Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Health and wellbeing

Cat skin allergies

Adult cat sitting outside in long grass scratching its chin.
If your cat is scratching, itching or grooming itself intensely, it may be a sign it suffers from allergies. Learn about what your vet will do to determine the cause, and how you can help your cat at home.

Like humans, cats can suffer from allergies and the uncomfortable symptoms of a reaction. Although allergies can be treated, working out what’s causing your cat’s allergy can be tricky and requires help from your vet.

Symptoms of allergies in cats

Your cat’s skin is the biggest indicator of whether they are suffering from an allergy. When you stroke your cat, you may feel little scabs; you may also notice broad, relatively flat areas on their skin which are red or appear inflamed, or lesions on their face, abdomen or the outside of their thighs. Cats with allergies scratch and itch frequently, sometimes to excess, and may also over-groom themselves in an effort to alleviate any discomfort. The result can be patches of eroded hair, hair that breaks easily or hair loss.

Why is a cat’s allergy so difficult to determine?

There are three main causes of a cat’s allergy: fleas, something in their diet, and allergens in their environment. Determining which of these is causing an allergic reaction is difficult, and your vet will have to undertake a process of elimination to work out which of these is causing the symptoms in your cat.

What will the vet do to identify my cat’s allergy?

The first thing your vet will do is establish whether there is any cause of your cat’s symptoms, other than an allergic reaction. Many of the symptoms a cat with allergies exhibits are similar to those caused by parasitic infection, fungal infection – such as ringworm – and even behavioural problems. All of these will need to be ruled out by your vet before starting to work on the allergy.

Your vet will then treat your cat for fleas. Cats can develop hypersensitivity to flea bites which results in them scratching vigorously and causing scabs or lesions. Your vet will ask you to use a strong anti-flea treatment and to de-flea any other animals in your household, as well as taking other precautions such as regularly cleaning your cat’s environment.

Adult cat sitting down outside in long grass.

If your cat is still having an allergic reaction after this treatment, your vet may try to rule out any food allergies by placing them on an exclusion diet. This lasts for around eight weeks, during which time if your cat’s symptoms disappear, the vet will then give your cat their original food; if the symptoms reappear, they’ll conclude it’s sensitive to an element of this diet.

If the exclusion diet process is unsuccessful, it’s likely your cat is suffering from an allergy that requires prescription medicine.

The impact of diet on your cat’s allergy

Your cat’s diet directly affects their skin, the largest organ in their body. A food designed specifically for cats with hypersensitive skin can help limit any adverse reactions to food and support them in developing good skin health.

These foods have specially-chosen protein and carbohydrates that are less likely to cause an allergic reaction in your cat; ones that are highly-digestible and may not be commonly used in most manufactured food. The food may also include omega 3 long chain fatty acids, which help manage any skin reactions (such as inflammation) and biotin, niacin and panthothenic acids – these help prevent your cat’s skin drying out and strengthens its ability to protect them against irritants.

If you notice any of the symptoms of an allergic reaction in your cat, make sure to visit your local vet. Together, you’ll be able to work out how to support your cat’s health and improve the quality of their fur and skin.

  • Healthy Skin and Coat

Like & share this page

Related Articles
Adult cat sat on a bed scratching under its chin

Cat dandruff and dry skin

Adult cat lying down looking at a grooming brush with white hair on it.

My cat is losing its hair

Adult Norwegian Forest Cat standing in a kitchen next to two silver bowls.

​How your cat's diet affects its skin health

Find a vet

If you have any concerns about your cat’s health, consult a vet for professional advice.

