Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Health and wellbeing

Common skin conditions in cats

Adult cat sitting outside scratching its ear.
From fleas and ticks to dietary deficiencies, there are lots of reasons why your cat may be biting, scratching or itching itself. Find out more about these common skin conditions and how they're treated.

Your cat’s skin is a large organ which needs micro and macro nutrients to stay healthy; anything which interferes with the absorption of those nutrients will affect your pet’s skin and coat. Thankfully, all the common skin conditions are treatable, whether they are internal or external issues.

Parasitic infestation in cats

Parasites which latch onto your cat’s skin can cause irritation and discomfort, sometimes leading to hair loss or other noticeable problems.

Fleas are an incredibly common issue among cats. These small parasites land on your cat’s skin, causing the cat to scratch, lick and groom itself to get rid of the itch. This in turn can cause hairballs as your cat ingests significant amounts of their own fur. Cats can also develop dermatitis if they become allergic to flea bites, which normally occurs if they have been over-exposed to flea bites, which may occur depending on individual cat's history and previous exposure to fleas.

Ticks find their way onto your cat after they’ve been outside, and can stick to their neck and ears and causing inflammation. Some types of tick are found on plants at certain times of the year and can infest humans and other mammals as well as cats.

If you notice your cat is incessantly scratching and has a lot of black wax in their ear, they may have ear mites. These live in the ear canal and cause ear-ache, which can be very uncomfortable.

While your cat won’t always feel irritated or scratch itself, ringworm can still cause skin problems. This microscopic fungus attacks your cat’s fur at the root, darkening the skin and causing the coat to fall out.

All parasitic infections can be treated with a combination of oral, spray, direct-to-skin and environmental solutions which your vet will prescribe. In the case of fleas, it’s important not to use products designed for dogs on your cat, as they can be fatal.

Adult cat lying down on an examination table being treated by a vet.

Your cat’s diet and skin condition

Your cat’s hair is 95% protein, with hair growth and skin renewal using up to 30% of your pet’s daily protein intake. Therefore, a protein deficiency in your cat’s diet can lead to poor skin and coat quality, including scaly skin, hair which is easily shed, colour loss, poor growth and thin, dull or brittle hair.

If your cat is lacking essential fatty acids, like omega 3 and omega 6, you may also notice problems such as oily or dry skin, and hair with a dull sheen. Some essential fatty acids can’t be synthesised by your cat, so they need to be a part of its daily diet.

Giving your cat a complete, balanced food is the simplest way to protect against these deficiencies; you can also get food which is designed for cats struggling with their dermatological health, which will boost their skin and coat quality.

A cat’s skin condition and lifestyle factors

If your cat regularly ventures outside, you might find it’s prone to picking up environmental debris which irritates its skin, such as splinters or grass seeds; remember to pick these off when your cat comes in from roaming to prevent scratching or itching.

You may also find your cat occasionally gets bitten by other animals (especially if it hasn’t been neutered). These bites can become abscesses if germs get into the wound, causing swelling, inflamed skin and a temperature. Your vet will conduct a deep cleanse of the wound as treatment.

Washing your cat is a good idea, but be careful to only use products designed for cats as they have more acidic skin than humans; human shampoo can end up irritating them and causing skin problems.

If you think your cat might be suffering from a skin complaint or condition, consult your vet straight away – you’ll be able to start treatment quickly and save your cat any further discomfort.

  • Healthy Skin and Coat

Like & share this page

Related Articles
Adult cat sat on a bed scratching under its chin

Cat dandruff and dry skin

Adult cat lying down looking at a grooming brush with white hair on it.

My cat is losing its hair

Adult Norwegian Forest Cat standing in a kitchen next to two silver bowls.

​How your cat's diet affects its skin health

Find a vet

If you have any concerns about your cat’s health, consult a vet for professional advice.

Search near me
Maine Coon adult standing in black and white on a white background
Cookie Settings

貓咪為甚麼會得貓皮膚病?貓皮膚病原因、飲食改善&其他預防方法

3/10/2018
造成貓皮膚病的原因有很多,有跳蚤、壁蝨、耳疥蟲等貓寄生蟲所引發的皮膚問題,貓食物造成皮膚過敏等因素,本篇文章為大家介紹貓皮膚病原因及預防方法。
成年貓坐在戶外抓耳朵。

 

透過本⽂您可以了解:



⼀、哪些寄生蟲和細菌會造成貓皮膚病?
⼆、如何透過貓食物預防貓皮膚問題?
三、還有甚麼預防貓皮膚病的方法?

【點擊標題可快速跳⾄該段落】



貓咪的皮膚是身體的大器官,需要多種微量或大量的營養來維護健康。任何干擾這些營養吸收的因素都會影響到愛寵的皮膚和貓毛狀況。值得慶幸的是,無論內外問題,大多數常見的貓皮膚病都能夠被治療。

哪些寄生蟲和細菌會造成貓皮膚病?

