Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Health and wellbeing

​10 toxic foods you shouldn't give your dog

Adult dog lying down in a kitchen.
From avocado skin to macadamia nuts, here are ten foods you should avoid giving your dog as they can cause serious health problems.

It’s well-known to many dog owners that chocolate can cause serious problems for dogs. However, there are a number of common foods you’re likely to have in your home which can cause serious problems for your pet. There may be other household foods and items that you should not give your dog, so please consult with your veterinarian prior to giving your dog anything in addition to their regular food.

Artificial sweetener

Xylitol is an artificial sweetener found in chewing gum, sugar-free peanut butter, toothpaste and other products, and is derived from hardwood trees. Excessive consumption of xylitol can cause bloating, flatulence and diarrhoea in humans – but for dogs, xylitol is toxic. It’s important to keep products containing xylitol away from where your dog can eat them, even accidentally.

Alcohol

Unlike in humans, dogs’ kidneys can’t process alcohol effectively which can cause them medical problems. Fresh, clean water is always best for your dog.

Avocados

It’s not the flesh of an avocado, but the pit, skin and leaves which can cause harm to your dog. These contain a substance called persin, which causes vomiting and diarrhoea.

Caffeine

While caffeine is not toxic to dogs, it does have the same effect on them as humans – and because they are more sensitive to these effects, it can be very unpleasant and uncomfortable for them. If your dog consumes even a small amount of caffeine, they may become hyperactive or start to have tremors.

Chocolate

It’s well-documented that chocolate is highly toxic to dogs. This is because it contains theobromine, a stimulant which interrupts your dog’s metabolic processes. Dark chocolate and baking chocolate is particularly high in theobromine, making it even more dangerous for dogs. Depending on the amount they have consumed, a dog might suffer with an upset stomach, heart problems, seizures or even death.

Adult Airedale Terrier standing outdoors sniffing the ground.

Fried and fatty foods

Just as fried and fatty foods can be bad for people, they can also be bad for dogs. High-fat foods can cause your dog to have stomach upsets and can also contribute to pancreatitis in some dogs. Plus, regular consumption of these types of food can lead to obesity and related health problems.

Garlic and onions

Many people regularly cook with onion and garlic, but for dogs these staple ingredients are toxic. Whether the garlic and onions are cooked or raw, if your dog eats these it can damage their red blood cells, which can then result in anaemia.

Grapes and raisins

These fruits are healthy enough for humans but are toxic for dogs. Grapes and raisins have a dramatic effect on your dog’s health, and can lead to acute and sudden kidney failure.

Nuts

While they may seem healthy, avoid giving your dog any nuts to eat. Their size makes them a choking hazard, and they are high in fat which can trigger an upset stomach in your pet. In particular, macadamia nuts have been shown to be highly poisonous to dogs – although they tend not to result in fatalities, they can cause your dog to suffer from an inability to walk, vomiting, lethargy and tremors.

Milk, cream and cheese

As dogs grow into adulthood, their ability to digest dairy products decreases as they lack the enzymes to do so. This means they can exhibit signs of lactose intolerance if they eat milk, cream or cheese, such as vomiting, diarrhoea, and an upset stomach.

If you think your dog may have eaten something it shouldn’t have done, it’s crucial to get advice from your vet immediately. You should also keep these toxic foods out of reach of your dog to ensure they only eat what’s best for them.

  • Digestive Health
  • Unsolicited Advice

Like & share this page

Related Articles
Adult Golden Retriever lying down on the floor by a silver bowl.

​How to prevent an upset stomach in your dog

Adult Poodle lying down on a sofa licking its lips.

What makes your dog's digestive system healthy?

Adult Dachshund sitting on an examination table being checked over by a vet.

​Spotting signs of digestive problems in your dog

Find a vet

If you have any concerns about your dog’s health, consult a vet for professional advice.