Search near me
Maine Coon adult standing in black and white on a white background
Cookie Settings

成年貓咪坐在戶外的長草中,抓著她的面頰。
如果您的愛貓出現搔癢或過度整理毛髮的情況,就可能是出現過敏問題。 了解獸醫會如何診斷病因,以及如何在家照顧愛貓。

貓和人一樣,也會過敏、也會有不適反應的症狀。 雖然過敏症可以治療,但是要找出愛貓過敏的原因可能不容易,也需要獸醫的協助。

貓過敏的症狀

如果要知道貓咪是否過敏,最簡單的方式就是檢查她們的皮膚。 當您輕撫愛貓時,可能會摸到一些小傷疤,也可能會發現她們皮膚上有發紅或發炎的現象,或在臉部、腹部或大腿外側出現。 有過敏的貓咪可能會搔癢,有時還會過度抓搔,也可能會過度整理毛髮來減輕自己的不適。 但這樣會導致毛髮受損、斷裂或掉毛的情況發生。

為甚麼貓咪的過敏很難診斷?

貓咪出現過敏反應的主要原因有三個: 跳蚤、飲食和環境中的致敏原。 要診斷導致出現過敏反應的原因很困難,而且獸醫必須以消除法慢慢篩檢貓咪出現這些症狀的原因。

獸醫如何診斷貓的過敏症?

首先,獸醫會確定貓出現這些症狀,除了過敏反應之外,是否有任何其他原因。 很多貓過敏症的症狀都與寄生蟲感染、真菌感染 (例如:皮癬),甚至是行為問題引起的症狀相似。 獸醫必須先排除所有可能的因素,才能開始治療過敏。

獸醫會為貓咪除蚤。 貓咪可能會對跳蚤叮咬產生過敏反應,造成她們因用力抓搔而出現傷口或併發病變。 獸醫會請您使用強效除蚤治療方式,包括為家裡其他動物除蚤,採取預防措施,例如:定期清潔愛貓的居住環境。

成年貓咪坐在戶外的長草中。

若您的愛貓在接受治療後仍有過敏反應,獸醫可能會藉由食物排除試驗來找出食物致敏原。 這個過程至少會持續八週,其間若過敏症狀消失,獸醫就會恢復貓咪原本的飲食;

若症狀再次出現,就表示食物當中含有致敏原。

食物對愛貓過敏的影響

貓咪的飲食會直接影響她們身體最大器官—皮膚的健康。 選擇專為皮膚特別敏感的貓咪而設計的食物,有助減少對食物出現的不良反應,並幫助貓咪發育及維持皮膚健康。

這些食物含有特別挑選的蛋白質和碳水化合物,降低貓咪的過敏反應,非常容易消化,且不常用在大多數加工食品當中。 食物中還可能含有奧米加三長鏈脂肪酸,有助紓緩皮膚不良反應,例如發炎作用,還包含生物素、菸鹼酸和泛酸,這些營養素有助防止愛貓皮膚變得乾癢,並加強皮膚對抗刺激物的能力。

如果您發現貓咪有過敏反應的任何症狀,請確保諮詢當地的獸醫。 您一定能找到維持愛貓健康的方法,改善她們的毛髮和皮膚的狀況。

  • 健康的皮膚和毛
相關文章
Cat lying down indoors

Cat dandruff and dry skin

Cats can suffer from itching, flaking dandruff. Read about the causes of this irritating condition as well as what you can do to help your cat.

成年貓一邊躺著,一邊看著沾有白色毛髮的梳子。

為甚麼貓咪在掉毛?

看著愛貓美麗的毛掉落,實在令人擔心,不過,這也是提醒您,可能有更深層的潛在問題存在。 在這裡,我們將幫助您深入了解造成貓掉毛的一些常見原因。

成年挪威森林貓站在廚房裡兩個銀色碗旁邊。

貓咪的飲食如何影響他們的皮膚健康

貓咪需要適量攝取多種營養素,皮膚功能才可以正常運作。 了解更多有關每種營養素如何促進貓的皮膚和毛的健康。

尋找獸醫

若對愛貓的健康有任何疑慮,請諮詢獸醫的專業意見。

搜尋我附近的獸醫
成年緬因貓站在白色背景前的黑白照