貓寄生蟲會使貓咪皮膚產生刺激和不適感,有時還會導致掉毛或其他顯著的問題。

跳蚤是導致貓皮膚病最常見的原因之一。這些小寄生蟲附著在貓咪的皮膚上,使貓咪痕癢,並以抓搔、咬合和舔拭等方法來止癢。但這會讓貓咪吞入大量的貓毛,讓牠產生毛球問題,這時主人可以考慮為貓咪選擇除毛球加護配方,以幫助牠更有效去排出體內毛球。此外,愛貓也可能會對跳蚤叮咬產生過敏反應,進而引發貓皮膚炎。一般來講,不同的貓咪對跳蚤叮咬狀況反應不一樣,皮膚炎通常發生於被跳蚤嚴重叮咬的貓咪身上。

壁蝨經常會在愛貓外出時,趁機附著於牠們的頸和耳朵上,從而引起貓皮膚病。某些壁蝨還會在一年中的某個特定時間附在植物上,一旦有人類或其他哺乳動物經過,壁蝨就會轉移到這些對象身上,而貓咪就屬於受害者之一。

如果你發現貓咪總是抓搔,且耳朵裡有很多黑色耳垢,牠們就可能感染了耳疥蟲。耳疥蟲寄生在貓咪耳道中,引起愛寵耳朵疼痛,也會使耳朵附近的皮膚紅腫癢和出現貓脫毛狀況。

貓癬不一定會造成貓咪搔癢,但也會引發許多皮膚問題。貓癬由真菌引起,微小的真菌會從髮根部攻擊貓咪毛髮和皮膚,並使貓毛顏色變黯淡、脫毛,也會導致貓皮膚產生灰色鱗屑、皮屑及紅斑。除了貓癬原因,貓出現頭皮屑和皮膚乾燥狀況,還可能是因為使用不適合的清潔用品及飲食不當。

愛寵感染上貓寄生蟲之後,都可以透過口服藥、噴劑、藥物塗抹皮膚和環境改善方案等方法進行綜合治療。獸醫會向你建議適合的治療方法來改善貓寄生蟲症狀,幫助你的愛貓恢復皮膚健康。此外,如果貓咪身上有跳蚤,主人謹記不要用狗跳蚤藥幫貓杜蟲,以防貓咪有生命危險。

躺在檢驗枱上的成年貓咪接受獸醫治療。

如何透過貓食物預防貓皮膚問題?

貓咪的毛有95%是蛋白質,貓咪正常生長毛髮和維持皮膚新陳代謝,需要消耗日常蛋白質攝入量的30%。因此,若貓食物缺乏蛋白質,會導致貓咪皮膚和毛質變差,例如出現皮膚粗糙、毛髮脫落、毛髮掉色、長毛慢,以及毛量稀薄、毛色暗啞或毛質變脆等情況。

如果貓咪缺少必需脂肪酸,例如Ω3和Ω6脂肪酸,你亦可能會發現牠的皮膚存在過油或過乾、毛色缺乏光澤等問題。貓咪無法自行合成某些必需脂肪酸,因此必須透過日常飲食攝取。

為避免愛寵缺乏上述營養,最簡單的辦法就是為愛貓提供營養完整均衡的食物,從貓飲食方面預防皮膚病。你亦可以購買專為有皮膚問題的貓咪而設計的食物,以改善他們的皮膚和毛質。如果貓咪比較挑食,大家也可以根據貓咪口味,選擇適合的貓糧,例如:

  • 成貓亮毛及皮膚加護配方:富含必需脂肪酸及高品質蛋白質,有益於貓皮膚及毛髮健康
  • 成貓亮毛及皮膚加護主食濕糧(肉汁):含Omega-3及Omega-6,有助保持貓咪毛髮亮麗

  • 還有甚麼預防貓皮膚病的方法?

    如果貓咪經常外出,牠就比較容易被植物毛刺或草籽所粘附,這些東西都會刺激貓咪皮膚。當愛貓返回家中時,主人需要為牠清除這些碎屑,以免愛貓發癢。

    貓咪有時還會被其他動物咬傷,尤其是未進行絕育的貓咪。被咬傷後,如果細菌感染咬傷處,傷口便可能紅腫,引起貓咪皮膚發炎和發燒症狀。此時你就需要帶貓咪前往醫院,讓獸醫對傷口進行深層清潔,以助貓咪痊愈。

    幫貓沖涼也能夠預防部分貓皮膚病。由於貓的皮膚酸性較高,人類使用的洗髮水會刺激牠的皮膚,所以主人只可以使用貓咪專用清潔用品來幫牠沖涼。除了要注意洗澡用品,其他有關幼貓衛生與美容方面的內容,對貓咪皮膚也會產生極大的影響,比如定時梳毛、修剪爪子、清洗臉部等。

    如果你覺得愛貓有皮膚問題或貓皮膚病,你需要立即帶牠去看獸醫,以便快速展開療程,讓貓咪早日脫離疾病痛苦。

    回到頂部

    尋找獸醫

    若對愛貓的健康有任何疑慮,請諮詢獸醫的專業意見。

    搜尋我附近的獸醫
    成年緬因貓站在白色背景前的黑白照