First-Time Cat Owner’s Guide! 5 Tips on feeding your new kitten!

30/9/2022
kitten sitting in a kitchen eating

 

Through this article you can learn:

As a first-time cat parent, you will for sure have many questions and worries!

How to take care? What is the best kitten diet? How long should kitten food be fed for? 
We hope to provide you with answers to these frequently asked questions in the form of 5 Key Tips, ensuring your cat receives the nutrition it needs to grow up happy and healthy!

 

Choose Diet according to Developmental Stage

Depending on the breed, kittens take about 12-15 months to mature into adult cats. The feeding regimes for kittens during this crucial growth period can be roughly divided into three stages: 

  • 0~3 weeks: if a newborn kitten is unable to feed on its queen’s milk, it is recommended to feed a milk powder replacer specially formulated for kittens so it obtains the nutrients it requires.

  • 3 weeks~4 months: weaning normally takes place around 4-8 weeks of age, at this stage the kitten’s diet should gradually be switched to solid food. Around this time kittens tend to increasingly engage in social interactions, being most active during day. To fuel this increased activity they require a high-calorie, nutrient-rich, solid diet.

  • 4~12 months: puberty begins at this stage, the kitten’s growth rate slows down and thus its caloric needs reduce. However, the gastrointestinal tract and immune system are still vulnerable, so it is essential to provide an easy-to-digest, antioxidant-rich diet. 

So how long should a kitten stay on kitten feed for? Veterinary surgeons in general recommend that up to one year of age, young cats should be fed a diet designed for kittens. However, as cats can be prone to weight gain after desexing, which usually occurs at 5-7 months of age, owners should take veterinary advice on a suitable feeding schedule in order to avoid over-feeding and obesity.  

 

A guide to change your cats food

 

Diets that meet Scientific Nutritional Standards

There is a massive amount of information available on the internet on how to feed your pets some good and some bad! Among them, the Nutrition Toolkit established by the World Small Animal Veterinary Association (WSAVA) contains a number of diet selection recommendations and nutritional assessment guidelines, to help owners choose safe and nutritionally balanced pet foods from the wide selection available. 

The pet food guidelines established by various official organisations also serve as an indicator for owners on how to select a balanced diet. Examples include, the FEDIAF standard monitored by the “European Pet Food Industry”, or nutritional standards such as NRC and AAFCO formulated by American research institutions. 

 

Ensure the Diet has Adequate Nutrients and Calories

Kittens require more protein, fat, vitamins and minerals than adult cats for growth, metabolism and energy. In addition, the astonishing sense of balance and dexterity that cats are born with also develops during this time. As such, kittens require ample amounts of DHA (a fatty acid) and taurine (an amino acid) in order to facilitate the healthy development of vision, brain cognition and heart function. 

 

Deciding between Dry Food, Wet Food, or a Combination 

Should cats be fed dry food or wet food? Actually, there are benefits to both!

One of the main advantages of dry food is that it is easy to store and easy to feed. Even if the dry food is left in the cat’s bowl all day, owners need not worry about the food going bad. This also allows for more frequent and unrestricted eating on the cat’s part, enabling good eating habits to form. Some dry food can also improve dental health, due to specially formulated kibble, whose shape and texture increases surface friction which gently and effectively reduces tartar build up.

For wet food, the main advantage is that it helps cats take in extra water, which can help reduce the chance of kidney or urinary tract problems. Another advantage is that wet food has a stronger aroma that dry food, cats are more sensitive to smell than taste, so feeding wet food can actually improve their appetite – especially true in older cats.

Weighing up the pros and cons, it is recommended that cat owners feed a combination of wet and dry food in order to achieve an optimal balance between price, convenience and nutritional value.

In addition, veterinary surgeons may suggest changing diets due to illness e.g. wet food for urinary or dry food for gastro-intestinal issues, so getting young cats accustomed to different types of food early in life can reduce the chance of difficulty in switching diets later on. 

Discuss the Best Diet for your Kitten with your Veterinary Surgeon 

Given there is such a wide variety of options, it is highly recommended that owners consult with their veterinary surgeon regarding the best diet for their kitten. Vets can help to produce a customised dietary plan based on the kitten’s health and nutrition needs according to breed, activity level and size/age. 

In particular, if you decide to cook home-made food for your kitten, it is especially important to consult with your vet for advice. Studies show that it is very difficult to achieve adequate nutrition when providing homemade food, and many diet recipes available on the internet are not nutritionally balanced. Ideally owner’s should consider getting assistance from a specialist veterinary nutritionist to safeguard their kitten’s health if they want to go down this route! 

Is homemade cat food a healthy choice for my cat?

