Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Puppy

How often to feed a puppy

Puppy Beagle standing indoors eating from a red bowl.
Find out exactly where, when, how and how much you should be feeding your puppy during the first few months of their life.

At each stage in a puppy’s physical development, the food they eat will influence how strong, healthy and happy they become as an adult dog. It might feel complicated to know exactly where, when and how to feed your puppy, but here’s some simple advice to help you give them the best start possible.

How often should I feed my puppy?

Dogs in general can have sensitive digestive systems that don’t respond well to being overloaded by too much, or completely new, food. When you’re feeding your puppy, it’s better to split their food portion for the day into smaller, frequent meals to avoid any pressure on their digestion. Here’s a simple guide:

  • Weaning (all sizes): four meals a day
  • Up to four months (small breeds) or up to six months (large breeds): three meals a day
  • Four to 10 months (small breeds) or six to 12 months (large breeds): two meals a day

How much should I feed my puppy?

The amount you give your puppy each mealtime will vary depending on their breed and their size category: x-small, small, medium, large or giant. Look at the manufacturer’s instructions on the puppy food as a guideline, and ask your vet for help if you’re not completely sure.

Don’t worry too much if your puppy doesn’t eat all of the food you put down at mealtimes; their appetite will naturally vary and by having regular meals they will be able to satisfy their hunger next time.

Due to the rapid phases of growth puppies experience, they need a food which has higher energy-density than an adult dog. However, puppies don’t know how to regulate their food intake, so it’s essential to maintain portion control and avoid weight gain. This is particularly important for large breed dogs, as over-feeding can encourage them to grow too quickly and result in skeletal problems.

Puppy Beagle standing outside in a garden eating from a small bowl.

What’s the best way to feed my puppy?

The best way you can feed your puppy is to create a routine and stick to it. Feed them at the same times, in the same place, using the same bowl, so they understand exactly when and where mealtimes are. They don’t need variety in their diet in the same way humans do, so stick to the same food each time.

When you do transition to a different food – for example, when they move from being a puppy to an adult dog – do it over a week or so, by mixing the new and old foods together and gradually increasing the percentage of new food.

Once you’ve put your puppy’s bowl down, they’ll smell and nose the food to test its temperature. When they’ve started eating make sure to keep an eye on them to ensure their safety, but don’t fuss over them while they’re eating as it could cause protective, aggressive behaviour.

Leave the bowl down for 15 to 20 minutes and then remove it, even if there is food still uneaten; this will help them learn they must eat when you decide. You should also feed your puppy after you’ve eaten or at a different time completely to demonstrate the hierarchy of the household. Always make sure there is plenty of water available, and change it regularly.

Giving your puppy scraps or leftovers can result in bad behaviour as it confuses their routine. Similarly, try and avoid offering food as a reward too frequently (for example, after learning a specific skill) and do not offer treat food as a way to entice them to eat their ‘main’ food – it’s too confusing for your puppy and may result in them not eating.

  • Puppy
  • Neonatal
  • Puppyhood
  • Weaning

Like & share this page

Tailored nutrition for your puppy

A range of formulas that help build their natural defences, support healthy growth and digestive system development.

Puppy products
puppy packshot
Related Articles
Puppy Saint Bernards sitting together in a field.

The key stages of puppy growth

Puppy Jack Russell sitting outside in grass by a large silver bowl.

Puppy nutrition explained

Puppy dog standing in a large red bowl being washed by its owner.

Grooming and hygiene tips for your new puppy

Cookie Settings

幫助貓狗過最健康的生活。

應該多久餵食幼犬一次

Puppy Beagle standing indoors eating from a red bowl
您需要清楚了解幼犬出生後頭幾個月內,應在何處和何時餵飼他們,以及甚麼才是適當的份量。

幼犬在每個發育階段的飲食都很重要,會影響到日後能否強壯、健康和快樂地生活。 究竟應在何處、何時以及如何餵養您的愛犬?這好像有點複雜,但這裡有一些簡單的建議,可以幫助您讓幼犬有個最好的開始。

我多久才需要餵幼犬一次?

一般而言,狗的消化系統較敏感,對過多或全新食物或會有不良反應。 最好的餵狗方法是將他們一天中的食物分成幾次進食,以避免對他們的消化能力造成過大負荷。 請參考以下簡易餵食指引:

  • 離乳期 (適合所有體型的幼犬): 一日 4 餐
  • 4 月齡及以下 (小型品種) 或 6 月齡及以下 (大型品種): 一日 3 餐
  • 4 至 10 月齡 (小型品種) 或 6 至 12 月齡 (大型品種): 一日 2 餐

每次應準備多少食物餵食幼犬?

幼犬每餐進食的適當份量取決於他們的品種和體型大小: 超小型、小型、中型、大型或巨型。 請參考製造商在幼犬食品包裝上的說明,若仍不能完全確定,請向獸醫尋求幫助。

如果愛犬沒有吃光您為他們預備的食物,請不要太擔心。他們每餐的胃口難免有所不同,但只要定期進食,即使今餐沒有吃完,他們下一餐便會吃飽。

由於幼犬處於快速成長階段,他們比成年犬更需要較高熱量密度的食物。 但幼犬並不懂得適量地進食,因此作為主人的您必須嚴控愛犬每餐食量,避免超重現象出現。 這對於體型較大的狗品種尤其重要,因為過度的食量會促使他們生長過快,更會導致骨骼問題。

Puppy Beagle standing outside in a garden eating from a small red bowl.

甚麼是餵食幼犬最好的方法?

餵食幼犬時最好就是按時吃飯,而且持續如此。 讓幼犬在同一時間、同一地點、同一碗盤中吃飯,他們就會知道該何時並在哪裡用餐。 狗狗的飲食不像人類那樣需要變化,因此務必每次都餵相同的食物。

如果想要變換其他食物,例如當幼犬要變成犬時,請花一週以上的時間在新食物中摻入舊食物來餵食,並逐漸增加新食物的比例。

當碗盤放下來時,幼犬會先嗅聞食物,測試溫度。 在幼犬開始進食時,請務必注意他們是否安全,不要讓他們在吃飯時受到過度干擾,導致他們出現護食的攻擊性行為。

請將碗放下 15 至 20 分鐘後就收走,就算食物沒有吃完也一樣,讓幼犬知道一定要在主人決定的時間內吃完飯。 建議您在吃完飯之後再餵食幼犬,或者不要跟幼犬一同吃飯,展現自己才是主人的地位。 務必時時確保飲水充足,並定時換水。

如果給幼犬吃殘羹剩餚恐怕會擾亂原本的作息,導致養成不好的習慣。 同樣道理,請盡量避免太經常餵飼食物作為獎勵 (例如在學習特定技能之後),亦不要餵零食來引誘他們吃主食,否則會讓幼犬感覺混亂,變成都不吃飯。

  • 幼犬
  • 初生哺乳期
  • 幼犬成長期
  • 斷奶

讚好和分享此頁面

為幼犬度身定製的營養配方

這些營養配方可助愛寵建立天然抵抗力,促進健康成長及消化系統良好發育。

幼犬產品
相關文章
聖伯納幼犬坐在田野上。

幼犬關鍵成長階段

傑克羅素幼犬在戶外草地坐著,旁邊放著一個銀色大碗。

幼犬所需營養說明

主人替站在一個大紅碗內的幼犬洗澡。

替幼犬整理毛髮和衛生護理的小貼士