Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Kitten

Essential items for your new kitten

Adult cat lying down on a cat tree scratching a pole.
As you prepare to welcome your new kitten we’ve created a checklist of items to make sure you have everything you need.

You’re preparing to welcome your new kitten to share your daily life and home for many years. While choosing the right food is essential, there are a number of other preparations that you need to make, such as where they’ll eat and drink, a place to sleep and things to play with.

Creating a check list of essential items that need to be in place before your kitten arrives will help your kitten settle in as smoothly as possible.

Cat carry case

It’s dangerous to carry your new kitten loose in the car, so it’s important to purchase a cat carrying case that will be large enough to be used when your cat is fully grown. You should make it more comfortable for your kitten by placing a blanket at the bottom, and also purchase a spare mat in the event of any accidents brought on by the stress of the journey.

Kitten bed

A comfortable bed to sleep in is essential for your new kitten, to help them feel safe in their new environment. However, don’t be surprised if your kitten finds their own favourite place to sleep as that's one of the many ways they'll decide on their territory and organise their space.

Litter tray

Your kitten will need a tray with sufficient litter and a small trowel so you can remove soils. A covered litter tray is recommended to avoid spills and limit odours, however some kittens don't like covered litter boxes so you will need to see how your kitten reacts.

Food and water dishes for your kitten

You should provide your new kitten with two dishes. Use china, metal or glass water bowls as many cats dislike the taste of water in plastic bowls. You should have a small bowl for food and a larger one for fresh water that should be available at all times.

Make sure to leave enough space between the two dishes to prevent the water becoming dirty with food, as cats need access to fresh drinking water at all times to help support their urinary tract health.

Scratch pole and cat tree

Cats should ideally have access to a scratching place where they can look after their claws, so it's a good idea to purchase a scratch pole. You should also invest in a cat tree as kittens love climbing to give them a higher and more dominant position and will enjoy twisting around the branches. A cat tree also satisfies your kitten’s need for exercise.

Kitten cat standing indoors playing with a cat toy.

Collar with ID tag

You should purchase a collar and a lead for your new kitten. A collar with an ID tag is the best and quickest way of identifying your kitten, and the lead is essential for any walks or short trips without a cat carrying case.

Kitten toys

Toys help to amuse your cat and encourage exercise. There are a number of different toys to choose from which are generally designed to trigger three types of feline behaviour:

  • Cat and mouse: any small ball can play the role of the prey. The cat “stalks” it, rolls it around, runs after it, jumps on it, grabs it, throws it in the air, holds it between their paws, bites it, and starts all over again. All these instinctive behaviours are a great source of satisfaction which also encourage your cat to socialise.
  • The bird game: the cat tries to catch a moving object just above their head.
  • Fishing: the cat moves their paw as if they wanted to make a fish jump out of the water. Some cats like playing with water and will enjoy the idea of “fishing” for ping-pong balls floating on the surface of the water.

Having all the basic items prepared in advance will help your new kitten adjust more easily as you introduce them to their new home.

  • Intense Growth

Like & share this page

Tailored nutrition for your kitten

Nutritional formulas that help to build your kitten's natural defences, support healthy growth, and aid in digestive system development.

Kitten products
kitten packshot
Related Articles
Kitten being held by a vet in a clinic

Distemper in cats

Grey kitten being examined by a vet

Cat leukaemia

Young cat lying down on an examination table in a vets office.

