Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Health and wellbeing

Is my dog overweight?

Adult Golden Retriever lying down inside on a blue dog bed.
Maintaining a healthy weight is essential for your dog's continued vitality and energy - but how do you know when its weight is becoming an issue?

In industrialised countries, multiple studies have shown that at least one in every five dogs is obese. This likelihood of obesity in dogs can lead to increased risk of diabetes, cardiovascular disease and arthritis, as well as many other chronic conditions. Therefore, monitoring your dog's weight and recognising when they may be overweight is crucial in making sure they don't suffer from poor health.

How likely is it that my dog is overweight?

There are certain factors which may make your dog predisposed to gaining weight and becoming obese. For example, some breeds – such as Labrador Retrievers – are more likely to gain weight than others, and in particular very small breeds are at high risk.

Female dogs are more likely to gain weight, and the frequency of obesity in dogs increases as they age. Dogs who were obese or overweight as a puppy are also more likely to become an obese adult dog than those who were a lean or healthy weight.

If your dog has been neutered, it's twice as likely to gain weight than an unneutered dog due to the hormonal changes incurred by sterilisation. Your dog's lifestyle is also a contributing factor; if they stay indoors a lot, are fed table scraps or haven't been fully socialised as a puppy, they're more likely to have a relationship with food which can lead to weight gain.

Adult black Labrador Retriever lying down outdoors in a garden.

How can I tell if my dog is overweight?

The first step to understanding whether your dog is overweight is a preventative one. By weighing them regularly, recording their weight, and attending check-ups with your vet, you'll get a clearer picture of their weight gain or loss over their lifetime.

Your vet will be able to tell you your dog's ideal weight, based on its sex, breed and age. If your dog is between 15% and 20% over its ideal weight, it's classified as obese. As an example, a dog whose ideal weight is 50kg would be considered obese if it weighed 60kg.

A simple test you can do at home to work out whether your dog is overweight or obese is to try to feel its ribs through its fur and body tissue. If you can feel its ribs but they're not prominent, your dog is a healthy weight. If it's impossible for you to find and feel its ribs, then your dog is overweight.

How do overweight dogs behave?

You might also recognise your dog is overweight from a change in its behaviour. It might be lethargic and lack energy, including a lack of effort when it comes to playing games or taking physical activity. When you take your dog on walks, it may become breathless very easily or even stop attempting to walk altogether, because it's either in pain or tired. You'll also, naturally, see their physical size increase.

Your dog may exhibit particular poor behaviours around food, such as over-eating, begging for scraps, whining for treats or acting aggressively towards you at mealtimes. When establishing a weight loss plan for your dog, your vet will ask how you feed your dog and what you feed it; it's important to answer honestly, as sometimes owners can inadvertently be contributing to their dog's obesity through giving it snacks, too many treats, or leftovers.

Obesity and being overweight is a real and pressing issue among dogs, but it can be treated with the right diet and behaviour. Make sure to attend regular check-ups with your vet to monitor your dog's weight, as well as speaking to them if you notice any of the behaviours which could indicate obesity.

  • Healthy Weight

Like & share this page

Related Articles
Adult Jack Russell running on a beach with a ball in its mouth.

How to help your dog lose weight

Adult dogs running through a field of long grass.

The risks to your dog if they are obese

Adult Golden Retriever running in a field behind a jogger.

How to maintain your dog's healthy weight

Find a vet

If you have any concerns about your dog’s health, consult a vet for professional advice.

Search near me
Jack Russel Terrier adult standing in black and white on a white background
Cookie Settings

幫助貓狗過最健康的生活。

我的狗是否超重?

成年金毛尋回犬躺在室內一張藍色狗床上。
要讓愛犬保持精力充沛,維持健康的體重至關重要,但怎麼才知道他的體重出現問題呢?

在工業化國家/地區中,已有多項研究發現,每五隻狗中至少有一隻有肥胖的問題。 對於肥胖的狗,患上多種疾病的風險亦會增加,這包括糖尿病、心血管疾病、關節炎以及許多其他慢性病。 因此,主人必須注意愛犬的體重變化,如能及早發現超重問題,便可防止愛犬健康變差。

我的狗是否可能超重?

某些因素可能會導致您的狗容易體重增加和變得肥胖。 舉例來說,某些品種 (例如拉布拉多尋回犬) 比其他品種更容易發胖,而特別小型的品種所面對發胖的風險亦較高。

母犬比較容易增加體重,並且年齡越大,發胖的機會亦越高。 另外,相對那些年幼時屬於精瘦或體重屬於健康的幼犬,肥胖或超重的幼犬在成年後仍然是肥胖或超重的可能性亦較高。

如果您的狗已經絕育,那麼由於絕育引起荷爾蒙變化,他體重增加的可能性會較無絕育的狗高兩倍。 狗的生活方式也是一個重要因素。如果他們經常呆在室內,被餵食人吃的食物,或在幼犬時期沒有完全社會化,他們會較傾向過份專注食物,因而容易體重增加。

成年的黑色成年拉布尋回犬躺在戶外的花園裡。

如何判斷愛犬是否超重?

了解狗隻超重的第一步是採取預防措施。 定期磅重、記錄體重,並帶愛寵到獸醫檢查,您將可以更了解他們一生中體重增加或減少的情況。

獸醫可以依據您愛犬的性別、品種和年齡來告訴您他的理想體重。 若犬比其理想的體重高出 15% 到 20% 的話將被歸類為肥胖。 例如:理想的體重為 50 公斤的狗隻如果重 60 公斤就將被視為肥胖。

這裡為您提供一個可在家進行的簡單測試,協助您判斷愛犬是否超重和肥胖,不妨嘗試摸狗狗的肋骨,看看是否能摸到毛皮和身體組織底下的肋骨。 如果您可以感覺到狗狗的肋骨,但它們並不突出,這表示您愛犬的體重正常。 如果您完全無法感覺到他的肋骨,那麼狗隻就有超重問題。

超重的狗隻會有甚麼行為?

您或者亦會經由狗狗的行為改變,發現他有超重傾向。 他可能經常昏昏欲睡、缺乏活力,在玩遊戲或運動時顯得懶散。 當您帶愛犬去散步時,他們可能很容易就變得氣喘、甚至停下來不想走路,這表示他們身體疼痛或非常疲勞。 當然,他們的體型亦會明顯變胖。

此外,您的愛犬可能在有食物時特別不受控制,出現比如暴食、乞討殘羹剩飯、哀求零食或是在您用餐時積極討食等行為。 在為愛犬建立減重計劃時,您的獸醫會詢問您用甚麼食物餵食狗狗,以及如何餵食他們;屆時請誠實回答,因為有時主人可能由於給他們太多點心、零食或剩飯而不小心令狗狗變胖。

肥胖和超重對於狗隻是一個真實且迫切的問題,但經由正確的飲食和行為便可以帶來改善。 請定期帶您的狗狗到獸醫處做檢查,以監控其體重,並在發現任何引致肥胖的行為時與獸醫討論。

  • 健康體重

讚好和分享此頁面

相關文章
在田野上,成年金毛尋回犬在一名緩步跑人士身後奔跑。

如何協助狗隻維持健康的體重

年幼的比高獵犬站在室外享用藍色碗裡的美食。

如何幫愛犬增重

成年金毛尋回犬在廚房躺在一隻碗旁邊。

為甚麼我家狗狗體重會下降?

尋找獸醫

若對愛犬的健康有任何疑慮,請諮詢獸醫的專業意見。

搜尋我附近的獸醫
成年傑克羅素爹利犬站在白色背景前的黑白照