遺傳性皮膚病。病徵包括紅腫及皮膚損傷,通常出現在臉部、關節和會陰區,這些部位對環境致敏源(如花粉、蟎蟲、草、黴菌或細菌)比較容易出現過敏反應。CAD的初期症狀會在6週至三歲的幼犬身上出現,而且不會痊癒。基於遺傳因素,法國鬥牛犬、德國牧羊犬和拉布拉多尋回犬會比其他品種更容易罹患此病。

容易有犬隻異位性皮膚炎的品種

(狗狗百科)
異位性皮膚炎(CAD)是狗隻最常見的皮膚問題之一,卻不是唯一。因此,假如狗狗出現皮膚紅腫、腫脹、頭皮屑或掉毛問題,請諮詢你的獸醫進行專業診斷和治療。

 

3. 食物過敏和不耐症

牛肉、雞肉、羊肉、魚、豬肉、兔肉、乳製品和小麥都是有機會引致過敏的食物,也可能是令愛犬搔癢的原因。因為基因遺傳,只要當狗狗攝取某一種或多種養份(份量超出其個體耐受值時),就會引發過敏反應。要確定寵物是否患有食物過敏的最有效方法就是在獸醫的協助下,進行八到十二週的食物排除測試,但應注意,食物並不是唯一能引起狗狗皮膚過敏的致敏原。

4. 內分泌或自體免疫疾病

愛犬也有可能是患有內分泌器官功能失調,無法分泌出維持健康皮膚和毛髮的荷爾蒙。不同種類的內分泌失調與不同的荷爾蒙有關(例如甲狀腺功能低下症、庫欣綜合症等),有些是可以透過藥物治療,有些則可能需要進行手術。要確定荷爾蒙不平衡是否令狗狗無法停止抓搔或在側腹出現對稱性脫毛等症狀的原因,最佳方法就是諮詢獸醫。

5. 耳朵感染

如果愛犬不斷在耳朵周圍搔癢或搖頭,這可能是由耳炎引起的(耳朵感染或發炎)。耳炎的症狀包括皮膚泛紅、腫脹、產生分泌物和出現鱗狀皮膚,如出現以上問題應向獸醫說明。假如發現有異味,這可能是耳內發炎的徵狀。 但要留意,耳朵抓搔、疼痛或搖頭也可能與外來物有關!例如到了某些季節,穗子枯乾並粘附在狗的耳朵 (也會在毛髮、鼻孔甚至爪子上),會令牠們非常疼痛,需要由專業獸醫取出。

狗狗耳朵構造

如何可以預防失調引致的疾病以及舒緩狗狗皮膚痕癢的不適感?

無論你的愛犬為何而感到痕癢,都有一些簡單的方法可以幫助舒緩由劇烈抓搔而引起的疼痛和副作用。

7個在一般情況下可預防和停止狗狗抓搔的方法:

1. 使用寵物專用洗髮水,按照正確的皮膚和毛髮護理程序,保持狗狗的皮毛清潔,舒緩牠們的皮膚。
2. 向獸醫諮詢你所在地區所需的體外寄生蟲預防及治療建議。
3. 定期清理及為寵物的床鋪被單吸塵。
4. 為幫助愛犬舒緩不適,建議可使用乳液、噴霧,或按照獸醫處方的藥物和指定營養品進行一段時間的治療。
5. 保持花園整潔,保持草皮短小並修剪灌木植物。
6. 遠足,散步及洗澡後檢查狗狗的毛髮和皮膚。
7. 最後,為愛犬提供營養豐富的膳食,有助保持其皮膚健康。

 

 

馬上諮詢你的獸醫

有時候,愛犬皮膚出現問題可能不僅僅是因為皮毛。如果你的狗狗過度抓搔,並已持續了好幾天,建議馬上諮詢你的獸醫。狗狗皮膚發癢的潛在原因可以是良性和暫時性的,但也可能是長期、會逐漸惡化的,甚至可能危及生命。只有獸醫能夠做出精確的診斷,提供適當的建議、治療和根據寵物健康需求制定膳食。

 

尋找獸醫

回到頂部