Feline rhinotrachetitis in cats

Cookie Settings

幫助貓狗過最健康的生活。

飼養幼貓的必備用品

成年貓躺在貓樹下抓柱。
當您準備迎接新飼養的幼貓到來時,我們為您準備了一份項目檢查清單,確保您準備好一切所需。

您新飼養的幼貓即將到來,與您住在一起並長久分享每天的生活。 雖然選擇合適的食物非常重要,但您還要作好其他幾個準備,例如貓咪吃飯喝水的地方、睡覺的地方和玩具。

帶幼貓回家之前,先製作一份必備項目檢查清單可讓您的貓咪以最順利的方式在新家安頓下來。

貓用外出籠

直接將幼貓放在車內極具風險,因此一定要購買夠大的貓用外出籠,這樣當幼貓長大時亦可以使用。 建議您在籠底放置毯子,讓幼貓可以更舒服;另外亦要購買備用墊子,避免途中貓咪因壓力而不小心嘔吐或排泄。

幼貓床

對於新飼養的幼貓來說,舒適的睡床相當重要,因為這可以讓他們在新環境中倍感安全。 但是,幼貓亦可能會找到自己最喜歡的睡覺地方,因為這是他們決定自己的地盤和安頓生活空間的眾多方式之一。

貓砂盆

幼貓需要一個貓砂盆和足夠的貓砂,還要一把貓砂鏟,讓您可以清理貓砂。 建議使用有蓋的貓砂盆,避免貓砂四散,亦可以減少臭味,不過有些幼貓不喜歡有蓋的貓砂盆,因此您必須觀察幼貓的反應。

為幼貓準備飯碗和水碗

建議您為新飼養的幼貓準備兩個碗。 您可以使用磁製、金屬製或玻璃水碗,因為很多貓咪不喜歡塑膠碗裡的飲水味道。 您要有一個小碗承裝食物,還要常備一個大碗承裝清水。

記得兩個碗不要放得太近,避免飲水因食物變髒;原因是,必須隨時有飲用清水供貓咪飲用,才能保持其泌尿系統的健康。

貓抓柱和貓樹

在理想的情況下,貓咪應有自己的貓抓的地方,讓他們可以磨爪,因此建議購買貓抓柱。 建議您亦要購買貓樹,因為幼貓喜歡攀爬,這樣他們不但可以爬高,還可以擁有更具優勢的位置,同時享受在樹枝間跳躍的樂趣。 貓樹亦可以滿足幼貓的運動需求。

小貓站在室內玩著貓咪玩具。

附身分識別卡的項圈

您需要替新飼養的幼貓購買一套項圈和牽繩。 附身分識別卡的項圈是認出幼貓最好且最快的方式;如果您沒有貓咪旅行袋的話,牽繩可是帶愛貓散步或短途旅行必備的工具。

幼貓的玩具

玩具有助愛貓玩遊戲並鼓勵他們活動。 市面上有很多不同種類的玩具可供選擇,通常是用來引起貓咪的三種行為:

  • 貓捉老鼠遊戲: 任何小球都可以扮演獵物的角色。 貓咪「偷偷摸摸」的靠近、滾動、追逐、跳上、抓住玩具,把它扔在空中或夾在爪子之間,或者咬玩具,然後重覆這些玩法。 所有這些本能行為都是令貓咪感到心滿意足的重要方式,而且這還能鼓勵您的愛貓參與社交活動。
  • 飛鳥游戲: 貓咪試圖抓住在他們頭頂上方的移動物體。
  • 釣魚遊戲: 貓咪移動他們的爪子,好像他們想讓一條魚躍出水面一樣。 有些貓咪喜歡玩水,且十分享受「釣魚」遊戲,乒乓球漂浮在水面上的玩耍方式會帶給他們很多樂趣。

請預先準備好所有必備物品,這樣可以協助幼貓在初來報到時可以更快地適應環境。

  • 快速成長期

讚好和分享此頁面

為幼貓度身定製的營養配方

這些營養豐富的配方有助您的幼貓建立天然抵抗力,促進健康成長,並幫助消化系統良好發育。

幼貓產品
Content Block With Text And Image 1
相關文章
幼貓被診所的獸醫捉住

貓瘟熱

幼貓躺在獸醫辦公室的檢驗枱上。

貓傳染性腹膜炎

灰色幼貓接受獸醫檢查

貓白血病