Back to top

新手養貓攻略!挑選幼貓飼料的5大要訣

3/10/2018
貓吃東西

 

透過本文您可以了解:

  1. 依照成長階段選擇合適的幼貓飼料

  2. 參考符合科學機構營養標準的幼貓飼料品牌

  3. 注意幼貓飼料的營養成分和熱量是否足夠

  4. 決定餵食幼貓乾糧、濕糧或是乾濕混合

  5. 與專業獸醫討論最適合您的幼貓飼料

 

作為新手貓奴,心中難免充滿一連串疑問:該如何照料剛出生的小奶貓?貓糧怎麼選才好?幼貓飼料又該吃到多大年紀?這些常見問題,都能從以下5大要訣中獲得解答,讓您的幼貓能獲得充足營養,在黃金成長階段健康地長大!

 

 

依照成長階段選擇合適的幼貓飼料

依據品種的不同,幼貓發育為成貓的時間大約是12~15個月。而在黃金成長期,幼貓的飼養方式大致可分為以下3階段:

  • 0~3週:剛出生的小奶貓,若無法從母貓身上獲得母乳,可透過幼貓專用的成長奶粉來攝取足夠養分,並於4~8週斷奶之後,再逐步轉換到固體食物。

  • 3週~4個月:斷奶之後,幼貓會開始發展社交活動、成天活力充沛,需要攝取高熱量且富含營養的固態飼料。ROYAL CANIN® 為此推出離乳貓專用乾糧主食濕糧,適合作為幼貓的第一個固體食物。 

  • 4~12個月:此時您的幼貓正值青春期,成長速度趨緩、熱量需求降低,但腸胃道及免疫系統仍脆弱,可挑選易於消化、富含抗氧化物的幼貓飼料。

 

至於何時應該餵食成貓飼料?獸醫建議,一歲以前都屬於幼貓,要持續餵食幼貓專用飼料,但由於貓咪通常會於5~7個月大時進行絕育,絕育後容易有過重或肥胖問題,因此飼主應依據餵食表控制每日進食量,以免過度餵食。

 

小提醒:幫愛貓換糧有步驟!讓愛貓快速適應新飼料的方法

 

 

參考符合科學機構營養標準的幼貓飼料品牌

篩選幼貓飼料的方法有很多,其中由世界小動物獸醫協會(WSAVA)所建立的營養工具包,內含多項飼料挑選建議、營養評估指南,能幫助飼主從琳瑯滿目的品項中,找出安全且品質優良的寵物食品。


另外,許多官方協會制定的寵物食品準則,也能作為飼主挑選幼貓飼料的指標之一。例如通過「歐洲寵物食品工業聯盟」評鑑的FEDIAF標準,或是由美國研究機構訂定的NRC、AAFCO等營養規範。

 

 

注意幼貓飼料的營養成分和熱量是否足夠

發育中的幼貓,需要比成貓更多蛋白質、脂肪、維生素和礦物質等成分,以獲得足夠的營養及能量。貓咪與生俱來的驚人平衡力,也是於此時期奠定而成。因此幼貓需多攝取DHA(一種脂肪酸)和牛磺酸(一種氨基酸)等成分,以利視力、大腦認知及心臟正常發育。 

 

 

決定餵食幼貓乾糧、濕糧或是乾濕混合

到底貓主食要選乾糧還是濕糧?其實兩者各有益處。


乾糧的主要好處之一是易於保存及方便餵食。即使將飼料放在碗裡一整天,飼主也不必擔心變質,而這能讓貓咪更頻繁、隨意地食用,養成良好的飲食習慣。部份特殊配方的乾糧,還有助於改善牙齒健康,因為飼料顆粒的形狀及質地,會增加表面摩擦,能溫和且有效地減少牙垢。

而濕糧的主要優點,是幫助貓咪攝取額外水份,有助降低腎臟或泌尿道問題發生的機率;另一個優點是濕糧比乾糧更能散發出濃郁的香氣;對貓咪來說,嗅覺的敏感度及重要性更勝於味覺,因此餵食濕糧有助於提振食慾,讓您的幼貓能大飽口福。

綜合上述優缺點,建議飼主可以選擇乾濕混合的飼養方式 ,以達到價格、方便性、營養價值之間的最佳平衡。而且貓咪長大後,若有一些健康狀況,獸醫很可能以濕糧作為主要的飲食方式(如泌尿道疾病)。儘早讓幼貓習慣不同的飼料類型,可降低未來轉換食物困難的機率。

 

 

與專業獸醫討論最適合您的幼貓飼料

在眾多選項之中,飼主也千萬別忘了請益專業人士。您的獸醫將可依據幼貓品種、體型,為其量身定制餵食計畫及評估營養狀況。此外,如果您打算親自下廚,為幼貓提供自製餐點,也請務必諮詢獸醫;研究顯示,自製貓食很難達到營養均衡,須由獸醫營養專科醫師協助才較有保障。

 

自製貓咪鮮食是否健康?了解貓咪所需的營養組合與來源 

回到頂部