Search near me
Jack Russell Terrier adult standing in black and white on a white background
Cookie Settings

10 種不可給狗狗吃的有毒食物

20/9/2018
閱讀時間 10 分鐘
從牛油果皮到澳洲堅果,以下是十種會導致犬隻發生嚴重健康問題的食物,所以絕對不可以給他們吃。
成年犬躺在廚房裡。

很多主人都知道,朱古力對狗狗會造成嚴重的問題。 不過,家裡還有很多常見的食物可能也會導致您的愛寵出現嚴重問題。 另外可能也有其他不可讓犬隻食用的家庭食品和物品,所以如果要餵食飼料以外的食物,請先諮詢獸醫。

人造甜味劑

從硬木樹萃取的木糖醇是一種人造甜味劑,香口膠、無糖花生醬、牙膏和其他產品都會加入這種甜味劑。 人類如果過量攝取木糖醇,會導致腹脹、胃腸脹氣和腹瀉,而對犬隻而言,木糖醇則具有毒性。 因此請務必將含有木糖醇的產品放在狗狗絕對吃不到的地方。

酒精

狗狗和人類不同,他們的腎臟無法有效分解酒精,因此可能導致生病。 對於您的愛犬而言,新鮮、乾淨的清水就是最好的。

牛油果

狗狗可以食牛油果,但牛油果籽、皮和葉子卻對狗狗有毒, 因為裡面含有一種稱為 Persin 的毒素,會導致狗狗嘔吐和腹瀉。

咖啡因

咖啡因屬於一種對狗有毒的化合物(甲基黃嘌呤)。和人一樣,咖啡因會對狗狗產生興奮作用,包括心跳加速和過度活躍。然而,這些影響在狗狗身上更加嚴重。少量攝取可能會導致狗狗出現焦躁不安的行為,例如來回踱步和過度吠叫。較高的劑量則可能會導致顫抖、心律不整、癲癇或器官損傷。

除了咖啡和蘇打水,咖啡因和其他甲基黃嘌呤還可能存在於茶、朱古力、糖果、香口膠、能量飲品、某些補品和藥物中。只要攝入20 mg/kg就可能導致狗狗出現上述症狀。例如,一隻5kg(11lb)的狗狗在攝食了2小塊黑朱古力或半粒普通的200mg咖啡因藥丸後,就可能出現症狀。

朱古力

很多實驗都證實朱古力對狗狗而言毒性非常高。 因為巧克力含有可可鹼,一種會中斷狗狗的代謝過程的興奮劑。 黑朱古力及烘焙用朱古力的可可鹼含量特別高,所以對他們而言更加危險。 如果不慎誤食,視攝取量而定,狗狗可能會有胃部不適、心臟病、癲癇,或甚至死亡。

Adult Airedale Terrier standing outdoors sniffing the ground.

油炸和富含脂肪的食物

油炸及脂肪含量高的食物不只對人體不好,這種食物對狗狗一樣,並無任何好處。 高脂肪食物會導致狗狗胃部不適,有的狗亦可能會因此罹患胰臟炎。 此外,如果經常食用這種類型的食物,亦會導致出現肥胖和相關的健康問題。

大蒜和洋蔥

許多人經常用洋蔥和大蒜做飯,但對狗狗來說,這些主要食材卻是有毒的。 無論是煮熟或是生的大蒜和洋蔥,狗狗食用後會對其紅血球造成損害,從而導致貧血。

葡萄和葡萄乾

這些水果對人類雖然健康,但對狗狗來說卻是有毒。 葡萄和葡萄乾會嚴重影響狗隻的健康,並可能導致急性和突然的腎功能衰竭。

堅果

雖然堅果看似很健康,但卻要避免給狗隻食用。 堅果的大小可能會導致其窒息,而由於堅果含豐富脂肪,可能會導致寵物腸胃不適。 尤其是已證實夏威夷豆對狗隻來說有極大毒性;雖然不會導致死亡,但會令狗隻無法走路、嘔吐、嗜睡和發抖。

牛奶、奶油和芝士

成犬因缺少足夠的消化酶,所以無法消化乳製品。 亦即是說,如果他們攝取牛奶、奶油或芝士,就會出現乳糖不適症,症狀包括嘔吐、腹瀉和腸胃不適。

如果您認為自己的愛犬可能已經吃下不該吃的東西,請立即尋求獸醫協助,以獲得重要的相關建議。 您亦應該要將有毒的食物放在狗隻無法觸碰的地方,以確保他們只攝取最適合他們的食物。

回到頂部

尋找獸醫

若對愛犬的健康有任何疑慮,請諮詢獸醫的專業意見。

搜尋我附近的獸醫
成年傑克羅素爹利犬站在白色背景前的黑白照